121 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Liverpool 1-3 Aston Villa- Gerrard

Duke Red
post Dec 20 2012, 09:18 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Dec 19 2012, 01:31 PM)
I'm not saying discrimination is okay, but if it hurts so much to be discriminated, why not run? workout?

It's a choice, I can be eat eat eat, but lazy.

I can workout and eat as well.

Don't tell me about time, the time spent on beers can be spent on working out or eating less smile.gif

Ask Duke how I looked last time and how I look now.
I can attest to the fact you were out of shape smile.gif I get where you're coming from. I myself had to work to shed 10 KGs at one point in my life and have maintained by weight ever since. Getting fat and staying so is indeed a choice. When you make a choice not to work out and eat healthy, you also made the choice to stay out of shape.

Here's what Robbie has to say about Rodgers, Sterling, Ince and Sturridge. The only one he doesn't seem convinced about is the latter.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/new...terling-1497440

In terms of British purchases since the 90's who worked out I can think of Michael Owen (Chester), Danny Murphy (Crewe), Jamie Redknapp (Bournemouth), Mark Wright (Derby), Jason McAteer (Bolton-arguably one of the first wingbacks in the league at the time), Glen Johnson ( Portsmouth), Rob Jones (Crewe), Steve Finnan (Fulham), Gary McAllister (Coventry). The jury is still out on Shelvey, Sterling, Henderson and Allen. Now it may not look like a huge number but we need to consider that this is an English club in England and therefore there will be more English players being shipped out after not making the grade.

How many foreign players have stood out since then?
Hyypia, Torres, Alonso, Reina, Babbel, Hamann, Mascherano, Kuyt, Henchoz and Riise. Not that huge a difference. You may throw in a Benayoun and if counter with a Peter Crouch but we are talking about players who made some sort of impact.

Now I'm not pro-English players but I just don't see how it's conclusive that foreign signings are better? Firstly, there is a huge number of countries out there and hence, a bigger talent pool but better? I'm not so sure. We've had young upstarts touted to be the next someone or other but left and disappeared from the radar.

I don't much care if we sign British players, just so long as they can play. I do however want to see more lads coming out of the academy. IMO nationality comes second to the coaching the players receive in the academy. Dani Pachecho receives the same training as Adam Morgan.
dillonyong
post Dec 20 2012, 09:43 AM

68 posts

As BR said, this winter window is not going to fix all our problems. The available ones that are suitable to his plan right now are Dan and Tom.

I watched Daniel Sturridge very closely during his stint with Bolton and when El Nino left us for Chelsea. When Torres was struggling for goals initially, guess who provide? None other than Dan Sturridge in the beginning and that happened with him coming on as a substitute. His stint at Bolton of course was excellent as well. More importantly, his finishing is sharp. Isn't that is what we are lacking?

As Robbie said:
“He was a kid when I was at City and back then he stood out as an outstanding natural talent, and with the right guidance you can see him getting a lot of goals.”

For me, he can go missing for 85 minutes and concentrate only 5 mins in the game for all I care because all I want him to do in that 5 minutes he was paying attention is to stand at the right position to knock the ball right into goal. Bang, bang and bang and then we can resume our Kiki Lala, Tiki Taka, Fuku Faka, Bili Bala for the rest of the afternoon.
Zephyr_Mage
post Dec 20 2012, 09:49 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

Sturridge won't solve all our problems. Our midfielders need to be banging them in as well.
With Lucas, Allen and Downing in midfield and with Gerrard's battle with age, I just can't see how we are going to score from midfield.
Duke Red
post Dec 20 2012, 10:04 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Dec 20 2012, 09:49 AM)
Sturridge won't solve all our problems. Our midfielders need to be banging them in as well.
With Lucas, Allen and Downing in midfield and with Gerrard's battle with age, I just can't see how we are going to score from midfield.
I concur. Cited similar concerns earlier. Gerrard has only scored twice. Sterling has one, Downing has two, Henderson has three, and Shelvey has four. Unfortunately, most of the goals were scored in Europe and not the league. The way we are set up, the two players flanking Suarez, whether it be Sterling, Downing, Enrique, Shelvey or Suso, need to step up their output in terms of goals.
Yluxion
post Dec 20 2012, 10:05 AM

543 posts

Sturridge & Tom Ince are not going to spark the team alight. If these deals did go through, it just further affirmed that BR is setting his sight on a much considerable future.

