Bursa Traders Thread V2, waaa! V2 d !

gark
post Feb 10 2014, 10:40 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 10 2014, 10:39 AM)
Waaa.... new year ang pow.  rclxms.gif
IDX rally very strongly starting this year.. so far index up 10% already for 2014... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Feb 10 2014, 10:41 AM
lambethwalk
post Feb 10 2014, 12:14 PM

2,635 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 10 2014, 10:40 AM)
IDX rally very strongly starting this year.. so far index up 10% already for 2014...  sweat.gif
5-6 digit profit? brows.gif
tstan8_8
post Feb 10 2014, 01:45 PM

1,021 posts

Today most of the share are in green colour!!
gark
post Feb 10 2014, 02:02 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(lambethwalk @ Feb 10 2014, 12:14 PM)
5-6 digit profit?  brows.gif
No lar.... tongue.gif
SKY 1809
post Feb 10 2014, 02:16 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 10 2014, 02:02 PM)
No lar....  tongue.gif
Then 7 lor
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2014, 02:45 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

Unker gark, my stocks portfolio delivered 12-months total return of 14% only, underperformed all the big name UT funds like Kenanga Growth, Eastspring Investments Equity Income etc but came quite close to industry average...should I dump my portfolio? sad.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 10 2014, 02:46 PM
gark
post Feb 10 2014, 03:05 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 10 2014, 02:45 PM)
Unker gark, my stocks portfolio delivered 12-months total return of 14% only, underperformed all the big name UT funds like Kenanga Growth, Eastspring Investments Equity Income etc but came quite close to industry average...should I dump my portfolio? sad.gif
How much did the big name UT perform AFTER fees? wink.gif and also KLSE index? tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2014, 03:08 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 10 2014, 03:05 PM)
How much did the big name UT perform AFTER fees?  wink.gif  and also KLSE index?  tongue.gif
I compared against the total return but before deducting sales charge/commission, management fees are already factored into total return.

FBM KLCI past 12-month return...9.26% (from Fundsupermart.com chart generator: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...ter_switch.svdo ). Means that I beat index but underperformed the better local equity fund managers. Some of the funds delivered >20% return...some small-cap funds double of that sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 10 2014, 03:10 PM
gark
post Feb 10 2014, 03:52 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 10 2014, 03:08 PM)
I compared against the total return but before deducting sales charge/commission, management fees are already factored into total return.

FBM KLCI past 12-month return...9.26% (from Fundsupermart.com chart generator: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...ter_switch.svdo ). Means that I beat index but underperformed the better local equity fund managers. Some of the funds delivered >20% return...some small-cap funds double of that sweat.gif
Your portfolio is dividend heavy...so is less volatile, have you considered the volatility of your portfolio compared to those portfolio which is primary growth portfolios?

You gotta compare apples to apples...
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2014, 03:54 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 10 2014, 03:52 PM)
Your portfolio is dividend heavy...so is less volatile, have you considered the volatility of your portfolio compared to those portfolio which is primary growth portfolios?

Oh yahor...forgot bout volatility doh.gif

In that case my performance is decent tongue.gif
river.sand
post Feb 10 2014, 04:10 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 10 2014, 03:08 PM)

You really take the pain to work out your return sweat.gif
My portfolio value grew alot from Jan 1, 2013 to Dec 31, 2013, but that's because I injected a lot of cash into my trust account.
Don't know how I can work out the return...

Volatile shares may fare better in some years, and do poorly in others. But over long term, say 10 years, I believe volatility doesn't matter as the returns even out...
Boon3
post Feb 10 2014, 04:11 PM

15,942 posts

3 sens...

End if the day, how much money left is most important.

One has to be satisfied with their own personal targets.
This is the gauge.
Papaya comparisons is comparing papaya.

LOL

tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2014, 04:21 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Feb 10 2014, 04:10 PM)
You really take the pain to work out your return  sweat.gif
My portfolio value grew alot from Jan 1, 2013 to Dec 31, 2013, but that's because I injected a lot of cash into my trust account.
Don't know how I can work out the return...
Volatile shares may fare better in some years, and do poorly in others. But over long term, say 10 years, I believe volatility doesn't matter as the returns even out...
If u know the formulas, Excel will kaotim all for u wink.gif

Put it simply, profit is calculated by

Portfolio value LESS cash invested (purchases plus transaction fees) ADD cash withdrawn (sales less transaction fees) ADD cash dividends received

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Feb 10 2014, 04:38 PM
gark
post Feb 10 2014, 04:21 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Feb 10 2014, 04:10 PM)
It depends on the individual risk tolerance .. some people can stomach low risk and some do not mind high risk. Volatility is a measure of those risk....

Of course those with low risk tolerance will tend to collect the low risk shares such as dividend shares, REITs, bond etc.. but they trade lower risk but with lower gains.

Those with better risk tolerance will go for the higher risk growth shares thus over in the long run will tend to do better but with more ups and downs throughout the years.

It also depends you have the emotional stability to hold high risk shares, if you panic sell and panic buy.. you will not do well in the long term although you have high risk tolerance. laugh.gif
gark
post Feb 10 2014, 04:22 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 10 2014, 04:11 PM)
3 sens...

End if the day, how much money left is most important.

One has to be satisfied with their own personal targets.
This is the gauge.
Papaya comparisons is comparing papaya.

LOL

tongue.gif
Why papaya? brows.gif
Boon3
post Feb 10 2014, 04:27 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 10 2014, 04:22 PM)
Why papaya?  brows.gif
rolleyes.gif

You want to compare watermelons instead? tongue.gif

Damn! Damn! Damn!

Traded Keladi before last year.
Escaped with a 1 sen gain. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Now it rockets. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

SUSPink Spider
post Feb 10 2014, 04:36 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 10 2014, 04:21 PM)
It depends on the individual risk tolerance .. some people can stomach low risk and some do not mind high risk. Volatility is a measure of those risk....

Of course those with low risk tolerance will tend to collect the low risk shares such as dividend shares, REITs, bond etc.. but they trade lower risk but with lower gains.

Those with better risk tolerance will go for the higher risk growth shares thus over in the long run will tend to do better but with more ups and downs throughout the years.

It also depends you have the emotional stability to hold high risk shares, if you panic sell and panic buy.. you will not do well in the long term although you have high risk tolerance.  laugh.gif
But...volatile shares will have wilder price swings, hence entry/exit timing is more crucial; wrong entry could mean forever cannot breakeven. sweat.gif
gark
post Feb 10 2014, 04:38 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 10 2014, 04:36 PM)
But...volatile shares will have wilder price swings, hence entry/exit timing is more crucial; wrong entry could mean forever cannot breakeven.  sweat.gif
Hence holding longer term (as long as it fundamentally performs) will even out your entry/exit timing... tongue.gif
river.sand
post Feb 10 2014, 04:50 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 10 2014, 04:21 PM)
If u know the formulas, Excel will kaotim all for u wink.gif

Put it simply, profit is calculated by

Portfolio value LESS cash invested (purchases plus transaction fees) ADD cash withdrawn (sales less transaction fees) ADD cash dividends received
If I invest cash in the beginning of the year that is simple.
But in actual case I invested cash throughout the year. Dividends also came in in different time...

Better you give me your Excel template lah tongue.gif
gark
post Feb 10 2014, 04:57 PM

12,534 posts

Bull is back.... hmm.gif

271 Pages « < 222 223 224 225 226 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:29 PM