Investment OPUS @ KUALA LUMPUR, JALAN TALLALA [OT], Your neighbor will be 118 Storeys.

kswee
post Jan 25 2023, 01:03 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(Chanzeryl @ Jan 24 2023, 10:22 PM)
Have been wondering about the tenant composition of this place since the surrounding offices are still at their nascent stage. Turns out it's a hotspot for Instagram fanatics and Russian couple entering into Bolehland without record. Both premise and airbnb seems to be quite lax with security. Hopefully the quality of the fixtures and fittings could tahan until Merdeka 118 matures into an actual CBD.
What fixtures & fitting do you mean?? Most of the components used are commonly available to purchase.

Cavatzu
post Jan 25 2023, 05:28 AM

2,834 posts

Opus has vp since 2019 and has been quite soft in the rental demand but Airbnb has sort of kept it afloat. A whole 5 years to wait if 118 opens by 2024. It will be the only option to live in this area for a year perhaps until Sunway VPs.

There should be a lot more lelongs but it’s a different class of buyer.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Jan 25 2023, 05:29 AM
Chanzeryl
post Jan 25 2023, 01:33 PM

646 posts

QUOTE(kswee @ Jan 25 2023, 01:03 AM)
What fixtures & fitting do you mean?? Most of the components used are commonly available to purchase.
Cracked doorframes due to age
Scuff marks on hardwood and linoleum floors
Warped door frames and windows
Dirty or loose grout around floor tiles
Scuffs on walls from door handles
Holes in doors or walls
Broken windows or missing screens
Broken enamel on sinks, toilets, or bathtubs
Faded or chipped paint
Loose taps/faucets
Dirt build-up around windows
Scratches/burns on kitchen counters
Stains or burns on on floors
Missing/broken blinds
Rust/leaky pipes

But I agree the aforementioned list is immaterial before loaded owners

syzsiew5991
post Jan 25 2023, 01:43 PM

132 posts

dont think 118 will be a heavy tourist attraction. everywhere is high rise tower, and the design isnt that attractive
gks
post Jan 25 2023, 01:47 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 25 2023, 05:28 AM)
Opus has vp since 2019 and has been quite soft in the rental demand but Airbnb has sort of kept it afloat. A whole 5 years to wait if 118 opens by 2024. It will be the only option to live in this area for a year perhaps until Sunway VPs.

There should be a lot more lelongs but it’s a different class of buyer.
I think completion of and full operation of PNB118 will have minimal impact to Opus subsale and rental demand. There are plenty of accomodation which way better located than Opus around PNB118. Not only that with MRT, the workers better stay in places Cheras, Maluri etc which has more amenities and cheaper rental than Opus.

The most important is aside local companies such as Maybank that already committed to move, any MNCs will set a their base in PNB118. MNCs are generally recruit regional Expatriates which are more willing to pay higher rental. In any cases, these expatriates probably more interested to stay around Bukit Bintang, BBCC TRX instead of Opus.

My 2 cents.
Cavatzu
post Jan 25 2023, 01:53 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Jan 25 2023, 01:47 PM)
I think completion of and full operation of PNB118 will have minimal impact to Opus subsale and rental demand. There are plenty of accomodation which way better located than Opus around PNB118. Not only that with MRT, the workers better stay in places Cheras, Maluri etc which has more amenities and cheaper rental than Opus.

The most important is aside local companies such as Maybank that already committed to move, any MNCs will set a their base in PNB118. MNCs are generally recruit regional Expatriates which are more willing to pay higher rental. In any cases, these expatriates probably more interested to stay around Bukit Bintang, BBCC TRX instead of Opus.

My 2 cents.
If like that then the only saving grace are Chinese families that want their kids to get into Kuen Cheng. I also think young expats would like the vibe in the Petaling St pubs compared to KLCC which is more stuffy.

Prestige properties around KL are really very cheap to rent for people with stronger currency.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Jan 25 2023, 02:02 PM
gks
post Jan 25 2023, 05:29 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 25 2023, 01:53 PM)
If like that then the only saving grace are Chinese families that want their kids to get into Kuen Cheng. I also think young expats would like the vibe in the Petaling St pubs compared to KLCC which is more stuffy.

Prestige properties around KL are really very cheap to rent for people with stronger currency.
The proof is at the pudding. I believe at the moment expatriates with higher budget prefer area around klcc/Bukit Bintang rather than Pudu/PS. Currently Lucentia@BBCC command highest rental rate amongst all condos in Pudu/PS. Any expatriates that work in PNB118 will take Lucentia as preferred accommodation instead of Opus. For ppl who stay in KLCC, they usually go to Pavilion for pubs.

