Nokia Lumia 620, low entry windows phone 8
Ah hao
Mar 12 2013, 01:30 AM
I feel the autofocus is quite slow if compare with other phone. Many scenarios when me n other friends take out phone to take pic and im always the last one to finish taking pic...
And anyone encounter lock/onoff button not responsive ? I face it many times already, after 1 press my screen didnt wake up, hv to wait few sec or press 2-4 times the screen jus awake...
more2teayap
Mar 12 2013, 04:37 AM
QUOTE(Ah hao @ Mar 12 2013, 01:30 AM) I feel the autofocus is quite slow if compare with other phone. Many scenarios when me n other friends take out phone to take pic and im always the last one to finish taking pic... And anyone encounter lock/onoff button not responsive ? I face it many times already, after 1 press my screen didnt wake up, hv to wait few sec or press 2-4 times the screen jus awake... Yup, I got that problem as well, I guess WP8 is still not mature yet, there are alot of bugs needed to be fixed.
happy_berry
Mar 12 2013, 05:09 AM
QUOTE(billygoh @ Mar 11 2013, 02:14 PM) Shit, my white cover slowly turning to yellow alrd..  is there any way to clean it? and is the black cover available for sell in Nokia shop alrd? Actually, the good thing about white covers is that it doesn't heat up as fast as the black ones... You know how this phone gets really hot sometimes
kona|kona
Mar 12 2013, 07:23 AM
QUOTE(happy_berry @ Mar 12 2013, 05:09 AM) Actually, the good thing about white covers is that it doesn't heat up as fast as the black ones... You know how this phone gets really hot sometimes
dlct87
Mar 12 2013, 08:48 AM
hmm you guys using any extra portable power source (i.e powerbank) for this phone? the battery consumption is quite fast if i online for quite a bit
askakiat
Mar 12 2013, 10:12 AM

yeah i'm using power bank...better to get one...then u dont have to worry about saving power incase of emergency use... =D
kona|kona
Mar 12 2013, 01:24 PM
can we change the message tone ? bored using stock 1
Melodi3s
Mar 12 2013, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(askakiat @ Mar 11 2013, 03:49 PM) my white cover been turning yellowish as well = =...i ordered a yellow cover from china website...the seller claims that its a ori one...wait till it arrive then i'll know the quality...haha..KL i'm nt sure because i live in Kuching, Sarawak....here is almost impossible to find the cover...thats why i ordered online Wow ~ hope it is ori  I'm finding yellow casing also
fwhoam
Mar 12 2013, 02:12 PM
What is the must have apps? Still learning wp8.
jackal_x2005
Mar 12 2013, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Mar 12 2013, 02:12 PM) What is the must have apps? Still learning wp8.  refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2724001
happy_berry
Mar 12 2013, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(kona|kona @ Mar 12 2013, 07:23 AM) dis is science liao... dull black is a bad reflector of light, deswai it absorbs and retains heat better.
weim76
Mar 12 2013, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Mar 12 2013, 04:46 PM) dis is science liao... dull black is a bad reflector of light, deswai it absorbs and retains heat better. How often do you expose your hp to sunlight? If not often, colours do not matter in this case. Heat moves from one place to another in 3 ways: conduction, convection, radiation. The heat issue that affect our Lumias are generated from the motherboard and reach the casing/cover through mostly conduction. Colour has no effect on conduction or convection. They only affect heat transfer through radiation (eg, sunlight). Among all colours, black retains most heat from sunlight while white reflects most heat from sunlight. So unless you use your phone mostly in the sun, your point is not valid. Time to dig up the Physics book...
happy_berry
Mar 12 2013, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(weim76 @ Mar 12 2013, 05:16 PM) How often do you expose your hp to sunlight? If not often, colours do not matter in this case. Heat moves from one place to another in 3 ways: conduction, convection, radiation. The heat issue that affect our Lumias are generated from the motherboard and reach the casing/cover through mostly conduction. Colour has no effect on conduction or convection. They only affect heat transfer through radiation (eg, sunlight). Among all colours, black retains most heat from sunlight while white reflects most heat from sunlight. So unless you use your phone mostly in the sun, your point is not valid. Time to dig up the Physics book...  Dull black is a bad reflector of light. wat tahi not valid? That is why it absorbs and as opposed to reflecting it like what white would do. The fact that I included light was to make him understand why black works that way. Oh geez, stop nitpicking to increase your e-penor la.
weim76
Mar 12 2013, 05:36 PM

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Mar 12 2013, 05:26 PM) Dull black is a bad reflector of light. wat tahi not valid? That is why it absorbs and as opposed to reflecting it like what white would do. The fact that I included light was to make him understand why black works that way. Oh geez, stop nitpicking to increase your e-penor la. Ok, ok, your statement is actually valid in itself. But, in the context of heat retention when using the Lumia, it makes no difference whether you use black or white colours.
ktek
Mar 12 2013, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(happy_berry @ Mar 12 2013, 05:26 PM) Dull black is a bad reflector of light. wat tahi not valid? That is why it absorbs and as opposed to reflecting it like what white would do. The fact that I included light was to make him understand why black works that way. Oh geez, stop nitpicking to increase your e-penor la. u need to determine clearly. the heat source is not by photo energy, but conduction by heat inside of phone. so it make no sense that black reflect light or not becos no light is involved here
jie88
Mar 12 2013, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 12 2013, 05:38 PM) u need to determine clearly. the heat source is not by photo energy, but conduction by heat inside of phone. so it make no sense that black reflect light or not becos no light is involved here but how about the heat dissipation ? i think it works the same right , brighter colour material dissipate heat faster than black i think .
happy_berry
Mar 12 2013, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(weim76 @ Mar 12 2013, 05:36 PM) Ok, ok, your statement is actually valid in itself. But, in the context of heat retention when using the Lumia, it makes no difference whether you use black or white colours. QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 12 2013, 05:38 PM) u need to determine clearly. the heat source is not by photo energy, but conduction by heat inside of phone. so it make no sense that black reflect light or not becos no light is involved here oh, solar heat.... riiight. ok, I stand corrected.
weim76
Mar 12 2013, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(jie88 @ Mar 12 2013, 05:40 PM) but how about the heat dissipation ? i think it works the same right , brighter colour material dissipate heat faster than black i think . Heat dissipation through the air or liquid is convection. Colours don't affect convection.
jie88
Mar 12 2013, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(weim76 @ Mar 12 2013, 05:47 PM) Heat dissipation through the air or liquid is convection. Colours don't affect convection. But the characteristics or probably the colour of the material do right ? well i`m no mechanical major.. lolz
weim76
Mar 12 2013, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(jie88 @ Mar 12 2013, 05:49 PM) But the characteristics or probably the colour of the material do right ? well i`m no mechanical major.. lolz Different colours exist because they absorb and reflect light in different ways. Red appears red because it absorbs all visible colours but only reflect red. So without light, colours have no meaning. For the same reason, colours only affect heat transfer when the heat source is visible light, in other words, radiation. Conduction and convection will not be affected by colours. Ok, it's becoming out-of-topic. Let's move on and continue with 620 talk...