4 minimum years of OJT for DCA...read AN 5
License Aircraft Maintenance Engineer, job prospect...
Nov 12 2008, 01:02 PM
189 posts Joined: May 2007 From: where headhunters and norse viking bred |
4 minimum years of OJT for DCA...read AN 5
Nov 15 2008, 01:28 AM
spot on! that's why any EASA trainig do not need to be approve by DCA. but their exam must be approve by EASA. there is two thing to get EASA license.
1. enter 147 approval training school. after pass the module+95%attendance+OJT , u will need 2 years experience to get your license. (this is not available in Malaysia) 2. Get a 4/5 years experience + pass the module to get EASA license. you can either pass the module first or get experience first. the 2nd choice is what transmile did... (correct me if i'm wrong) well i dont know how wrong or correct but from my understanding is like this... 1. enter 147 approval training school. after pass the module+95%attendance+OJT , u will need 2 years experience to get your license. (this is not available in Malaysia) --if it is not available in malaysia than it is not DCA jurisdiction..since DCA follow the guidelines mostly from BCAR, i dunt think there is anything saying about Part 147, except for JAA and now EASA, which is equivalent to BCAR, and BCAR is accordance to law of the land created by Privy Council of, being advised by CAA UK..but CAA now follows EASA, but our regulation is modeled from BCAR..but BCAR in UK is now obsolete.. and they are not our sole adviser on our aviation regulations anymore coz DCA is still"old school" coz it still follows BCAR.. yes PART 147 training school is not available in malaysia yet, but PART 145 company can conduct their training for their staffs thus enable their staff to be recognized as properly trained by part 145 company, which means that company is EASA part 145 approved..if they have part 145 approval, they can bring the instructors from approved training school, EASA part 147 to teach and conduct examinations for that part 145 company staffs..so their staff can be certified in CAT A and either CAT B for having this sort of things..simple calculation is..staffs from part 145 are being trained by in house or third party instructor from part 147 is approved and it is like being in oxford training school or cse aviation or ast scotland..the regulation is not the fuss anymore 2. Get a 4/5 years experience + pass the module to get EASA license. you can either pass the module first or get experience first. the 2nd choice is what transmile did... (correct me if i'm wrong) yup this one is correct..for example everything going on smooth for u to obtain a license from easa, u need to do conversion here in msia if u wanna work here la in msia..air regulations and some oral exam by dca.. |
Nov 15 2008, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(ezi23 @ Nov 15 2008, 05:57 AM) thank you. a good further information between 147 and 145 approval. what you just say is the what the transmile and other airlines that do EASA did right? mind to share is it all a/c maintenance in malaysia have 145 approval? mind u name it? or they just have DCA approval. because what i heard that EASA can also accept some maintenance that have their country approval. can somebody make it clear? MAS for sure..they are collaborating with Lufthansa Technik instructors for CAT A the technicians and some A320 type courses for LAEs..others i hv no idea..i think if u look at their MOE, u will get it."because what i heard that EASA can also accept some maintenance that have their country approval. can somebody make it clear?" -im not sure bout that, but 1 thing i know of is if the airlines wanted to have part 145, the EASA auditors will do the audits from time to time, to proved the competency of the airlines to maintain part 145 approval. |
Nov 15 2008, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(ezi23 @ Nov 15 2008, 08:42 PM) arigato..for your explanation. one ore question, since i think u like to do helicopter license as well, if someone got B1 fixed wing, what module he need to obtain helicopter license? (in EASA and DCA) first one,Added on November 15, 2008, 7:50 pm he can work at company like SME Aerospace(see their website to see what their doing) . I got a friend with a degree working over there. But, if he want to get a license, he has to gain experience in maintenance. short or not, it depend on what course he willing to take. but normally 4-5 years to obtain a license. he will be as someone who have no experience (if follow aviation law) from what i heard from my cables in MHS and Eurocopter, once u obtain a n c fixed wing(DCA) u will only do OJT 6 months in heli and taking extra