Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V4, Welcome to 2013!!Now with Android 4.2.1

benny888
post Dec 15 2012, 07:26 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Dec 15 2012, 07:14 PM)
Ya loh... i am such a nub sauce.... I look at the flash. and it flash faster then those old bios flashing. Thats when I start to panic...
Now I am back to stock JB. Rooted. but it will be a while before I try custom ROMs.

I did unzip the downloaded pack. Got one boot.img file... so I just use that.... sigh.

Any hand holding guide for flashing custom rom for newbies?
That is boot image only
Just boot to recovery mode n select install the rom zip file. Before that select wipe cache n dalvik cache. Wiping data/factory reset is optional but recommended if you are flashing between different developers
You must have recovery installed first - install this from toolkit. You have 2 choices Cwm or twrp. Both are equally good. I chose twrp as it can backup rom to external usb devices n backup/restore rom is faster than Cwm

Added on December 15, 2012, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(oldskool AE @ Dec 15 2012, 06:13 PM)
Try restart but fail, think need to use toolkit but the file is big and with my slow internet I think i'll skip and just bring it to the shop, since I just bought it this morning. Already call them they said can do it for me.

Anyway thanks uncle for the reply, next time will download the toolkit and stock image if happens again.

My unit also have screen lift issue on the left side. Can I change it one to one since I just bought it today. It's a local set by asus. Anyone try it before.
Stock image only 200mb max
Good you download n keep copy in pc
You never know when you will need it

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 15 2012, 07:30 PM
benny888
post Dec 15 2012, 11:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(gigantor @ Dec 15 2012, 11:17 PM)
hi just got this N7 3g and i got a problem with u mobile. setup apn with the customer service but can't get data. can anyone guide me with the apn setting? thanks
APN is simply my3g
http://www.u.com.my/how/phone-settings
benny888
post Dec 16 2012, 12:05 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jonjon87 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:04 AM)
Anybody using google currents? After updated to the latest version, it crashes to the homescreen occasionally, anyone experience this?
No such problems at all. I am on jb 4.21.1
benny888
post Dec 16 2012, 11:30 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Dec 16 2012, 11:26 AM)
how many minutes do I have to wait after flashing a new rom, then rebooted to enter the os? I am at the booting screen with the google X logo pulsing pink,green,yellow and blue.

Mine seems to be pulsing for more then 5minutes and still pulsing.
Usually less than 5 minutes. If exceed 10 mins just boot back to fastboot mode select recovery n wipe cache n data n try reboot
benny888
post Dec 16 2012, 12:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Dec 16 2012, 12:03 PM)
The fact I cannot accept is the memory slot, if the tablet which do not have expendable memory.
No choice but have to choose Nexus 7C if my 7.7 down since the price was quite reasonable.  wub.gif
Lacking external sd is not big issue
Use USB otg cable n can connect to USB thumb drives n external sdcard ( up to 64gb) n USB hard drives ( up to 1 tb)
benny888
post Dec 16 2012, 12:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Dec 16 2012, 12:29 PM)
redoing my gapps.

Downloaded "gapps-jb-20121130-signed" via my pc. where do i put on the "internal storage" and how do I bring up the "app installer" to install it?

pardon for all nubs question. totally nude.
All these packages are in zip files. Are they always "installed" or "flashed"
eg. I have no idea to flash or unzip or install this

"N7-720p_camera_mod-tl-aosp"
Just copy it to root of internal storage
Use recovery mode to flash it only. Boot to recovery n just select install zip
You must have recovery installed first . Do it using nexus7 toolkit

Added on December 16, 2012, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(angah_as @ Dec 16 2012, 12:36 PM)
What app u guys used to view USB thumb drive folder? Btw my N7 is rooted.
Any file explorer app will do fine

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 16 2012, 12:45 PM
benny888
post Dec 16 2012, 09:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Share apps among different users on Ver 4.2

http://www.xda-developers.com/android/shar...on-the-nexus-7/
benny888
post Dec 16 2012, 10:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(allycat @ Dec 16 2012, 10:44 PM)
Why are there so limited ebooks in Google Play Store?

Can i purchase ebooks from other websites and read in my Nexus?
If yes, appreciate some recommended websites.

Tks

Added on December 16, 2012, 10:45 pm

Yeah I just found out that the seller sold me wi-fi only casing which covers up the mic of my 3g version.
You can only access the us playstore to download ebooks. Use a vpn server to do it to view the large variety available
But you cannot buy unless you have a us credit card
You can buy ebooks from kobo n these books you purchased can be read even in your pc n iphone/ipad
I have bought many ebooks from kobo

