4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Malaysia Airline Enrich Miles, Get the best bang from your CC points :)

raist86
post Mar 29 2016, 09:32 AM

1,577 posts

shucks that EM don't allow for conversion to Emirates considering that they are now partner codeshare...

Other than MAS, is there any other airlines flying to NZ (AKL) that we can redeem from EM?
raist86
post Mar 29 2016, 10:28 PM

1,577 posts

transit few hours in HKG might be a good thing after all with the superb CX lounges... Tried before Wings J Lounge. Good way to break up the monotonous flight especially if it's a long flight to States.

This post has been edited by raist86: Mar 29 2016, 10:29 PM
raist86
post Mar 30 2016, 07:29 AM

1,577 posts

stopover if not mistaken is max 24 hour window only.
raist86
post May 23 2016, 12:23 PM

1,577 posts

I'm trying to plan a trip to NZ early next year... Call MAS to enquire about using qantas but no availability on J class... CX pula it's like flying the wrong direction, not to mention no availability on HKG to AKL. Was asking the customer service about Emirates, was put on hold for like 10 mins then the call disconnected.

sigh... other than MAS, is there any other option? I don't mind to travel to SIN to catch a flight from there. have about 100k enrich miles gonna expire next year april so have to use it up by then.
raist86
post May 23 2016, 01:28 PM

1,577 posts

mas has direct to AKL. although the schedule is abit cacat now.. last time used to be night flight arriving early morning.

They're changing the current old sloped business class with the new lie flat business class for kul-akl according to schedule. it should be done by year end.. unless the whole thing has been put on hold with muller's departure.
raist86
post May 23 2016, 04:29 PM

1,577 posts

QA is what airline? Qantas don't have available seats from mel/syd to akl.. according to MAS, QF rarely release seats to them

Qatar Airlines don't have flights also according to google flights.
raist86
post May 23 2016, 04:33 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 23 2016, 01:49 PM)
It depends on which day of the week, accordingly to google

Tues, Thurs & Fri 0850 - 2245

Mon, Wed, Sat & Sun 2145 - 1145 (+1)

I thought the lie flat suppose to start from April? But i think they start with Aussie route.

I've tried the current ones on a red eye flight to Osaka, can't really sleep well and end up very tired upon arriving.
It's a catch-22 schedule... if take wed night flight, means i have to use up 2 additional days of leave (for thursday & friday)..
Firday departure, lose one day of travel, need to take 1 additional day of leave and spend money on hotel just to sleep through the night.

kinda stupid arrangement if you ask me... Whole point of travelling J class is so that you arrive fresh and ready to go... arriving there at 11pm, and requiring to spend on hotel for just 1 additional night doesn't make sense.

This post has been edited by raist86: May 23 2016, 04:35 PM
raist86
post May 24 2016, 03:09 PM

1,577 posts

i think asia miles is a better bet for award redemption. Kris Miles has rather limited redemption options too even though SQ is a damm nice airline to fly with.

After my MH redemption, gonna switch to asia miles...
raist86
post Jun 13 2016, 11:53 AM

1,577 posts

bodoh.. normal redemption on business to Auckland on enrich website is around 127k EM per person return.

this promo, return is 125k EM. what kind of stupid thinking is that..

This post has been edited by raist86: Jun 13 2016, 11:57 AM
raist86
post Jun 13 2016, 11:58 AM

1,577 posts

just thinking, flexi ticket allows for changes to flight time right? what if book flexi ticket already, the call in to change the date to a later date?

then again, doesn't make sense as can book saver ticket for other dates at only 2k diff.
raist86
post Jun 14 2016, 10:43 AM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Jun 14 2016, 09:33 AM)
haha. i feel its a joke too.
last minute should give 70% off instead of 50%. i guess they wanna avoid the hari raya holidays period.

for 50% reduction, we are effectively only getting 35% because 15% is by default available thru online redemption.
Actually it's not really 50% reduction cos the fare on promo is Flex category, Full J. The points required for this category has already been inflated up.

If it's D fare promo, then the rates would be much much lower. I've seen before KUL - AKL only require about 90+k miles return on a real promotion.
raist86
post Jul 21 2016, 07:15 PM

1,577 posts

One advice.. use the enrich miles and redeem for other OW airlines like Cathay and JAL. There's some taxes but it's not crazy like MH YQ.

For Eg, KUL - HKG - AKL, the total est taxes for CX came up to about RM 800 per pax return.. while if i fly KUL - AKL under MH, i have to pay almost RM 1.5k per person. With CX, can get to enjoy a stopover in HK, enjoy Pier business lounge and better seats.
raist86
post Jul 21 2016, 11:45 PM

1,577 posts

search CX or other OW flights first on their own FF redemption. note down a few dates. you need to be flexible when redeeming OW as EM only gets a few seats allocated. You have better chance redeeming on mid week flights as well as flights with lots of frequency.
raist86
post Jul 22 2016, 06:03 PM

1,577 posts

CX has better availability for redemption compared to SQ if you can fly mid week. Usually their weekend flights are on waitlist. What i find on SQ is i can get a confirm flight on either outgoing or incoming flight and waitlist on the other one no matter which day i choose. It doesn't make sense to commit to booking a 1 way confirmed redemption flight and waitlist for the return.
raist86
post Jul 22 2016, 06:04 PM

1,577 posts

FF redemption is like a game. you need to know the "rules" of the game and get ahead of it by doing homework before calling the cust service.
raist86
post Jul 23 2016, 08:41 AM

1,577 posts

for Enrich redemption on CX, you create stopovers, you need to do 2 separate bookings for the flights as single OW carrier redemption using Enrich does not have stopover clause. Upside is you have more flexibility, downside is you'll use up abit more points.

To eligible for transit status, your next flight out must be within a 24 hour window. I plan to just do a city excursion to find my friend there and have a couple meals. RM 25 Wan Tan Mee here i come.... @.@

Factoring in the removal of 15% discount for online redemption, it is now more expensive to redeem MH flights and makes more sense to redeem on OW.

Is there any card (other than 2Card Premier) that gives good redemption rates to Asia Miles? Some cards are like 8000 points to 1000 miles (Citi) @.@

This post has been edited by raist86: Jul 23 2016, 08:46 AM
raist86
post Jul 23 2016, 09:30 AM

1,577 posts

nope. enrich redemption is using the redemption scale
raist86
post Jul 23 2016, 12:24 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Jul 23 2016, 10:10 AM)
Do we need to call in to redeem ow airline?or any online platform to redeem ow airline or Asia miles?
OW redemption need to call my call center. Use BA or CX platform to check availability & timing first before calling to prevent wasting time
raist86
post Jul 23 2016, 01:21 PM

1,577 posts

Register for Asia miles account for cx.

If u are redeeming enrich then call MH call center.

This post has been edited by raist86: Jul 23 2016, 01:22 PM
raist86
post Jul 23 2016, 11:15 PM

1,577 posts

For CX, you need to plan your redemption 6 to 10 months ahead. Need to confirm with FF sifus here, but if not mistaken, CX released award seats 330 days out for redemption.

Usually those within 2 to 6 months will be on waitlist for popular routes.. award seats gets released the closer it gets to the flight date if there's no one buying.

Like i book my tix almost 12 months out just to secure availability cos there's only 1 flight between hkg and akl a day.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0263sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:54 PM