126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

drindy
post Nov 7 2007, 08:56 AM

98 posts

I am thinking of setting up a HTPC using Asus M2A-VM HDMI as well. I need advise from those sifus already using this board. Is the card able to display 1080p? I think the Asus website only mentioned 1080i.
shiverXT
post Nov 18 2007, 11:42 AM

269 posts

my HTPC ... biggrin.gif cool2.gif

my specs :

amd x2 4000+
1gb ddr2 ram
1 x 80 gb sata
1 x 250gb ide
1 x 250gb sata
creative audigy 2 zs
dvdrw bla bla bla
prolink wireless keyboard combo
yaocoo media center remote
22 inches Viewsonic widescreen
winxp mce

Pucca
post Nov 25 2007, 12:02 PM

320 posts

hi, i'm having an issue where i noticed there's kind of like "shadow" when viewing live tv and the machine don't suspend when i power it off from remote. this machine is basically used for recording purpose only but i would like to find out why it appear to have "shadow".

h/w:
haup 150 mce (rm290 - last wk @ sri comp)
hdd - 250gb
ram - 1gb
processor - 2.8 ht
graphic card - ati x1300 256mb
astro

s/w:
vista ultimate (ori)
nothing else except drivers.

SUSMatrix
post Nov 25 2007, 09:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Pucca @ Nov 25 2007, 12:02 PM)
hi, i'm having an issue where i noticed there's kind of like "shadow" when viewing live tv and the machine don't suspend when i power it off from remote. this machine is basically used for recording purpose only but i would like to find out why it appear to have "shadow".

h/w:
hdd - 250gb
ram - 1gb
processor - 2.8 ht
astro

s/w:
vista ultimate (ori)

There's a lot of tweaking need for the suspend to work. For me, i set it to S3 state. I can power off from remote, but can't power on from remote. Previously, i also can't power off from remote. But at least now, powering on from the PC button is not so bad....but frankly, i'm not sure what i did either...so i quickly made an Acronis image of my system and back it up coz i dun think i can make the thing happen again!!! LOL.

Btw, i've got question. Does connecting a HDMI to ur LCD TV makes possible of DVD upscaling? Do you need extra software, seetings etc???
Pucca
post Nov 25 2007, 11:37 PM

320 posts

how about the "shadow" issue ? hard to watch live movie in future if i want to put lcd...
SUSMatrix
post Nov 26 2007, 08:43 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Pucca @ Nov 25 2007, 11:37 PM)
how about the "shadow" issue ? hard to watch live movie in future if i want to put lcd...
You mean ghosting?? Frankly, i don't notice much ghosting with new LCDs from branded LCDs nowadays. Maybe those cheap no brand China made LCD still have such issues...
Pucca
post Nov 26 2007, 09:12 PM

320 posts

HP monitor made in China but i think it's consider ok... how to solve ghosting then? thank you.
VincentCheun
post Dec 4 2007, 06:14 PM

117 posts

this is my computer rig, dont konw can consider as HTPC or not.. biggrin.gif

an Epson EMP 82 projector

screen display

my messy computer table
spec as below:
AMD X2 4000+
Gigabyte Mobo
Asus 8500GT
1GB DDR2 Ram
80GB Sata HDD
BenQ DVD Writer
Prodigy 7.1 Hifi Sound Card
Logitech Z680 Speaker
Logitech Wireless Keyboard & Mouse
Silverstone SG01 Casing

ikan_semilang
post Dec 18 2007, 11:26 AM

4,504 posts

Isn't enough run HTPC with AMD 3600+ X2 65W 256KB x 2?
rx330
post Dec 18 2007, 11:55 AM

11,808 posts

saw sony htpc, selling for 3988, price aceptable, but it looks freaking ugly and big, yucks
raining again
post Dec 18 2007, 01:53 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 18 2007, 11:55 AM)
saw sony htpc, selling for 3988, price aceptable, but it looks freaking ugly and big, yucks
can show the spec of the rig ? thanx
rx330
post Dec 18 2007, 02:38 PM

11,808 posts

try sony.com.my
they shud have list it there
twilight19
post Dec 19 2007, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(Pucca @ Nov 25 2007, 12:02 PM)

h/w:
hdd - 250gb
ram - 1gb
processor - 2.8 ht
astro

s/w:
vista ultimate (ori)

i would like to help but not enough info.
anyway, here are my guesses,
has the tv been calibrated,ie not the factory settings.
this is because showrooms like to show off using the video enhancement mode which looks totally unnatural, like having double edges.(edge enhancement)
otherwise, it's the tv programme that has been edge enhanced due to the low res of sd.
try setting your tv's contrast, brightness, colour, sharpness and hue and see if there's any improvement.(use a paused picture, preferably one with a face in it with a bright, beautiful scenery background.
if you live near Sibu, i'll be glad to help out.

This post has been edited by twilight19: Dec 20 2007, 12:29 AM
yikyeou
post Dec 19 2007, 05:50 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

i am running on windows xp. any freeware out there that works like windows media center? i has mediaportal, but it doesnt read my mp3 song and artist name and chinese words.

TrueHD1080p
post Dec 24 2007, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(Klez @ Mar 15 2006, 10:32 PM)
user posted image user posted image

my Silverstone LC-02.. no fancy sound card, tv card/recorder..  blush.gif
I like your casing. How much does it cost? Where did you get it? Does it have an infra port for remote control?
ikan_semilang
post Dec 25 2007, 11:00 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(drindy @ Nov 7 2007, 08:56 AM)
I am thinking of setting up a HTPC using Asus M2A-VM HDMI as well. I need advise from those sifus already using this board. Is the card able to display 1080p? I think the Asus website only mentioned 1080i.
Compare with Biostar TA690G AM2, which better do job display 1080p? TQ.
jy14
post Jan 3 2008, 02:30 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 25 2007, 11:00 PM)
Compare with Biostar TA690G AM2, which better do job display 1080p? TQ.
How about Abit AN-M2HD?
PerlBoy
post Jan 3 2008, 05:56 PM

111 posts

my htpc as my sig

i find that the gigabyte MA69GM-S2H has the best output options u can find. i ve built others using M2A-VM dvi, and they are all good as gd in performance

pop in a decent 2.4GHz and above, 1080 should be playable via onboard

im trying to build a mini lcd screen (stilll cant find a cheap VFD) with a knob via usb. technically equivalent to upgrading the NSK2400 to a fusion..
SUSMatrix
post Jan 3 2008, 06:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Dec 19 2007, 05:50 PM)
i am running on windows xp. any freeware out there that works like windows media center? i has mediaportal, but it doesnt read my mp3 song and artist name and chinese words.
Just upgrade to VISTA Home Premium. It has built in MCE. Very Nice.
terranova
post Jan 4 2008, 11:57 AM

1,161 posts

Hi all. New to this thread. Looking to get my own HTPC rig. Came across this article for noobs like me to get some insight into what to look for in a HTPC.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=940972

126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0206sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:06 PM