Do you like to shop in H&M, Uniqlo and Zara? Why?

TSbwitherza
post Jan 28 2013, 05:02 PM, updated 13y ago

Hi Everyone,

Do you like to shop in H&M, Uniqlo and Zara ? Please state your reason and which outlet do you prefer the most?

I want to know what Malaysians think about these three outlets! biggrin.gif

Would like to hear more thoughts!

cookies fashion
post Jan 28 2013, 05:07 PM

41 posts

I dont like....its like CON shop....
osk25
post Jan 28 2013, 06:32 PM

I prefer H&M because i think they provides more colorful, youthful clothing which I like.
Zara is too mature for me.
num123
post Jan 28 2013, 06:38 PM

375 posts

i like to see new collections in these stores but i have no power to purchase
shopping wise is reject shop, brands outlet and fos
tvkaler
post Jan 29 2013, 12:35 PM

139 posts

i just like to window shoping there. ofcoz due to their nice design=)
Rao94
post Jan 30 2013, 07:10 PM

367 posts

Random Butik Shop...better then all famous outlets.
Linggi
post Jan 31 2013, 11:12 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(bwitherza @ Jan 28 2013, 05:02 PM)
Hi Everyone,

Do you like to shop in H&M, Uniqlo and Zara ? Please state your reason and which outlet do you prefer the most?

I want to know what Malaysians think about these three outlets!  biggrin.gif

H&M is quite affordable. But I always inspect their clothes properly. Won't buy things that I feel have not much quality/will go out of shape after 1,2 washes.
UNIQLO's quality is very good. I actually bought a lot of basics in there and their quality is far superior to H&M. Price wise also like H&M. But not a lot of variety other than just basic designs.
Zara is out of my price range. I go there just to window shop.
bug_vengeance
post Feb 2 2013, 10:24 PM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

h&m doesnt have good male clothes for me

i prefer uniqlo
NicoRobinz
post Feb 2 2013, 10:41 PM

458 posts

I like Uniqlo the most because the quality is good and the designs are cool. However, most of the cool design clothes are only suitable for winter season and quite pricey.
fk2222
post Feb 3 2013, 06:32 PM

258 posts

uniqlo marketing weird, seling winter season cloths in hot msia. noob
My0d3L
post Feb 6 2013, 11:13 AM

58 posts

Not really.. I choose clothes based on their quality and design, and also whether they worth the price that I'm paying for it also
JenniJane
post Feb 6 2013, 10:05 PM

34 posts

I personally likes to shop at Zara & Uniqlo why because zara's trend are more up to date, great quality and such while Uniqlo i can find alot of basic staples that I need and their quality is always the best smile.gif

I like H&M also but nvr shop there b4 yet as I find their clothes are mostly.. too young & colourful.. and I dont really like the choices there as if everyones gonna wear h&m and if i buy i might bump into the same top/dress lol
xiaoqian0927
post Feb 6 2013, 10:27 PM

I Prefer Forever 21,Topshop and h&M

if formal wear will choose zara^^
Varia
post Feb 7 2013, 02:25 AM

109 posts

Topman is con shop. nuff
Zephyr_Mage
post Feb 10 2013, 12:05 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

Zara and H&M have pretty poor quality. I also can never find clothes that fit me at H&M. I work out, so clothes that fit in the chest are too baggy in the waist doh.gif

My favourite is Uniqlo. Reliable quality at affordable prices.

QUOTE(fk2222 @ Feb 3 2013, 06:32 PM)
They sell here what they sell in Japan. Now winter time of course sell winter clothes la.

Who's the noob?
ConstantLove
post Feb 21 2013, 12:59 AM

234 posts

H&m so cheap in hk compared to msia lol.

Zara clothes macam abit overpriced..
couleur
post Feb 22 2013, 02:24 PM

188 posts

Because its cheap, acceptable quality and they do knock off luxury and leading designers.
TSbwitherza
post Feb 27 2013, 04:32 PM

Thank you for the replies above! Love to hear more thoughts!

