This post has been edited by bb100: Jan 22 2013, 12:07 AM
Punishment for Plagiarism, How was it handled in your school?
Jan 22 2013, 12:06 AM
1,439 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Ipoh, Perak |
Wahh, Prof. Need until buang sekolah ahh?
This post has been edited by bb100: Jan 22 2013, 12:07 AM |
Jan 22 2013, 12:07 AM
-double post-
This post has been edited by bb100: Jan 22 2013, 12:07 AM |
Jan 22 2013, 12:13 AM
1,123 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: KL |
That whats it called University Tendang Menendang (UTM) hehe
Jan 22 2013, 12:35 AM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
QUOTE(bb100 @ Jan 21 2013, 04:06 PM) Wahh, Prof. Need until buang sekolah ahh? yes, the students should've thought of that before stealing other people's works and try to pass it off as their own. it's bad enough that they are my students, but it would be worse for me if i do not take action against it. plagiarism is crime of the highest order in academia. in practice, people get banned for life from contributing in their areas of expertise for committing plagiarism. they'll get blacklisted and would never publish again, ever. it's the same in universities. plagiarism is committed knowingly. there has to be a coherent thought process in order to plagiarise. u dont simply "ooops, i've plagiarised some people's works and tried to to pass it off as my own". if we want to be recognised as world class, then do the proper action. buang sekolah is still considered light. they should be banned from joining other schools as well. but that's just me. |
Jan 22 2013, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 22 2013, 12:35 AM) yes, the students should've thought of that before stealing other people's works and try to pass it off as their own. In my opinion, Prof, buang sekolah is a bit too heavy lahh the punishment. It will waste all their years of hard work and sweat. it's bad enough that they are my students, but it would be worse for me if i do not take action against it. plagiarism is crime of the highest order in academia. in practice, people get banned for life from contributing in their areas of expertise for committing plagiarism. they'll get blacklisted and would never publish again, ever. it's the same in universities. plagiarism is committed knowingly. there has to be a coherent thought process in order to plagiarise. u dont simply "ooops, i've plagiarised some people's works and tried to to pass it off as my own". if we want to be recognised as world class, then do the proper action. buang sekolah is still considered light. they should be banned from joining other schools as well. but that's just me. That's what I think only, Prof. Kalau Prof tak agree ke, atau ada apa-apa pandangan, Prof please share... |
Jan 22 2013, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(bb100 @ Jan 22 2013, 04:15 AM) In my opinion, Prof, buang sekolah is a bit too heavy lahh the punishment. It will waste all their years of hard work and sweat. the point is, orang yg menipu tak patut bagi grad. they are not worthy of being awarded such credentials. if you cheat now, you will be a bigger cheat in the future. That's what I think only, Prof. Kalau Prof tak agree ke, atau ada apa-apa pandangan, Prof please share... do you want such people designing your homes? do you want such people to design the school that your kids will go to? knowing that he might cheat on the building materials or construction methods? knowing that such actions might cause the building to collapse and kill you or your children? yes, it's a whole bunch of what ifs. but it's easier on our conscience if we only award the degrees to those who did not exhibit such behaviours rather than those who did. i do not care for the future of such people. as far as i'm concerned, these people do not even deserve a future. |
Jan 22 2013, 01:35 PM
Validating
1,333 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 22 2013, 01:25 PM) the point is, orang yg menipu tak patut bagi grad. they are not worthy of being awarded such credentials. if you cheat now, you will be a bigger cheat in the future. I am sure a lot of students do it for assignments and projects to a certain extent - cut and paste material from the internet. That is plagiarism too. do you want such people designing your homes? do you want such people to design the school that your kids will go to? knowing that he might cheat on the building materials or construction methods? knowing that such actions might cause the building to collapse and kill you or your children? yes, it's a whole bunch of what ifs. but it's easier on our conscience if we only award the degrees to those who did not exhibit such behaviours rather than those who did. i do not care for the future of such people. as far as i'm concerned, these people do not even deserve a future. Buang sekolah is too harsh la, it's 5 years of hard work down the drain. Failing the student for the subject is fair. The student has to spend extra year/semester to repeat the subject. If he commits the crime the second time, then must buang lah. |
