24 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

SPM 2013 Thread

TSmaximR
post Jul 27 2013, 12:40 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

Maaf! Anda tidak terpilih untuk menyertai PLKN Siri 11/2014. Terima kasih.

One thing cleared off my head . PHEW .
TSmaximR
post Jul 27 2013, 12:57 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Jul 27 2013, 12:47 PM)
Don't be too happy yet, it's only the 1st batch (heard from seniors). Checking via SMS after 1 Aug will be better.

And this happened on one of my friends.
1st time check - no kena
2nd time check - kena
3rd time check - no kena
4th time check - kena

And he triple checked his IC on every occasion
If first batch they'll say 1st batch . This is Siri 11/13 .

You friends were nervous , hence periodic results ? 'cause I did that and all returned similar results , including my friends' .

SMS = Internet . Only thing is , SMS will be opened for checking later . This has been going around for years already , about not confirm la , what la .
TSmaximR
post Jul 27 2013, 11:29 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(blueflame @ Jul 27 2013, 10:54 PM)
You don't apply for matric using your trial results.

You just buy the pin and apply online. They'll get your SPM results by themselves. It will be in their system I think.

How are things going? smile.gif
I see . All right .

Things aren't going that well . Stressful period . sad.gif
TSmaximR
post Jul 28 2013, 03:48 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

You have no idea how long it took me to actually get Earth as a Sphere . Three days straight , a lot of exercises , visualisation and drawings .

Phew .
TSmaximR
post Jul 28 2013, 03:56 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

As of now , I'm in a very difficult stage in my life . I'm worried for my trials , but I'm more concerned about my mum who had undergone some tests , and the fear of cancer relapse is haunting us once more .

I hope I'll pull through this . The reason I'm posting about what's currently happening to me is because when I pull through with good results , I want you to see that you can succeed no matter how tough the situation is .

Give me the strength to persevere . sad.gif
TSmaximR
post Jul 29 2013, 02:35 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Jul 29 2013, 07:54 AM)
that question has problem. from the diagram, two voltmeters are connected in series. every year spm paper has wrong questions. shame on the persons who set the questions.  doh.gif
Now that you've mentioned it , you're right . blink.gif
TSmaximR
post Jul 29 2013, 07:06 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jul 24 2013, 08:24 PM)
Thanks for keeping your promise! notworthy.gif

I'd probably choose FUNCTIONS for 3 reasons.

(1) I like to solve puzzles. icon_rolleyes.gif
(2) It's good to make a family history book. thumbup.gif
(3) I'm pretty good at Paper Engineering too, where I like to make musical origami cards in my leisure time and give my loved ones, friends and family a keepsake they will treasure for life. wub.gif

If you want to compare the answers for some of the mathematical problems, please let me know. icon_idea.gif
Such a shame . I prepared all the necessary information to do the Functions module , but my idea got turned down by my Add Maths teacher . Reason being , she'd decided that all of us must do the Statistics module as it's 'much easier' , and it'd be easier for her to mark .

To add to the craziness , she's provided us with the complete answer . Now all we have to do is to change the information and edit the intro , objectives , etc . Reason ? We'll have to hand in our work in 2 days time as Trials will be around the corner .

At this time all I can do is agree . I've no other options , I don't want to argue .
TSmaximR
post Jul 29 2013, 07:10 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(foxtrotalpha @ Jul 28 2013, 06:13 PM)
Nice , learned something. thumbup.gif . For the bold part, it has something to do with Newton's Law of attraction?
All of the SPM Physics questions can be solved by using simple physics concept that we've learned . But it's alway nice to see a more accurate or in-depth approach in deducing the right answer . I've never thought about hyperbolic-swing trajectories before , to come up with the correct answer .
TSmaximR
post Jul 30 2013, 03:32 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

Embarrassingly , this is actually part of SPM's Radioactivity . This question has been repeated in numerous reference books and workbooks / past year compilations under the Radioactivity chapter [ sub-unit : introduction to the structure of an atom ] . So I can understand manutd96's confusion . Again , MOE's fault .

