4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, GATHERING- 13th Jan,7.30pm at Bar Tres

wadefak
post Dec 24 2012, 10:57 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Dec 24 2012, 09:20 AM)
Unfortunately, there will always be pessimist among us for which I have given up on trying to reason with them. If Dan Sturridge scores 20 goals, it should have been 25 because we paid $12mil. If he scores 25, he's still more expensive than Michu because Michu only cost Swans $2mil.

If he doubles his value and becomes a $40mil player one day, he's still not good enough because he's not as good looking as Cristiano Ronaldo or David Beckham hence do not have the same marketing value as them.

So no matter what, he's never good enough for these pessimists who wish to prove their points more important than wishing the player good luck so that Liverpool will benefit.

I dont know about them. I choose to support whoever BR wants. He has proven time and time again he is able to get the best out of the players he has and I am sure he's not that stupid to throw $12mil just to earn himself a wrath.

As I said before, I have followed Daniel Sturridge very closely since the Bolton days and I still stay by my words that if he keeps his head right and with the right guidance of BR, he could be as amazing as Luis Suarez because he has the speed, he loves to nutmeg as well and he's not shy in trying to score.

If he is successful with us, the last thing I would want to see in this thread is people trying to massacre the pessimists who objected the move for Sturridge. It's not important for anyone to prove whoever is right or wrong. More importantly is the club benefit and we move forward.
type 3? lol
wadefak
post Dec 26 2012, 08:54 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Dec 25 2012, 11:39 PM)
I feel really touched by what suarez said on lfc web site.you gotta admire him for sticking with us despite us not being a top team anymore.he could have easily gone to city last summer.

I hold him higher than the likes of owen and torres despite not  scoring as much as them.heck i am disgracing him by even mentioning him in the same sentence as those two judas.
QUOTE(lerijiso @ Dec 25 2012, 11:43 PM)
Did you read about the one where he pretended to be Gerrard while playing PS games while he was at Ajax?
he'll definitely be a legend if he continues to stick around nod.gif
btw does anyone have the link for the mentioned article?
wadefak
post Dec 27 2012, 09:20 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Dec 27 2012, 09:15 AM)
i said this just recently and i have to say this again, probably will kena roast

i firmly believe its time we look at replacement for Reina

think about it. has Reina been known and performing like a real good shot stopper? i dont think so, and i think Reina has been letting in goals at near post too many times. sure, some may say Reina is a little bit special as he can initiate attacks and is comfortable with the ball, but heck, Reina is not the only keeper in the world who can do this. given proper coaching and instructions, i believe many keepers can do the same. then think further - how many assists have reina actually given to us? has his special ability really helped the team? and most importantly, should be get a better keeper and sacrifice this offensive ability?

too bad, looking at it as a neutral, Reina is not even the top 5 keeper in the PL. if our keeper is leaking goals like we did last night, how can this translate into confidence? given our inability to score many goals, keeping ours safe is even more important

ok, if its not Reina's fault, then is it Agger's? or is it Skrtel's? or are they all simply not good enough?

also, why dont BR start one of our teenage strikers? suso and sterling already promoted. we dont have more talent in the youth setup?
i woke up at 4.30, look at twitter 1st, trailing. go back to sleep laugh.gif

but seriously, lately, i dont see any commander in the defence. not like during carra's prime. he controlled the defence and made it his own. i still can recall him screaming at side defenders for wondering off too far and not going back in time tongue.gif
wadefak
post Dec 27 2012, 03:14 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 27 2012, 02:33 PM)
Some interesting points raised so far. Defensive woes and conversion rate aside, how about the point made by zickey?
That's interesting, and perhaps reflects on BR's thoughts of the game too:
"The first goal [we conceded] we were rather unfortunate - Skrtel slips and then Walters finishes really well. But the other two goals, we have to be better than that. The players have to be better in those moments.

"You have to earn the right to play in whatever game - and in particular when you come to here. You know you are going to get pressed. I have no doubt about the characters we have - we have some big characters and big players, but tonight it was just too easy for them."