Jan 22 2013, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jan 22 2013, 05:35 AM) I am sure a lot of students do it for assignments and projects to a certain extent - cut and paste material from the internet. That is plagiarism too. you're an architect. this is what he did:Buang sekolah is too harsh la, it's 5 years of hard work down the drain. Failing the student for the subject is fair. The student has to spend extra year/semester to repeat the subject. If he commits the crime the second time, then must buang lah. took the entire set of final year design project drawings of previous students from a different studio (we have 9 studios), changed the name (and only the name!), and tried to pass it off during the final thesis assessment (viva) as his own. you tell me what would you do in this case. |
Jan 22 2013, 02:04 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jan 22 2013, 01:35 PM) I am sure a lot of students do it for assignments and projects to a certain extent - cut and paste material from the internet. That is plagiarism too. plagiarism IS allowed, but to a certain a limit according to each universities' policy but usually it will only be around 10-20% for a bachelor degree. in this case its almost 100% and furthermore its the student's fyp and shouldnt be tolerated so lightly. cutting and pasting info from the internet and paraphrasing is not plagiarismif you quote the source. i guess this is the difference in mentality and standards between some public & private institutions here in malaysia compared to other reputable unis.Buang sekolah is too harsh la, it's 5 years of hard work down the drain. Failing the student for the subject is fair. The student has to spend extra year/semester to repeat the subject. If he commits the crime the second time, then must buang lah. my lecturer told me there was a phd student in taiwan got his phd title revoked after he was discovered to plagiarise just ONE SENTENCE in his thesis. and in taiwan, you need at least 6 years to complete your phd. this is how serious plagiarism is looked at in the academic world. This post has been edited by zstan: Jan 22 2013, 02:12 PM |
Jan 22 2013, 02:19 PM
748 posts Joined: Apr 2012 From: Planet Earth |
usually for projects they reduce 20 to 50 percentage for ur marks ,,,
Jan 22 2013, 02:30 PM
44 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 21 2013, 05:22 PM) No need talk about final year project 95% of the assignment you give will be copied paste work. Unless it individual basic 10% will own self do the assignment, 25% will take from answer those 10% refer and try to do it themselves, the remaining 65% will take the answer and copy blindly. The rajin type will try to modify the answer, but majority will just copy blindly. That 65% is the worse one |
Jan 22 2013, 02:39 PM
Validating
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 22 2013, 01:53 PM) you're an architect. this is what he did: The students actually dug their own graves. The question is : whether you want to bury them or not.took the entire set of final year design project drawings of previous students from a different studio (we have 9 studios), changed the name (and only the name!), and tried to pass it off during the final thesis assessment (viva) as his own. you tell me what would you do in this case. The briefs for the project must have been almost identical, if not how could the two students submit designs done by their seniors from previous years. The same design project was given - how could this have happened? Even if the brief is the same but site is different, this would render the designs inapplicable. From my experience from architectural school, the design briefs are different every year, thus copying is out of question. The students were very daring but stupid enough to copy the designs wholesale. You would have expected architectural students to be smarter and more creative than that...to be able to copy creatively, modify some parts to avoid being recognized. The examiners, being architects, could have taken more initiative and be more creative too, by not repeating the same design brief on the same site! This post has been edited by tehtmc: Jan 22 2013, 02:40 PM |
Jan 22 2013, 02:49 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 21 2013, 01:36 PM) I'm wondering how other schools handle cases of plagiarism. boss, why la ask forum for your utm case? Currently I have on my hand two very serious plagiarism cases where the students took drawings from previous graduated students and try to pass it off as their own. In our case, we're trying to push these two final year students to be kicked out of the school because it's so serious. We're not talking about copying/cheating in exams, but taking other's works as their final year project (FYP), thesis or graduating dissertation. if found serious plagiarism, it should be the case of school and academy policy to work it out. but in malaysia, serious plagiarism is putting issue with your school credibility, if you allow, if you dont allowed? every action of so have consequences. if FYP people copy, might as well dont do FYP right? fail the student might be the passive punishment than kick out. but warning should be given out in verbal, if 2nd time found guilty; just kick out. |
