Architect or Architecture Students?, designing the world...

euronymous
post Apr 12 2006, 05:59 PM

238 posts

hi all...,

a friend of mine did architecture... her dip was in UITM and later her degree in the UK...

she said that doing architecture in local uni is way to easy compared to her degree time in the UK... over there u need to be more critical of your projects... in UiTM it was just a matter of what u submit...

i dun think it's the difference of doing a diploma or a degree thingy...

what say u all....???

p/s... just a friendly chatter here... no bad intentions.

euronymous
post Apr 25 2006, 12:52 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(albirri @ Apr 20 2006, 11:10 PM)
my senior went to scotland for her part 2 architecture...in differ, he said that doing architecture there is easier than in our university...
QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 21 2006, 08:43 AM)
having studied in malaysia for a full degree, and later spending a few years studying about UK's system, i'd say, malaysian architectural syllabus is dead more difficult than the UK's counterparts. one of the reason is that the system that we use is severely outdated, where mostly are governed by the practitioners on what they want and how they want it.

however, it is to my understanding that UiTM is using a slightly different system, which i'm not so sure about. UTM used elaboration from the bauhaus (german i think) and ecole de beaux art (french), which also used in the UK. USM expanded this into their own specialization. UIA follows UTM's template, but geared it towards islamic architecture. UM took UK's system directly, so if u wanna feel the british system, u dont have to look further than UM.

i have no idea about UPM or UKM, coz they're still new, and have not had any graduates yet. all private colleges offering architecture course used australian curriculum, which is an expansion of the british curriculum.
interesting.... so our system is a little bit outdated... while hanging around with some architecture student (UiTM and UTM mostly) i found that some of them are mere zombies... they just 'hantam' on their designs and concepts...

they told that they just 'lost it'... at first they were really into it but after a while they just feel bored... 6 years right??? very long time to finish a first degree...

for these kind of students... what will their future in architecture be like???

euronymous
post May 3 2006, 01:39 PM

238 posts

cool animation there POYOZER... like Azarimy said... u might wanna check the freelance visualizer scene....

what's the olympiarch is all about?

azarimy... u still in sheffield?
euronymous
post Jan 5 2007, 11:36 AM

238 posts

keh keh keh....

i hv this notion that architects makes an engineer's life miserable... in a good way i guess.... heheheh...

euronymous
post Jan 10 2007, 12:47 PM

238 posts

" UM is a new school that have already achieved PAM Part 2 accreditation. infact, they are the first school in msia that have received RIBA part 2 accreditation.... "

azarimy...

why is this so... ? i hv the impression that no other school will outdo UTM in architecture education in Malaysia... is it something like the ISO where organization can apply and hv the organization checked...???
euronymous
post Jan 11 2007, 11:28 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 10 2007, 06:46 PM)
well... to put long story short...

UM staff is made up of a lot of ex-UTM lecturers and graduates. in 1995 when they setup the school, it was already geared for RIBA accreditation, not PAM. part of RIBA's requirement is the intakes must be from A-levels/STPM, hence UM immediately have that in mind when they setup the school. UTM only started the new curriculum in 2003, so we have about 3-4 years to go for RIBA accreditation.

but it doesnt really matter to most archi students. PAM's Part 1 & 2 is already recognized as RIBA equivalent. if u have part 1 and u want to continue to further overseas, u can just do so no problem. but if u want to WORK in the UK, that's where it matters.

UTM still have the vast experience, resources and tradition in architecture education. only when the staff joined UM, that isnt something anybody can do about. UM is a new school, so it's easy to implement/apply new stuff. UTM on the other, have too many old schoolers that i just need to get rid off laugh.gif. dont tell anyone!

i know one archi lecturer that left UTM for UM... Shaari... Drives a Volvo back then in 98... Used to catch a ride in his car to KL.... U know him??? If i remember correctly he has a firm in KL... Karya Budi.... Rings a bell???

euronymous
post Jan 12 2007, 10:29 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 11 2007, 05:53 PM)
ofcourse i know saari. he used to be my tutor, my mentor, my boss and now a colleague. he's here in sheffield now, doing a 1 year out-programme for his PhD in sheffield hallam university, studying about british housing system. i used to work in karya budi, which now has shifted near KLCC, not jalan ipoh anymore. he's my first experience of people speaking english in STRONG kelantanese dialect.

loh.... Ye ker?... last time i met him was about middle of last year at UTM Semarak... Biasa laaa... checking up students' project... hell guess it will be a good time to visit Sheffield laa this year... My kid bro-in-law leaving for Sheffield for his aircraft maintenance course this 22nd... That's why i asked bout Sheffield a few days back...

Do kirim salam to Mr. Saari... Kata ke dia Peja member Nije kirim salam... Mintak jd host kat Sheffield buley? biggrin.gif

0.3579sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:58 PM