Speak about Kuen Cheng, if the appeal is so great amongst chinese families, why Opus is struggling given that they are the only condo in the near vicinity? Furthermore only like 350 units in whole development.
Cavatzu
post Jan 25 2023, 08:22 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Jan 25 2023, 05:29 PM)
The proof is at the pudding. I believe at the moment expatriates with higher budget prefer area around klcc/Bukit Bintang rather than Pudu/PS. Currently Lucentia@BBCC command highest rental rate amongst all condos in Pudu/PS. Any expatriates that work in PNB118 will take Lucentia as preferred accommodation instead of Opus. For ppl who stay in KLCC, they usually go to Pavilion for pubs.

Speak about Kuen Cheng, if the appeal is so great amongst chinese families, why Opus is struggling given that they are the only condo in the near vicinity? Furthermore only like 350 units in whole development.
I can only speak from a pub perspective. It’s not interesting or fun in KLCC/Pavillion. It’s all too structured. It will work in a pinch but not fun. There’s some real gems in the speak easy culture of Petaling St.

Until 118 is a thing, Opus will suffer unless you’re some daredevil.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Jan 25 2023, 08:22 PM
gks
post Jan 25 2023, 11:50 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 25 2023, 08:22 PM)
I can only speak from a pub perspective. It’s not interesting or fun in KLCC/Pavillion. It’s all too structured. It will work in a pinch but not fun. There’s some real gems in the speak easy culture of Petaling St.

Until 118 is a thing, Opus will suffer unless you’re some daredevil.
That's new for me. Expatriates.choose their accommodation based on pubs.
Cavatzu
post Jan 26 2023, 03:04 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Jan 25 2023, 11:50 PM)
That's new for me. Expatriates.choose their accommodation based on pubs.
Haha. It’s a bit of a stretch but it can be a dealbreaker when you’re selecting among places.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Jan 26 2023, 07:03 AM
gks
post Jan 26 2023, 04:08 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Jan 26 2023, 03:04 AM)
Haha. It’s a bit of a stretch but it can be a dealbreaker when you’re selecting among places.
I am sure you have your own experience and criterias to choose investment properties. Well if that's how you invest a property, all the best.
Cavatzu
post Jan 26 2023, 05:58 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Jan 26 2023, 04:08 PM)
I am sure you have your own experience and criterias to choose investment properties. Well if that's how you invest a property, all the best.
I put myself in the shoes of the target clients - trying to understand if there is any market segment that would be interested in your property and why.

This then informs you of your entire renovation and marketing strategy to attract the right client.

In this instance Opus is pretty much an Airbnb property. Sunway will be the ownstay/long term tenant equivalent.
Cavatzu
post May 17 2023, 08:30 AM

2,834 posts

Not many units available to rent on the market. Is this project finally buoyant and self sustaining? Or are they all Airbnb? Asking prices in the $4 psf mark.
AskarPerang
post Nov 20 2023, 02:19 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Lelong unit sold just now.
Single bidder won unchallenged at 769,500.
Size 947 sqft.

Good catch?

Babizz
post Nov 21 2023, 07:58 AM

12,529 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 20 2023, 12:19 AM)
Lelong unit sold just now.
Single bidder won unchallenged at 769,500.
Size 947 sqft.

Good catch?

Good catch but the issue is with the layout. No investor friendly.
hihihehe
post Jan 5 2024, 03:07 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ May 17 2023, 08:30 AM)
Not many units available to rent on the market. Is this project finally buoyant and self sustaining? Or are they all Airbnb? Asking prices in the $4 psf mark.
most of them are airbnb i believe

stayed there for 2 nights during NY. it's not cheap but we rented 3 bedders unit. other units in the same floor also doing airbnb

the facility and rooftop are very dark too and security will chase people off once past 12am
Cavatzu
post Jan 6 2024, 09:05 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 5 2024, 03:07 PM)
most of them are airbnb i believe

stayed there for 2 nights during NY. it's not cheap but we rented 3 bedders unit. other units in the same floor also doing airbnb

the facility and rooftop are very dark too and security will chase people off once past 12am
Still cheaper than getting 2 hotel rooms in Four Points.
Babizz
post Oct 12 2024, 03:11 PM

12,529 posts

Got another lelong unit at about 850psf for smallest unit which unfortunately is only a 1 bedroom unit.

Wonder how the rental market here is performing?
kswee
post Oct 12 2024, 06:46 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Oct 12 2024, 04:11 PM)
Got another lelong unit at about 850psf for smallest unit which unfortunately is only a 1 bedroom unit.

Wonder how the rental market here is performing?
Can't even break even if do airbnb . With more apartments coming up surrounding .
Babizz
post Dec 12 2024, 07:16 AM

12,529 posts

Spoke with an agent who mentioned non Airbnb or normal rental demand here is decent. Still find hard to believe but any owners with any recent experience?

22 Pages « < 20 21 22Top

0.0303sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:56 AM