20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

sHawTY
post Jun 27 2015, 11:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(InSplre @ Jun 27 2015, 02:32 PM)
Hi AsusMY,

Need your help, im using RT-AC68U, it keep hanging after more that 10-15 days, what is wrong and how to diagnose this? It happen 3 times. After more that 10 days connected, it just hand, with no wifi signal, I have to power off and on the router back.
Not sure if this is correct but I believe you may have an overheating AC68U.

Several questions:
1. Where do you place the router?
2. What firmware are you on now? The latest STABLE official ASUS firmware for AC68U is 3.0.0.4.378.4585
3. How many devices is connected through wireless?

1 suggestion on how to check the temperatures of your AC68U:
Use AsusWRT-Merlin firmware to check the temperatures of your AC68U.
Only AsusWRT-Merlin firmwares can provide you with the temperatures. Official ASUS firmwares doesn't have this feature.
sHawTY
post Jun 27 2015, 11:35 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

ASUSmy around 7.58PM today, all of my wireless devices got disconnected from my RT-N16.
I've attached the log if you need it.
Check the last 4 lines, I've never seen them before.

PS: I've hidden my MAC address & IP address for security purposes.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jun 28 2015, 12:40 AM
sHawTY
post Jun 27 2015, 11:49 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(InSplre @ Jun 27 2015, 11:40 PM)
i notice the cpu is at 89C which is very high but then even when i placed it in an aircodn room, the lowest it can get is 85C
Not sure if that's normal or not.
The hottest my AC68U ever run is at 71°C. But that's only because I use 2 60MM fan behind the router to suck out all the hot air.
The fan is connected to the USB port where the fan is positioned to suck the hot air out from the router. No mods to the router except for some double sided tape to secure the fan to the router.
I just recycle the fan from a laptop cooler that I'm not using anymore.

After some googling, it looks like it's normal for AC68U to run at those temperature you mentioned.
But I still prefer my devices to run cooler, to help prolong their life.
sHawTY
post Jun 28 2015, 10:33 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jun 28 2015, 01:34 AM)
This merlin firmware will it affect warranty claim? Great to know that it can monitor temperature.
No it won't.
Unlike OpenWRT, DD-WRT, Tomato & the rest of the 3rd party firmwares, AsusWRT-Merlin is based on official ASUS firmware but with extra functions, some bug fixes & tweaks to improve your router's performance..

ASUS themselves sometime use some bug fixes provided by AsusWRT-Merlin.

AsusWRT-Merlin is only available for several ASUS routers.
RT-N66U
RT-AC66U
RT-AC56U
RT-AC68U
RT-AC68P
RT-AC87U/P/R
RT-AC3200

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jun 28 2015, 10:33 AM
sHawTY
post Jun 28 2015, 10:42 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Jun 28 2015, 10:35 AM)
If I flash the AsusWRT-Merlin do I need to reconfigure my router or can I just flash the saved .cfg?
You'll have to reconfigure everything from scratch.
sHawTY
post Jun 29 2015, 11:28 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Jun 29 2015, 11:06 AM)
Flashed merlin on my N66 and all config intact - just to let you know
Much much better performance
That's because you didn't do a factory reset before flashing.

Taken from Merlin's wiki:
"While it is generally not necessary to restore to factory defaults, it's not a bad idea"
sHawTY
post Jun 29 2015, 11:31 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jun 29 2015, 11:28 AM)
too bad asus merlin tak support N12 haha
Upgrade lar. Time for AC68U. icon_idea.gif
sHawTY
post Jun 29 2015, 11:36 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jun 29 2015, 11:34 AM)
baru bought N12 not long ago...want upgrade again meh..
belum spoil leh
Jual la N12 tu. icon_idea.gif
sHawTY
post Jun 30 2015, 09:37 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

ASUSmy At 7.58PM Saturday 27 June 2015, all of my wireless devices got disconnected from my RT-N16.
I've attached the log if you need it.
Check the last 4 lines, I've never seen these before.

PS: I've hidden my MAC address & IP address for security purposes.
sHawTY
post Jun 30 2015, 12:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jun 30 2015, 12:15 PM)
Hi sHawTY,

May I ask, have you try using different channel?

I googled a bit while waiting my RD feedback, it seen like it is caused by interference.

Thank you
I highly doubt this issue is caused by interference.
I've been using Channel 7 at 40MHz for years.

And I have just scanned the area using inSSIDer, no one is using channel 7 except me.
sHawTY
post Jun 30 2015, 03:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jun 30 2015, 03:09 PM)
Hi sHawTY,

Is this always happen? The disconnection of all device and the message that you get from the log.

Thank you
No, this was the first time since I first bought the RT-N16 around 4 years ago.
An indication that my RT-N16 is starting to deteriorate is it?

