My bf has affair, What should i do?

n00b13
post Jan 2 2013, 09:30 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 2 2013, 09:07 AM)
I said he has changed...n he told he will change it back to my old bf, he is asking me for forgiveness. I told him in 1 condition, I need him to say it clear in front of me n that girl. <------ May I know is this request over? He told he can't do it...n the reason? If I force him to do it, he will hate me.
Did he say this? Did he say he won't do this because he will hate you if you make him?

n00b13
post Jan 2 2013, 09:46 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 2 2013, 09:33 AM)
Ya...he said it...my heart stop beat at tat moment...
shakehead.gif That is the absolute wrong response from him.

That being said, what you asked from him is not a very good idea. Having him ask for your forgiveness in front of her... or let's face it, what you want is for her to ask for your forgiveness too, isn't it? Do you really think that's necessary? Do you blame her for the affair? However it is, it's gonna be a horribly embarrassing experience for the both of them, and do you really think she deserves that? I think the only one who owes you something is the person who had your trust and betrayed it. That person is not her.

But for him to say he won't do it because he'll hate you... that is wrong. That is very very wrong. That implies that he is not sincere in seeking your forgiveness. That sounds like he thinks what he did is not that bad. In fact, after reading your post again, it sounds like he was angry at you about something even before he slept with that girl, and he's now telling you he slept with that girl to punish you.

He does not deserve your forgiveness yet. Not even close.

n00b13
post Jan 2 2013, 10:05 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 2 2013, 09:59 AM)
I need to think about wat shd i do to jaga my "had affair bf" face after he dropped my face infront the particular gal??
No. The last thing you should do is jaga his face. Just that you should not jatuh her face. You should only blame him, not her.

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 2 2013, 09:59 AM)
After I hurt so badly, I still need to think about my attitude when settle this with him?He has the courage to tell me the truth...is this mean I shd forgive him without any reason?I shd appreciate for him courage huh?
No. Telling you the truth is one thing. Being properly regretful is another. I don't think he is properly regretful.

And I'm not sure he is very courageous either. Again, did you argue about something before he had this affair? That's what the "cold war" was about?

n00b13
post Jan 2 2013, 12:03 PM

364 posts

What's clear, to me, is that he has a great deal of resentment for you. Your argument about property sounds like you over-reacted and behaved very btichily towards him. And his behaviour after the affair sounds like he wanted to create this drama. He wants to have a huge blowup between the two of you, because he's very stressed out and he doesn't know how else to deal with it.

Frankly, I think the two of you should go for relationship counselling. Your problem is too complicated to ask for advice on a web forum.

n00b13
post Jan 2 2013, 12:11 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 2 2013, 12:07 PM)
lol...y so serious?
Your 10-year relationship is on the verge of ruin, and you don't think it's serious?

I'm adi counselor...
If you are truly a professional counselor, then you should know how important it is to remain objective. You are the furthest thing from objective right now.

i know wat shd i do...thx
I hope you do.

n00b13
post Jan 2 2013, 03:56 PM

364 posts

I shall give TS one last piece of advice as well.

Do not ever forget that you are the one who has been betrayed here. If you are too quick to forgive him, you are only sending the message that you will always forgive him for anything he may do in the future. And do not ever think that this relationship, or any relationship, is more important than your feelings. Never think that breaking up is never an option. If you think that, you will only become a doormat.

That said, it is not impossible for you to forgive him. He clearly has his reasons for doing what he did; like I said, he's probably been harbouring a lot of resentments against you for some time. That does not mean what he did is right. That does not mean you are wrong. What it means is, you need to stop thinking in terms of "right" and "wrong".

Instead, what you both need to strive for is understanding. Understand why he slept with that girl. Understand his feelings that drove him to do so. Understand why he chose to admit the affair to you instead of just keeping it quiet. (I certainly don't think it's as simple as him being courageous.) Understand the way he's been feeling all this time. The only way you can do all this is communication. Deep, painful, soul-searching communication.

But understanding is a two-way street. He needs to understand you as well; understand how hurt you are over his betrayal, understand your feelings behind the property argument, understand your own resentments against him. Frankly, what he said - that he will hate you after he cheated on you - displays a huge lack of understanding. Not a good start. But you do need to start.

In the end, if you choose to forgive him, make sure it's for the right reason. "I can't waste this 10 years' investment" is not a good reason. "It's my fault he cheated" is not a good reason. "He won't cheat again if I sayang him more" is not a good reason.

And on the other hand, if you choose to dump him, "he cheated on me" is a perfectly good enough reason.

n00b13
post Jan 3 2013, 09:06 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(HappyCrazyFreak @ Jan 3 2013, 01:56 AM)
While I commend you on the effort you took to write all that, I think there are a lot of things about men and how they think that - and all women - ought to know.