You can also talk about your favorite place to shop/go!~ (for example, Pavilion KL, Sungai Wang and others...)

Please do state your gender, age and occupation/work position!

Many many thanks!!!
SereneAshley
post Feb 27 2013, 07:17 PM

95 posts

Lol is ts doing a survey?

Btw i do love shopping at the bukit bintang area. I can always buy something there even on a student budget.

Honestly though, i think uniqlo and h&m are overpriced. Most of the things at uniqlo can be found at fos. But i do like h&m, they have fashionable stuff. i'll buy clothes there if its worth it.
kangning96
post Feb 27 2013, 11:03 PM

H&M, cheap and nice.
gennee
post Mar 5 2013, 08:07 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(kangning96 @ Feb 27 2013, 11:03 PM)
H&M, cheap and nice.
agree. Zara for the size.

Uniqlo's quality is garbage!
GwangSoo
post Mar 6 2013, 11:34 AM

133 posts

Prefer H&M tho, things are quite cheap plus quality ain't bad though... btw, I heard that Penang is gonna have H&M soon. Anyone know where it will be?
Fairy Angel
post Mar 7 2013, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(fk2222 @ Feb 3 2013, 06:32 PM)
I totally agree with u! why sell winter clothes? Maybe better replace the winter wear segment with summer or office wear!
TSbwitherza
post Mar 8 2013, 10:31 AM

QUOTE(GwangSoo @ Mar 6 2013, 11:34 AM)
Prefer H&M tho, things are quite cheap plus quality ain't bad though... btw, I heard that Penang is gonna have H&M soon. Anyone know where it will be?
Gurney Paragon Mall that is located at Gurney Drive. If I'm not mistaken, it is located in between of g hotel and gurney plaza.
geniushyang
post Mar 19 2013, 02:32 PM

Zara perfect latest trendy design, uniqlo good fabric n cheap. Fred Perry malaysia branch too little design if not is a best choice to me, Pavilion FP just few design n shoe, so pity :(
bigbangformula
post Mar 24 2013, 09:43 PM

1,872 posts

Zara is quite good in my opinion, I notice that the ppl who visit Zara are quite stylish weh. And Zara is so popular, look at the number of their Facebook likes. 16 million! Is it because they are good at pushing fast-fashion(from runways straight to shops for consumers like us) ? Uniqlo nothing special, but lots of ppl in their stores like in Sunway or MidValley..don't get why so popular. Designs looks plain. I even overheard 2 women I heard talking among themselves that think so too. Perhaps they are good at winter clothing la. H&M never been to before, would go there one day. I think I might like it.
milkwitch
post Mar 29 2013, 04:54 PM

33 posts

Hi Everyone,

Zara! i personally feel the quality is better ~
Big Head Monster
post Mar 29 2013, 04:56 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(milkwitch @ Mar 29 2013, 04:54 PM)
Zara! i personally feel the quality is better ~
AGREE with you MILKWITCH tongue.gif
krizalis
post Apr 4 2013, 03:49 PM

29 posts

H&M's clothes ranges from cheap to expensive.. been there few times and bought a few items there myself.. but you would have to be careful of low quality stuff.. so you gotta check properly first on the materials whether they fit the price tag.. As for ZARA.. hmm.. it obviously has better quality compared to H&M but of course it is a little pricier.. but I've seen them offering real cheap stuff during their promo periods.. probably wanting to clear out their older stocks.. maybe you can wait for promo/sales period from ZARA before buying from them? but it depends on whether you go for quality + price or just Quality irregardless of price etc etc..

I have a few Uniqlo items myself and I think uniqlo's clothes are really nice to wear.. not to mention comfortable too.. but the thing is, their design isn't as good as ZARA or H&Ms.. not much choices/varieties if you know what I mean.. but their R&D Tech on their materials and quality is really good.. hmm.. maybe like what other forumers are saying, they are probably good with Winter clothings..
marymonroe
post Apr 11 2013, 03:56 PM

Zara is so overpriced (at least for me). But the quality is good. Seems like Zara's boutique in Paradigm is always empty. Wonder why. I prefer H&m but yeah the tendency to bump into someone wearing same top as u are high! Same like Thepoplook (online boutique), reasonable price but sooo many ppl wearing same design as u.

