4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Michelin Pilot SS vs Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2, Which is better for 18inch rims and why?

TScybermaster98
post Jan 10 2013, 12:40 PM, updated 12y ago

4,440 posts

There are many international reviews which claim that both these tyres are better than the other. But generally, they claim that the Michelin PSS has better dry braking while the Assy 2 is better on wet surfaces. What do you think?

Im asking for actual facts here and not just preferential statements. Really wanna know the positives and negatives of each of these tyres especially in the following aspects:

1) Wet and dry braking
2) Comfort
3) Tyre noise
4) Rolling resistance
5) Durability

Price wise, a 235-45-18 Assy 2 costs about RM880-900 while the PSS costs between RM 1090-1250 per tyre. Thats a good >RM 200 difference per tyre.

http://www.goodyear.com.my/tyre_details.asp?tyre_code=asym2

http://www.michelin.com.my/Products-Servic...uper_Sport.html

gheyfriend
post Jan 10 2013, 02:08 PM

280 posts

r u asking for opinion or r u stating your fact? coz u seldom ask 1 wor smile.gif
( i c no 1 reply then i reply lor, maybe nobody use tyre so expensive like jew)

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 10 2013, 12:40 PM)
There are many international reviews which claim that both these tyres are better than the other. But generally, they claim that the Michelin PSS has better dry braking while the Assy 2 is better on wet surfaces. What do you think?

Im asking for actual facts here and not just preferential statements. Really wanna know the positives and negatives of each of these tyres especially in the following aspects:

1) Wet and dry braking
2) Comfort
3) Tyre noise
4) Rolling resistance
5) Durability

Price wise, a 235-45-18 Assy 2 costs about RM880-900 while the PSS costs between RM 1090-1250 per tyre. Thats a good >RM 200 difference per tyre.

http://www.goodyear.com.my/tyre_details.asp?tyre_code=asym2

http://www.michelin.com.my/Products-Servic...uper_Sport.html
unknownhammie
post Jan 10 2013, 02:55 PM

399 posts

huah... me using cheap cheap falken nia.
XCInspire
post Jan 10 2013, 02:58 PM

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Jan 10 2013, 02:08 PM)
r u asking for opinion or r u stating your fact? coz u seldom ask 1 wor smile.gif
( i c no 1 reply then i reply lor, maybe nobody  use tyre so expensive like jew)
He is asking for actual facts, not preferential opinions. Maybe that is why nobody answered as all will be based on personal usage and opinion on different car makes...

Quazacolt
post Jan 10 2013, 03:53 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 10 2013, 12:40 PM)

1) Wet and dry braking
2) Comfort
3) Tyre noise
4) Rolling resistance
5) Durability

first off, you have to understand that not many people have R18 tires, and even less would spend around/over MYR1k per piece of tire. i can buy a set of 4 pieces tire for my R15 and still have more than enough cash to eat for a week.

so depending on what your "criteria" of facts may be, you probably may or may not find the answers you seeks.

from my personal perspective, i definitely never used those tires myself, nor do i ever plan to have 18" rims at all even in the distant future.

however i have read up reviews/specs/info on the 2 tires, and the "facts" are very similar to what you've probably already known/gathered.

so with the rather long disclaimer given, ill provide my "facts":
1) AS2 better on wet. better water channeling grooves design, more major water channeling grooves (4 vs 3!)

2) PSS wins. michelin has always been a favorite when it comes to comfort/NVH considering the vast feedback on XM2/PS3. overrated or not, it is there. and i am very certain they would do better for their high end/flagship tires. majority of feedback on PSS is they have softer compound, and softer sidewalls.

3) PSS wins. similar/same reason as above. just from the grooves design, noticed that PSS as a very unique noise reduction design that majority of asymmetric tires follow. (even the AS2 btw) michelin seems to have taken a step further on that, however with the sacrifice of 1 water channeling groove.

4) PSS wins, softer compound generally means lesser rolling resistance

5) AS2 wins as harder compound means better treadwear/durability.

my personal take/preference on this:
Michelin is overrated and overprice. and the rm200 per tire (x4 all for wheels = rm800, so... yeah) backs my statement very damn well.
Quazacolt
post Jan 10 2013, 03:55 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...reMake=Michelin

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?ti...F1+Asymmetric+2

click on "test"

and you'll see that my "facts" were reflected very well.
Quazacolt
post Jan 10 2013, 04:03 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

also, this thread that you've posted on as well smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2615599

TScybermaster98
post Jan 10 2013, 05:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 10 2013, 03:53 PM)
first off, you have to understand that not many people have R18 tires, and even less would spend around/over MYR1k per piece of tire. i can buy a set of 4 pieces tire for my R15 and still have more than enough cash to eat for a week.

so depending on what your "criteria" of facts may be, you probably may or may not find the answers you seeks.

from my personal perspective, i definitely never used those tires myself, nor do i ever plan to have 18" rims at all even in the distant future.

however i have read up reviews/specs/info on the 2 tires, and the "facts" are very similar to what you've probably already known/gathered.

so with the rather long disclaimer given, ill provide my "facts":
1) AS2 better on wet. better water channeling grooves design, more major water channeling grooves (4 vs 3!)