I can't speak for the Stoke match, but I've brought this up a few weeks ago that we can't seem to find our rhythm whenever we are under high pressure. In fact, stick a big man in the middle and you're bound to walk away with something from Liverpool. As 8sg9ft have said, this could be down to both coaching and player issues. However while, 5 months is enough tune to get players to be accustomed to the playing style, but is it enough for them to be able to maintain it under high pressure? Or will things get worse before it gets better?
i'm sure that all of us are hoping for the team to get better, but i wonder how many of us will still hope for the team to get better when it gets worse. will BR gets his head called for? or will we give him reasonable time to prove himself? hmm.gif
wadefak
post Dec 28 2012, 10:36 AM

28 posts

i've read that a lot here is talking developing young players to become gems for the club.. but isnt that the issue with arsenal in the past? getting young players, nurturing them only for them to go to bigger clubs as they develop the quality.
wadefak
post Dec 28 2012, 03:18 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(keith.hmc @ Dec 28 2012, 03:09 PM)
Yea, hence me saying he could be a decent replacement. Not the best replacement but he has potential too. Gerrard is one of those rare players of his generation. I think it's so stupid how fans like to bash on the team when they don't perform and sing songs when they do. Being a supporter means sticking with them through the bad times too. No doubt we all feel angry and frustrated at times but best not to show to the public, only reflects badly on other fans.

Added on December 28, 2012, 3:11 pm

Ahahaha... Gerrard is one in a million la. I doubt we would be able to find a great replacement for him in the next decade but for now Shelvey will have to do. He's got potential but true that he is not as potentially gifted as Gerrard. Still think he does a good job trying to play in a new system and we should give him some time to mature.
i was really looking forward for aquilani to be his replacement sad.gif
wadefak
post Dec 28 2012, 03:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:21 PM)
Dun get me wrong. Given the stature of our club, we should set the bar higher and anything less than 3 points is consider a massive faliure. The winning mentality is important. It dictates how the player will react after trailing behind or even after our opponents equalize.

I was watching Man U the other night against Newscastle. You can see the fighting spirit and never say die spirit in them. Anything less than 3 points, they know they gonna get shit from SAF. And they fought every ball on the pitch. Forget the refs siding Man U BS story for once. This is the hallmark of a champion.

It doesn't matter if we have the quality in the squad or not. We need to have this "winning mentality" like what Petre said. I have seen numerous times, BR coming up to the press conference, saying we played well and contempted with a draw etc etc when we were actually NOT.

It can only get worse for us if we don't instill these mentality into our players. This is what Liverpool is built on. Winning winning and winning. No BS like oh, Man city only manage to get a draw at the Brittania, so a lost is acceptable to us!!

Players should made to feel like the world is collapsing on them whenever they lose regardless of a team in transition or a team who has been competing at top level.

Coaching basic 101, BR.
i can see ur patience as a fan has gotten really thin. this is a work in progress. there's nothing we can do abt it but wait. sorry but i feel if every Liverpool supporter has the same mentality as you do, we'd be changing managers every game laugh.gif

as a fan, as a supporter mainly, we support the team no matter what. give the man time. he's still learning as well.
wadefak
post Dec 28 2012, 03:54 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:34 PM)
As a workk in progress, Im ready to accept a defeat this sunday
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Petre @ Dec 28 2012, 03:35 PM)
i think carloz made it very clear. it was the mentality that he was questioning. what happened to our team in 2005? do you think without belief and winning mentality, we could have beaten the likes of juve, ac milan and certainly jerat's last moment goal against olympiacos?
IMO, the winning mentality at that time was due to Gerrard's will to win. he drove the entire team to victory, time and time again. but after several seasons of driving and carrying the team, i believe the club have to look for a replacement. someone with similar charisma as Gerrard. come to think about it, are there anyone inside the current team, apart from gerrard and carra, was in the squad during 2005? i dont think so.

BR's current squad doesnt know that feeling, the true feeling of representing the club as well as gerrard and carra does. but sadly, both players are starting to lose their form, bit by bit, without any clear replacement. we are still missing a driving force in the middle and a commanding defender at the back, both controling the team full-hearted.

a player that i can truly see wearing the jersy was torres, but he moved to chelsea, which only leaves BR with what he currently have and build from that. it was a little bit easier for RB to bring the squad to glory as the team haven't dropped that far as they are right now. i'm sure FSG knows this and trusts BR as the right man to bring the team back on track with almost nothing left.

please, give the man a break.

oh lol just in time for ur response tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wadefak: Dec 28 2012, 03:56 PM
wadefak
post Dec 28 2012, 04:09 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Dec 28 2012, 04:00 PM)
those are just excuses. why only gerrard must carry the team and shoulder all the responsibility? wearing the jersey and the badge on their chests are reasons for them to give their all. what about carra in the final? the groin tearing last minute tackle in extra time in istanbul? did anyone forget that? seriously the whole squad should be watching the replay of that game to let them know the real meaning of winning.

