Sempron 2800+ OC with default voltage to 2.84GHz

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 22 2006, 01:08 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Mar 22 2006, 02:46 AM)
im able to touch 210mhz 1 with dual channel.. but the problem is im running at 289x9 so in order to get back to 200mhz for ram i have to increase my cpu to 310x9 but i cant coz it will never boot.. my maximum also around 295 only
tongue.gif Dual channel already fast speed enought, your comp have a excellent combination except the RAM, sometime no meaning to spend for a little bit performance increase.
May I to know how many second for your system running in SuperPi 1M?
magiara
post Mar 22 2006, 02:12 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Mar 22 2006, 01:08 PM)
tongue.gif Dual channel already fast speed enought, your comp have a excellent combination except the RAM, sometime no meaning to spend for a little bit performance increase.
May I to know how many second for your system running in SuperPi 1M?
34.078s
that's the lowest i've even get

SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 22 2006, 03:44 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Mar 22 2006, 02:12 PM)
34.078s
that's the lowest i've even get
Same results with my 2.8GHz Sempron DDR466, Pi 1M 34.0xxs
because my external clock achive 350MHz

rclxms.gif I teach you 1 method to overclock,
lower your CPU multiplier to 8X or 7X
external clock increase to 300 above let say 320
320X8=2.56GHz
Ram set to 133MHz=DDR426MHz

multiplier=6X
external clock increase to 400
400X6=2.40GHz
Ram set to 100MHz=DDR400
Because of high external clock, the performance must higher than your current 2.6GHz

Dont forget to set a suitable HT value
If succeed pls tell us, I saw somebody succeed before 400X7 for your CPU tongue.gif

charge-n-go
post Mar 22 2006, 04:12 PM

4,060 posts

multiplier=6X
400X6=2.40GHz
Ram set to 100MHz=DDR400
Because of high external clock, the performance must higher than your current 2.6GHz

I don't think it's true.
Running 2.6GHz with faster RAM will perform better. The external clock has nothing to do with performance if you are talking about HTT bus.
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 22 2006, 04:22 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Mar 22 2006, 04:12 PM)
I don't think it's true.
Running 2.6GHz with faster RAM will perform better. The external clock has nothing to do with performance if you are talking about HTT bus.
rolleyes.gif Yeah, the HTT(Hyper Transport Technology) is not much effect to performance, HTT also call as FSB but not external clock
for AMD Athlon 939 3000+ not OC
FSB(HTT)=4X200MHz CPU=9X200MHz
the above 200MHz is external clock, and so much effect to performance

charge-n-go
post Mar 22 2006, 04:38 PM

4,060 posts

There's no FSB anymore in A64 system. I'm a bit vague in my previous statement about the external clock. In yr statement :

lower your CPU multiplier to 8X or 7X
external clock increase to 300 above let say 320
320X8=2.56GHz
Ram set to 133MHz=DDR426MHz

multiplier=6X
400X6=2.40GHz
Ram set to 100MHz=DDR400
According to the setup above, 2.4GHz with 6 x 400 is impossible to outperform 2.56GHz @ 320X8. It is because the 2.56GHz system has higher CPU clock and RAM speed than the 2.4GHz counterpart.

External clock can boost performance only if u hv a fix multiplier, let's say 6x. 6x 400 of course will be faster than 6x320, However, 6x400 wont be faster than 10x300.

the low superPI score of magiara system is due to slow RAM (185MHz only), but not the CPU. I believe if he is able to make 2.5-4-4-8 @ 233MHz, the superPI result will be a lot faster wink.gif

Anyway, may i know where u bought this BIOSTAR? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Mar 22 2006, 04:41 PM
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 22 2006, 05:19 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Mar 22 2006, 04:38 PM)
There's no FSB anymore in A64 system. I'm a bit vague in my previous statement about the external clock. In yr statement :
According to the setup above, 2.4GHz with 6 x 400 is impossible to outperform 2.56GHz @ 320X8. It is because the 2.56GHz system has higher CPU clock and RAM speed than the 2.4GHz counterpart.