What you said about "Queens" and "Concubines" is basically the Madonna/Whore complex. Google it; it's a real thing. It means that a lot of men are simply not satisfied with one woman in their lives, and they need at least two. One to keep at home, one to have fun with outside. I think you're under the impression that if a man cheats on his partner, he is in danger of leaving his partner for the other woman. But in my experience, this is not the case. He will never leave his partner, because even he's not so stupid to leave the happy home that they've built together. Especially if he's married; he's not going to go through life as a divorcee and all the social stigma that comes with it. But he's not going to give up the other woman either. He's going to keep them both, and he will do everything in his power to have them both.

Which brings us to one crucial difference between men and women that I've learned. To most women, marriage = "I HAVE WON IN LIFE." To most men, marriage = "OMG MY LIFE IS OVER." Women think that being married, being a wife, being a mother and all the respectability that comes with it, is the most important thing in the world and one they could never stand to lose. But notice I didn't say anything about the men they are married to. They love being married more - a lot more - than they actually love their husbands.

Which would be foolish enough on its own, if it weren't for one additional thing - their husbands don't feel the same way. While she's planning the wedding and the table seatings and the decorations and having the time of her life, he's thinking about his last whoring trip to Bangkok and wondering how his life went from there to here. This is what fuels the Madonna/Whore complex. On one level, they know that their status and husband and father is extremely important. But on another level, they still think they're 21 and every pu55y in the world can be theirs. And they will want to have it all.

I know lots of couples like this. And sure, in front of me and the world they seem happy. The wives especially, they're in their element, chattering about facials and preschools and recipes like the perfect non-desperate housewife. But I also know for sure that there'll be nights when they're lying in bed alone, knowing for certain that their man is fcuking another woman at that very moment. I cannot imagine how they feel at times like that.

That's the kind of life I've seen many many couples lead. And if you think you can handle it, all well and fine for you. But it doesn't have to be the only life you'll lead. You don't have to be this kind of woman, who stays married at the cost of her self-respect. And you don't have to pick this kind of man who treats marriage as a prison. You have a choice.

And if you forgive a cheater too easily, then you are making a choice - you are choosing to live that kind of life. Again, I'm not saying that infidelity is never forgivable. But it must be for the right reasons. "I'll lose him if I don't forgive him" is not a good reason. Men only cheat because they can. Because they know they'll get away with it. Because they know it'll cost them nothing. If you, as his partner, let him get away with it at no cost and no disadvantage to himself, he will do it over and over again.

n00b13
post Jan 3 2013, 11:24 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 3 2013, 11:19 AM)
lolz...how can i simply go out with someone??
Some guys just can't hide their desperation. laugh.gif

n00b13
post Jan 3 2013, 03:00 PM

364 posts

Take care and be strong. And please don't go crawling back to him.
n00b13
post Jan 4 2013, 09:06 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 4 2013, 09:00 AM)
So hard to alone..my heart pain until i cant sleep. I tot i can get through this, now only i know i was wrong..

Breaking up with him is like took my breath away..I cant breath now, cant sleep now, cant think now, cant eat now...cant stop thinking of him...

Feel like wanna cut my head off..
By this time next year, you will completely forget this feeling.

You just have to make it through the year.

n00b13
post Jan 4 2013, 10:45 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ Jan 4 2013, 09:35 PM)
Cheating is wrong, no doubt about it, never said it is right, but what's done is done, at the end of the day, it's just sex, the relationship doesn't end unless he gets someone pregnant or contract some incurable STD. Emotional cheating on the other hand, can kill the relationship.
"Cheating is wrong when women/my partner does it, but it's not wrong when men/I do it."

Do you honestly think you're fooling anyone? rolleyes.gif

n00b13
post Jan 5 2013, 08:37 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 5 2013, 06:27 PM)
I am not someone

I am cassanova Alvin

brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
n00b13
post Jan 7 2013, 12:29 PM

364 posts

Good to know you're doing well waiwai. smile.gif
n00b13
post Jan 7 2013, 12:42 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 7 2013, 09:26 AM)
Think in another way..now i no need curi-curi to look for handsome boy lo...straightly my fb profile pic changed to my handsome idol pic...
...and baidewei, ur doin it rong. You don't look for handsome boy by putting handsome idol as your FB profile pic. Must put pretty pic of yourself. biggrin.gif

n00b13
post Jan 7 2013, 01:05 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(qinetics @ Jan 7 2013, 01:00 PM)
i dun have pretty pic...
Take some photos of yourself laa. Or ask a friend to take for you. You're single again, you need to get into self-promo mode. smile.gif

0.0247sec    1.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:38 AM