Added on December 16, 2012, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(zdentws @ Dec 16 2012, 10:39 PM)
hi all sifus,

can N7 make GSM phone call/sms ? yawn.gif
NO

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 16 2012, 10:52 PM
benny888
post Dec 17 2012, 07:57 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Getting a nexus n not even rooting it is analogous buying a bus n transport few persons only everytime
Or buying a sports car n driving at 100kph consistently
Rooting is easy n will not harm tablet
benny888
post Dec 17 2012, 09:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Kinoseng @ Dec 16 2012, 11:32 PM)
Anyone know Nexus 7 Wifi version still can sell for how much? Bought when around 20 October.
About rm600 since is about 2 months old
benny888
post Dec 17 2012, 10:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Dec 17 2012, 09:21 AM)
bro, i wanna sell my nexus7 16gig, bought from senheng so got 2 years waranty...i'm from seremban, interested?
Any reasons - care to share why are you selling it off
benny888
post Dec 17 2012, 10:39 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Dec 17 2012, 10:27 AM)
i wanna upgrade to 7c  biggrin.gif
Good reason.
Thought you are not happy with it. Best alternative to it is tab 7.7 or even ipad mini
benny888
post Dec 17 2012, 10:54 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Dec 17 2012, 10:46 AM)
hi benny, what is your opinion between the 2 screen? 7c and ipad mini? and also portability  biggrin.gif
Mini is lighter n slimmer definitely more portable
Mini display outshine n7 but text look better on N7
I still maintain my opinion N7 has the worst display in all the androids I have used
I dump my mini solely because of its weaker wifi n poorer thether with my Note2 making a poorer n less enjoyable experience on internet stuffs
benny888
post Dec 18 2012, 07:20 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Dec 18 2012, 07:14 PM)
Finally got my 7c!
Decided on 7c over iPad mini cos I feel reading is better on the nexus though color a bit off

Nillkin leather case sold by tskhor any good?
Is definitely better on text with n7 vs I pad mini
benny888
post Dec 18 2012, 11:11 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have tested several roms ( all 4.2 and above ) and these are my opinion:

Mix AOSP/CM
paranoidandroid 2.99 b8 : BEST
Sparsko Linaro

AOSP
TeamEOS 4 : Highly recommended
SlimBean Alpha 1 : Poor
Smoothrom 4.2 : Worst
Modaco JR12 : Best
cleanrom 3 : Recommended
Xenon HD RC3 : Highly recommended

AOKP
Official AOKP dec14 : MY FAVORITE

CM 10
Official CM 10.1 : Recommended
Euroskank 10.1 : best
Unofficial CM10 nightlies

These roms performance wise I dont see any major significant difference. Its difference is in the features and is up to you to judge whether you need those features. Battery wise also I do not find any significant differences
All are on its original kernels

benny888
post Dec 19 2012, 11:05 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Dec 19 2012, 10:19 AM)
this is not for 7c right? i read something about if we wanna use grouper rom, we have to change some code line
how do i get to tegrazone?  doh.gif  sweat.gif
Nexus 7c has its own set of custom roms. Check specs of rom before install to avoid hard bricking
Some of available roms : modaco jr4, paranoidandroid 2.99, cm 10.1 nightlies

benny888
post Dec 19 2012, 12:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Dec 19 2012, 12:50 PM)
Im planning to get Nexus 7 3G soon, but does google still give USD25 Playstore voucher  ? isit applicable in Malaysia ?
No more
benny888
post Dec 19 2012, 07:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vantoria @ Dec 19 2012, 05:08 PM)
This OTG cable is getting annoying I bought two and both are not working. I wonder what's the problem plugin mouse also no detect. Restarted the tablet while the cable still there also didn't work. Anyone have any solution? I would prefer not to root it.
If not root you need install nexus media importer from Playstore. Limited functions in fact I would say is poor
Root it n install stick mount n you can use any file explorer app to access files on external usb devices
If cannot even detect mouse means your cable is defective

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 19 2012, 07:11 PM
benny888
post Dec 19 2012, 10:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Dec 19 2012, 09:48 PM)
Strange
I can't see cwm file in my root explorer, buy when navigating in cwm, it can detect where the back up files is
Is it normal on n7?
It is hidden file . use root explorer and locate it in /data/media/0/

QUOTE : With Android 4.2, Google introduced multiple users as a new feature. In order to accommodate multiple users, Google is now giving each user a their own folder for storage. If you upgraded to 4.2 from 4.1, then the 4.2 ROM will look for a certain file in /data to determine whether it needs to migrate all of your files to the new multi-user data structure. By default, 4.2 migrates all of /data/media to /data/media/0.

A problem arose though with custom recoveries. A custom recovery retains the /data/media folder during a factory reset. When you factory reset and then boot a 4.2 ROM again, the 4.2 ROM will migrate everything in /data/media again. It will migrate your files every time you factory reset. This multiple migration is what resulted in some people having their files moved to /sdcard/0 or even /sdcard/0/0 etc.

As a special note, if you restore a backup to a prior version of Android, you may have to move your files out of /data/media/0 and into /data/media to be able to see them again.

That is why I highly recommend to use TWRP recovery as it can allow you to backup to external USB drives ( thumb drives, ext sdcard, etc) and you save at least 2 gb precious space from your intermnal memory. Backup is just a single folder file unlike CWNM where is broken down to 2 - one backup + OBB folder. You cannot just simply delete any CWM backup as you cannot identify manually the exact details in the OBB folder
Backup and restore using TWRP is about 30% faster than CWM

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 19 2012, 10:28 PM
benny888
post Dec 20 2012, 10:50 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yenama @ Dec 20 2012, 12:39 AM)
oh i see...i will give a try.thank you
The version in the Nexus toolkit could be older than present
After you have flash it, use GooManager ( free app download from playstore) : menu/settings/install openrecoveryscript and update to latest TWRP version

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:56 AM