Duke Red
post Dec 20 2012, 10:05 AM

6,112 posts

Agger receives some praise from the very legend he's been compared to.

http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/liver...ises_60238.html

Added on December 20, 2012, 10:25 amOn an unrelated note, Torres bags another goal as Rafa savours another victory. Good for them. Suggestions that Rafa could get the best out of Torres were scoffed at by those in blue but it doesn't seem so far fetched now does it?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Dec 20 2012, 10:25 AM
dillonyong
post Dec 20 2012, 10:25 AM

68 posts

rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

RAHEEM STERLING has agreed a new five-year contract to stay at Liverpool

The 18-year-old winger will end speculation about his future by penning a long-term deal in the next 48 hours after his representatives reached an agreement with managing director Ian Ayre.

Read more: Liverpool Echo http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-f...?#ixzz2FYY4qxJZ
koolspyda
post Dec 20 2012, 10:32 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Dec 20 2012, 11:25 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif

The 18-year-old winger will end speculation about his future by penning a long-term deal in the next 48 hours after his representatives reached an agreement with managing director Ian Ayre.
Read more: Liverpool Echo http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-f...?#ixzz2FYY4qxJZ
saw that earlier this morning, nice to have such good news to start the day.

This post has been edited by koolspyda: Dec 20 2012, 10:45 AM
led_zep_freak
post Dec 20 2012, 11:07 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 20 2012, 10:05 AM)
On an unrelated note, Torres bags another goal as Rafa savours another victory. Good for them. Suggestions that Rafa could get the best out of Torres were scoffed at by those in blue but it doesn't seem so far fetched now does it?
At the end of the day it's all about results though. If they don't challenge for the title this season, the fans won't warm up to him and it's hard to see him staying on.

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Dec 20 2012, 10:25 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif

His new deal will include a number of performance-related targets as Liverpool look to ensure he retains the hunger which has seen him make such a massive impact in the Premier League.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on December 20, 2012, 11:30 amBahh for some reason my post earlier on Brit players disappeared.

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Dec 20 2012, 09:18 AM)
Now I'm not pro-English players but I just don't see how it's conclusive that foreign signings are better? Firstly, there is a huge number of  countries out there and hence, a bigger talent pool but better? I'm not so sure. We've had young upstarts touted to be the next someone or other but left and disappeared from the radar.

I don't much care if we sign British players, just so long as they can play. I do however want to see more lads coming out of the academy. IMO nationality comes second to the coaching the players receive in the academy. Dani Pachecho receives the same training as Adam Morgan.
The homegrown rule definitely has affected our buying policy. On Rafa's Champions League Dreams, he mentioned that he was looking for players who fit the homegrown criteria as our squad then barely meets the quota. While it wasn't the main reason, it definitely has influenced the decision to replace Xabi with Barry as well as the signings of Robbie Keane & Glen Johnson.

Personally, I think British players are overpriced, but I less concerned about their value than their contribution on the pitch. If they contribute what they are expected of, then that's all that matters. Just look at Manchester United - they overspent on Rooney who has been valuable to them and now in Phil Jones they have a promising young lad. Even Johnny Evans is turning his United career around. In fact we don't have to look that far, Rafa went out of the way to get Glen Johnson despite facing a financial crisis and it isn't a co-incidence that he has been our best player this season. It's just a matter of finding the right player with the right qualities, irrespective of their nationalities.

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Dec 20 2012, 11:30 AM
Everdying
post Dec 20 2012, 12:21 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

LFC should go sign someone like bill beswick.
aiyish
post Dec 20 2012, 12:44 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Dec 19 2012, 01:06 PM)
I wonder how much they're gonna fine this lad since he's using the word on the entire team.

