PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

ryansia
post Jun 30 2006, 04:12 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(ciputra @ Jun 30 2006, 02:54 PM)
Resize to your native display IMO is better, the fx5200 may be a bit weak here. I bought a second hand 9600XT and get better result, image seems sharper.
well, i was trying my existing rig to resize to 1080 coz planningto buy 37'' LCD TV with native rosolution of 1920x1080 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
will the built in 6150 mobo do this without sweat?

QUOTE(ciputra @ Jun 30 2006, 03:00 PM)
your friend budget of 1.5K RM imo is too low. for cheap remote, get any unused remote and with a DIY IR receiver with girder as software shld do it. but warning girder is steep like hell to understand
i'm using home brew receiver with girder. if you are just programing girder to mimic hot key on the keyboard then it's not too difficult.

QUOTE(Renovatio @ Jun 30 2006, 03:09 PM)
well ciputra, I would appreciate if you learn how to quote everyone that you want to reply into one post. That would make reading easier for others and not hog up the latest page with mostly your name.

You just need to click the "+Quote" on every post you want to reply then click "Morer Options" button to have them stack up nicely in quotes.

OK now back to some HTPC question, actually I would want to know how fast would a Windows MCE turns on start up?? Would it be as fast as your normal DVD player?
kekeke luckily u didn't sound me on my previous few posts..... tongue.gif tongue.gif
win MCE start up like normal XP. imposible like DVD player. fastest is using S3 standby or hibernate.
ryansia
post Jul 3 2006, 05:17 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jul 3 2006, 12:49 AM)
so basically its the gc's fault? i thought scanlines are common ( i'm using an old curved tv monitor) playing video isn't a problem and its clear but the scan lines are giving me a headache as i can't read the fonts in windows
it depends on the quality of the TV encoder on the GC. if you use the cheapo generic S video to composit cable, most of the time you will have bad image. try to use S video on your TV. try to toggle output signal between NTSC or PAL on your GC controller to check which will output better quality. Don't expect clear text on TV cause it's nearly impposible to read w/o headache via composit or s video.... unless u r using VGA or DVi on LCD TV.

ryansia
post Jul 20 2006, 01:00 PM

316 posts

i got a spare DVI to HDMI adaptor. ideal for those who want to connect your DVI gfx port to your HDMI TV via DVI cable. RM60 anyone??
ryansia
post Jul 27 2006, 12:15 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(spacecopgaban @ Jul 23 2006, 10:13 PM)
Pretty sure i'm the only ignoramus who doesn't know yet, but...

Why does it seem that Silverstone cases are so easy to find (for relatively cheap too) in Singapore?
http://www.htpc-gear.com/index.php?name=PN...viewtopic&t=355

As opposed to their rarity and highly bloated prices we're seeing here. shakehead.gif

Just stumbled on it while reading something else. Sorry if this has been asked before.
HTPC casing is quite a rare item in Malaysia and hence the price. what to do?? we need more HTPC kakis to make these more affordable.

QUOTE(zk9 @ Jul 24 2006, 02:37 AM)
Guys this thermaltake casing seems promising to make HTPC....im kinda intrest to build HTPC also !! rclxms.gif

Thermaltake Mozart:
http://www.bigbruin.com/reviews05/review.p...ttmozart&file=1

This casing i think can easily found around LYN

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=271019&hl=mozart

RM690  drool.gif
if i'm not wrong, the price come with IMON VFD and Remote like my Cooler Master Media 260.
i've compare side-by-side with Silverstone LC14M and what i can say is Silverstone is 1 class higher in term of material and finishing. with the price of thermaltake, it's the best bang of your bucks. if you have deep pocket, Silverstone is the way to go.