module of rotorcraft.. so in that time, ull get good pay as junior lae..once u completed the 6 months ojt and passing all required exams, i think its only 1 module la, u hv to summit ur inspections of schedule works of heli to DCA and they will conduct the exam for conversion from fixed to rotary wing a/c..and after that..enjoy the good pay la secondly, technical services engineer (TSE) is also suitable, as they design for in house mod and repair and what they normally do is dealing with aircraft manufacturer directly for anything, beyond approval holder jurisdictions..they will have to obtain their tech service engineer licenses also from DCA, but the training under the company or airlines is 2 years |
Nov 17 2008, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(vunshiung @ Nov 17 2008, 09:08 PM) after i graduate than what? i still dont have a license right? so i have to work for any aviation company for 2 years until i get my license? so is it easy to get hired with just a diploma without license? whats the salary during that period? when it comes to aviation especially for hired and public transport, no matter how much degree or master even phd u have is considered zilch if u have no license..so the ultimate goal is to obtain the licenses, and its quite pain in the neck actually, but thats the challenge which everyone shud take..dont u guys think so? hehe im a bit too far here salary, no idea, but the starting is quite okay for single person to make a living, and 1 good thing being a mech is where u can ot kaw-kaw, end of the month, the basic pay is about the same with junior lae or slightly more engine written result is within this week...kak shida said so! |
Nov 18 2008, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Nov 18 2008, 01:36 PM) Melaka cant say which 1 is better..words cant really tell which one is the best one or to satisfy ur hunger for informations..why dont u urself make a head start, and choose between them..then only u will understands how things work thoroughly my diploma cannot use in this field.LOL. yeah,i need to start from below. ouh ic..after level 2 can take the LWTR ? i thought after 1&2 and TAME level ? about Transmile,i already call them. they ask me to send email to them.. Update.. what ive been told yesterday, i need 6-7 years to finish my LWTR. but today i try call APR again. its not 6-7 years. its only 5 years.zzz. still waiting reply from transmile. last choice,Transmile and APR. which 1 better ? |
Nov 18 2008, 08:46 PM
LWTR holder?scope of work?
same as other apprentices who had not get their license yet, because from the word itself there is no privileges as per AN10 ..unless for light aircraft under 2700kg.. but ur are required to do lae jobs for sure |
Nov 19 2008, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(luorenxi @ Nov 19 2008, 11:42 AM) Check this out guys..new stuff...now we can sit our EASA exam in the british council in malaysia... no need to go to uk anymore JAR FCL and Part 66 Exams Search CAA International offer JAR FCL & Part 66 exams from our UKCAA question banks, to aviation authorities and to candidates direct worldwide. Examination Services CAA International provides exam centres in global venues enabling candidates to sit JAR FCL and EASA Part 66 exams which will credit towards a UK CAA/EASA licence in conjunction with UK CAA approved training where required. We have access to extensive question banks, which are continuously updated to ensure a vast databank of questions. This not only meets the demand from industry, but also produces well motivated, professional, and above all, safe pilots and engineers graduating with the well-recognised training standards associated with JAR-FCL and EASA Part 66. Malaysia Venue Our Malaysian venue is available from December 2008. The centre is based at the British Council offices and will offer identical exams to those sat in the UK following the UK exam timetable. Kuala Lumpur Centre British Council Ground Floor, West Block Wisma Selangor Dredging 142C Jalan Ampang 50450 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Telephone +60 (0)3 2723 7900 Car Park There is a car park in Wisma Selangor Dredging and an open air parking area between Wisma Selangor Dredging and Hotel Maya. Plan your Bus Route RapidKL – 105, 106 Metrobus – 28, 78, 79 (Alight at the bus stop located right in front of Wisma Selangor Dredging or Bangunan Angkasaraya). Nearest LRT Station Kuala Lumpur centre is just a 5-minute walk from Bukit Nanas How to find our Kuala Lumpur Venue Downloadable Examination Timetable Candidates that have already booked exams in the UK may transfer to the Malaysian venue. Kuala Lumpur