22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Architect or Architecture Students?, designing the world...

owenwong84
post Mar 27 2006, 10:42 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

borrow thread boleh keh?
I want to ask is there any institute in malaysia provide Degree in architecture? Pure architech...not interior.
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2006, 11:52 AM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Mar 27 2006, 10:42 AM)
borrow thread boleh keh?
I want to ask is there any institute in malaysia provide Degree in architecture? Pure architech...not interior.
These are the school that have architecture...(as long as i remember)
UTM
UiTM
USM
UM
UIAM
UPM
UKM
the top 4 are the senior while the other 3 are junior

For private school, we have
Aliff Academy
Taylor College
Twintech
UCSI

and some of politeknik also has architecture course... biggrin.gif

azarimy
post Mar 27 2006, 09:06 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

IPTAs offering accredited architecture courses (up to PAM part2):

UTM, UiTM, USM, UM (with RIBA part 2)

other IPTAs (still working to get accreditation):

UIAM, UPM, UKM

other IPTSs (still working to get accreditation):

LUCT, taylor's, L&G twintech, UCSI, alif

other colleges offering architecture diploma/certificates:

all polytechnics, yayasan pelajaran johor, kolej komuniti kepala batas etc.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Mar 27 2006, 09:11 PM
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2006, 11:15 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 27 2006, 09:06 PM)
IPTAs offering accredited architecture courses (up to PAM part2):

UTM, UiTM, USM, UM (with RIBA part 2)

other IPTAs (still working to get accreditation):

UIAM, UPM, UKM

other IPTSs (still working to get accreditation):

LUCT, taylor's, L&G twintech, UCSI, alif

other colleges offering architecture diploma/certificates:

all polytechnics, yayasan pelajaran johor, kolej komuniti kepala batas etc.
hope that this coming may, our scholl will be accredited by LAM...the chance quite high because of the two batches that already graduated for part 2 and all of them are being hired.

i still remember when i was in 1st year, don't really know about this accreditation and just working fot it for granted...
azarimy
post Mar 28 2006, 02:12 AM

10,672 posts

well, i sure hope UIA gets accreditation.

however, number of graduates and high employment rates are not part of the evaluation, unfortunately. UTM's part time degree still have not been accredited despite having almost 7 batches of graduates, with every single one of them working in either government or private sectors. quite a number of them already acquired PAM part 2 qualification by individual assessment.

i was part of the committee preparing for the accreditation assessment. god, it was tedious!
TSalbirri
post Mar 29 2006, 01:18 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

thanx for that...really hope that we'll get that...last time, even two of our lecturer/practise architect in PAM board, we still didn't get it...

anyway, our senior who went to PAM and make the accredetation personally, most of them are success...
TSalbirri
post Apr 1 2006, 10:44 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

just finish my last paper last friday....1 sem ahead for completing my bsc...haha...will go to jogjakarta for 2 weeks for measured drawing for heritage study subject...last subject before graduate this july...
shiinkuro31
post Apr 2 2006, 01:39 PM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

wowowowo, albirri. open a thread without telling me huh?im used to be his batch, but im repeat 1year, oso from UIA.. the most lazy student in that batch is me, no hope, no ambition, just got talent in art.hahahaha... maybe times will change me huh? but im really interested in autoCAD...anybody else are experted in autoCAD? mind to share ur idea huh?

my grup are going to istana kuning in alor setar for my heritage study, despite albirri grup heading to indonesia.. i heard there is competition, sponsored by PAM i guess, any other school participate oso.. hidup kedah!!!!! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

TSalbirri
post Apr 2 2006, 07:04 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Apr 2 2006, 01:39 PM)
wowowowo, albirri. open a thread without telling me huh?im used to be his batch, but im repeat 1year, oso from UIA.. the most lazy student in that batch is me, no hope, no ambition, just got talent in art.hahahaha... maybe times will change me huh? but im really interested in autoCAD...anybody else are experted in autoCAD? mind to share ur idea huh?

