5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Running Dynaudio Esotec System 242 ACTIVE, Comments Please!

LoewLim
post Jan 15 2013, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Jan 14 2013, 07:02 PM)
Yes I have heard them
Yes they sounded clean but not analog sounding means not natural if u know what I mean smile.gif
No la.. I nvr meant to take this so heavily...
If you said you have heard them and concluded that it didn't sound good...
Then fair enough I respect your comments... smile.gif

LoewLim
post Jan 15 2013, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Jan 14 2013, 07:39 PM)
Wow, half a day away and so many useful comments!! Keep 'em commin!

Got 2 weeks left to decide, then no need ask opinion liao, just tune =D

The Amp is more or less decided (unfortunately, due to budget of course)

The speakers.... Hehe.... Suggestions anyone? Still leaning to the Dyns!
Imho... you're good with the amp... since u're running an active system (some say active also nt analog sounding) .

As for the Dyns, never heard them... but according to a very reputable tuner in JB who has tuned both Dyns & Morel Supremo. He said you need at least 300w for the tweeters. Not sure how true la... just for reference...

Maybe you can try get other speakers which are easier to power. 150w x4 is plenty for most speakers.
malutapimau
post Jan 15 2013, 02:35 PM

751 posts

alpine f6 is a good amp, go for it
class d amp is the way to go for ice
big power yet small and lightweight (~3kg only)
a class ab amp with same power probably weight 6-7kg
we can put 4 pdx amps (like 2 pdx-f6 + 2 pdx-m12 under driver and fr passeger seat)

i believe a good amp is a good amp regardless of amp class (d/a/ab/h etc)

This post has been edited by malutapimau: Jan 15 2013, 04:18 PM
ezmeer94
post Jan 15 2013, 04:08 PM

1,121 posts

The f6 is a great amp if u power entry level speakers haha
But it's a no if u use the dynaudio 242
If u go the dynaudio 242 at least get a genesis series 3 stereo 100 of better DMX
or sinfoni haha much better
garykam
post Jan 15 2013, 06:00 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Jan 15 2013, 04:08 PM)
If u go the dynaudio 242 at least get a genesis series 3 stereo 100 of better DMX
i thought sinfoni and genesis is on the same standard? both of them also is a powerful yet musical amp rite?
vickyz
post Jan 15 2013, 06:20 PM

15 posts

genesis is dynamic&clean while sinfoni is warm&soft.Genesis suit more to Dynaudio and Morel Elate/Supremo

This post has been edited by vickyz: Jan 15 2013, 06:31 PM
craziechild
post Jan 16 2013, 02:39 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

QUOTE(LoewLim @ Jan 14 2013, 11:07 AM)
Why Alpine F4, F6 no good?
Have u heard them powering a good system tuned by a good tuner?
Yes. Why?

QUOTE(vickyz @ Jan 15 2013, 06:20 PM)
genesis is dynamic&clean while sinfoni is warm&soft.
Choose one to suit personal preference.

QUOTE( On building a good sound system)
QUOTE(LoewLim @ Jan 15 2013, 10:13 AM)

Imho... you're good with the amp... since u're running an active system (some say active also nt analog sounding) .
As for the Dyns, never heard them... but according to a very reputable tuner in JB who has tuned both Dyns & Morel Supremo. He said you need at least 300w for the tweeters. Not sure how true la... just for reference...
Maybe you can try get other speakers which are easier to power. 150w x4 is plenty for most speakers.
QUOTE(malutapimau @ Jan 15 2013, 02:35 PM)
we can put 4 pdx amps (like 2 pdx-f6 + 2 pdx-m12 under driver and fr passeger seat)

Take this in a subtle way,

building a system is about balance, there is no point having a finest amp say Luxman CM60000 wub.gif and a full mohawk drivers... and vice versa.
Yes to some point it might sound better than most normal setups, even more classy, but at what cost?

With the same amount, getting a mid-ranged amp, a mid-ranged drivers, a good installation could easily surpasses the setup above. but yeah, you lose in being classy though.

and for the power, numbers doesn't matter, how clean/stable it is, how does it cope to continuous hi-power burst, is what matters...
I am privileged enough to have used a lot of amps, and always have access to a lot of calibrated industrial high-accuracy measuring instruments,
I can tell you this, seriously, there are not a lot of them are actually good at it... and yet the mass market worships them...

cheers.gif
Quazacolt
post Jan 16 2013, 03:29 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jan 16 2013, 02:39 AM)
Take this in a subtle way,

building a system is about balance, there is no point having a finest amp say Luxman CM60000 wub.gif  and a full mohawk drivers... and vice versa.
Yes to some point it might sound better than most normal setups, even more classy, but at what cost?

