SPM 2013 Thread

TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:32 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

No worries . There's always this thread to discuss about stuff . biggrin.gif

The form four textbook author came up with the new way of answering , and it caught on . However , it requires definisi --- not kata kunci . I prefer the old way of answering as it gives me some space to 'forget' parts of the definisi . However , in 2012 , no question about 'terangkan' or 'huraikan' nilai came out .

I have a friend --- not a close one though , but her siblings got A+ for L.I.E . She was quite confident , she's a voracious reader , a debater , very articulate ( her brother is at Oxford ) , but only managed an A- . She was quite disappointed , she didn't know what went wrong . I think L.I.E is a special subject , one of the very few subjects in SPM that really tests a candidate's capability , but alas , the curve for L.I.E isn't so forgiving .

Papers for L.I.E are pretty scarce ; a teacher who tutored the girl I mentioned provided her with all those papers . Plus very few students take it , so publishers will end up in a huge loss if they decide to print L.I.E books .

Hmmm , interesting . I'm trying to switch to stories as I can quickly end one if I run out of time . I can't do that with factual essays . Do you come up with the plot on the spot ? How long would your essay be ?

As for my study schedule , I'm still taking a break from the trials . Getting results was taxing , I'm glad I'm done with them now . I'm not doing much reading , trial papers/past years all the way , except for Biology and Sejarah . Both require reading , at least for me .

What about you , and what's your aim for SPM ?

This post has been edited by maximR: Sep 20 2013, 09:32 PM
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:35 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(laptopgirl @ Sep 20 2013, 09:17 PM)
Well, I mostly need formulas... And basic explanations, sort of like a quick run through?

By the way, thanks for adding me to the list.
It's best to look online . I'm not that good in explaining Maths concepts using words . I normally use stuff like WeChat with my classmates for Maths discussions .

TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:41 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Sep 20 2013, 09:38 PM)
u spelled my name wrong sweat.gif but nvm
i can join the fb group, but i must tell u, i seldom on fb
so wat is the group's name?
Fixed . I actually giggled a bit there . tongue.gif

PM me your name and I'll add you in . It's a closed group so you can't search for it .
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:42 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Sep 20 2013, 09:38 PM)
u spelled my name wrong sweat.gif but nvm
i can join the fb group, but i must tell u, i seldom on fb
so wat is the group's name?
and well, dont really understand your last question...do u mean that what are the questions i concentrate on chinese literature? if it is then i must tell u, they dont ask questions on chinese literature in that way
Sorry , I directed my question to laptopgirl .

Anyway do you have a set of texts to read for Chinese Literature ? Do you read works by Confucius , Lao Tze ?
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:45 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(stpxdf88l @ Sep 20 2013, 09:43 PM)
In my school, we use : 1) Nilai + watak. (1 mark) 2) Nilai + Definisi + Situasi (2 marks) 3) Huraian (1 mark) 4) Huraian (1 mark)

Teachers in my school won't accept kata kunci. sad.gif
So you use the 4-ayat way .
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:47 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(stpxdf88l @ Sep 20 2013, 09:46 PM)
Yeap! Haha, and for trials i basically only had 4 nilais with me. Kepercayaan kepada Tuhan, Toleransi, Bertanggungjawab & Amanah.
What did you get for Moral ? I think you need Rasional as well , the most important nilai . laugh.gif
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:53 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(laptopgirl @ Sep 20 2013, 09:48 PM)
Well, I usually go straight to Section B to look over the questions and decide on which one I want to write about. Then I go back to section A to answer the directed writing and sort of think my plot over. Since pretty much every isi is given for section A, I can write it quickly and have more than one hour for my story. I think I wrote about 600+ words for my final exam last year. (It was for the word "Shopping") There was once I wrote Section A halfway,went to Section B and then spent the last 15 minutes on the rest of Section A. I'm quite all over the place, sorry.

I don't have a study schedule but I do go for tuition. I spend most of my time reading mangas and sleeping. tongue.gif But after looking at scholarships and stumbling upon this forum, I got semangat to study again. tongue.gif I'll probably spend like an hour or two every day doing independent revision and do objective questions in the car/bus.

For Moral, my teacher is quite lenient. Even for structure questions, if you don't know the definisi, you can just straught away give Kata Kunci.

EG: Nilai Rasional. Boleh berfikir dan bertindak wajar. Three marks earned.
I see . You must really have a lot of interesting experiences while shopping in order to be able to come up with a 600+ words essay . tongue.gif

I like to sleep too ! But during exams I don't get much , not because I burn the midnight oil , but because my brain doesn't want to calm down . Sejarah and Biology facts keep popping up . laugh.gif

I need my afternoon siesta , so tuition classes are a no-no for me .

Yes , you can gain full marks with all the KK's in , in SPM . But my teacher requires the full definisi , so we have no choice but to memorise .
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 09:55 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(laptopgirl @ Sep 20 2013, 09:54 PM)
Oh, that sounds horrible.