Anyway , I find the visuals you attached incredibly interesting ! Thanks for sharing . notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by maximR: Jul 30 2013, 03:33 PM
TSmaximR
post Jul 31 2013, 08:10 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

Just to update : I was done with the Chemistry syllabus two days ago . Feel quite relieved . Now , heading on to Add Maths . Hopefully I'll finish it by this week so I can start focusing on the reading subjects , and languages .
TSmaximR
post Jul 31 2013, 08:19 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(mrsaimun @ Jul 31 2013, 08:18 PM)
Good strategy... and also go through more questions, so that you grasp how to write 'perfect answers' in chemistry.

Best of luck
Thank you .

By the way , is analysing state trial papers for Paper 3 Chemistry a good idea ? Rusting of iron experiment has been continuously spotted but has never come out .
TSmaximR
post Jul 31 2013, 09:22 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(chun96 @ Jul 31 2013, 08:57 PM)
By this time, most of the tuition teachers would have finished or will soon finish the syllabus. Do you go for tuition after they have finish the syllabus?

Probably, they will do revision and practice questions.
I don't . Sometimes it's difficult , but it's worth it .
TSmaximR
post Jul 31 2013, 09:24 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Krevaki @ Jul 31 2013, 09:13 PM)
No, not really, but that has not stopped people from doing it.
I've a question :

For ethene , how do we draw the structural formula in SPM ? Must the hydrogen be bonded to the carbon at specific angles ? My teacher told me to draw it straight , meaning the hydrogen must be bonded above and below carbon .
TSmaximR
post Jul 31 2013, 09:25 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(chun96 @ Jul 31 2013, 09:24 PM)
'I don't' means you don't go?
Yes , I don't . I find tuition classes exhausting .
TSmaximR
post Jul 31 2013, 09:43 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Krevaki @ Jul 31 2013, 09:32 PM)
Are angles considered at SPM level chemistry?
I'm not sure . An SPM marker said it would be more accurate to draw it at an angle , but my teacher says otherwise . Also , is it accurate to draw it straight , without an angle ?
TSmaximR
post Jul 31 2013, 09:43 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(chun96 @ Jul 31 2013, 09:27 PM)
Totally or sometimes?
Totally . So no tuition for me . biggrin.gif
TSmaximR
post Aug 1 2013, 02:42 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 1 2013, 02:02 PM)
Do you mean this? smile.gif

Yes , at first I didn't consider angles when drawing , as long as the elements have the correct number of bonds , it's fine . Then the examiner came and I started referring to some GCSE books , and they were drawn like the picture you attached . But in our SPM textbook , it's incorrectly .
TSmaximR
post Aug 1 2013, 08:38 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

Physics textbooks mention Boolean Algebra , but never teach us how to deal with it .

However , I've watched a complete list of tutorials on Boolean Algebra on youtube , and it's so cool to actually solve Logic Gate problems in SPM Physics using stuff like DeMorgan's Theorem !

Normally , we are taught to solve Logic Gate questions by writing the inputs , 0011 , 0101 and then work from one branch to the next branch .
TSmaximR
post Aug 1 2013, 08:41 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Aug 1 2013, 03:21 PM)
Is this the only difference (in Science) between SPM and HKCEE (Hong Kong) / GCSE 'O' Level (British) / Grade 11 (US)? icon_question.gif

Nevertheless, you will learn Chemical Bonding and Molecular Structure in Molecular Geometry. If you are interested in determining the bond angles, you can refer to the Valence Shell Electron Pair Repulsion (VSEPR) table.

No , there are more differences here and there . I've also stumbled upon factual errors in SPM Textbooks , but are taught to students year after year .

QUOTE(Krevaki @ Aug 1 2013, 07:17 PM)
Angles are not considered in SPM chemistry, so there is no need to crack your head over that. Besides, they occupy 3D space, so representation on paper, even if as you say "accurate", is still lacking.
I see . Thank you .

TSmaximR
post Aug 1 2013, 08:42 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(recordbreaking @ Aug 1 2013, 07:57 PM)
Question,is it possible to change subject after the registration closed ? Need Answers Please
You can , but be prepared to fork out some money . Ask your teacher for more details .

24 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:37 AM