External clock can boost performance only if u hv a fix multiplier, let's say 6x. 6x 400 of course will be faster than 6x320, However, 6x400 wont be faster than 10x300.

the low superPI score of magiara system is due to slow RAM (185MHz only), but not the CPU. I believe if he is able to make 2.5-4-4-8 @ 233MHz, the superPI result will be a lot faster wink.gif

Anyway, may i know where u bought this BIOSTAR?  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif I bought at LOW YAT's Advance Technology Comp

magiara
post Mar 22 2006, 07:39 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Mar 22 2006, 04:38 PM)

Anyway, may i know where u bought this BIOSTAR?  biggrin.gif
i tried 325 x 8 = 2600 and 289 x 9 = 2600 before.. when i set it over 300mhz my comp will never boot up even though with 325x8.. i think is my CPU limitation..
zx7177
post Mar 22 2006, 10:00 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

QUOTE(magiara @ Mar 22 2006, 07:39 PM)
i tried 325 x 8 = 2600 and 289 x 9 = 2600 before.. when i set it over 300mhz my comp will never boot up even though with 325x8.. i think is my CPU limitation..
fed it with more voltage ?
magiara
post Mar 22 2006, 11:53 PM

Legend
1,599 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ Mar 22 2006, 10:00 PM)
even tried with 3.0 vdimm before.. still the same..
i think my ram just can go over 220mhz for dual channel
zx7177
post Mar 23 2006, 06:29 AM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

if you wanna see which 1 is limiting you , just try 1 by 1 lor

lower ram divider , increase htt lebih2 , see how far your proc can go

then increase multiplier (make sure start with a low htt), and see how far your rams can go
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 23 2006, 08:30 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ Mar 22 2006, 10:00 PM)
drool.gif Whats your CPU voltage?Try increase CPU voltage to 1.5
Vdimm volatage for Corsair 2.8V is good enought, I try with 2.6 2.7 2.8 also no differrent.
low yat 82
post Mar 23 2006, 04:27 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

I want to ask the power supply serious influnce to overclock?

if ur 12v rails dun fluctuates much and also d fluctuation is once in a long tme, then it is ok gua... but i recommend u to get much branded psu... jus my 2 cents
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 23 2006, 04:42 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 23 2006, 04:27 PM)
if ur 12v rails dun fluctuates much and also d fluctuation is once in a long tme, then it is ok gua... but i recommend u to get much branded psu... jus my 2 cents
biggrin.gif I using now ok lah,no hang at all,12V always indicated around 11.7x
I am a poor guy, all of the comp part are cheap
sempron 2800+ RM285
Motherboard RM325
RAM RM160
Casing+PSU RM120
All this I bought on March
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 23 2006, 04:49 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

I found out this forum is not so active,unable to achive average 1 new post per day.have you all discuss before regarding this fenomena?
low yat 82
post Mar 23 2006, 05:13 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

uhuhuuh.. dun got wat u mean... anyway, if got release new stuff to oc, then this thread will b active again lor... its like season smile.gif
zx7177
post Mar 23 2006, 05:19 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

when the gems arrive

the miners will come laugh.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 23 2006, 05:25 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

this Biostar tForce mobo was superb..
wonder wheter this brand has highly OC'able mobo for s939 sweat.gif

anyone??
SUSStupidGuyPlayComp
post Mar 23 2006, 05:36 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 23 2006, 05:25 PM)

anyone??
This motherboard available for socket 939 too, any other using this motherboard?
Actually I felt DFI NF4X is much more better to this motherboard.
But it not build in graphic so I choose Biostar.
I saw a person from internet OC sp2500+ to HTT427 with Biostar 6100
Najmods
post Mar 24 2006, 11:15 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 23 2006, 05:25 PM)

anyone??
http://www.biostar-usa.com/mbdetails.asp?m...orce%206100-939
The s939 version,hahaha....

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0179sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:28 PM