Post workout food before sleep

TSpakdamek
post Dec 6 2012, 12:24 PM, updated 14y ago

646 posts

Hi...
I'm a bit confused here. Please help me.

I usually go to gym after work around 7 PM. Finished training around 9.00 PM. Took protein shake then drive back home. So at home, I cook 1 side of chicken breast with some vegetables for dinner. It's almost 11 and ready to sleep.

My question is, is it OK to have dinner before sleep? will it affect my target to lose weight??

Thanks in advance. smile.gif
tunertoobe
post Dec 6 2012, 01:48 PM

9,309 posts

What matters most if you want to lose weight is the slight caloric deficit, not what time you eat. So if you don't go over your target daily calorie intake, you will still lose weight.
darklight79
post Dec 6 2012, 01:51 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(pakdamek @ Dec 6 2012, 12:24 PM)
Hi...
I'm a bit confused here. Please help me.

I usually go to gym after work around 7 PM. Finished training around 9.00 PM. Took protein shake then drive back home. So at home, I cook 1 side of chicken breast with some vegetables for dinner. It's almost 11 and ready to sleep.

My question is, is it OK to have dinner before sleep? will it affect my target to lose weight??

Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
adoi. just eat chicken breast and white rice. don't overanalyze.
shadowz
post Dec 6 2012, 01:59 PM

510 posts

Your body will be fine if you want to eat something lah. Just make sure your intake of calories is less than what you burn.

Meal timing has been proven to be irrelevant. Not eating before you sleep to lose weight is a myth - your digestive system does not stop working just because your are sleeping.
TSpakdamek
post Dec 6 2012, 02:52 PM

646 posts

thanks guys....now I don't feel guilty anymore :-) :-)
eric84cool
post Dec 6 2012, 04:02 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

Hi, borrow your thread to ask question on PRO. My case is ectomorph type body, 60.5kg / 169cm.

On non-training day, I eat as usual and consume mass gainer in between meal...what do I need to eat/drink after dinner before bedtime?

On training day, I also eat as usual and consume creatine+protein after workout around 7pm and continue for dinner. Do I need to eat/drink something before bedtime as well?

Thx for your patient advice.
alien9
post Dec 6 2012, 04:24 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 6 2012, 04:02 PM)
Hi, borrow your thread to ask question on PRO. My case is ectomorph type body, 60.5kg / 169cm.

On non-training day, I eat as usual and consume mass gainer in between meal...what do I need to eat/drink after dinner before bedtime?

On training day, I also eat as usual and consume creatine+protein after workout around 7pm and continue for dinner. Do I need to eat/drink something before bedtime as well?

Thx for your patient advice.
Mass Gainers on non-training day and creatine+protein on workout day? Where do you learn that kind of nutrition timing? And do you know why people consume something before bedtime?
eric84cool
post Dec 6 2012, 04:41 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Dec 6 2012, 04:24 PM)
Mass Gainers on non-training day and creatine+protein on workout day? Where do you learn that kind of nutrition timing? And do you know why people consume something before bedtime?
sorry la boss, I just started and have little knowledge about it. But I read there is a need to eat before sleep to prevent muscle catabolism which I'm not familiar about it...
alien9
post Dec 6 2012, 04:45 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 6 2012, 04:41 PM)
sorry la boss, I just started and have little knowledge about it. But I read there is a need to eat before sleep to prevent muscle catabolism which I'm not familiar about it...
Meal timing is not as important compared to the nutrition. You can bother about what you need to consume pre workout, what NO should you take pre, intraworkout supps, cassein for pre-bed etc but do you actually know how much protein you need to consume a day? How much calorie you consume everyday?
mollymurder
post Dec 6 2012, 05:41 PM

45 posts

shadowz
post Dec 6 2012, 05:55 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Dec 6 2012, 04:41 PM)
shocking.gif doh.gif You have gone waaaaaaaay ahead of yourself lah.

You are a beginner and there are only a few things you need to concentrate on for several MONTHS (the very determined and disciplined might be able to get their sh*t together in a few weeks but most of us need time to implement and adjust):
1) EAT - You HAVE TO KNOW you TDEE so you can create a surplus/deficit according to your goals. No use taking mass gainer this, supplement that, but at the of the day your still not eating enough! Some guys only need 2500 calories to gain muscle mass, others need as much as 3500-4000 calories.
2) TRAIN - Don't go to the gym and ***** foot with light dumb bells and do isolation exercises. DO Squats, deadlifts, bench presses, etc. As a beginner the big ass compound exercises will benefit you most and you will use these throughout your lifting liftime (which should be your whole lifetime). My suggestion (as always): Find a program (READ THE DAMN STICKIES) and stick to it. Train 3 times a week (2 if you really don't have time) and train HARD!
3) REST - sleep good, sleep long. Aim for a MINIMUM of 8 hours a day. Try not to sleep less than that unless you really need to. As we tear our muscles, they need time to heal so this is ESSENTIAL.

Stick to this and the size will come. Dont just do one. Dont just do two. Do ALL three.

Honestly, your lack of knowledge is what is screwing you up. Read read read, research research research, figure out what works for YOU<----this is important because NO ONE ELSE has your metabolism, build, training routine, eating schedule, social life, economic status (this matters alot if you want to invest in supplements) and most importantly, goals.

This post has been edited by shadowz: Dec 6 2012, 05:57 PM
eric84cool
post Dec 11 2012, 10:57 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Dec 6 2012, 04:45 PM)
Meal timing is not as important compared to the nutrition. You can bother about what you need to consume pre workout, what NO should you take pre, intraworkout supps, cassein for pre-bed etc but do you actually know how much protein you need to consume a day? How much calorie you consume everyday?
Well, I used to eat outside food as I'm working at outstation..not really sure how to count the calorie.

QUOTE(shadowz @ Dec 6 2012, 05:55 PM)
shocking.gif  doh.gif You have gone waaaaaaaay ahead of yourself lah.

You are a beginner and there are only a few things you need to concentrate on for several MONTHS (the very determined and disciplined might be able to get their sh*t together in a few weeks but most of us need time to implement and adjust):
1) EAT - You HAVE TO KNOW you TDEE so you can create a surplus/deficit according to your goals. No use taking mass gainer this, supplement that, but at the of the day your still not eating enough! Some guys only need 2500 calories to gain muscle mass, others need as much as 3500-4000 calories.
2) TRAIN - Don't go to the gym and ***** foot with light dumb bells and do isolation exercises. DO Squats, deadlifts, bench presses, etc. As a beginner the big ass compound exercises will benefit you most and you will use these throughout your lifting liftime (which should be your whole lifetime). My suggestion (as always): Find a program (READ THE DAMN STICKIES) and stick to it. Train 3 times a week (2 if you really don't have time) and train HARD!
3) REST - sleep good, sleep long. Aim for a MINIMUM of 8 hours a day. Try not to sleep less than that unless you really need to. As we tear our muscles, they need time to heal so this is ESSENTIAL.

Stick to this and the size will come. Dont just do one. Dont just do two. Do ALL three.

Honestly, your lack of knowledge is what is screwing you up. Read read read, research research research, figure out what works for YOU<----this is important because NO ONE ELSE has your metabolism, build, training routine, eating schedule, social life, economic status (this matters alot if you want to invest in supplements) and most importantly, goals.
Good info. Thx! happy birthday to you... thumbup.gif
IjatKuchai
post Dec 28 2012, 04:46 PM

257 posts

A glass of warm milk is the best for me

0.0194sec    1.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:13 AM