This post has been edited by ryansia: Jul 27 2006, 12:17 PM
ryansia
post Aug 18 2006, 07:44 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 15 2006, 07:21 PM)
ryansia, may I ask where you get the all in one internal 3.5" card reader... trying hard to get it in lowyat but many shop say no stock etc... sigh! is yours black? I want black..
i bought at the same shop where i bought my CM media 260 casing. Just PC @ Imbi

it's black in colour, match my black media 260......
ryansia
post Aug 18 2006, 07:47 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(shinigamicpt @ Aug 15 2006, 09:22 PM)
oh the hdmi in a card exist but not sure in m'sia .... gc by saphirre an power color 1600 pro and 1 more 7600gt or gs duno by wat brand
not sure if the HDMI gfx is useful for the time veing coz most of the LCD TV is 1366x768 panel and not likely you will get 1:1 pixel mapping. unless u get a 1920x1080 panel.

anyway i saw the saphire 1600 HDMI in HK forgot the price though
ryansia
post Aug 24 2006, 09:51 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 22 2006, 04:38 PM)
Just been to LYP...try to look for some HTPC casing...sadly very dissapointed. Can't find anything like Thermaltake Mozart etc.

Anyone knows which shop got good selection of HTPC casing??

btw, just to share, saw some  very interesting in a shop next to O/C paradise.

It's a mini-pc that's really mini. It makes mini-Mac looks like Big Mac. Heck it's just the size of a CD-ROM/DVD-ROM drive, plus minus a little. But it dun come cheap...RM2xxx!!! The CPU is some CPU used in notebook, not AMD/Intel, hence i believe it's slower but doesn't runs very hot, thus making the small size possible as no extra cooling is needed.
Moderno in LYN has Thermaltake Mozart.

the mini PC is the Mini ITX platform. mostly use in CarPC. some has on board VIA CPU or using mobile processor like centrino.........
ryansia
post Sep 1 2006, 03:33 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 30 2006, 04:03 PM)
guys...need some quick quick help with my HTPC...

1/ i wanna connect ASTRO to my PC so that i can record the programs bla bla bla... i also want the output to not only come out at the TV but also the CRT... my TV only has 1 AV in so its gonna be troublesome to keep switching the wires....
set gfx card to clone mode monitor+TV

2/ what kinda hardware do i need for the output and recording thing and how much will it set me back? HDD i know a lil small but thatll come later....
hauppauge PVR150 mce will be fine. cost rm 4xx

3/ how do i connect the astro to my Edifer R501 MKII so that i can view the channels in 5.1?
use software Dolby Prologic II the encode and output 5.1 through soundcard.

1/ need hardware that can support many kinds of TV... coz i dunno which TV im gonna be upgrading to... currently considering a 42" plasma which doesnt have a tuner but has inputs. prefer USB connection
some gfx card c/w composit, svideo, component and DVI. almost everything and nothing to worry. i don't get what u meant USB......

2/ would also like sumthing that can be used while the PC is off.. i dun wanna on my PC just to watch astro
this is different thing. use spliter to send seperate signal stright to ur TV lar....

3/ need sumthin that supports progressive scan... so it wont pixelate on whatever TV i upgrade to later or sumthin that supports the digital signal.. (very blur about this notworthy.gif)
progressive scan or not depend on your gfx output setting- either through component/VGA or DVI.
pixelation depend on the source...garbage in garbage out. anyhow you can improve the quality using software scaler but i doubt your 2800+ can do that.

4/ can support high resolutions...
choose the right gfx card.

all in all, it is the combination of softwares+gfx card+TV card (pvr 150)

ryansia
post Sep 7 2006, 10:21 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 4 2006, 09:06 AM)
Just to share:

Saw CoolerMaster CMedia 260 in LYP at 2 shops.

The price is about RM2xx for without the remote control+software and about RM550 for the whole package. Also the PSU not included, have to buy a small PSU to fit in.

I've been looking for a HTPC casing for sometime and this is the first one i saw.

But the price is a bit expensive...Will cost RM6xx when the PSU is included. Also the small PSU has smaller power...(from what i can find), usually around 280W to 300W max. Will this be enough juice to power a simple Athlon CPU, I HDD, 1 old GF4Mx card and 1 DVD-ROM?
I got the media 260. the case can fit normal size PSU lar frend...but not full size.
i'm using the cheapo PSU that cost rm45 from my previous tower. it drives P4, 2HDD, 1 6200 gfx card, 1 pvr150 (non MCE), 1 dvdrw, 1 card reader, usb RF wireless keyboard and VFD flawlessly dude......

