DOWN clock ? DOWN clock ?, can down clock burn the CPU ?
jumajuma
Oct 6 2006, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(soulfly @ Oct 2 2006, 06:49 PM) With AMD's Cool n Quiet, you don't need to downclock the cpu anymore  1 question for u.. how far pentium/core2 downclock when eist enable. i hear intel power saving not good as amd c&q izit true. long time didnt use intel since pentium4 era. tq
soulfly
Oct 6 2006, 12:42 AM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
i never use Intel... so I don't really know  if not mistaken around 3-4 multi downwards from stock speed
sniper on the roof
Oct 6 2006, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(jumajuma @ Oct 6 2006, 12:20 AM) 1 question for u.. how far pentium/core2 downclock when eist enable. i hear intel power saving not good as amd c&q izit true. long time didnt use intel since pentium4 era. tq Conroe's lowest multi is 6 so you do the maths lor. Tak jimat banyak really.
jumajuma
Oct 6 2006, 01:15 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 6 2006, 01:10 AM) Conroe's lowest multi is 6 so you do the maths lor. Tak jimat banyak really. so that mean finally we can lower the multi for intel for oc purpose izzit?
stevenlee
Oct 6 2006, 10:23 PM
should we have downclock club challenge in lyn....
lohwenli
Oct 19 2006, 11:59 AM
Check this article from silentpcreview, its about undervolting the processor to save power http://www.silentpcreview.com/article313-page1.htmlthe numbers are quite surprising, even the Athlon 64 X2 is pretty amazing (Conroe wasn't out yet for another few months when the article waas written). Never expected AMD's CPUs to take up so little power when tweaked right. Of course, this article makes no sense to overclocking addicts.. Maybe can hold competition for lowest power consuming PC (and probably most silent & coolest running) that can meet a certain level, say, 3000 3Dmarks in 3DMark2003? Should be interesting..
jumajuma
Oct 20 2006, 01:35 AM

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Oct 19 2006, 11:59 AM) Check this article from silentpcreview, its about undervolting the processor to save power http://www.silentpcreview.com/article313-page1.htmlthe numbers are quite surprising, even the Athlon 64 X2 is pretty amazing (Conroe wasn't out yet for another few months when the article waas written). Never expected AMD's CPUs to take up so little power when tweaked right. Of course, this article makes no sense to overclocking addicts.. Maybe can hold competition for lowest power consuming PC (and probably most silent & coolest running) that can meet a certain level, say, 3000 3Dmarks in 3DMark2003? Should be interesting.. i agree with u but better if we using superpi only, coz graphic card will effect a lot in 3dmark03. but i donno what happen if using my amd64 @400mhz and pairing with 7950gx2... either one must be choking...
charge-n-go
Oct 20 2006, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 6 2006, 01:10 AM) Conroe's lowest multi is 6 so you do the maths lor. Tak jimat banyak really. Merom can jimat banyak, because default multi can go as high as 15x. With low bus speed, 6x can actually brings the CPU below 1000MHz. Well, Core2 Duo initial design is for laptop usage, high FSB is not the target. So i guess 6x is pretty sufficient for initial usage.
lohwenli
Oct 25 2006, 01:22 AM
QUOTE(jumajuma @ Oct 20 2006, 01:35 AM) i agree with u but better if we using superpi only, coz graphic card will effect a lot in 3dmark03. but i donno what happen if using my amd64 @400mhz and pairing with 7950gx2... either one must be choking...  I said "Lowest POWER consuming". Taking the graphics card into account by including a graphics benchmark would make things even more interesting. Whats the point of saving 20W on the processor only to have it spent by the graphics card? Can set a few categories based on minimum required benchmark performance (can set a variety) and find the best tweaked system for lowest power consumption. Think its about time competitions like this came up, considering how insanely high system power requirements have gotten these days and the current performance-per-watt craze. Only catch is that they'll need equipment to measure the power consumption, preferably from the wall socket so can also take PSU efficiency into account. For active pfc PSUs with power factors of >0.99 measuring from wall socket is easy (shunt resistors), but for those non-active pfc with lower power factors need slightly fancier equipment which I'm not sure where to get.
jumajuma
Oct 30 2006, 12:17 AM

sorry my mistake! i got ur point already.. but u just mention how hard to measure total system consumption. even if we using a active pfc psu we still only 85~95% power effeciency and not everyone can afford to buy clamp meter to measure from wall socket plus they can give a wrong information. btw we still need a more supportive member to give more opinion.
lohwenli
Oct 30 2006, 01:50 AM
Well I just had a few ideas on how to measure system power, however all have their weaknesses. Clamp meters are not cheap, a cheap alternative is to use a shunt resistor in series in the power cable and measure the voltage across it (using a DMM) to calculate the current and power drawn. Problem is when the PSU has a power factor below 0.99, the current measured by this method or with a clamp meter will be higher than the actual amount. Its also possible to use a UPS and measured by the time it lasts before the UPS runs out of battery power-but I heard this is also affected by power factor although I'm not sure. Btw, power factor and power efficiency are 2 different things. Very few PSUs can boast efficiency better than 85%, even 80% is achieved by only half of the quality brand PSUs while any active PFC PSU can easily achieve PF >0.95. For more details, read the article link below. PFC decoded http://www.dansdata.com/gz028.htm
Jcsy
Nov 2 2006, 10:25 AM
lol i downclock sometimes when not using full capacity btw, the person must educate the children not 2 play not downclock running away from the problem