4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Google Nexus 4 - V2, The new flagship Android 4.2 device

stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 02:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

BREAKING NEWS: LG Google Nexus 4 price is launching January 7th/8th, price RM1599 for 16GB. No 8GB model. The Nexus Store in LYP will be getting and launching the Nexus 4 on that date. Outright model price, no subsidization.
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 02:15 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

No links, the source is hot off the press, not even a link yet. Got a phone call, closely related to The Nexus Store in LYP, management level. The source is bringing LG Google Nexus 4 for sale with local warranty (I did not get further info how long) on those dates.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 26 2012, 02:16 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 02:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay I've just got confirmation. It's local warranty, 1 year from LG.
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 02:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Also, the date, January 7th/8th will also be DiGi's own launching of the Nexus 4. Expect to the news/pricing updated on DiGi's website between new year's day right up to January 7th.

So, two sources to get your Nexus 4, DiGi for subsidised model, The Nexus Store/Hotspot in LYP for outright model.
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 02:28 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Dec 26 2012, 02:23 PM)
not say that i don't believe u, i want to, but no links and no sources yet (no offense mate, i understand u have your reasons and inside sources).  now i'm praying REALLY REALLY hard that's it's true!!!  notworthy.gif
No worries, I'd take all news from the net with grains of salt myself. I can't reveal who my source is, suffice to say it's of the higher management level, related to the Hotspot/Nexus Store itself. Which if anyone know who he is, you'd also know he also handles the Samsung showroom ground level LYP, Sony Centre LYP ground floor, and the MacStudio franchise.

I've asked a unit for myself, he obliged. I'm not sure when they would open one for reservation/booking.
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 02:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Dec 26 2012, 02:29 PM)
what the hell r u talking about?  Nexus 4 is from LG, unless u r talking about the Galaxy Nexus from Samsung.  The Nexus name implies only one thing, it will get updates directly from google no matter what company manufactures it.

Added on December 26, 2012, 2:30 pm

i haven't visited LYP for over a year now, i have no idea the Nexus store is already opened. lol...
NExus Store as it was previously know as, and now it's called The Hotspot is towards the Imbi entrance of LYP.

QUOTE(burb @ Dec 26 2012, 02:37 PM)
bro..since u got source... mind to help ask will LG giving international warranty for N4 like what asus did with n7? thanks
From the impression I'm getting, they specifically mention it's "local warranty" only.
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 02:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nsg86 @ Dec 26 2012, 02:40 PM)
Does this imply that other LG store(e.g : klcc's LG store) might
not get the stock  ? hmmm
I dont have contacts at KLCC's LG Store. The way I look at it, the LG store in KLCC caters to household electronics more than communication devices? unsure.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 03:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(sharulzzz @ Dec 26 2012, 03:00 PM)
FOR ME
i dun believe this will happen

this is sendiri talk sendiri shiok only
think abt it, the whole world also no stock , how could malaysia will be able to launch first than other country.

google play store also not able to cater the stock already
do you think malaysia will be able to get the stock
some more cheaper than what other retailer is selling ..i mean international retailer.

believe this guy ,  u guys think abt the logic behind la
I'll quote you and I'll get back to you on the date itself. If on those two dates the Nexus 4 comes out and the price is as such, I'll expect an apology from you. Otherwise, I myself will apologize. Deal?
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 03:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kezman @ Dec 26 2012, 03:08 PM)
like that also want to butthurt?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Kopitiam is that way. I'd like to think the crowd here is more professional than that place. I dont have time to feel any sting of that anal activity of yours, I'm just the messenger delivering the news I got.

QUOTE(rifle_m16 @ Dec 26 2012, 03:08 PM)
If it's true then good news, if the dates is not correct also I will still say thank you.

Sharing is caring.  nod.gif

For the sake of those waiting, and for those expecting a good price, I want this to be true.

