125 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v16, Check 1st page 1st post for value FAQ :)

gs20
post Jun 29 2013, 05:18 PM

1,685 posts

QUOTE(pokjak_290 @ Jun 29 2013, 03:25 PM)
OPPO the  thumbup.gif
I just order Oppo BSP-103 on Amazon! rclxms.gif

Next I prolly will get this Multiregion DIY kit.
pokjak_290
post Jun 29 2013, 08:48 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Jun 29 2013, 05:18 PM)
I just order Oppo BSP-103 on Amazon!  rclxms.gif

Next I prolly will get this Multiregion DIY kit.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Alan Yee
post Jun 30 2013, 09:48 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jun 28 2013, 01:35 AM)
Just wanna know if someone here is using a HTPC to play blu-ray, I wonder how is the picture quality when playback using HTPC compare to a standalone blu-ray player?
I don't have Bluray drive in my PC, but I do have the Bluray file in my PC.
Compare with my PC, ok... using KMPlayer, then the Geforce graphic card, then with my Philips HTS3562/98, actually there is not much different.
Both source play nice on my Panasonic P50VT20K.

You only have to make sure the source is in high quality 720p or 1080p, doesn't matter it is a ripped MKV, MP4, or uncompressed Bluray, you will get almost same result.

rikimtasu
post Jul 1 2013, 08:44 PM

Tired...
760 posts

PO-ed my first bluray.I allready have my blu-ray drive ready on my pc,so i only need to have a blur-ray software to watch it or rip it,right?
TSmaskedchan
post Jul 3 2013, 02:51 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jun 30 2013, 09:48 AM)
I don't have Bluray drive in my PC, but I do have the Bluray file in my PC.
Compare with my PC, ok... using KMPlayer, then the Geforce graphic card, then with my Philips HTS3562/98, actually there is not much different.
Both source play nice on my Panasonic P50VT20K.

You only have to make sure the source is in high quality 720p or 1080p, doesn't matter it is a ripped MKV, MP4, or uncompressed Bluray, you will get almost same result.
picture quality i might agree with you..
but audio is no no..

QUOTE(rikimtasu @ Jul 1 2013, 08:44 PM)
PO-ed my first bluray.I allready have my blu-ray drive ready on my pc,so i only need to have a blur-ray software to watch it or rip it,right?
yes..
anfieldude
post Jul 3 2013, 03:18 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 3 2013, 02:51 PM)
picture quality i might agree with you..
but audio is no no..
yes..
maskedchan,

Even picture quality is debatable. There are a lot of unknowns. Some of them are:

1. The software used to play the movies behave differently from each other. Some convert RGB to YCbCr, some don't. Some clip whiter than white and blacker than black and some don't. Each firmware from the software players are also different.

2. Some displays recognize PCs as PCs (during initial EDID) and forces displays to revert to RGB PC Levels. This can cause crush or elevated black levels.

3. Multiple conversions of colour space. As I said, displays accept both YCbCr and RGB and some do worse with one compared to the other.

4. Video cards are also know to cause gamma curve alterations especially if the inbuilt profile is not defeated.

5. Both hardware and software can cause weird colour errors that cannot be explained at some times.

If someone has the knowledge, tools and the patience, yes its possible but its more work than people think.
jacob
post Jul 3 2013, 04:07 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(rikimtasu @ Jul 1 2013, 08:44 PM)
Try Total Media Theater 6~

I personally have try playing bluray from my pioneer Blu-ray Drive on my pc and compare it with sony BDP 370 and i cant find any different both on display and audio~ Not sure if higher end bluray player like OPPO bluray player will be better~
TSmaskedchan
post Jul 3 2013, 04:30 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 3 2013, 03:18 PM)
maskedchan,

Even picture quality is debatable. There are a lot of unknowns. Some of them are:

1. The software used to play the movies behave differently from each other. Some convert RGB to YCbCr, some don't. Some clip whiter than white and blacker than black and some don't. Each firmware from the software players are also different.

2. Some displays recognize PCs as PCs (during initial EDID) and forces displays to revert to RGB PC Levels. This can cause crush or elevated black levels.

3. Multiple conversions of colour space. As I said, displays accept both YCbCr and RGB and some do worse with one compared to the other.