Still it's the price that's holding me back...I was hoping can find a solution for around RM300. I was thinking to get a normal smaller desktop casing, but it'll be without the remote control for controlling Windows XP MCE.

There's WinXP MCE remote control for sale overseas, but u just can't find it here. sad.gif

Sigh...
i'm now in HK and just bought 1 set Haupaugge MCE Remote icon_idea.gif
bought this just to play play only since i've homebrew Ir receiver and Imon from my media 260. i might sell it with out loosing a cent since it's not available in Malaysia. offer me a price!!

btw, anybody here has the CoolerMaster CMedia 260? Is it good? Frankly, i think the design is kinda boring and doesn't fit well in the living room. I would prefer something silvery color like an amp. smile.gif
i find it fine with me cause i want a slim case inblack colour with VFD and with this price, tak boleh cari mana mana lor..... u may want to add your budget to RM 750 to get the mozart from thermaltake.

ryansia
post Sep 7 2006, 10:33 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 4 2006, 10:41 AM)
Yes, it was one of the option on the list, but the hauppauge 150MCE will set me back RM499!!! Frankly, i'm not so much interested in recording TV(heck, my terrestial antenna isn't even working...i only receive TV via ASTRO). In fact it isn't in my priority list, so spending RM500 just for the remote is a kinda waste.

My main purpose is to listen to music using my Prodigy card => HT system. The prodigy card really produce excellent music when paired with my amp and speakers!! It sounds much better than my XBOX can (which is currently the media center).
Thanks for the link. I think i'll keep my money until can find a better solution.

Btw, the official MCE remote is about USD35. I've scanned some sites but they only sell in US. If anyone know any sites that ships here, do drop a post!
as i've just said, i got a brand new hauppauge MCE remote. offer me a price dude!
if you really out of budget, DIY lar, cost you less than RM20. use girder to control.

this is an excellent guide
http://lnx.manoweb.com/lirc/?partType=sect...me=introduction
good luck

p/s if you dunno how to do, i charge RM 50 for 1 set, janji working! my time very expensive one lor......kekekekeke
ryansia
post Sep 8 2006, 11:02 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 8 2006, 10:44 AM)
kawan, ugpm.  icon_rolleyes.gif
btw, thanks for sharing all the info about the Coolermaster C260. Ur feedback are much appreciated!!!  notworthy.gif

I'm still thinking what to do. With a case like that, things will probably looks cleaner than say with an MCE remote, since it has the IR receiver built in near the VFD panel right? With an MCE remote, i still have to plug the IR receiver into the USB port and place it somewhere near the casing...or is it possible to put the ir receiver inside the casing???  sweat.gif

Maybe mod the casing a bit? How big is the IR receiver for the MCE remote anyway?
PM replied.
review ar.... lazy to right long long one.... all in all, i'm happy with the case due to my personal preference. the only set back is that it only take selective mobo layout with agp/pci-e slot at slot 7 and pci slot at slot 6.

the IR receiver located below the optical drive. the bundled remote can control MCE rclxms.gif rclxms.gif but does not have IR blaster to control Astro (for viewing and recording purposes). if you wanna do this then you need MCE ir receiver.
whether the MCE IR receiver can be fitted within the case or not, i need to check.
ryansia
post Sep 8 2006, 11:30 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 8 2006, 11:11 AM)
The photo show the IR receiver connected to the ASTRO ir receiver. So it means u can control ASTRO via MCE?
Bingo!!!!!!!!!
ryansia
post Sep 12 2006, 07:02 PM

316 posts

LC16M
my targeted price RM9xx

please duntell me it will cost rm1200......
ryansia
post Sep 13 2006, 11:31 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 13 2006, 10:41 AM)

I think i'm gonna do some DIY and spray paint some casing for the time being!!