With the same amount, getting a mid-ranged amp, a mid-ranged drivers, a good installation could easily surpasses the setup above. but yeah, you lose in being classy though.
QFT
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
LoewLim
post Jan 16 2013, 09:50 AM

For the power, I am really not sure how true it is, but this is what the tuner shared with me, I am just bring this out for common reference only.

For the rest, I respect your point of view. But I cannot agree with all of them.

The best measuring instrument is your own ears, and different people hear things differently. It is easy to list down all those prestige products but sadly not many can afford them.

I still recommend getting a good tuner to maximise your equipment with whatever budget you have (limited or unlimited).
Good tuners utilises speaker placement & active tuning + whatever proprietary techniques to solve/reduce problems in car environment which is limited in space.

I've heard high & mid end amplifiers like Harmotech H4, Brax X4, Ground Zero Reference 4 & 4XS, Sinfoni, Genesis Series 3, Steg K series, Mosconi AS, DLS Ultimate, Mcintosh etc etc. And YES they are definitely better than the entry level amplifiers in terms of cleanliness/stability/continuos power/linearity etc etc...
However, without good installation/tuning to maximise their full potential, they can sound worse than Audiobank/Mohawk amp powered system... And YES, I've also heard systems that sound thumbup.gif thumbup.gif powered by normal or shit amp...

Give more credit to tuners rather than the brand of the equipment... we should...

Just my 2cents...
cheers.gif

This post has been edited by LoewLim: Jan 16 2013, 11:03 AM
garykam
post Jan 16 2013, 10:21 AM

145 posts

Strongly agree flex.gif
TSBelaCHAN
post Jan 16 2013, 06:25 PM

580 posts

[quote=garykam,Jan 16 2013, 10:21 AM]

Strongly agree flex.gif

[/quote]

Strongly agree too bro!

One cannot replace a good tuner!

I have a good tuner already. an I give him credit by not negotiating what he charges for worksmanship, as long it's within my budget =D
He deserves every penny =D

Ok, the any comments on the 250Wrms per channel Boston GT28 to power the Dyns passive? =D

IMHO, it should work out =D
TSBelaCHAN
post Jan 16 2013, 06:29 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Jan 15 2013, 04:08 PM)
The whole forum has spoken! =D notworthy.gif

Don't think i'll be using the PDX-F6 if i'm going for the Dyns =D

But for any other, it should be ok smile.gif
TSBelaCHAN
post Jan 16 2013, 06:32 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(LoewLim @ Jan 15 2013, 10:13 AM)

Already thinking that way since yesterday =D

Thanks for the feedback! appreciate it!
TSBelaCHAN
post Jan 16 2013, 06:33 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Jan 15 2013, 02:35 PM)
That's what fueled me to choose this amp in the first place!

+1 Bro

After taking in more comments, may be using another amp already, so much for compactness.... =D
TSBelaCHAN
post Jan 16 2013, 06:34 PM

580 posts

Ok, the any comments on the 250Wrms per channel Boston GT28 to power the Dyns passive? =D

craziechild
post Jan 16 2013, 07:12 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

Numbers just doesn't work thy way la....
malutapimau
post Jan 16 2013, 07:25 PM

751 posts

how about 2x pdx-m12 to power the dyns passive
2x 1200w rms plenty of headroom (+9db)
ezmeer94
post Jan 16 2013, 07:31 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Jan 16 2013, 07:25 PM)
how about 2x pdx-m12 to power the dyns passive
2x 1200w rms plenty of headroom (+9db)
Yo those are monoblock amplifiers doh.gif doh.gif
Good to power subwoofers but no no for component speakers doh.gif lolz laugh.gif
Haha nice
ezmeer94
post Jan 16 2013, 07:33 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Jan 16 2013, 06:34 PM)

Bro genesis dual mono don't want?
Great for the dyns smile.gif
TSBelaCHAN
post Jan 16 2013, 08:21 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jan 16 2013, 07:12 PM)
Numbers just doesn't work thy way la....
I know, i know, numbers can't convey the quality of sound the amp produces.

But I so want the dyns..... =D

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.4910sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:02 PM