Added on December 28, 2012, 4:01 pm

indeed, manu can lose the title last year yet they are in good position to win in AGAIN this year. their difference and us
nope, they're not excuses. its true that every player must give their all as part of wearing the jersey. but i'm talking about the team mentality here. the heart and passion for the team. can u name me anyone in the current squad that is able to do what gerrard did with the team back then? among all, including the manager himself, gerrard and carragher are the ones who truly knows what being a red is all about because they have been there through it all. but sadly, there are no clear replacements for them. so its up to the manager to re-create everything back from scratch.
wadefak
post Dec 29 2012, 04:12 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Dec 29 2012, 02:09 PM)
I share your frustration in the sacking of Rafa. Over the course of few years, the club has been in so much drama that set us back to years of decline. David Moore and Rick Parry have to share the blame for choosing the cowboys because they offer more money.

Like you, I am throwing my fist in frustration whenever we lose and I am not happy with the results at all.

But I do not believe we currently have a choice unless we drive FSG out and ask for a rich Arab royalty to be our next owner.

BR's ability in getting the best out of the youngsters gave me hope for the future but that optimism is not that great until I fantasize his future legacy. No way near that. We just don't have a choice now brother. They sacked Kenny, the person that every players respect and they got rid of his master tactician Steve Clarke and he's doing so well in West Brom which leave an even more sour taste for me.

We have no choice unless we kick FSG out.

Added on December 29, 2012, 2:24 pmWell, if things dont quite work out in two season or so, I want my Fat Spanish Waiter to come back. biggrin.gif
He'll inherit a young team that he build in the beginning.  biggrin.gif

But retain the physio team.

Rafael Benitez coy on Liverpool return
http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/chels...turn_61408.html
from ur link, i got this, http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/liver...-job_61376.html laugh.gif

is it just me who worries about building a youthful team? i'm afraid with a youthful team, we'll go through the same stages that Arsenal had gone through. building up a player from youth for them to be sold later on.

with all of the manager's plans this transfer window, i wonder who'll get the boot in the current squad hmm.gif

This post has been edited by wadefak: Dec 29 2012, 04:13 PM
wadefak
post Dec 29 2012, 04:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Dec 29 2012, 04:20 PM)
I am. I give BR 2 seasons. If he underachieve and then says that this is a 5-year plan, I will tell him to shove it up his arse. biggrin.gif
Nice. We will make so much money. Build, sell, then build again and sell. Smart business. We will be richer than the United Red side. heheheh tongue.gif
i'm not saying that we sell them on purpose. just like arsenal had gone through, star players that they've nurtured from a young age are taken away from them given their performance at that time. how will it be different from us? young players who have potential will surely want something bigger and wouldn't pass any opportunity that comes in their way. even our own Gerrard was tempted to move away a long time ago.
wadefak
post Dec 29 2012, 04:47 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Dec 29 2012, 04:45 PM)
That is hard to tell because we dont know what this Yankee is up to. From their US record, they seem to like to build a winning team but probably they are more cautious this time after burning so much cash for our past purchases and with FFP looming, who knows, we may benefit when other teams have to cut their budget down.
i'm still waiting for the clubs with "bottomless transfer kitty" to reach their bottom sad.gif
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 07:50 AM

28 posts

i think BR still needs to work on his half time speech tongue.gif
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 08:20 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 31 2012, 08:10 AM)
Aye the second half was played at a slower pace. Arry switched formations to stifle us in midfield by playing 5 in the middle of the park. Still we maintained plenty of possession and controlled the tempo of the match. No sense in going on the attack and playing a high tempo game when we're already three up. Why risk injury and add to fatigue? The onus was on QPR to come and get a goal. Getting three points is more important than entertaining.

Surprised to see Mike Marsh on the bench, hadn't realised he was on our coaching staff. Last time I saw him play was for the Liverpool Masters in KL.

