4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

CyberCenter / Internet "Cafe", Any1 here operates one?

TSTHTgadgets.com
post Mar 23 2006, 08:36 PM, updated 20y ago

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hey guys... Just wanna find out whether any1 here has set-up and operated a cybercafe from scratch before... I have interest in opening one in the near future and i would like to know how to go about, starting from the capital-raising part, to getting bank loan, sourcing for equipment, and all the way to opening date... Thanks!
zeist
post Mar 23 2006, 08:42 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Starting from small, you need RM500K.

Don't get a small shoplot, those cafes in SS15 are just nice. The one I used to work last time was huge. flex.gif , everyone feel comfortable and nice.

Is like a big theater when you hear 'Fire in the hole ...'. laugh.gif
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Mar 23 2006, 08:44 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Wow, that's a heavy investment even for a small setup shocking.gif... This can be arranged via bank loan right? But for such an amount, looks like there will be a long repayment period...

Oh ya, forgot to ask also... Is it a good way to gain knowledge on the operations of a cybercafe if i were to work in one 1st?

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Mar 23 2006, 08:45 PM
zeist
post Mar 23 2006, 08:49 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

It's expensive because of the shoplot. Borrowing from loan, i'm not sure the procedure, if you can't pay back the sum they are expecting, you are not qualified then.

Yes, it is good to work at some cybercafe, to know how everything operates at one time, and what should do and not.

You would also find it is rather hard to entertain 'some idiotic faggot brainless retarded ' customers too.

TSTHTgadgets.com
post Mar 23 2006, 08:54 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hahaha, that i have to agree with u, my man laugh.gif! Dunno where i can get further info on this via the internet?
iZuDeeN
post Mar 23 2006, 09:47 PM

3,466 posts

RM500k? R u for real?

My friend just recently setting up a cyber cafe in USJ... 10PCs... solely browsing and no gaming... not yet opened...

Capital needed less tham RM100k that includes everything (i.e furniture, rental, license, PC) with 4 month 'rolling-money'
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Mar 23 2006, 10:06 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Well, that seems like a more realistic figure, izudeen... Which part of USJ is your friend's place located? If got time, i may check it out...

Btw, other than subang, where are the good places in PJ where cybercenters are in demand, particularly those like that of your friend's (only browsing)?

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Mar 23 2006, 10:07 PM
option1
post Mar 23 2006, 10:26 PM

I totally agree with iZuDeeN that we need less than 100k for all the expenses. However, one of my friends who owns a Cybercafe told me that we need at least one year for Return On Investment(ROI). That is quite a long period for a company to turnaround and make profit. It is only advisable for someone with a lot of capital to invest in such business.
zeist
post Mar 23 2006, 10:31 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I think buying the shoplot is more practical than rent, thats what I thought. Like I said earlier, you need alot of money to buy a shoplot. We've heard many unwanted cases like, the landlord persuade them to move out, because of the higher rent price he got from another or etc. That suck balls.

So you have no choice but to pay him more, that is even more fugged .. rclxub.gif

Rent? RM3K, 4K a month? Not worth it seriously.

RM36K a year

RM36K x 5 years = RM180K

I'm not sure whether your friends are going to run this business for long or short term. So if you calculate RM180K, do you think its worth?

I mean, if you buy the shoplot, after 5-10 years, that shoplot value definitely increase higher.

This post has been edited by zeist: Mar 23 2006, 10:40 PM
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Mar 23 2006, 10:56 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hmmm, good point there... I have heard of many successful restaurants having to move out or close shop just because the landlord wants to take back the lot... But to buy the shoplot itself is also not cheap...

A lot in a bustling commercial center surely can set a cybercenter operator back at least a few 100k...
harrychoo
post Mar 23 2006, 11:01 PM

3,589 posts

IMO, CC is not a good investment for this kind of amount of capital.

Nowadays, CC is not like before wheren charge will be like RM3. Competition now is a lot compare to last time, a lot of CC now only charge for RM1 or RM1.50.

Somemore a lot of electricity bill u need to pay, and PC very fast outdated and got a lot of gangsters go CC to play, mouse and keyboard and monitor always rosak
tunasandwich
post Mar 23 2006, 11:51 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 23 2006, 10:31 PM)
I think buying the shoplot is more practical than rent, thats what I thought. Like I said earlier, you need alot of money to buy a shoplot. We've heard many unwanted cases like, the landlord persuade them to move out, because of the higher rent price he got from another or etc. That suck balls.

So you have no choice but to pay him more, that is even more fugged .. rclxub.gif

Rent? RM3K, 4K a month? Not worth it seriously.

RM36K a year

RM36K x 5 years = RM180K

I'm not sure whether your friends are going to run this business for long or short term. So if you calculate RM180K, do you think its worth?

I mean, if you buy the shoplot, after 5-10 years, that shoplot value definitely increase higher.
shop lots can cost up to a million or few millions especially at areas with lots of ppl.... SS15 is one of those.....

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 23 2006, 11:01 PM)
IMO, CC is not a good investment for this kind of amount of capital.

Nowadays, CC is not like before wheren charge will be like RM3. Competition now is a lot compare to last time, a lot of CC now only charge for RM1 or RM1.50.