So the choice is u.
Handsome1777
post Apr 14 2013, 08:03 PM

Hi Everyone,

H&M- value for money!
Zara - value for quality and design!
EricLow
post May 26 2013, 05:11 AM

83 posts

Hi Everyone,

Well, Zara in MY is distributed by RSH Group while Uniqlo is distributed by Wing Tai with shares from Uniqlo Japan.

Among the 3 mentioned brands here, only H&M is opened by the principal itself from Sweden.

This 3 brand represents what they called "Fast Fashion", which are supposed to mean low cost and stylish fashion. And thanks to our weak MY currency and super high import tax, all these "supposed to be super cheap brands" become something "not as cheap at all".

I'm quite a big fan of H&M shirts myself. I am also quite surprised to see that a lot of H&M shirts that are selling for, say SGD 39.90 in Singapore, are actually selling for RM 39.90 here in MY, which is quite comfortable for most of us, since if you taking into accounts for most brands (say Uniqlo, Adidas, Nike, Aldo, etc), something selling for SGD 39.90 is usually sold at RM 100 (taking account of the conversion rate) -- most people assume that's normal since 1 SGD = 2.5 MYR, but they forget that if you were to buy something at MYR 100 because it's sold at SGD 39.90, then if someone around your age/ experience/ qualification make SGD 4,000/ month, then your salary here should have been 4000 x 2.5 = RM 10,000 instead.

I have also been to many many countries where as Zara shirts are super cheap.....it's really a shame that most of us here assume Zara as high end branded stuff. Another example is Topman where as their cheapest shirts are sold at SGD 7 onwards in Singapore. I've bought a Topman T shirt that costed SGD 18 but weeks later i saw the exact same shirt selling at MYR 99 at Topman One Utama. Something's not right here, since if you're an engineer making RM 5k per month, don't forget that a Singaporean engineer around your qualifications is also making SGD 5k/ month, where you spend 0.02% of your salary for that shirt, the Singaporean "YOU" only spend 0.004% of his salary on that same shirt.

Don't get me wrong guys, I'm not complaining..just thought it'd be interesting to share my thoughts.

Speaking from years of experience in the fashion retail industry.

Cheers.
EricLow
post May 26 2013, 05:13 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(JenniJane @ Feb 6 2013, 10:05 PM)
I personally likes to shop at Zara & Uniqlo why because zara's trend are more up to date, great quality and such while Uniqlo i can find alot of basic staples that I need and their quality is always the best smile.gif

I like H&M also but nvr shop there b4 yet as I find their clothes are mostly.. too young & colourful.. and I dont really like the choices there as if everyones gonna wear h&m and if i buy i might bump into the same top/dress lol
Interesting fact:

- Zara claims that chances of bumping into someone having the same shirt like yours is 20,000:1
- Zara in Europe changes their collections in most of their boutiques in European countries as fast as 12 days per change. It's a little slower here..

It is also worth noting that Inditex's (zara) other brand, Bershka, is targetted at teens under 20 years old, but looking at our spending power here...you get what i mean.

This post has been edited by EricLow: May 26 2013, 05:20 AM
UKShoppingHub
post Jun 2 2013, 07:09 PM

I personally love to shop at Zara and H&M! They have a really nice design. And not to forget Dorothy Perkins
justckl
post Jun 10 2013, 02:19 PM

25 posts

I usually mix and match these 4 brands alot.

How I categorize these places in ym head:

Topman: Very High-street hipster stuff
Zara: Affordable runway substitutes
Uniqlo: Simple every occassion wear
H&M: Casual+High street designs

Zara and Topman are in the more expensive segment while Uniqlo and H&M are more affordable. The main difference is 'you get what you pay for' in terms of price vs quality.