QUOTE(sharulzzz @ Dec 26 2012, 03:09 PM)
i dare to challenge you

i am very confident this will not happen.
sometime when it is a good news, i also welcome and happy abt  it
but after i seriously think abt it, i doubt it becoz even US google Playstore also have to delay the shipment already

do you think Malaysia will enjoy launching first
hahah
i dare to take up the challenge
Okay, it's a deal then. I'll see you here on that date. Nothing wrong really with apologizing for being wrong. Nothing wrong with relaying good news, even to someone who's more pessimistic than I am. rolleyes.gif

The fact is, they called, they delivered the news, I relay them here. The Nexus Store has more to lose here than I am, since this info comes from them. Their reputation as a store is being put on hold here. If I'm wrong, live goes on, move along. No big deal. *shrugs*

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 26 2012, 03:19 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 03:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 26 2012, 03:21 PM)
seriously... i stilll cant confirm the actual news...
some said he is agent la, some said he know someone high management la
so many claimed insider news...

once and for all, show me the proof
1) DiGi got Exclusive Right (for certain time) for Nexus 4
- I know DiGi launch S3 much earlier than Maxis la

2) 2 years warranty?
- If u sign packages, then 2years is common... but not from stock

3) RM1799?

4) RM1599?

5) Launching date, 7/8 Jan

Until then, all this are syiok sendiri
Thanks. I'll quote you as well. Unlike the other claimed insider news, I don't claim them spuriously. Trust me, I don't need to "syiok sendiri", I've already have the perfect Android phone that I wanted in possession right now. My interest in Nexus 4 is PURELY for the PURE Google experience and ROM experimentation.

QUOTE(sharulzzz @ Dec 26 2012, 03:23 PM)
yes u r right

i also hope it is true

i dun like people say something that is not true and out of the range

if no sources cfm, please keep it as rumors, and not comfirm
I agree with your sentiment. I myself hate spurious rumors claimed as confirmed. Nothing more heart-breaking than pining hope on a news only to be crushed by false info that it gives. Notice in my posts previously, the only thing I post with the word "confirm" on it is the 1 year LG warranty. I may be wrong on the date, I may be waaaay off base on the price. But that's what the info I got, and I'm relaying it here. Apologies all round if it doesn't stick.

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Dec 26 2012, 03:24 PM)
Dimana ada stringfellow disitu terasa kehangatannya.

To those who knows stringfellow, he did have a good source of contacts and insiders.
BTW, my Nexus 4 is having insomnia and need a good pills/apps to put her into deep sleep. So far so good.
Thanks. I have less insiders I can rely on these days, but once I weigh them as worthwhile to post, I'd share it around. Most if not all the time, I'd get my stuff outside of the country before it lands here. My Nexus 7 was NZ model, but it didnt stop me from posting about the Nexus Store/Hotspot LYP opening and their Nexus 7 release news.

Added on December 26, 2012, 3:41 pm
QUOTE(hewtwok @ Dec 26 2012, 03:29 PM)

Added on December 26, 2012, 3:29 pmanyway...adios LG Malaysia...oppo find 5 coming q1 2013...i rather have that now rclxms.gif
I like your taste. I'm eyeing the Oppo myself after being very satisfied with my DROID DNA. Intrigued by its hardware HDR 13MPx offering. First thing I'll do is get a launcher on top of that UI, it's hideous.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 26 2012, 03:41 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 03:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(sharulzzz @ Dec 26 2012, 03:42 PM)
thanks brother

i think i can trust you

u understand what i am trying to say and i think i think you did it very profesional.

good job

hope to hear from you more
sorry from me if i have offended you.
i just want to clear out those like to fake the news
No problem. I understand your frustration about the glut of rumors and semi-reliable news these days. No offence intended or taken, it's a forum after all, everyone has their own say on things.

As for hearing more from me, I only come in if there's news or info worth sharing. Otherwise I stay by the sideline and watch. More fun that way. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 03:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(andrewcha @ Dec 26 2012, 03:49 PM)
Brohug.jpg. Brought it at RM1k that time. Yea Samseng phone is way too fast. Hope when I get this one will gonna stick with it until it slows me down. From a single core to quad core. A dual-core jumper LOL. Google won't come out their phone like Samseng right? When was Galaxy/Galaxy Nexus was out before this come along?
Yearly. Or every Android OS iteration. The next Google IO Event you'd probably see another new Google device with the new OS iteration (Key Lime Pie?). Whether that "device" is a phone, or on another separate device, remains to be seen. But I like the fact that they maintain support to their Nexus device of several gens back.
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 08:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Walking around LYP, visit my favorite Nexus Store/Hotspot. Met with my insider.