4. Video cards are also know to cause gamma curve alterations especially if the inbuilt profile is not defeated.

5. Both hardware and software can cause weird colour errors that cannot be explained at some times.

If someone has the knowledge, tools and the patience, yes its possible but its more work than people think.
that true but not all people will notice the small different on picture quality..
infact, you need to side by side comparison to spot on this..

last time i did the test on ps3 and dedicated bluray player..
i need to playback few times before i able to spot the different of color between this two devices..
maybe my eyes not that good...i am four eyes btw smile.gif

Alan Yee
post Jul 4 2013, 07:57 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jul 3 2013, 04:30 PM)
that true but not all people will notice the small different on picture quality..
infact, you need to side by side comparison to spot on this..

last time i did the test on ps3 and dedicated bluray player..
i need to playback few times before i able to spot the different of color between this two devices..
maybe my eyes not that good...i am four eyes btw smile.gif
Yes, there is different, but not much, and it is very hard to notice for normal viewer.

pokjak_290
post Jul 4 2013, 11:13 PM

596 posts

Received today....
Tumpang order with irvine3008. Thanks bro rclxm9.gif
ronaldkwok
post Jul 6 2013, 09:22 AM

656 posts

I was at the KLAV 2013 show yesterday at JW Marriot. Speedy is selling ori BD at 2 for RM100. Selected titles but quite a range so you may be able to find some that you like. Popular titels are also discounted, cannot remember it's 20 or 30% off. Probably worth a visit for those looking for their first ori BD. rclxms.gif Show is on until Sunday.
pokjak_290
post Jul 6 2013, 05:36 PM

596 posts

Received today...
YEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA...
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

low98944
post Jul 6 2013, 05:39 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(pokjak_290 @ Jul 6 2013, 05:36 PM)
Received today...
YEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA...
rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

shocking.gif Huge fan for T2 sweat.gif
pokjak_290
post Jul 6 2013, 09:14 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jul 6 2013, 05:39 PM)
shocking.gif  Huge fan for T2  sweat.gif
Bro, saya minat sangat movie ni... thumbup.gif
pokjak_290
post Jul 9 2013, 08:06 PM

596 posts

Sharing Is Caring... biggrin.gif

Alien Anthology Amazon.com USD$19.99

DEAL OF THE DAY amazon.com

Link Alien Anthology DotD
gs20
post Jul 9 2013, 08:53 PM

1,685 posts

QUOTE(pokjak_290 @ Jul 9 2013, 08:06 PM)
Sharing Is Caring...  biggrin.gif

Alien Anthology Amazon.com USD$19.99

DEAL OF THE DAY amazon.com

Link Alien Anthology DotD
TQVM ! ORDER PLACED!

Oh wait I realize the shipping from Amazon US is damn expensive as compare to UK.
It's cheaper to order this bluray from UK after add in the shipping charges.

This post has been edited by gs20: Jul 9 2013, 09:07 PM
pokjak_290
post Jul 9 2013, 11:33 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 9 2013, 08:53 PM)
TQVM ! ORDER PLACED!

Oh wait I realize the shipping from Amazon US is damn expensive as compare to UK.
It's cheaper to order this bluray from UK after add in the shipping charges.
Yup. amazon.uk more cheaper shipping cost. BUT, about this set - amazon.com set is DIGIPACK.

amazon.uk is amaray...

DIGIPACK for me biggrin.gif

EDIT : OR you mean this set....

This post has been edited by pokjak_290: Jul 9 2013, 11:36 PM
gs20
post Jul 10 2013, 12:10 AM

1,685 posts

Eh, sorry didn't check the details.
Only pay attention at the cover.
The US one look much better! thumbup.gif
But the shipping cost is a big turn off. shakehead.gif
pokjak_290
post Jul 10 2013, 12:19 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 10 2013, 12:10 AM)
Eh, sorry didn't check the details.
Only pay attention at the cover.
The US one look much better!  thumbup.gif
But the shipping cost is a big turn off.  shakehead.gif
Amazon.com version = USD$19.99 + standard shipping(USD$8.98) = TOTAL USD$28.97(RM92.36)

Ok la for complete set 6 discs DIGIPACK hard cover biggrin.gif
pokjak_290
post Jul 10 2013, 12:25 AM

596 posts

Woooohoooooo.... rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

At last.......

Amazon.com ready Ringgit Malaysia on currency ( Place Your Order in MYR )

125 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:27 PM