Earl9rey
post Jun 11 2013, 11:07 PM

70 posts

for me h&m quality is not so good...basically is what u pay is what u get lo.

zara is too mature but oso quite expensive so usually bought when got warehouse.blazer from 300/400 bucks can decrease to 50-60 bucks only.

uniqlo quality is ok for me just the design is more to t-shirt / simple.

i prefer pull&bear though (same company with zara?) more cheaper by a bit but the design more to teenager style? biggrin.gif
skylinelover
post Jun 15 2013, 10:00 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,236 posts

i dont buy at all these 4 brands...i buy all my clothes in pasar malam...since i got peanut butter pay so i rather buy the clothing in peanut butter places like pasar malam laugh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 15 2013, 10:01 AM
Batch7
post Jun 17 2013, 09:48 PM

I prefer Uniqlo over Zara and H&M. Somehow Uniqlo clothes is casual and basic...
when I am lacking idea of what to wear, I will look for my Uniqlo collection in my wardrobe.

By the way, I am doing a survey about Malaysia fashion, please take a look and try to reply as much as possible... kamsia
notworthy.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2852955
-oWs-LordEnigma
post Jun 20 2013, 12:35 PM

40 posts

Not sure what the hype is over these fashion super stores.

Uniqlo sells quite a lot normal stuff(they do have their specialties) but apparently at a higher quality which is why people do not mind spending a pretty penny on it.
konfiety
post Jul 1 2013, 01:41 AM

70 posts

I'm a female, 19. And I prefer H&M, It is affordable, specially during sale time. Fashionable, and their sizes fit me.

Zara is too formal for me.

You should have added a poll.
dfc16
post Jul 1 2013, 04:28 PM

30 posts

I never used to shop in Uniqlo until now. I bought some shorts and a hoodie and it is sooo comfortable and the fabric is so nice I didn't want to take it off!

Personally i find Zara a rip-off. The quality is good but not good enough to justify the price (Dorothy Perkins and Ms Selfridge have the same quality for abt 20-30% cheaper). I usually wait til sale. Back in the early 2000s, you can go to Zara Bangkok and buy pants for RM35 on sale. Years later, the price inflated because I think they realised they could raise it and people will still buy.

H&M quality is substandard. But it's cheap so yea.. you get what you pay for.
jobfree2u
post Jul 2 2013, 02:50 PM

192 posts

H&M is the best! affordable and trendy!
Cattitude
post Jul 8 2013, 10:26 AM

527 posts

I like three of them, add in forever 21. I would weight heavier on Uniqlo bcos of its comfortability and the cloth capacity to keep me warm. blush.gif
SUSRaikkonen
post Nov 25 2013, 11:27 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Evening happy.gif

So, how about now?

UNIQLO casual shirts looks nice.

skeleton202
post Nov 28 2013, 04:02 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

why no brand outlet???

cheaper n quality wise... never see show like h&m,zara,soda coz dey look same design which get outdated too fast..

prefer levis boutique coz the design everlasting
eddyho
post Jan 6 2014, 10:42 PM

38 posts

if you can't find your love tees in those store,why not try unique hand printed designer t-shirt at www.graphytee.etsy.com.
GetMePhones
post Jan 6 2014, 10:56 PM

163 posts

Hi Everyone,

Prefer Uniqlo for some of their simplistic yet practical clothings..
H&M looks good, though too bad most of them were oversized for me..
facelol
post Jan 19 2014, 09:46 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Varia @ Feb 7 2013, 02:25 AM)
Topman is con shop. nuff
Lol y
CallMeePink
post Feb 24 2014, 01:02 PM

34 posts

Nope. Prefer Kitschen & Nichii to any of the 3 above smile.gif

This post has been edited by CallMeePink: Feb 24 2014, 01:03 PM
Yuling99
post Feb 24 2014, 07:58 PM

13 posts

Hi Everyone,

I like uniqlo the most in terms of quality . But sometimes when there is clearance sale , I am very Geram cause the discount is Alot ! Zara is abit pricey to me though . H n m quality isn't that good , it depends.
zlatanmessi
post Mar 2 2014, 04:17 PM