Oh lookie what I found at THE NEXUS STORE /HOTSPOT at Plaza Low Yat!!? My insider info is correct after all, eh?

Once the release date is out, I'm ready to quote as many doubters, naysayers and trolls who jumped on my back today earlier. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 26 2012, 08:13 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 08:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm not gonna say anything anymore. I've done more of my share here than I should/can do here.

For any more developing info, wait till 7th/8th. That's all I'm gonna say. Feel free to proceed to the store if you feel inclined/believe me. Feel free to do otherwise and doubt me if you feel so inclined.

stringfellow
post Dec 26 2012, 11:07 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 26 2012, 10:47 PM)
oops.gif ...
bravo to stringfellow...
since u r no talk oni and able to proof with the pix... u win

---
stringfellow
post Dec 27 2012, 01:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Dec 27 2012, 01:08 PM)
anyone here have tried the QI wireless charging on N4?
QUOTE(kuntakinte @ Dec 27 2012, 01:21 PM)
Can you get one here?  I saw a few energizer qi chargers from amazon starting usd 70.

To me, wireless charging is a little gimicky.  I mean, paying above RM 250 to replace your traditional but dependable USB wires or powerbank, I don't know, man.
Wireless charging works as good as the wired charging. I'm using Panasonic Wireless Qi charger for both my Verizon HTC DROID DNA and my Nokia Lumia 920, and the charge rate mirrors wired charging.

Don't dismiss it easily before you try it. I've resented to the fact that I dont have any other options when I'm out and about than to use my 13,000 maH YooBao powerbank. The messy tangle of wires and cabled I carry to charge my devices while I'm outside, is enough to pull my hair out by the roots. There aren't any portable Wireless Qi powerbanks otherwise I'd moved on to that already.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 27 2012, 01:40 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 27 2012, 01:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Dec 27 2012, 01:40 PM)
boss stringfellow, where did you get the Panasonic Wireless Qi charger?
was it in M'sia? mind sharing the price?

as the other reputable brands are selling around USD50 or more depending on the feature
Got mine for Yen3280 in Akihabara, Tokyo. Panasonic Wireless Qi Charger Pad with Moving Charger Coil. Converted to Ringgit Malaysia becomes RM119.

The moving charger coil hunts down the point of contact on the phone and charges it. The blue search LED is awesome looking!

Shown charging my Verizon HTC DROID DNA.

Shown charging my DROID DNA and my Lumia 920.

Basically, any device adhering to the Wireless Qi standard works with this. Rechargable batteries, alarm clocks, even Wii controllers. Nexus 4 uses Wireless Qi charging format so it definitely will work with this.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 27 2012, 01:49 PM
stringfellow
post Dec 27 2012, 02:16 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tcmean @ Dec 27 2012, 02:13 PM)
Now all the dry application screen protector for Nexus 4 covers the screen only, stop right at bezel.

Nilkin's one not only got gaps at the side, but there are gaps on the top as well. It's not covering until the earpiece.
With curved Gorilla Glass screens, it's difficult maintaining the adhering of the SP without eventually peeling at the edge. It happened on my DNA, and I took it off. Unless there's an SP that only covers the flat side only and not extending to the curved edge, the typical standard SPs that tries to cover the curved sides will eventually peel. Or look horrible when the edges of the SP starts sticking out.
stringfellow
post Dec 27 2012, 02:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Nexus 4 will be DiGi exclusive only for the near future. They will be offering the subsidized version with plan, while Nexus Store/Hotspot will be offering outright.
stringfellow
post Dec 27 2012, 03:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

There are other inductive charging formats. Even proprietary ones. Palm Pre uses its own proprietary inductive charging with its Touchstone charger. Some Wii controller manufacturers use their own wireless charging format for their rechargable batteries. Even from your first link, it shows examples of that Palm Pre using its own inductive charging format before the Wireless Power Consortium comes up with the standard Qi format.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0418sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:34 AM