Somemore a lot of electricity bill u need to pay, and PC very fast outdated and got a lot of gangsters go CC to play, mouse and keyboard and monitor always rosak
yup... IMHO, CC is not a good investment anymore, if you only have 10 pcs and just for surfing, it'll take a long long long while until you make profit, can u sustain ur business that long?

If u really really wanna start a profitable CC, u need to have games, loads of them...

then only u'll have all ur computers occupied 24/7, almost 24/7 at least... else.... u won't be making much even u manage to survive a year....

oh yea... btw if u have 500K ynot invest in petrol station thumbup.gif

if you don't have it, I've a good investment plan that works through the internet, that is minimum risk, and romises 3 - 4% return weekly depending on effort u put in.

Plus u get to work from home wink.gif

This is not an online scam, not HYIP or autosurf, not MLM and definitely no selling required.

PM me if u're interested wink.gif
TSTHTgadgets.com
post Mar 24 2006, 12:17 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Serious?

You got a point there tunasandwich, what more with the fuel increase, resulting in shorter time to get the ROI... Hmmm, good venture to consider here...
harrychoo
post Mar 24 2006, 08:38 AM

3,589 posts

but one of my fren, his family is doin petrol station business and he claim that now the petrol station business also quite saturate oledi. if u are in KL, u saw a lot of petrol station every km.

then he said if ppl use credit card, u need to pay the charges as well.

and if u want to open petrol station, i think u need to be a bumi or have a bumi partner.
madman.com
post Mar 24 2006, 10:20 AM

351 posts

to open a cc :

1)Location is EVERYTHING !! even if ur pc is lousy & chapalang, but with a good location & big market u will get a high & fast return.

2)Try ur best not to get bank loan, the interest will kill u. Life span for cc is short, bout 1.5 - 2 yrs only. so u must plan it carefully coz that the period for u to earn money only, unless u got a superb locatin with a huge market then only go for laon. Otherwise all ur income will hav to pay to the bank.

3)U know anything bout pc?? hardware, software & networking?? if not better go learn coz this will help n save u alot.

4)Many of the cc using pc with super spec today, so u need to plan urself what kind of spec u want. For me standard 1 will do bcoz ppl all playing warcarft only, important thing is ur streamyx line must be fast.
tunasandwich
post Mar 24 2006, 10:40 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 24 2006, 08:38 AM)
but one of my fren, his family is doin petrol station business and he claim that now the petrol station business also quite saturate oledi. if u are in KL, u saw a lot of petrol station every km.

then he said if ppl use credit card, u need to pay the charges as well.

and if u want to open petrol station, i think u need to be a bumi or have a bumi partner.
not really... depends... petronas i'm not sure, but shell definitely u are qualified if u have the cash wink.gif

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Mar 24 2006, 12:17 AM)
Serious?

You got a point there tunasandwich, what more with the fuel increase, resulting in shorter time to get the ROI... Hmmm, good venture to consider here...
not really too, u'll be drawing lots for the location for ur petrol station, if u got those kampong kampong area.... u might still be in the red....

we used to have a thread bout starting a petrol station business, but i dunno where it went already....

This post has been edited by tunasandwich: Mar 24 2006, 10:41 AM
iZuDeeN
post Mar 24 2006, 10:56 AM

3,466 posts

Okay, as mentioned, my friend still in the process of setting up the CC in USJ 6. Once he got it launched I'll let u guys know...

And the CC is not his main income, he still has a full time job, and only will be at the shop during weekends...

He also doing 'supply' of computer hardwares to stores around, thus using the CC to store some stuff...

Well, as many of u know, if you want to do CC, you need to think 2wice, coz one thing its not easy anymore to get CC license from local goverment... secondly, how much can you charge and how soon can you recoup your investment..

TSTHTgadgets.com
post Mar 24 2006, 11:07 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Oh ok, so your friend's CC business is as "side-income" lah... But at least he is familar with the computer business via his hardware supply... No wonder he can get the equiment from his day-to-day business...

Can introduce me to your buddy someday (considering a venture into the CC line)? And please let us know when the opening is and where the location is in USJ... Thanks!
madman.com
post Mar 24 2006, 11:24 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Mar 24 2006, 10:56 AM)
Okay, as mentioned, my friend still in the process of setting up the CC in USJ 6. Once he got it launched I'll let u guys know...

And the CC is not his main income, he still has a full time job, and only will be at the shop during weekends...

He also doing 'supply' of computer hardwares to stores around, thus using the CC to store some stuff...

Well, as many of u know, if you want to do CC, you need to think 2wice, coz one thing its not easy anymore to get CC license from local goverment... secondly, how much can you charge and how soon can you recoup your investment..
i dun know about KL but to apply license in Perak still ok, not tht hard. The charge for every hour is very depend on the area ur cc is. If there is other cc around ur place then is better for u to follow the market rate there. To remind u coz the life span is kinda short, so this business is like race agains time ==> must try get the return back as fast as u can. To do this u must manage the modal properly, cut down unnecessary expences.

feralee
post Mar 24 2006, 01:46 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

bear in mind
u must have additional $$$ for upgrading
as u know nowdays PC are getting faster & faster
if your PC are outdate
nobody will go to the cafe cool.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top