17 posts

H&M, Zara and Uniqlo are all Fast Fashion companies. They envision, design, produce and distribute a new item within a short time frame but in small and cheap quantities. Most of their designs are rip-offs of other more expensive brands like Louis Vuitton, Chanel and Armani, but they change it a bit to avoid lawsuits. The reason Zara is more expensive is because their factories are in Spain, not China or Bangladesh and so the transport cost to Malaysia is higher.
Mr.Beanster
post Mar 2 2014, 05:19 PM

1,267 posts

I shop Uniqlo. Affordable price with decent quality clothing. I do love their slim fit jeans and leggings though
zlatanmessi
post Mar 4 2014, 03:01 PM

17 posts

Another point is that the aesthetics sensibility of these three fashion companies are influenced by the general fashion and visual sensibilities of their origin countries: H&M with its Scandinavian chic, Uniqlo with its Tokyo cool, and Zara with its dark Latin energy.

Another Fast Fashion company is Forever 21, which is Korean-American in origin.

catherinelove
post Mar 5 2014, 05:14 PM

They are not cheap, sure, i like them. But i always shop in some stores with lower price.

This post has been edited by catherinelove: Mar 5 2014, 05:14 PM
slicker89
post May 5 2014, 12:30 PM

Zara is good. If you know what to look for, you can get good quality + good design + good price.
SerenaCute
post May 7 2014, 10:20 PM

I do prefer Zara over Uniqlo and H&M.
lynbabysusu
post May 26 2014, 10:42 PM

24 posts

Out of the three, I honestly only frequent H&M often. I'm the kind of shopper that shop and change my style pretty often, thus I don't spend too much on a single clothing. I may not be eccentric, I prefer being a little different, I'm pretty diverse in style. I will only compare among the three for this post. As I shop anywhere and everywhere, pasar pagi ke malam ke to branded boutiques, as I don't care for the brand, just the style, and whether I find them reasonably priced.

H&M
Pros:
1. I can still find reasonably priced clothes for the quality they offer.
2. I'm big sized, they fit me well.
3. From time to time and according to seasons, they have nice unique stuffs I like and to my style.

Cons:
1. I'm fat but I'm of average Asian height, sometimes the dresses are too long or tak ngam cutting (eg waist for the dress almost my hip liao lol)

Uniqlo
Pros:
1. I don't have much to talk on, didn't shop much. But the airism singlets I bought is pretty comfy, bought at RM19 each, won't buy it at it's original price RM39.
2. Have cute t-shirts

Cons:
1. For me they are overpriced on many things.
2. Not exactly very interesting.
3. Overrated.

Zara
Pros:
1. Have interesting stuffs and clothes.
2. Quite of quality.

Cons:
1. Way overpriced.

skylinelover
post May 29 2014, 09:58 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,236 posts

haha i am more unorthodox in shopping

ASOS all the EFFING way 4 life rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

all you need is computer and CREDIT CARD then VOILAH

you should get your order delivered 2 your doorstep from UK in 1 and half to 2 weeks provided nothing went wrong in the kastam clearance

this saves me hell a lot of petrol and parking...now i seldom go out shopping 4 clothing because of ASOS rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: May 29 2014, 09:59 PM
twins9
post Sep 2 2014, 06:24 AM

1,371 posts

Mango n Massimo dutti.
xsaintzx
post Sep 12 2014, 04:54 PM

598 posts

Zara is overpriced in Malaysia, personally don't think it's worth the price with that quality.
Uniqlo is very well priced and quality is great.
H&M is also cheap for some garments, but quality is a hit or miss.
Rainy_507
post Sep 21 2014, 02:36 PM

Uniqlo is always my choice when it comes to simple outfit and some staple goods like sweaters, jegging :_ credit to the shop as they always have the length of pants that I want..

