8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Thread v9, switches, keycaps, boards

rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 12:27 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Mar 13 2013, 12:24 AM)
Vortex Mechanical Keyboards
Another Costar manufactured brand joins our league

Vortex KBT Oni PBT/LED
Vortrx KBT ONE PBT/LED
Finally.....
the Costar-made cherry stabilizers.....
would be very very interested if the price is right.... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 12:29 AM

2,021 posts

Cyntrix.... you always bring awesome surprises!!!!

Guess my determination to held off getting another keyboard just because of the stabilizers is the correct move!!!!

Can't wait for your updates on those!
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 12:40 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Mar 13 2013, 12:29 AM)
Let's just say that the KBT ONI PBT is NOT A PROBLEM at RM 329 sold through our retailer (not direct from us). Backlit version RM 50-60 more

As for the KBT ONE LED, I'm looking into the pricing. It's more expensive than RK9200 which is a more superior board considering that it is the improved version of the ONE (dual led vs single led). Both are manufactured by Costar. We already ordered 280 pcs from Rosewill since many months ago
the pricing for the tenkeyless is fair enough

what do you mean by
it is the improved version of the ONE (dual led vs single led)
? hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Mar 13 2013, 12:37 AM)
KBT Pure can be had for RM 299 - ABS only. But I don't know why'd anybody want this over the RK9000 for the same price
hmm.... small keyboard lovers..... pretty much same reason why people buy HHKB instead of realforce laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 12:51 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 13 2013, 12:40 AM)
Aesthetic reasons ? brows.gif

But I assume Poker is more hot selling.

Pure has a bit weird right shift.
For that size need to use tsangan kit if they don't sell separately
yea..... Pure.... >.< weird layout is a nono for me doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Mar 13 2013, 12:46 AM)
RK9200 is cheaper than the KBT ONE LED. RK9200 has Rosewill's awesome warranty, and dual LED. This is my main concern with KBT ONE.

Poker and Pure cannot be hot selling....I don't care what people say in this thread, on the forum anywhere else, or what not. Shorter keyboards are not half as hot selling as full sized ones. UNLESS these keyboards can be priced DIRT CHEAP for users to buy them as secondary keyboard.
o.O.... dual LED.... then i think the crowd will be pulled towards the tenkeyless....

Well, at least Poker is.... coz is standard layout + small & portable + highly moddable laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 12:54 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Mar 13 2013, 12:51 AM)
Not ducky hater lah, don't say until like that. Just don't like how they stopped making good quality liao after 9008g2. I still have my 9008g2 red switch tongue.gif
No more keyboard use lor. T.T My cm tk gave away already, 9008g2 need put museum.  nod.gif  Ducky will be my only keyboard.
I see.... well, at least you still using mechanical keyboards!!!

it is sad that you're quitting the hobby though....
but once a mechanical keyboard user, forever a mechanical keyboard user!!! laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 12:25 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Mar 13 2013, 11:14 AM)
We should organise group buys from geekhack lol. Split the shipping
yea.... but need enough people to make the split shipping worthwhile....
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 12:35 PM

2,021 posts

Just saw that Originativeco is selling some PBT dyesub RGB + Red Esc set, are they DESKO made?
they selling at $50... and i saw above the price they put "regular price: $165"... sweat.gif sweat.gif
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 02:03 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 13 2013, 01:51 PM)
Sherryton said the page still buggy with intl shipping doh.gif

Coz when I check-out, the total amount is not added along with shipping cost doh.gif
oh... you getting something off originativeco?
what you get??

but right now, they only accept credit card payment right? I cant buy a thing if sherry cant solve his paypal issue....
>.<
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 03:07 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 13 2013, 02:10 PM)
No. Last time was "trying" to get Classic Beige With Blue (two-tone)
But when I reconfirmed him, he said shipping should be included during check out (unless free shipping).
In my case, there is no.
So I decided not to pay.

If like that 95+26USD = RM 370  rclxub.gif

Some more I just bought this CCnG at not cheap price  doh.gif
the damn shipping price is the main culprit here.... $20+ for shipping is just too much already.....

PS: there is a round 2 CCnG at GH, you didnt see that before you make the purchase? hmm.gif

QUOTE(bv2427 @ Mar 13 2013, 02:32 PM)
Korean keyboards.
LOL.... their prices are 1/3 - 1/2 the price of a decent PC.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
rurushu
post Mar 13 2013, 09:05 PM

2,021 posts

Have a question, what is Vortex actually?

It seems that they "make" KBC's Poker and KBT's ONI and ONE,
BUT both ONI and ONE are manufactured by Costar....

