PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

ryansia
post Sep 15 2006, 10:21 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(pixel8 @ Sep 15 2006, 08:23 AM)
Fan for htpc is too noisy for HT, imo.... or any other noise.

You are expecting lots of movie sounds non-stop throughout the movie? Aren't there quiet or dialogue moments during movies, which you would hear the htpc noises?
Main sourse of persistance noise in HTPC would be the fans...... CPU, Gfx card PSU and casing. if only relying n the cheapo stock fans, can be help.
CPU fan - depending on the loading of the CPU. if only playing SD media, it's not an issue with high efficiecy heat sink
Gfx card - pasive clooling reccommended
PSU- there are quiet PSU out there. i moded my standard cheapo PSU to have 'free flow' - no grille on both air intake and fan.
casing fans- use big 12cm running at 7V loe....

HDD and Optical drive will only be anoying while searching. watching movies is not an issue. at least to me.....
ryansia
post Sep 15 2006, 12:22 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 15 2006, 11:27 AM)
btw, can we get this LCD from electronic shops at Pasar Road also??

Have u done this before or intend to do one?
not easy to find at Pasar road..... i bought from the bulker and i've done one after i did my casing. should have been the other way round that to have the lcd mounted on the casing. i'm planning to do my 2nd case with the lcd. my frens are eyeing on my current casing if i were to ditch.......
ryansia
post Sep 18 2006, 10:19 AM

316 posts

cheap casing....
someone is bulking this, RM 165
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=338245

ryansia
post Sep 19 2006, 01:23 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(ckhoong @ Sep 19 2006, 01:00 AM)

Hello guys.. Do we have a HTPC club in Malaysia?

ryansia's special designed facelit really nice  thumbup.gif

btw..mine just the looks like htpc.. but not completed yet..
1)got vfd n remote but no xp with mce
2)only 1 display at the same time, dont know which gc can support 2 display at the same time..
3)no cordless keyboard n mouse
4)the dvi cable too short, causing the lcd cant put to a proper place  doh.gif
Cool.... is your R5 32 incher ? and nice casing you have rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ....Imon inside eh??
TQ for the compliment... it's just a poor man HTPC casing...LOL
so for oonly this thread for HTPC loe... unless the MOD open a sub just for HTPC eh?? anyhow not many HTPC kakis and hardware is very limite as well. if you form a HTPC club....i 101% support thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
then we can share the resources of HD movies......LOL
May be TT first? and don't forget to bring the portable HDD!
ryansia
post Oct 4 2006, 12:15 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 4 2006, 09:51 AM)
If you're pairing up with a LCD TV then the display will be similar to a LCD Monitor. Just need to set the screen resolution to the LCD TV's native resolution then it will be sharp and clear already.
beware, some of the LCD TV's vga in don't even support the native resolution(very strange), not to mention the HDMI port with 1366x768 panel......

I am planning to buy a Samsung LA32R7 32" LCD TV tonite  thumbup.gif to replace my TV.  I not guru in LCD TV and never used 1 b4 so couldn't give you much suggestion. For me, LA32R7 is perfect for me, taking into consideration of price and features. It has a 26" version but 1 or 2 feature is slightly lower than the 32" model.
what's the best deal out there for 32" r7??
actually the 32'' wide screen is much smaller than the 29'' 4:3 crt.......... if you are used to the 29", reccomend 37" LCD and above.
ryansia
post Oct 4 2006, 01:53 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Oct 4 2006, 01:02 PM)
htpc no need so kau kua.....AM2 3500+ only 62W biggrin.gif sitll lots of juice for other stuff
why not AM2 x2? more head room for HD.....
ryansia
post Oct 4 2006, 03:43 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 4 2006, 01:58 PM)
yeah. I got AMD x2 3800+ for my new HTPC.

Going to try to upscale Astro using FFDShow. Anyone has experience on this?
QUOTE(mikechai @ Oct 4 2006, 02:00 PM)
For HTPC, get something that runs cool and quiet.

For HD content, you can get the latest 3D cards like GeForce 7300/7600 that can accelerates H.264.
running FFDShow will disable HW acceleration and it's very CPU hungry. that's my point of AMDx2. It tried before upscaling astro to 1920x1080 with my P4 2.8 but hell lotsa drop frame. quite ok for 1280x720 though
ryansia
post Oct 4 2006, 04:01 PM

316 posts

terency, matrix, spiller and the rests....
dun forget to post your pic of the setup
ryansia
post Oct 4 2006, 05:12 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 4 2006, 04:18 PM)
Wow cool, I gonna try to do it when I get my hands on my new LCD TV. Don't think I need to upscale it to 1920x1080 coz my LCD max can support 1366x768.

Ryan, after you upscale from SD to HD does the Astro image get stretch?
Ok. Will post together with my new xbox360 this saturday.
i've played it for a while during testing (still hunting for LCD TV). depending on your resize setting in ffdshow, keep the original ratio will have 2 black bar at both sides on wide screen tv. you can use the zoom fuction on MCE to choose your prefered mode. try it and update us. since you have x2 cpu, mind to try resize to 1920x1080 if it plays smoothly. try also together with other enhancement setting
like Blur & NR, Sharpen.......

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 4 2006, 04:34 PM)
btw, how does upscaled astro looks? Good or not much different?
i was only experimenting if my rig could upscale....... on crt TV only, can't see much. the results will be apparent on LCD TV. let terencey reports the result.....
ryansia
post Oct 5 2006, 09:02 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(spiller46 @ Oct 4 2006, 08:37 PM)
my humble setup
nice speaker stand you have there biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
wanna sell your mission M31 (m'i right?) since it's not connected? wink.gif wink.gif

btw, how much did you pay for xn125? good?

