PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

htkaki
post Mar 17 2006, 09:31 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Mar 16 2006, 08:56 PM)
Taikor, I don't read NST. When is the actual date for the fair?
Eh... I tot I have posted it liao. Maybe it's in the 'other' thread.

Mark your calendars: 21st, 22nd and 23rd July 2006 at the JW Marriott Hotel.

Chew, I oredi asked my fren to take the tics first so we dont need to wait like last yr. whistling.gif

chewkl
post Mar 17 2006, 10:56 AM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Hehe...thanks bro. wink.gif
TSsevendogz
post Mar 17 2006, 01:27 PM

1,276 posts

kinda weird but really not enuf ppl wanted to do such project mer, we can , like mass order or something and start a club on htpc ma..i do hope it will take off in malaysia la..
accs_centre
post Mar 17 2006, 02:11 PM

4,840 posts

Actually many ppl can cosidered hv a HTPC also..especially students as they rent a room outside.. The PC will act as all-in-one entertainment centre..also HTPC.. So it will be Room HTPC.. hehe
htkaki
post Mar 17 2006, 10:05 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

lidat oso can kah? Room HTPC. *salute*
accs_centre
post Mar 17 2006, 10:13 PM

4,840 posts

poor student life like me mar.. no $$ for real hi-fi setup tongue.gif
htkaki
post Mar 18 2006, 09:45 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Mar 17 2006, 10:13 PM)
poor student life like me mar.. no $$ for real hi-fi setup tongue.gif

No worry. When u step into the real world, u have enough $$$ to build one. biggrin.gif

TSsevendogz
post Mar 19 2006, 08:51 AM

1,276 posts

apart from amp and sound/video system, which a lot ppl already got, and a pc off course, we need the nice htpc casing, the decoder, the panel and remote, if can afford, wireless mouse and keyboard la, which in my mind shouldn't be too difficult to get but i just can't seem to find those stuff here.
anyone interested? maybe i'll go find some and mass order.
chewkl
post Mar 19 2006, 07:50 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Wait till HD is more widely available in Malaysia. Then the HTPC will be of use. A HTPC can play real 720p and 1080i HD contents via DVI or component. Current players can only do upscalling from 480. Real dedicated players that can do HD is still way more expensive then a full-fledged HTPC, and is set to remain in that price range that is out of reach to the average Joe.
htkaki
post Mar 19 2006, 08:54 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Mar 19 2006, 07:50 PM)
Wait till HD is more widely available in Malaysia. Then the HTPC will be of use. A HTPC can play real 720p and 1080i HD contents via DVI or component. Current players can only do upscalling from 480. Real dedicated players that can do HD is still way more expensive then a full-fledged HTPC, and is set to remain in that price range that is out of reach to the average Joe.
Chew, not you as u not really a small fry. tongue.gif

On a serious note I do agree with you. Then again, are you willing to spend that much of money on it? sweat.gif
chewkl
post Mar 19 2006, 09:26 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Taikor, HTPC is cheap man's HD player, DVD/HDD recorder and media streamer all-in-one solution (read: cheaper than getting all separates, RM3k can settle all) tongue.gif And when BD-ROM or HD-DVD is out, just have to replace the DVD-ROM, no need to throw away the PC.

And knowing the PC industry, it's only a matter of time until they crack the HDCP on HD discs. whistling.gif
htkaki
post Mar 20 2006, 12:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Mar 19 2006, 09:26 PM)
Taikor, HTPC is cheap man's HD player, DVD/HDD recorder and media streamer all-in-one solution (read: cheaper than getting all separates, RM3k can settle all) tongue.gif And when BD-ROM or HD-DVD is out, just have to replace the DVD-ROM, no need to throw away the PC.

And knowing the PC industry, it's only a matter of time until they crack the HDCP on HD discs. whistling.gif
I oso waiting some genius descendant of Unc Ho to do the job rclxms.gif
eyerule
post Apr 1 2006, 10:47 AM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,036 posts

HTPCs make great dvd players when u use a projector. very good upscaling
Traveler
post Apr 7 2006, 11:31 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(eyerule @ Apr 1 2006, 10:47 AM)
HTPCs make great dvd players when u use a projector. very good upscaling
Is that right? Interesting...

I am planning to build a HTPC after I move in to my new apartment (July). Will be installing a projector (considering Sony VPL-HS60, 1280x720 resolution) at ceiling level projecting to 100" size on a drop-down screen, with a 40"/42" LCD TV (considering Sony KLV-V40A10, 1366x768 resolution) on the wall nearby. These two will be my video output devices. My sound output (for anything viewed through projector) will be through the receiver (considering Sony STR-DB798/S) and Bose Acoustimass speakers (7 mounted at ceiling, sub-woofer on the ground).

For viewing DVDs, I plan on viewing via a Sony RDR-HX910 PVR w/ DVD burner. I intend to use the HTPC for these main functions:

1. Streaming video from my server (MPEGs, mostly ripped from my DVD collection) to LCD TV & Projector
2. Streaming audio from my server (MP3s, ripped from my CD collection)
3. Gaming on the BIG screen with 7.1ch surround sound drool.gif
4. Occassional internet surfing
5. Occassional ripping or burning custom CDs (especially at initial setup, to speed up ripping my CDs to the server).
6. Occassional ripping of DVDs (especially at initial setup, as I put a big chunk of my DVD collection on the server).