2) PSS wins. michelin has always been a favorite when it comes to comfort/NVH considering the vast feedback on XM2/PS3. overrated or not, it is there. and i am very certain they would do better for their high end/flagship tires. majority of feedback on PSS is they have softer compound, and softer sidewalls.

3) PSS wins. similar/same reason as above. just from the grooves design, noticed that PSS as a very unique noise reduction design that majority of asymmetric tires follow. (even the AS2 btw) michelin seems to have taken a step further on that, however with the sacrifice of 1 water channeling groove.

4) PSS wins, softer compound generally means lesser rolling resistance

5) AS2 wins as harder compound means better treadwear/durability.

my personal take/preference on this:
Michelin is overrated and overprice. and the rm200 per tire (x4 all for wheels = rm800, so... yeah) backs my statement very damn well.
Thanks for your response. Well done indeed. rclxms.gif
kento
post Jan 11 2013, 02:27 AM

The Ronin
640 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Jan 10 2013, 02:55 PM)
huah... me using cheap cheap falken nia.
falken 18? how much bro?
no $$$ to buy xpensive tyres haha
unknownhammie
post Jan 11 2013, 07:13 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(kento @ Jan 11 2013, 02:27 AM)
falken 18? how much bro?
no $$$ to buy xpensive tyres haha
RM4XX? hahaha

If i were to take falken 912, i prefer opts for Nexen N8000 xD
gheyfriend
post Jan 11 2013, 10:27 AM

280 posts

4XX price tyre u wana reply here a..ppl here 1k 1 tyre lar...nothing compare to ur safety

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Jan 11 2013, 07:13 AM)
RM4XX? hahaha

If i were to take falken 912, i prefer opts for Nexen N8000 xD
unknownhammie
post Jan 11 2013, 11:16 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Jan 11 2013, 10:27 AM)
4XX price tyre u wana reply here a..ppl here 1k 1 tyre lar...nothing compare to ur safety
Lambo tyre berapa 1? I c recent so many accident doh.gif

Sometimes is not tyres fault.. is driver problem whistling.gif

K la dont want reply nanti orang butthurt
kento
post Jan 11 2013, 11:44 AM

The Ronin
640 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Jan 11 2013, 11:16 AM)
Lambo tyre berapa 1? I c recent so many accident  doh.gif

Sometimes is not tyres fault.. is driver problem  whistling.gif
K la dont want reply nanti orang butthurt
tyre so xpensive than rim itself haha shakehead.gif
TScybermaster98
post Jan 11 2013, 04:31 PM

4,440 posts

Best prices ive got so far for Michelin PSS 225-45-18 is RM 1090 and Goodyear Assy 2 for RM 890 from Tyrezone.
jacksonkua
post Feb 16 2013, 11:56 PM

TS for the price of Micheline Super Sport 225-45-18,
Why don't u get Micheline Pilot Sport 3 with same 225-45-18?
It would be slightly cheaper & quite impressive in both dry and wet condition.
Atoms
post Feb 17 2013, 02:10 AM

I have nvr tried Goodyear F1 Assy 2
but I have tried Continental CSC 5 and PSS and PS3 on 19 inch and 17 inch rims
from what I tested PS3 wet and dry grip is clearly on the losing end vs those ultra high performance tyres
as for CSC 5 and PSS, I shud say CSC 5 has better dry and wet grip than PSS but the noise level seems abit higher than PSS. Durability wise, almost the same with those 2 but mostly depends on how much air u pump la~

my personal experience though~ no facts~
SUSkimsim
post Mar 26 2013, 07:21 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Hi TS

If u don't mind about Goodyear tyre, I am always supported.

From my Kenari Duraca GA to Grand Livina using Assurance Fuel Max is very quiet spin and wet or dry, even across yellow line.

Currenty from Livina changed to Sylphy is ori Bridgestone quite noisy and bumpy on yellow line.

The next will be try EfficientGrip for quiet ride.
Now just wait my back-order from Tan Chong of 17" Impul rim smile.gif
takeshi_kovacs
post Apr 10 2013, 10:11 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(jacksonkua @ Feb 16 2013, 11:56 PM)
TS for the price of Micheline Super Sport 225-45-18,
Why don't u get Micheline Pilot Sport 3 with same 225-45-18?
It would be slightly cheaper & quite impressive in both dry and wet condition.
PS3s are not high performance tyres. They are for daily drives so they can't compare in term of performance with PSS.
SUSkimsim
post Apr 13 2013, 10:07 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Just nice yesterday going to installed GY Eagle F1 Assy 2.
Noise control quite well and better handering on corner.

cantona7
post Apr 13 2013, 06:00 PM

255 posts

Anyone knows is Goodyear F1A2 a directional tire?
I think it is right?
Because Asymmetric means directional?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:54 PM