They also seems to have skeptical opinions from people on GH, quality concerns on their first batch of aluminium filco cases being not a perfect fit, manufacturing delays from keycaps etc....

so what are they and what are their fields actually? hmm.gif hmm.gif
rurushu
post Mar 14 2013, 12:12 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Mar 13 2013, 11:53 PM)
Won't be touching the Poker and Pure. It's all yours until they are cleared.
No idea yet, they still haven't update out account status to distributor.
It's called first batch for a reason. Even my first batch car costing a heck lot more has problems. Our other ford focus even need a complete replacement. The Oni and One are manufactured by Costar with very low tolerance like Filco. The ONE LED is the same as the RK9200 but only has one LED color but it costs more than Rosewill due to the smaller quantity Vortex has. If we order the same amount, there'd be no problem but that would mean we will have about 1000 mechanical keyboards to clear in 2013. We already have 300+ units of RW RK9000, not including over 100+ Ducky coming, and also god knows how many Vortex. laugh.gif
oh... so meaning Vortex is something like Filco? they only sell, not manufacture? hmm.gif
rurushu
post Mar 14 2013, 10:06 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Mar 14 2013, 09:45 PM)
Okay, I get it... Yup, agree with that. Though I'm a Logitech fan, when it come to mech KB, the first thing that I remember is Ducky/ Rosewill/ Filco.
anyone can make a mechanical keyboard, BUT not EVERYONE makes a good mechanical keyboard laugh.gif laugh.gif

same case for mouse, if buy mouse, i mostly get logi's, rarely try others coz i know Logitech's best at their mice laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 15 2013, 01:13 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Mar 15 2013, 12:34 AM)
^ steelseries lah! hahaha i use microsft / steelseries, never use logitech. =x
haha.... maybe going to get the SS diablo mouse, if Logitech still stubbornly wont release their new G900.... laugh.gif laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 15 2013, 10:48 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Mar 15 2013, 02:44 PM)
I noticed quite a few mechanical keyboards do not have the keys at the Num Lock area.

You guys don't use them?
QUOTE(raptor_cZn @ Mar 15 2013, 09:22 PM)
Just got myself my first mech keyboard, the CM quickfire pro with red switches.

Actually wanted to get browns or blues but seems to be out of stock everywhere. Can only find shops selling the blacks and reds for this model.

The Ducky Shine 2 seems tempting but $$$ :'p

Maybe I should try getting a TKL keyboard. The idea of a kb not having the ten keys seem kinda strange though since I've been using keyboards with it all this while (except for laptops of course lol)
you guys (and me included) are the reasons why Cyntrix bro is so affirmed that the best selling boards are always the fullsizes.... FULLSIZE>>>>TKL>>>SPACESAVING (Poker, HHKB, Pure, Race etc)

laugh.gif laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 16 2013, 01:17 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(virgotakumi @ Mar 16 2013, 12:55 PM)
im looking to buy a mechanical keyboard, preferably a high end one, if anyone would be so kind as to recommend me a few, i would be thankful wink.gif.
there are many definition to the word "high end"

but first specifying your requirements will provide a better scope....

form factor: fullsize? tenkeyless? (without numpad) or compact (smaller than the previous two)
type of switches: cherry mx switches? topre switches? (this is the keyword for your "high end")
ligting: backlit or non-backlit (this contributes quite some to the overall price)

and other informations you deemed required that can help you narrow down your searches...

rurushu
post Mar 16 2013, 01:19 PM

2,021 posts

@virgotakumi: have you used a mechanical keyboard before to begin with??? hmm.gif hmm.gif
rurushu
post Mar 16 2013, 01:49 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Mar 16 2013, 01:40 PM)
(Most) Malaysians' logic, the pricier and greater the number (model, specs and so forth) a thing is, the better it is. whistling.gif

No offense but I feel that (most) Malaysians tend to evaluate quantity/numbers prior to quality.

Often we came across ppl that had a mentality such that "premium price will get premium quality", which is not completely truth all the time.
well, cant argue with that +1

which is why i am asking him to provide infos.... then only i realized i havent asked the most basic question... laugh.gif laugh.gif

It seems that he is also posting similar inquiry at the gaming mouse thread, so I guess anything expensive and branded is a go for him? hmm.gif
rurushu
post Mar 16 2013, 02:53 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Mar 16 2013, 02:42 PM)
IMHO, there's no high-end keyboard here. Pick up the best for your suit.
+ 1

exceptions are some manufacturers, apart from that, basically is just preferences.... laugh.gif laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 16 2013, 04:38 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Mar 16 2013, 03:52 PM)
rosewill brown new user is joining in the club! First thing that i notice is......this keyboard is damn heavy compare to my previous microsoft keyboard lol
the plate and the individual switches contributes some to the heft laugh.gif laugh.gif

welcome to the club where no membrane keyboard is tolerated laugh.gif laugh.gif
rurushu
post Mar 17 2013, 12:01 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Mar 16 2013, 05:14 PM)
Since my Cheat sold already.. I'm using this right now. Black switch!  rclxms.gif

hmm.... Ducky???? But from your sig, you still have your KMAC LE right? laugh.gif laugh.gif

Btw, you already got used to heavy switches???? all your switch preference all spring >60g..... sweat.gif sweat.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.3806sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:08 PM