This post has been edited by ryansia: Oct 5 2006, 09:10 AM
ryansia
post Oct 5 2006, 11:08 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(spiller46 @ Oct 5 2006, 10:28 AM)
Haha...no money to buy speaker stand ma....
yupe plan to sell it, u interested ?????

xn125 cost me ard rm3000+++
PM me your best price........ btw, how old is the m31? good condition?

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 5 2006, 10:51 AM)
My simple setup.

[attachmentid=141684][attachmentid=141685]

My new LCD TV and HTPC. No money for any sound system. Pokaiz.

Just finished setup Astro Programme guide on MCE last nite. Took me 3 days last time just to reseach and setup the guide. Now its kacang puteh already.  laugh.gif

I am abit dissapointed with the quality of Astro images. Either running directly from composite cable or through MCE the quality still not that good. Can't expect much i guess since Astro is sending its signal in SD format.

But my tears of joy start flowing when I watch my downloaded Prison Break season 2 on my LCD TV. The quality is excellent.  rclxms.gif
are you using composite??? hopeless..... try s-video, big improvement from composite. tell us the results. how about ffdshow?
ryansia
post Oct 5 2006, 11:11 AM

316 posts

ops....duplicated post.....

This post has been edited by ryansia: Oct 5 2006, 11:13 AM
ryansia
post Oct 5 2006, 11:32 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 5 2006, 11:18 AM)
Yes I'm using composite. Didn't try S-Video because no cable. Will try it out. Thanks for the tip.

FFDShow will try tonite. Yesterday nite too busy setting up EPG and testing all the downloaded movies and series.
i dun even have time to watch episode 6&7 of PB....my maid ran away liao....
ryansia
post Oct 5 2006, 12:22 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 5 2006, 11:50 AM)
How much is the cheapest amp+speakers system around? I just want to have a basic 5.1 surround sound for my HTPC, xbox360, future PS3 and astro. Means the amp must have at least 4 or more inputs rite.
as you mentioned xbox360 & PS3, it is essential to get an AV amp with HDMI. you only have 1 HDMI port on R7....... unless you wanna settles with component.

i remember saw sme one was bulking Sony AV receiver with HDMI passthrough which costs RM8xx.
ryansia
post Oct 5 2006, 12:44 PM

316 posts

cheap cheap one LPPL one leh, just need to look for best input type and quantity.
ie number of digital input, component input, HDMI bla bla bla
option of monitor outbut the more the marrier.
ryansia
post Oct 6 2006, 03:59 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 6 2006, 09:54 AM)
Managed to try out post proccessing Astro video yesterday. Result not that good. Overall image quality is ok but got pixelation when watching high speed shows like sports.

I used blur NR + resizing only. Even with all the post processing turned off I still get pixelation of high speed shows.  Did I miss something here? Anybody can give me some tips?  rclxub.gif

Thanks you.  notworthy.gif
what's the connection from astro? composite or S Video? about pixelation you might want to test direct from astro to Tv if the this persists. the problem might be the TV scaler or source and not your HTPC.

How about upscaling the dvd or divx?

you need to do some registry heck inorder to run ffdshow on MCE right? what's the CPU load when you enable blur NR with resize? what's the size you set in resize?
ryansia
post Oct 6 2006, 04:34 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 6 2006, 04:06 PM)
I noticed u used the ASUS mobo with the built-in 6150 card. Did u install Nvidia Purevideo??

After Installing Purevideo, the DVD movie quality seems much better than the codec that comes with PowerDVD. btw, i still find it hard to believe MCE didn't at least give some cheap free codecs for DVD playing...it can't even play DVD by default!!! doh.gif

Also, i'm starting to hate the online spotlight which is nothing more than gimmick to sell u rubbish online.

I think my XBMC on the XBOX has a far superior interface(and looks nicer) than MCE!!!

PS: PureVideo isn't free...it is only 30 days trial....Nvidia is greedy...but u can always look for the ahem ahem "pecah" file....

hee-hee.
"pecah" is not the right word lor...should be "retak" lol. every popular BT site should have that.

agree with matrix. pureVideo is one of the best Mpeg2 decoders.
ryansia
post Oct 6 2006, 04:41 PM

316 posts

paging all the MCE users.

there are many plugins for MCE out there. Mind to share experience and list down the "essential" for MCE.
I personally have installed

Media Center Browser- simplified IE within MCE.

Musical Folder- browse my misic collection via folder

My Movies- titles catalogue

PPLive for MCE- PPlive within MCE

Weather

please share your experience.

This post has been edited by ryansia: Oct 6 2006, 04:43 PM
ryansia
post Oct 20 2006, 12:53 PM

316 posts

Brand new MCE ir receiver/ blaster with remote controller to let go.

it's the one from Hauppauge. anyone interested? RM 160- my cost

willing to trade with HDD 200GB

This post has been edited by ryansia: Oct 20 2006, 12:55 PM
ryansia
post Nov 4 2006, 08:52 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 4 2006, 01:00 AM)
Haha..really looked like a VCR..  sweat.gif
I like slim case, so getting it..

Anyway,My low cost HTPC consists of:

ASUS M2NPV-VM (nvidia 6150 based) Mobo.. same mobo as AlamakLor.. laugh.gif

SONY 18x DVD Writer DRU-830A

SMC Wifi Card (MIMO)

CoolerMaster Media Kit from SoundGraph

CM 430w PSU (not true power) & AMD64 x2 3600+ (cheapest in x2 series)

Logitech Wireless Keyboard, Mouse, CoolerMaster Media 260 Casing and Corsair ValueSelect DDR667 RAM 512MBx2
friend, i don't think the ASUS M2NPV-VM can fit into the cm260 due to the pcie/pci slots layout of ASUS M2NPV-VM. unless u don't plan to use any slots .... good luck.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0396sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:27 AM