Prices Part 66 engineering exam - £67 per paper JAR FCL ATPL exam - £91 per paper Application forms Please complete an application form and payment form as appropriate and fax the form to +44 (0) 1293 573992. * JAR FCL Examination Application Form (Aeroplanes) * JAR FCL Examination Application Form (Helicopters) * EASA Part 66 Examination Application Form * EASA Part 66 Guidance Notes for Exam Applications * Payment Form Examination services to Departments of Civil Aviation CAA International also offers an exams service to Departments of Civil Aviation who need to issue their own professional licenses and ratings but don’t have the required resources or expertise to develop their own question bank and exams system. The task of developing a national flight crew licensing system can be both costly and time consuming. The examination service offered by CAA International is designed to assist states with the operation of their own national licensing system, removing the need for pilots and engineers to rely on foreign licences. Contact us for further information. Email: exams@caainternational.com Added on November 19, 2008, 1:10 pm QUOTE(guest321 @ Nov 19 2008, 01:29 PM) sorry to ask off topic question here. but this question was ask in my exams: can and cannot..Can a License Aircraft Maintenance Engineer of a Boeing 747 service the Boeing 737??? Reasons? Thanks so much for your answer. can if he already obtained b737 company approval from Manager of Quality assurance together with his b747 TR cannot if he have b747 TR only.. are u sure that is the real question from ur exam? the grammar is..confusing.. This post has been edited by amvasierra: Nov 19 2008, 01:10 PM |
Nov 19 2008, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(guest321 @ Nov 19 2008, 04:06 PM) Okay the complete question: from my understanding pertaining to this question,If you are a licensed aircraft engineer for Boeing 747 aircraft, do you think you are capable to service a Boeing 737? Please explain why. yes the Type Rated B747 LAEs are "capable to service" a boeing 737.... provided that...the person has undergone TR or at least General Familiarization course provided by approved maintenance organization..meaning is that anyone who undergone the type course or gen fam for 737 can carried out servicing of the aircraft as the question is concern be it apprentices..but not to release the aircraft with approved document (issuance of CRS) unless the particular lae is b737 and also b747 type rated..is this satisfactory?but this is just the surface as far as i am concern coz the answer only evolve in LAE privileges, if aircraft system, the answer will be lingered on the systems la seriously, is this miat question? what subject was this question from? |
Nov 19 2008, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(Lestat @ Nov 19 2008, 07:39 PM) i bet this question came from the QA. obviously, 747 LAE can't release to service a 737. is he capable to service or not depend on your company policy/MOE. most probably from QA..if miat ask this kinda question, then i bet for sure they wanna make u guys fail the exam..afaik, MIAT air legislation essay questions are mostly based on DCA toyols |
Nov 20 2008, 07:02 AM
Nov 20 2008, 09:26 PM
Nov 21 2008, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 21 2008, 01:47 PM) Guys I need a big help over here. I'm doing my research paper currently regarding the aircraft panels. I would like to know whether there is rules or regulations in the FAA or any other places stated that the interior of an aircraft must be bullet proof??? I try searching but couldn't find it. My supervisor keeps stating there is such thing. So thanks a lot if you can link me to the appropriate place to search. it depends on d requirement of manufacturer or the operator..aircraft panels to be exact there are loadsa of panel.. but with bulletproof material, Kevlar@Aramide is Dupont brand for bulletproof material..afaik on F50 and ATR 72 or maybe in any other turboprops, there are 2 outer layer for each side of the fuselage which made from kevlar material, to protect the fuselage from the ice chunk that is going to be flunked out due to the prop deicing and centrifugal force in high altitude flight..ice build up could be lethal when it hit the fuselage, do by having .50 inch of kevlar, no wucken forries as on aircraft turbofan engine especially on CFM 56 series,Trent892, GE 90, these engine is fitted with thick kevlar layer on the fan frame enclosed with dan cowl..on my experience working with airberlin PW4168 engine, their engine has this kevlar material, but MAS PW4168 engine has no kevlar,and i got the chance to ask my uncle