my grup are going to istana kuning in alor setar for my heritage study, despite albirri grup heading to indonesia.. i heard there is competition, sponsored by PAM i guess, any other school participate oso.. hidup kedah!!!!! icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
haha...my fren's here...
gud luck for your heritage at istana kuning...and win the competition...
skyklg
post Apr 2 2006, 08:55 PM

108 posts

to be an architect muz have talent in art...???
interested in architectual.....
one more year for me to decide....
azarimy
post Apr 2 2006, 09:29 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(skyklg @ Apr 2 2006, 08:55 PM)
to be an architect muz have talent in art...???
interested in architectual.....
one more year for me to decide....
no.

architect's must be able to draw. but this skill will be taught in college/university. the syllabus is set for students who does not have any skills in art at all. those who already can draw or have artsy-fartsy talents will have easier life.

u can start polishing ur drawing skills. but remember, freehand drawings and draftmanship is very different. but that's quite school specific. schools like UTM will allow the students to choose what media u want to use: traditional/manual drawings or CAD/computer as a tool. so if u cant draw, the computer can draw it for u.

but if u cant think, rationalize or understand about what u're doing...
TSalbirri
post Apr 3 2006, 03:43 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

yeah...that's a good opinion...after all,
creativity comes first...for me architecture make us more crative in whatever we do...
shiinkuro31
post Apr 4 2006, 11:58 AM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

QUOTE(albirri @ Apr 3 2006, 03:43 PM)
yeah...that's a good opinion...after all,
creativity comes first...for me architecture make us more crative in whatever we do...
i can draw manually, i can use cad oso, which one make u easier with the work, u decide it... it doesnt matter if u cant draw, it can be learn n polish later.. mahdi, cr dvd murah kt indon, eddy ckp bapak murah, hahaha... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSalbirri
post Apr 4 2006, 12:29 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

yup...we learn both technique. if u're interested, everything can be done

haha...nanti aku angkut banyak2...

This post has been edited by albirri: Apr 4 2006, 12:30 PM
azarimy
post Apr 4 2006, 06:10 PM

10,672 posts

there's the third technique:

u can TALK instead of draw...
TSalbirri
post Apr 5 2006, 01:20 AM

shinobi
2,250 posts

yup...if we can't sell the idea with our talking skill...it means nothing...
we have to make client confident with us...not an easy task
TSalbirri
post Apr 6 2006, 04:00 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

i'm very busy right now, preapring for my last subject, heritage study...going to measure and produce measured drawing of kraton jogjakarta, java island. the building was built more that 100 years ago...

trip for study and enjoy before finishing my Bsc this july...
euronymous
post Apr 12 2006, 05:59 PM

238 posts

hi all...,

a friend of mine did architecture... her dip was in UITM and later her degree in the UK...

she said that doing architecture in local uni is way to easy compared to her degree time in the UK... over there u need to be more critical of your projects... in UiTM it was just a matter of what u submit...

i dun think it's the difference of doing a diploma or a degree thingy...

what say u all....???

p/s... just a friendly chatter here... no bad intentions.

TSalbirri
post Apr 20 2006, 11:10 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

my senior went to scotland for her part 2 architecture...in differ, he said that doing architecture there is easier than in our university...
azarimy
post Apr 21 2006, 08:43 AM

10,672 posts

having studied in malaysia for a full degree, and later spending a few years studying about UK's system, i'd say, malaysian architectural syllabus is dead more difficult than the UK's counterparts. one of the reason is that the system that we use is severely outdated, where mostly are governed by the practitioners on what they want and how they want it.

however, it is to my understanding that UiTM is using a slightly different system, which i'm not so sure about. UTM used elaboration from the bauhaus (german i think) and ecole de beaux art (french), which also used in the UK. USM expanded this into their own specialization. UIA follows UTM's template, but geared it towards islamic architecture. UM took UK's system directly, so if u wanna feel the british system, u dont have to look further than UM.

i have no idea about UPM or UKM, coz they're still new, and have not had any graduates yet. all private colleges offering architecture course used australian curriculum, which is an expansion of the british curriculum.

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:22 AM