Other like H&M, kitchen, brands outlet, nichii can be some good place to hunt for reasonable fashionable goods too!
SUScall me random
post Nov 8 2014, 10:56 AM

300 posts

uniqlo for tees n the airism heattech whatever quality fabrics they hv

H&M too common. maybe because its cheap. but i dont like seeing everyone else wearing the same shirt i hv.

zara is nice. but the nice one to my likings is not cheap. rarely buy too.

i like small stores anyway. like dorothy perkins, promod, esprit..
dun hv much stuff inside, easier making choice laugh.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 8 2014, 02:59 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Nov 8 2014, 01:56 PM)

H&M too common. maybe because its cheap. but i dont like seeing everyone else wearing the same shirt i hv.

now i see brows.gif
SUScall me random
post Nov 8 2014, 03:09 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 8 2014, 02:59 PM)
now i see brows.gif
i totally see u r all over the place now hmm.gif

are you got want to buy me kangaroo jacket? laugh.gif
KVReninem
post Nov 8 2014, 03:15 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Nov 8 2014, 06:09 PM)
i totally see u r all over the place now  hmm.gif

are you got want to buy me kangaroo jacket?  laugh.gif
why not brows.gif but u dun need it.. tongue.gif
SUScall me random
post Nov 8 2014, 03:19 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 8 2014, 03:15 PM)
why not brows.gif but u dun need it.. tongue.gif
okay.jpg sleep.gif

xsaintzx
post Nov 12 2014, 12:30 PM

598 posts

I like Uniqlo the most, feel comfortable, good price with great quality.
munkeyflo
post Nov 12 2014, 12:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

I like H&M cause some of the clothes are always on discount and the bikini is cheap and good plus got sizes.

Uniqlo for their basic wears, especially for cooler countries.

Zara, never bothered, out of my budget.
ar188
post Nov 13 2014, 05:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Nov 8 2014, 10:56 AM)

ohh.. so thats where u go shopping.. brows.gif
SUScall me random
post Nov 13 2014, 05:48 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 13 2014, 05:41 PM)
ohh.. so thats where u go shopping..  brows.gif
u guys owes lurking in girls club? more than girls themselves do hmm.gif

thats the common ones lar in any shopping mall.. not sure u know or not since its not hi keras sleep.gif
ajax91
post Nov 13 2014, 05:51 PM

macOS Enthusiast
1,206 posts

Prada, Gucci, LV & Burberry only
roninhere
post Nov 13 2014, 05:57 PM

172 posts

The quality and design of the 3 shops doesn't worth the VALUE of money to pay for..
They sell low cost products but mark up pricing very high due to the rental, promotion, logistic and etc. Please think many many times before spending your money there..

kagamistar
post Nov 27 2014, 12:41 AM

579 posts

uniqlo will be my fav..but just look to sale items only..
haha..
i prefer mango rather than h&m and zara
lace
post Nov 27 2014, 12:45 AM

623 posts

uniclo is the best among those
2nd shud be hnm for normal wear

Flume
post Dec 18 2014, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(My0d3L @ Feb 6 2013, 11:13 AM)
Not really.. I choose clothes based on their quality and design, and also whether they worth the price that I'm paying for it also
I totally agree with you on this!
I shop EVERYWHERE. For me it's about the quality and design.
If I like it, it doesn't have to be branded. I'll simply buy it.

It all really comes down to preference.
yesorno48
post Dec 18 2014, 02:30 PM

212 posts

uniqlo, quality + confortable
charlottesbox
post Apr 9 2015, 02:29 PM

So far, I still prefer Uniqlo as they have very nice designer T-shirts and their price is still acceptable
waynew
post Apr 9 2015, 02:31 PM

53 posts

padini
mememe3
post Apr 26 2015, 11:42 AM

32 posts

I will purchase all 3 brands but in different situations. H&M for seasonal fashion, Uniqlo for everyday comfort and clothings that are easy to match, Zara for fashion and also quality.

H&M has some really high price range products that I don't think it's worth purchasing, and Zara have some cheaper range clothing that is fashionable and with good quality. And sometimes I don't mind paying a bit more to pamper myself.

0.0552sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:41 PM