I once lost 16 marks because I didn't write the word "Nilai" in front of the nilai. I learned my lesson already.
Wait , what ? shakehead.gif

The word 'nilai' is unnecessary .
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:00 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(laptopgirl @ Sep 20 2013, 09:58 PM)
Really? I did that for my structure questions and got zero for them just because I didn't use the word "Nilai".

stpxdf88l: That's just sad. I sympathise with you
Since you're new , here's a tip :

You can reply directly to any user by clicking the blue tab with 'REPLY' on it .
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:01 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Sep 20 2013, 10:00 PM)
3 books total, 1 drama, 1 short stories, and 1 history-related stories
there are 18 questions total, 10 from history-related stories, 4 from drama and 4 from short stories. i have to choose 6 from history-related stories, 2 from drama and 2 from short stories. the total mark is 100
Are you interested in Chinese literary works ?
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:04 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Sep 20 2013, 10:02 PM)
my moral teacher said that we must write the word 'nilai' before the moral value wor....
If they ask for 'terangkan' , 'jelaskan' nilai , then yes , it's required .
If they say ' berikan nilai ' , then no . At least that was what the examiner told me .
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:05 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(cuzuamazing @ Sep 20 2013, 10:04 PM)
not that interested actually sweat.gif i only took it because my friend ask me to take it, plus i am not bad at chinese. so, i took the subject. luckily i managed to get good result
It's almost paradoxical that Chinese Literature is easier than Chinese !
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:19 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(laptopgirl @ Sep 20 2013, 10:07 PM)
Oh, thanks.

Anyway, the Shopping story wan't about my experiences. I just chronicled the life of someone I made up through her shopping experiences. Started out with her first time grocery shopping with her mother and ended with her grandkids buying flowers for her funeral.

I have a question about the one word question for English Paper 1. My Form 4 teacher said must be very relevant to the word IE no naming your pet Exercise and then writing about your pet. But my Form 5 teacher says that we're allowed to do so. I mean name your pet the one word question (in this case, Exercise) and writing about it. So is it actually ok or not?
Well , an English examiner addressed this a while ago . The whole naming-your-pet-with-one-word thing came about when a candidate , in the year 1997 , wrote about 'Water' . She wrote that she was named 'Water' when her parents dreamt of Varuna , the 'water god' in Hinduism . Lembaga Peperiksaan Malaysia [ English ] were so impressed with her work that the essay was shared with all English teachers in Malaysia .

Soon , people started abusing it .

He said you can do so , but be a little bit clever . 'Vacation' is not suitable to be a lover's name , so avoid it . I normally try to relate the word with the theme of the essay . For the Trials , I wrote about 'SILENCE' ( a metaphysical attempt to pour in my emotions into an essay using a fictional character ) . I'll try to scan it and share it here if I can , but with people of your calibre , I might think twice . It's a short piece which garnered full marks , but not sure if it deserves the marks awarded by my teacher .
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:33 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(laptopgirl @ Sep 20 2013, 10:25 PM)
Wow, you really know a lot about this. Do you know where I can find that essay? And if possible, I would like to read your essay. I'm sure it's good. I mean, even in your normal forum posts, you use bombastic words like voracious and calibre so I think your essay should be good. Am I making sense? I'll try to find my shopping essay and take a pic of it if you want, since I don't have a scanner.
I tend to dig up and ask a lot of questions . In form four I added quite a few seniors with straight A+s , and showered them with questions about how they studied , how many hours did they put in , etc . Let's just say it didn't go quite well . But there was one guy who was very patient ; incredibly helpful . He even wrote an entire essay on how he prepared for SPM ! I think if I succeed , I'll owe a lot to strangers online .

Ahh , I kind of regret not asking the examiner for the essay . Maybe I'll try asking my teacher for his contact number , and try to contact him for that essay . It was quite short , but concise . Let's just see .

Sure thing . I'll get it back on Monday --- it's with one of my classmates . I'd love to read your Shopping essay !
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:37 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(kangaroo96 @ Sep 20 2013, 10:28 PM)
Coincidentally, "silence" came out as the one-word essay in my trials.
What were the other prompts ?
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 10:58 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

Mine .

1 . A mother's sacrifice .
2 . If I were a superhero .
3 . Education . With or without examination ? Discuss .
4 . Write a story ending with " ... after all the help and love he provided , she decided to leave him . "
5 . Silence
TSmaximR
post Sep 20 2013, 11:05 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(stpxdf88l @ Sep 20 2013, 11:03 PM)
Btw, can you add me in the group on facebook? I'll pm your my fb link
Sure .
TSmaximR
post Sep 21 2013, 01:57 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Heartnsoul @ Sep 21 2013, 01:46 PM)
My teacher printed a list of Peribahasa from F4 and F5 and told us to read it blink.gif
Screen , I'm not sure where you got that idea because the peribahasa component had only been added about 10 years ago .

Heartnsoul , yes , it's true . At least one will be from the form four and form five textbooks . Reading those will be your safest bet to land some marks in the section .
TSmaximR
post Sep 21 2013, 02:12 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(1insane @ Sep 21 2013, 02:03 PM)
So, now you all are doing trials or questions in revision books?
Trials would be a much wiser option .
TSmaximR
post Sep 21 2013, 02:16 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Heartnsoul @ Sep 21 2013, 02:15 PM)
Type peribahasa dari buku text form 4 dan 5 in google  tongue.gif
Oh ok, thanks, so only at least 1 will come out?
Trials and past years
At least one . Sometimes if you're lucky , 2 . But normally all the peribahasa asked are common ones .

24 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0529sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:43 PM