who is the TC instructor(kenot tell names) he said that MAS has made evaluation for Pratt engine that in the even if the fan blade is kaput, it will not effect the integrity of the fan cowl to contain the centrifugal force penetrating the fan cowl..tats wat he said, dunno whetehr he bullsit me onot... i am too lazy to make the research for u, since i donot have myboeingfleet.com password for u to make extensive research, i suggest u google AC43-1B(FAA) or visit www.caa.co.uk and search the CAIP content for it..if u wanna search for the kevlar fitted as the interior, i guess ure talking about close combat support aircraft such has combat support heli and the warthog.. google for Black Hawk and A-10 Thunderbolt for american aircraft, BaE Hawk for brit, Ka-50/52 for Russian heli..those are heavy reinforced aircraft with kevlar.. i bet these will help Added on November 21, 2008, 6:41 pm QUOTE(wusuhong @ Nov 21 2008, 02:54 PM) dapat easa takyah pegi mas la...pg ST aero or SIA in sg..these are good in terms of monayy and they even push their laes to take as many tr as they can Added on November 21, 2008, 6:43 pm QUOTE(luorenxi @ Nov 21 2008, 05:34 PM) remember nilai is not an approval school..think wisely.bt if u make up ur decision,then may b u can get some hot chicks there..XD think wisely, chix for a bout a months of excitement or getting a license??wahahahaha Added on November 21, 2008, 6:48 pmi beg to pardon all of u, due to some physical and eyes coordination problem, my engrish is veli bed todey..i think my head not centred yet coz of fumes i had for the whole day..i drank milk and it taste like panadol..soli This post has been edited by amvasierra: Nov 21 2008, 06:48 PM |
Nov 22 2008, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Nov 22 2008, 03:33 AM) Thanks for the reply. Yeah it's bulletproof cockpit door. And it's to prevent the plane from being hijack. when it is regulated it is mandatory, and it is a mandatory mod,maybe it is FAA AD..no idea on how to access the ADs archive..It has been years since the 9/11 terrorist attack. But I can't find any specific regulations stating that. There should be a stated regulation i think. comeon peep why so stiff? get some space for noob like me to breath and feel the air. |
Nov 24 2008, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(JohnMax @ Nov 24 2008, 07:27 PM) same like b4sh88 said that ir depends. is this engine belongs to brussels airlines? CF6-80 e2 isit?so?? must wait poly first batch graduate. If all the selected to join the course get all, mean 100% get already. hehe, ![]() Removing Nose Cowl for turbine service. GE Engine. |
Nov 28 2008, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Nov 28 2008, 02:18 PM) im joining Transmile this coming Feb.. congrats maryjane..if u already enrolled gimme me a nudge maybe we can have lunch anytime yahoo!! but the real intake is on July-August. i join this year batch.but start with diff module. at the end i need to cover back what module ive missed. they offer EASA B1 and B2 license. after finish,need to seat a couple paper,i think air law only for conversion. b1=65k mechanical b2=75 avionics. Added on November 28, 2008, 5:23 pm QUOTE(charles8907 @ Nov 28 2008, 04:50 PM) I not so sure abt MAS. Wat i noe is u must hav a good result on the spm, stpm o dipl in engineering course. 1st nid to qualify yr medical check up. Then hav to pass through interview by MAS staff. They ll bond u if pass the exam. In btw although get it, during course exam cant fail it, if fail ll be expell from MAS n hav to paid by watever money hav spend from u as a mas tame, this is quite true..for the first 3 years i nvr fcuked up maself..then towards getting the license or if u already got the license, nobody in the training school can touch u so to say..fcuked up once when i dint come to work for almost 3 months..nobody find out tat i was MIA..wahaha..now they are very strict since i had fully utilized the loop hole in their system This post has been edited by amvasierra: Nov 28 2008, 05:23 PM |
Nov 30 2008, 07:33 PM
[quote=physicsnerd,Nov 28 2008, 07:41 PM]
fcuked up once when i dint come to work for almost 3 months..nobody find out tat i was MIA..wahaha..now they are very strict since i had fully utilized the loop hole in their system [/quote] dude i don't believe u were MIA for 3 months. it's not possible for a company like mas to NOT track u down. so why don't u explain to us how the loop hole worked eh? [/quote] twas not enough manpower to monitor the attendance sheets..so i found the loop hole i used it to the max..but for the good purposes, ithink:p self study at home..hehe |
Dec 2 2008, 01:06 AM
Dec 2 2008, 09:08 PM