Punishment for Plagiarism, How was it handled in your school?

tehtmc
post Jan 22 2013, 01:35 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 22 2013, 01:25 PM)
the point is, orang yg menipu tak patut bagi grad. they are not worthy of being awarded such credentials. if you cheat now, you will be a bigger cheat in the future.

do you want such people designing your homes? do you want such people to design the school that your kids will go to? knowing that he might cheat on the building materials or construction methods? knowing that such actions might cause the building to collapse and kill you or your children?

yes, it's a whole bunch of what ifs. but it's easier on our conscience if we only award the degrees to those who did not exhibit such behaviours rather than those who did.

i do not care for the future of such people. as far as i'm concerned, these people do not even deserve a future.
I am sure a lot of students do it for assignments and projects to a certain extent - cut and paste material from the internet. That is plagiarism too.
Buang sekolah is too harsh la, it's 5 years of hard work down the drain.
Failing the student for the subject is fair. The student has to spend extra year/semester to repeat the subject. If he commits the crime the second time, then must buang lah.
tehtmc
post Jan 22 2013, 02:39 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 22 2013, 01:53 PM)
you're an architect. this is what he did:

took the entire set of final year design project drawings of previous students from a different studio (we have 9 studios), changed the name (and only the name!), and tried to pass it off during the final thesis assessment (viva) as his own.

you tell me what would you do in this case.
The students actually dug their own graves. The question is : whether you want to bury them or not.

The briefs for the project must have been almost identical, if not how could the two students submit designs done by their seniors from previous years. The same design project was given - how could this have happened? Even if the brief is the same but site is different, this would render the designs inapplicable. From my experience from architectural school, the design briefs are different every year, thus copying is out of question.

The students were very daring but stupid enough to copy the designs wholesale. You would have expected architectural students to be smarter and more creative than that...to be able to copy creatively, modify some parts to avoid being recognized.

The examiners, being architects, could have taken more initiative and be more creative too, by not repeating the same design brief on the same site!

This post has been edited by tehtmc: Jan 22 2013, 02:40 PM
tehtmc
post Jan 22 2013, 03:31 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

Since when did Azarimy become a Prof?

0.0169sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:57 PM