thant's what i did for my first HTPC...... i modified from a tower casing to a ha desktop and made a new stainless steel face for it and wola....
ryansia
post Sep 13 2006, 11:41 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Sep 13 2006, 11:36 AM)
Ryan, you have pictures of your custom made casing? Share la.  thumbup.gif
if i got time lar.....once i reach home from work...my time belongs to my wife n kids....
ryansia
post Sep 14 2006, 09:52 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 13 2006, 03:37 PM)
I was also thinking whether i can rip off the casing of my old kaput DVD player and turn it into a PC casing...but that kinda mod is way beyond me i guess.
i did it as well..... using old vcd player casing. using smallest matx power supply and it's in my room as extender (client) via wifi. can't fit in optical drive though
ryansia
post Sep 14 2006, 10:14 AM

316 posts

my DIY stainless steel HTPC casing.

it was my first project but due to time constrain, no time to do a better one.

ryansia
post Sep 14 2006, 11:57 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 14 2006, 10:37 AM)
Ryansia: Wow! I'm impressed!!! I wish i have ur skill...too bad i'm a software guy, not a hardware one. What about the internals? Do u jack an existing CPU casing internal to hold the drives, mobo etc?
I'm actually aorking in a factory dealing with sheet metal. i sketched in Autocad and they did it for me.....somore foc.....

i retained the back panel and the MOBO base. if you notice, the casing depth is shorter by 10cm compared to the regular casing depth of 43cm coz i want to fit in my rack...... hence the mobo based has been cut to fit mymobo size.

about the mounting of the HDD and Optical drive, i have to custom make. it is critical the place the dvdr/w at the right heaght to match my casing dvd slot opening...

my future casing will accommodate 4x20 LCD display on the face, and may be few control buttons as well modified from usb Gamepad.... but i hardly have time these day.......

matrix, on the 2nd pic, there is a mouse...... that is not an actual mouse but my diy cheapo Ir receiver...... the newly acquired MCE remote is still in the plastic beside the "mouse" and i'll keep it as new as possible in case you want it!! kekekek......

btw, something interesting from Gigabyte website.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/News/DigitalHom...spx?NewsID=1271

Looks like Gigabyte will start selling some HTPC....looks cool!!!
saw these at HK last week and it will set you back rm 3-4K

ryansia
post Sep 14 2006, 03:38 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 14 2006, 02:12 PM)
(1) Get the cheapest Silverstone at RM399
rm399 is the RRP. perhaps could knock down little bit.

Remote:
(1) Get the MCE from u.
(2) Get the DIY IR from u (offer still open right? smile.gif
(3) Fix my own IR ....i've studied the link u provided and it seems quite simple..except that i've only done soldering maybe less than 5 times in my life and that was years ago (and will probably solder my fingers to the wires in the process). Also dunno pasar road got or not those stuff. But it seems very interesting. I might enjoy it even if i screw it up. smile.gif
offer still open dude, fren fren i have to sacrifice my sleeping time loe...
about the components i got it from pasar road as well, no worries.

btw, one question. Is Girder freeware or what? Does it have time limit function? U do need Girder to work with Windows MCE if using ur DIY IR receiver rite?
yes you need girder. i can send you the MCE group and then it can be learned from any remote you have.
it used to be freeware before it was comercialised. i'm using the 3.29 version (no time limit) which is the last version before you need to pay.

But i also really like the VFD on the expensive Silverstone casing...looks great together with my amp...but paying RM600 extra for the VFD is like not worth the money.
vfd on silverstone and cooler master is the same. all from Imon. if you mod your own casing then use the cheaper LCD display.

Also thinking...can i rip the LED display from those old DVD players i have and program it somehow?? Now googling whether got information on this..

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
from what i know, impossible....... i may be wrong...

btw, where r u located dude?

This post has been edited by ryansia: Sep 14 2006, 03:40 PM
ryansia
post Sep 14 2006, 04:46 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 14 2006, 04:17 PM)
Aiks. LCD display cheaper? U mean those DVD Player DISPLAY are consider LCD? I thought those are LED. Where can buy LCD display that can integrate to ur casing?

My office is in PJ Damansara and i stay in KL. How bout u?
this is LCD 20x4

this is VFD 20x4

this guy is bulking LCDs in LYN
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=244625

DIY guide (again???) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
http://www.pcmoddingmy.com/e107_plugins/co...hp?content.58.1

i'm at Kinrara @Puchong

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top