Or should I send the RT-N16 to replace the capacitors?
As we all know about the famous RT-N16 bulging capacitor issues after some time has passed.

So ASUSmy what's your suggestion in this?

Also, what about the NTP update issue, any resolution?
The NTP update issue still appear from time to time in my RT-N16 log.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jun 30 2015, 03:35 PM
sHawTY
post Jul 3 2015, 10:30 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(InSplre @ Jul 3 2015, 10:14 PM)
I took your suggestion and place 2 fan at the back of the router, now running at 70C. See if it will hang after 10 days or not.
Those fans, is it sucking air out of the router or pushing air into the router?
You don't want to push air into the router as that will push lots of dust into the router.
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2015, 09:12 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(InSplre @ Jul 4 2015, 08:18 AM)
Thanks, I flip the fan to blow out and now the temp drop further to 64C
Wow, huge 25°C drop from the original temperature before you attach the fan into the back of the router. shocking.gif
Now your AC68U is cooler than mine bro. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 4 2015, 09:14 AM
sHawTY
post Jul 4 2015, 06:41 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jul 4 2015, 02:56 PM)
where can i buy this type of cooler??
You use N12 wor, no need extra cooling liao. tongue.gif
QUOTE(Low_1988 @ Jul 4 2015, 04:15 PM)
Hi guys, i could like to ask, is eveytime restart the UNIFI modem and we need to log in again from this router? i just get AC68U yesterday.
No need.
But why do you want to restart the UniFi BTU (modem)? blink.gif
Just leave it as it is.

I never restart my BTU ever since the first day I use UniFi & that's like 4 ~ 5 years ago.
The only time the BTU is switched off is when I leave my house for more than 2 days, blackouts or when the BTU itself is faulty & in need of replacement (happened once).

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 4 2015, 06:42 PM
sHawTY
post Aug 11 2015, 09:07 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Just got my repaired ASUS RT-N16 from Alpha Wolf last Saturday.
Sent the router to Alpha Wolf on Friday 7th August & got it back on Saturday 8th August.

He repaired it in only 1 day.
My RT-N16 has been working fine since then.

Previous issue was caused by dead/bulging capacitors.

So if any of you got a dead/faulty ASUS routers where it's no longer under warranty, consider sending it to:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1498281

PS: Nevermind the closed topic, just Whatsapp him & he'll respond to you right away. thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Aug 11 2015, 09:52 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Aug 11 2015, 09:36 AM)
so he's still in business? my rtn66u is having wifi problem.
Yes.
But what kind of WiFi problem are you having exactly?
sHawTY
post Aug 20 2015, 11:10 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

ASUSmy no more firmware updates for RT-N16? sad.gif
It's been stuck on Beta Version 3.0.0.4.378.4850 since April.
sHawTY
post Aug 25 2015, 01:00 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Aug 25 2015, 11:28 AM)
what's the different between AC56U and AC56S ?
AC56S is built specifically for M1 broadband in Singapore.
AC56S also has only half the RAM capacity & half the CPU core.

AC56U:
CPU - Dual core 800MHz
RAM - 256MB

AC56S:
CPU - Single core 800MHz
RAM - 128MB

If you want my opinion, don't get either of those. Never go antennaless router.
Go for either AC68U or AC66U.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Aug 25 2015, 01:00 PM
sHawTY
post Sep 3 2015, 11:37 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ejat666 @ Sep 2 2015, 10:30 PM)
Hi AsusMY,

Would like to seek your advice.

I bought Asus DSL-AC68U AC1900 router yesterday to replace my unifi dlink dir-615 stock router.

Somehow i just notice that there is no dedicated WAN port since the router is 2 in 1 WAN/LAN

My question is which router port should i plug the LAN (1-4) if im using port 1 modem?

Encounter error "pls check your dsl/wan"

I cant get it to work since this evening. Really need your advice thanks.
You bought the wrong router.
Understand this:
RT-AC68U - Wireless router only - This is the one you should've bought.
DSL-AC68U - ADSL Modem + Wireless Router - ADSL is for Streamyx only, you cannot use this for UniFi.

From your picture, that white modem is the BTU (broadband termination unit), you can't remove/replace this.
You can only remove/replace the D-Link DIR-615.

Look at your BTU again, notice the black ethernet cable connected to Port 1?
The other end of the cable has to be connected to the WAN port of your router.
Unfortunately, the DSL-AC68U does NOT have WAN port, it only has a DSL port.
sHawTY
post Sep 9 2015, 03:46 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(YOYLOD @ Sep 9 2015, 02:59 PM)
read one comment to not but antenneless router.
I said that. smile.gif

Routers with external & upgradeable antennas is always better than antennaless routers.

20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:46 PM