Added on December 31, 2012, 8:11 am

He wasn't there la. He was ill.
is it? i only watched the 2nd half tho. no wonder the camera wasn't pointing towards him when the game ended
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 08:27 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 31 2012, 08:24 AM)
Yup. He and Pascoe were ill and neither were allowed contact with the players. Rodgers called Pascoe in the morning to say he was ill. So was Pascoe but he said Rodgers sounded worse. Anyway BR handed him the starting lineup and a list of instructions. Since Pascoe was also ill, he passed it on to Mike Marsh who took his place in the dugout. Some sorta bug they contracted.

In any case, I just found a piece proving that Arry shut up shop in the second half by stifling the midfield. Damage control. There was also no reason for us to go on the attack, hence the slow pace.

http://www.uxbridgegazette.co.uk/west-lond...82029-32516688/?
ic..but defence was all over the field tho. i think they had quite a mess back there but i guess our passing game got through to the opponent, most of their shots on target, are aimed straight at Reina tongue.gif

i think carra can start playing in the defensive midfield role. i can see him supporting the mid and defence well last night. great control! rclxms.gif
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 09:03 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 31 2012, 08:57 AM)
Good result, poor to fair performance considering the oppostion....
poor to fair? seriously? sad.gif
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 09:11 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 31 2012, 08:24 AM)
Yup. He and Pascoe were ill and neither were allowed contact with the players. Rodgers called Pascoe in the morning to say he was ill. So was Pascoe but he said Rodgers sounded worse. Anyway BR handed him the starting lineup and a list of instructions. Since Pascoe was also ill, he passed it on to Mike Marsh who took his place in the dugout. Some sorta bug they contracted.

In any case, I just found a piece proving that Arry shut up shop in the second half by stifling the midfield. Damage control. There was also no reason for us to go on the attack, hence the slow pace.

http://www.uxbridgegazette.co.uk/west-lond...82029-32516688/?
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 31 2012, 09:07 AM)
Did you watch the 2nd half?  Seriously......

If you watch the attacks, its the same olde story....theres no cutting edge with our midfield and wingers.
Luis golas came from his own invention....

2nd half.........midfeild was all over the place and looked lazy and unconcerned except for Stevie and Enrique.

AND we are up against QPR, worst team in the PL as a matter of perspective
try reading the given link. IMO only our defence is scattered but apart from that, they played pretty well if u ask me. but then again i only watch the 2nd half of the game because i need to come to office early in the morning sad.gif
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 09:25 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 31 2012, 09:17 AM)
Player ratings from ESPN.

http://www.espnstar.com/editorial/news/det...Player-Ratings/

All in all, it's good to see Downing and Henderson responding to the criticism they have been getting. I'm not just talking about the QPR game. Our mental strength and fighting spirit have come into question of late but when you see how these two lads have upped their game, it certainly isn't a problem all round. Suarez is another who is always up for a fight.
downing was great when he played upfront, but i didnt see him do much after replacing Enrique. all he did was passing the ball around but at least he didn't screw up laugh.gif
but then again it may be too much to expect him to do what Enrique does?

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 31 2012, 09:19 AM)
Perhaps we were conserving energy for the next match? Couldn't comment much as I didn't watch the match.

Nevertheless, it's 4 wins in 6 winnable games, not too bad in terms of results. If the Stadium of Light game and their recent form are anything to go by, the next game is an expected win. If we could get the 3 points, we will be going into the tough fixtures with less pressure.

Happy new year folks!
hoping for the team to get their acts together for the coming fixtures sad.gif
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 09:33 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 31 2012, 09:30 AM)
Wadefak, we are team in transition, it's normal to be consistently inconsistent, even after half a season.

Look at the bright side, we might see Sturridge in red in the next match. smile.gif
would it be that soon?
wadefak
post Dec 31 2012, 09:40 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 31 2012, 09:35 AM)
aahhhh you didnt watch the whole game..........

Like  i said: GOOD REsult, poor to fair game

Perspective:

playing QPR.....WORST team in PL

3-0 upp in 20 minutes.

They took their foot off the pedal

In the 2nd half, we didnt looked half arsed fighting for the ball. QPR midfield wanted it more.
They had dangerous moments because of that. They were geinning to control
the midfield. IF that was a better team, they would most prbably have scored.
Thats why pascoe had to take off 
henderson, lucas and allen.

Even in the final 3rd, both sterling and downing were AVERAGe......they didnt make any
mark on the outcome. All they did was pass the ball to Luis and let him find his own meal.....
Thats not good.
not the whole game, but i watched the entire goalless second half and to me its quite nice except for our back 4 which apparently were everywhere sweat.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:28 PM