Wireless connection to server via 802.11g; am thinking of using Linksys for its SRX capabilities, to maximise speed for the streaming video.

What do you guys think of this setup? I will be discussing this with my interior designer and the AV specialist tomorrow morning. biggrin.gif

dirtrun
post Apr 7 2006, 01:13 PM

3,136 posts

Hiya T,

Not an expert on HTPC so won't comment on that but I saw that you stated BOSE there, any reason why you chose that for your audio? Is Wife Acceptance Factor the ulitmate to you?

Erh Sony also is not very well regarded in the AVR circle( Pls don't flame me here ah, Sony lovers...)

Regards
Dirtrun
Traveler
post Apr 7 2006, 03:19 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 7 2006, 01:13 PM)
Hiya T,

Not an expert on HTPC so won't comment on that but I saw that you stated BOSE there, any reason why you chose that for your audio? Is Wife Acceptance Factor the ulitmate to you?

Erh Sony also is not very well regarded in the AVR circle( Pls don't flame me here ah, Sony lovers...)

Regards
Dirtrun
Hi dirtrun,

I picked Bose, as I already have a 5.1 system that I brought back from the US 7 years ago, so I just need to pick up 2 satellite speakers to complete the set. Plus it's small and easy to fit into the design for my new place. Cost + convenience. No wife, so no need to please anyone but myself biggrin.gif

As for Sony, I picked that simply for:
1. Standardization on one brand for HT, eases the interconnection and controlling the whole system. Already have 2 units of Sony 300-CD disc changers, planning on getting the Sony PVR as I think it has the best features of all PVRs I can find in Malaysia.
2. I go for features and ease of use, rather than ultimate AV performance, as I am not too picky on how "high-end" the audio will sound. So long as good enough for me. Most of the time, I don't think I can tell the difference anyway. rolleyes.gif
3. Budget... some of the really high-end stuff cost more per item than what I plan to spend on my HT system. I reserve my $$ for my PC rigs, that's where I go all out and get the best.

Am thinking of using a Silverstone HTPC casing with VFD/LCD display so the looks will blend with the rest of my HT items. Either that or a Shuttle XPC type rig.

This post has been edited by Traveler: Apr 7 2006, 03:20 PM
chewkl
post Apr 7 2006, 03:36 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

Mighty BIG apt U got there, 100" projected image and another 42" on the same wall. whistling.gif
Traveler
post Apr 7 2006, 04:21 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Apr 7 2006, 03:36 PM)
Mighty BIG apt U got there, 100" projected image and another 42" on the same wall. whistling.gif
Actually the 40" LCD will be on one wall, and the 100" projected image will be on a drop-down screen. Will be discussing this with the interior designer and AV specialist tomorrow morning, to see how viable this is. The AV guy is also supposed to advise on speaker location.

Apartment not that big.. 1600sq ft 3+1 bedroom (very small +1 bedroom, hehe).
Smallest apartment in the building.
swgiant
post Apr 8 2006, 11:51 AM

Extravagance RUINS Your Life !!!
1,414 posts

I think this card, Auzentech HDA X-Plosion, is better than X-fi pro in terms of HTPC. read the review at http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/reviews...-Plosion_1.html
eyerule
post Apr 8 2006, 05:08 PM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Apr 7 2006, 11:31 AM)
Is that right? Interesting...

I am planning to build a HTPC after I move in to my new apartment (July). Will be installing a projector (considering Sony VPL-HS60, 1280x720 resolution) at ceiling level projecting to 100" size on a drop-down screen, with a 40"/42" LCD TV (considering Sony KLV-V40A10, 1366x768 resolution) on the wall nearby. These two will be my video output devices. My sound output (for anything viewed through projector) will be through the receiver (considering Sony STR-DB798/S) and Bose Acoustimass speakers (7 mounted at ceiling, sub-woofer on the ground).

For viewing DVDs, I plan on viewing via a Sony RDR-HX910 PVR w/ DVD burner. I intend to use the HTPC for these main functions:

1. Streaming video from my server (MPEGs, mostly ripped from my DVD collection) to LCD TV & Projector
2. Streaming audio from my server (MP3s, ripped from my CD collection)
3. Gaming on the BIG screen with 7.1ch surround sound  drool.gif
4. Occassional internet surfing
5. Occassional ripping or burning custom CDs (especially at initial setup, to speed up ripping my CDs to the server).
6. Occassional ripping of DVDs (especially at initial setup, as I put a big chunk of my DVD collection on the server).

Wireless connection to server via 802.11g; am thinking of using Linksys for its SRX capabilities, to maximise speed for the streaming video.

What do you guys think of this setup? I will be discussing this with my interior designer and the AV specialist tomorrow morning.  biggrin.gif
ya... u can actually find some reviews on those DCDi and those upscalers found in high end dvd players and/or projectors compared against a HTPC. its not as good as those DCDi but about 80-90% there

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:59 PM