iOS 6.1.x Software Update, better battery life?
winkiedilwy
Feb 17 2013, 05:44 PM
SourceSoon after the release of iOS 6.1, it came to the attention of the tech world that a major security flaw allowed basically anybody with a spare couple of moments to slip through the passcode system and access a device’s confidential, and supposedly secure data. The release of iOS 6.1.1 a couple of days back, which fixed lingering cellular and battery issues with the iPhone 4S, is also susceptible, and an urgent update is required on all fronts to sort this mess out. According to iFun, a German blog which accurately pinpointed the aforementioned 6.1.1 release, reckons that will likely be "early next week", meaning those conscious as to the security of their iPhone will only have to wait a couple more days. Whenever Apple releases a new software update, users are quickly on hand to scrutinize it from every possible angle. Yet while some issues – even the larger scale ones such as the Apple Maps fiasco with iOS 6.0 back in September – can be managed, when it comes to security and privacy, users are somewhat less inclined to forgive. A user with a little nous discovered the significant security hole on Wednesday, and what’s even more striking than the fact the flaw is possible, is just how easy an ordinary user could heed the techniques outlined to wheedle their way into anybody’s device.
lisahasan
Feb 17 2013, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(dannygeni @ Feb 17 2013, 10:11 AM) hope new update coming soon do u encounter the same issue ? battery problem. trying to downgrade to 6.0 but itunes wont let it. popup error. ask wimpykid, he said apple already close for that ios firmware. is it true? just now, restore back. hopes it works. my mistake, didnt read review 1st bout 6.1 yesterday. after bought, update quickly.
fluotone
Feb 17 2013, 05:56 PM
I hate ios6 tbh podcast is separated from music and airplay just doesn't work properly anymore
ahnien
Feb 17 2013, 08:52 PM
now this is ridiculous. updated my 4s to 6.1.1 and cant turn on the wifi. wifi is totally grey-out.
end up downgrading it back to 6.1.0
anyone else having the same problem?
ErinH
Feb 17 2013, 10:27 PM
Am postponing from updating to latest software. Too many complaints on battery draining fast.
lisahasan
Feb 17 2013, 11:20 PM
what is the best ios for iphone 5 ?
6.0.1 ? 6.0.2 ?
This post has been edited by lisahasan: Feb 17 2013, 11:24 PM
hadzGBN
Feb 17 2013, 11:43 PM
one2ka4
Feb 18 2013, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(hadzGBN @ Feb 17 2013, 11:43 PM) seriously? i thought it drains the battery like water?
lisahasan
Feb 18 2013, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(one2ka4 @ Feb 18 2013, 12:01 AM) seriously? i thought it drains the battery like water? mine also drain. but i tried reset setting. turn of icloud. some said, dun update yet to the latest. dunno which one is good. some having battery problem in 6.0.1 some in 6.0.2 and me 6.1 bought yesterday. seems battery good but didnt remember which ios, either 6.0.1 or 6.0.2 then i update. after that, felt the battery drained.
one2ka4
Feb 18 2013, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(lisahasan @ Feb 18 2013, 12:14 AM) mine also drain. but i tried reset setting. turn of icloud. some said, dun update yet to the latest. dunno which one is good. some having battery problem in 6.0.1 some in 6.0.2 and me 6.1 bought yesterday. seems battery good but didnt remember which ios, either 6.0.1 or 6.0.2 then i update. after that, felt the battery drained. yup yup.. i've read through multiple forums.. like you said , each version, each individu diff issue... "but i tried reset setting. turn of icloud. " - i thought it only worked for after you restore from previous backup.. i configured mine as a new phone, still 6.0.1.. battery quite ok for me.. (i'm a stalker, so i use the internet heavy  )
lisahasan
Feb 18 2013, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(one2ka4 @ Feb 18 2013, 12:26 AM) yup yup.. i've read through multiple forums.. like you said , each version, each individu diff issue... "but i tried reset setting. turn of icloud. " - i thought it only worked for after you restore from previous backup.. i configured mine as a new phone, still 6.0.1.. battery quite ok for me.. (i'm a stalker, so i use the internet heavy  ) just now, restore. then reset setting. hmm seems like good a bit. using for 24minutes. still 91% left before restore & reset, using 30 minutes - ran down to 80%
one2ka4
Feb 18 2013, 06:03 AM
QUOTE(lisahasan @ Feb 18 2013, 12:50 AM) just now, restore. then reset setting. hmm seems like good a bit. using for 24minutes. still 91% left before restore & reset, using 30 minutes - ran down to 80% hurmmm... sounds interesting.. i'll wait until 90% of the forumer agrees that 6.1 is battery saver
lisahasan
Feb 18 2013, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(one2ka4 @ Feb 18 2013, 06:03 AM) hurmmm... sounds interesting.. i'll wait until 90% of the forumer agrees that 6.1 is battery saver  from last nite, until dis morning. battery seems ok last usage, 91%. woke up dis morning, 85% left.
Blues89
Feb 18 2013, 09:45 AM
using 6.1 now...battery looks fine,from last nite be4 i sleep till now 87%
NanaLiew
Feb 18 2013, 11:36 AM

I have never had a battery drain problem when I got my iphone 5. ios 6.0.1 was good for me. could last from 9 am to 7pm and still have 10% left even with 3G and data on  but now after i upgraded the battery has gotten noticeably worse. My battery drain overnight used to be 3-5% so I would wake up to 95% THE LEAST. Now it drains more than 10% overnight even with airplane mode on and no notifications at all all night! Not sure what seems to be the problem here
christcwl9
Feb 18 2013, 11:52 AM
^ Engineer ^
My maxis iphone 5 also have similar 3G problem. Maybe maxis should really update the carrier setting?
lisahasan
Feb 18 2013, 05:20 PM
I have checked with Mac city. They said 6.1.2 will be out dis Wednesday. Hope it fix the battery problem and won't bring others problem.
gilbertarenas
Feb 18 2013, 05:27 PM
make sure u restore once after u update to 6.1, mine can last for 2 days under moderate usage
no883sekkb
Feb 18 2013, 05:41 PM
Cant jailbreak maa..better wait.