Jan 22 2013, 02:59 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 22 2013, 04:53 PM) you're an architect. this is what he did: confirm fail straight. Pure plagiarism & source of previous work is similar. nothing to argue.took the entire set of final year design project drawings of previous students from a different studio (we have 9 studios), changed the name (and only the name!), and tried to pass it off during the final thesis assessment (viva) as his own. you tell me what would you do in this case. if you allow this to go thru, it will purely reflect how failed state the architecture creativity of Malaysia. Mean, our student work = nothing = mean architecture doesn't strive on creativity thinking/ design orientated but rather everyone can copy what singapore have....isnt it obvious.? Oh mai, I wonder how did he did till master...sigh. |
Jan 22 2013, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 22 2013, 01:25 PM) the point is, orang yg menipu tak patut bagi grad. they are not worthy of being awarded such credentials. if you cheat now, you will be a bigger cheat in the future. Prof, you went a bit too far with your statements (bolded part) lahh, I must say. Mereka tu buat FYP je, Prof. Bukannya Masters atau PhD. FYP tu tak ada apa-apa contribution towards the academic community of that particular area. Kalau ada pun sikit je, tak sampai 1% pun, I believe. So kalau nak kata design homes ke, design schools ke, that's too early lahh, Prof.do you want such people designing your homes? do you want such people to design the school that your kids will go to? knowing that he might cheat on the building materials or construction methods? knowing that such actions might cause the building to collapse and kill you or your children? yes, it's a whole bunch of what ifs. but it's easier on our conscience if we only award the degrees to those who did not exhibit such behaviours rather than those who did. i do not care for the future of such people. as far as i'm concerned, these people do not even deserve a future. If this is their first offense, I think they deserve a second chance lohh. Kasi fail FYP already is their worst punishment because they would have to repeat for another year just for that particular subject...and the whole school will know about their history. Tapi buang sekolah??? I really could not see the need for that sort of punishment, Prof. For the underlined part of your post, kalau Prof tak care pasal your students' future, buat apa nak jadi lecturer, Prof? In my opinion lahh Prof, a lecturer should always protect/fight for their students, lebih-lebih lagi mereka tu student FYP Prof. |
Jan 22 2013, 03:31 PM
Validating
Since when did Azarimy become a Prof?
Jan 22 2013, 04:08 PM
1,282 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Jan 22 2013, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 22 2013, 06:59 AM) confirm fail straight. Pure plagiarism & source of previous work is similar. nothing to argue. it's not a masters programme. this is still the final few batches of the 5 year BArch programme. the thing is, this is not a bad student. but the audacity to commit this knowingly and assume he wont get caught? either they're really brave/daring or just plain idiots.if you allow this to go thru, it will purely reflect how failed state the architecture creativity of Malaysia. Mean, our student work = nothing = mean architecture doesn't strive on creativity thinking/ design orientated but rather everyone can copy what singapore have....isnt it obvious.? Oh mai, I wonder how did he did till master...sigh. QUOTE(bb100 @ Jan 22 2013, 07:07 AM) Prof, you went a bit too far with your statements (bolded part) lahh, I must say. Mereka tu buat FYP je, Prof. Bukannya Masters atau PhD. FYP tu tak ada apa-apa contribution towards the academic community of that particular area. Kalau ada pun sikit je, tak sampai 1% pun, I believe. So kalau nak kata design homes ke, design schools ke, that's too early lahh, Prof. i dont care for such people. do read my words properly. i have over 400 other students to care about; those who didnt cheat, didnt commit plagiarism, didnt commit any academic offense. i have legal duty to protect them against cheaters. if i do not push for the severest punishment, then i would not be protecting the interests of the other 400 students. If this is their first offense, I think they deserve a second chance lohh. Kasi fail FYP already is their worst punishment because they would have to repeat for another year just for that particular subject...and the whole school will know about their history. Tapi buang sekolah??? I really could not see the need for that sort of punishment, Prof. For the underlined part of your post, kalau Prof tak care pasal your students' future, buat apa nak jadi lecturer, Prof? In my opinion lahh Prof, a lecturer should always protect/fight for their students, lebih-lebih lagi mereka tu student FYP Prof. see my point? yes, it's just a FYP. but for architecture FYP is the standard that puts u as a practicing architect. when you apply for work, the FYP is the main thing that employers look for, not the CGPA. QUOTE(tehtmc @ Jan 22 2013, 07:31 AM) some people use american lingo. |
Jan 22 2013, 10:16 PM
Jan 22 2013, 11:17 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
| Change to: | 0.0241sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:15 AM |