I...just...can't...stop....laughing...HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! This is gold!!!
led_zep_freak
post Dec 20 2012, 12:48 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 20 2012, 12:21 PM)
LFC should go sign someone like bill beswick.
Well news like the following should be a good sign:
Brendan Rodgers calls in expert to help Liverpool mind games
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/no...pool-mind-games
Everdying
post Dec 20 2012, 12:50 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 20 2012, 12:48 PM)
Well news like the following should be a good sign:
Brendan Rodgers calls in expert to help Liverpool mind games
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/no...pool-mind-games
i think he's BR's private psychiatrist that was talked about earlier biggrin.gif
smwah
post Dec 20 2012, 12:55 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Rafa team scored 5 goals. arrr..... why we can't score.... cry.gif against the strong against the weak, no difference, tak bole masuk goal.
Wonder are we practice w/o goal post? BR please start to think on scoring, the kiki lala already done. We did managed to preform kikilala already. So now is goal goal goal goal.........
Should we put Gerrad at flase 9? I think will be good try, he had been at the back for long long time. Let him do the tango with Suarez. I think the combination between Suso, Gerrard, Suarez will be good. These guys can do very nice 1-2 passes and running place. Maybe they are used to trained like that before. English players just too direct. If not why the combination of Alonso, Torres and Gerrard been a very good attacking combination. Although Xabi not at the front but he can create the attacking tempo at the mid, there come to gerrard to do passes to torres.
If the team too direct, sure opponent will close you down. Now current modern football everything is playing pressing and clossing. If you have quick passes and through run, you can over come. If you watch Aston game, during our possesion, Villa already closed us down. It is hard for us to penetrate. Unless we can do some quick 1-2 and through pases. Suarez can do dribble but his can't do a good ball placing, bcoz no one dun know where to run for space. Sometime his ball placing is good but all the players dun know where to run space.

dillonyong
post Dec 20 2012, 01:08 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 20 2012, 12:50 PM)
i think he's BR's private psychiatrist that was talked about earlier biggrin.gif
Makes you wonder how do they do this.

Dr: Close your eyes, Everdying. Now focus. You are walking in to a room now that is dark. What do you see?
Everdying: My avatar in low yat?
Dr: Focus!
Everdying: What makes you think I am not!
Dr: I am serious!
Everdying: SO AM I!

Bang!!!! Boom!!! Bang!!!!

Doesnt really help the players isn it? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dillonyong: Dec 20 2012, 01:09 PM
Yluxion
post Dec 20 2012, 01:09 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Dec 20 2012, 12:55 PM)
Rafa team scored 5 goals. arrr..... why we can't score....  cry.gif  against the strong against the weak, no difference, tak bole masuk goal.
Wonder are we practice w/o goal post? BR please start to think on scoring, the kiki lala already done. We did managed to preform kikilala already. So now is goal goal goal goal.........
Should we put Gerrad at flase 9? I think will be good try, he had been at the back for long long time. Let him do the tango with Suarez. I think the combination between Suso, Gerrard, Suarez will be good. These guys can do very nice 1-2 passes and running place. Maybe they are used to trained like that before. English players just too direct. If not why the combination of Alonso, Torres and Gerrard been a very good attacking combination. Although Xabi not at the front but he can create the attacking tempo at the mid, there come to gerrard to do passes to torres.
If the team too direct, sure opponent will close you down. Now current modern football everything is playing pressing and clossing. If you have quick passes and through run, you can over come. If you watch Aston game, during our possesion, Villa already closed us down. It is hard for us to penetrate. Unless we can do some quick 1-2 and through pases. Suarez can do dribble but his can't do a good ball placing, bcoz no one dun know where to run for space. Sometime his ball placing is good but all the players dun know where to run space.
I think Suarez nutmegs and tricks are getting a little predictable lately. He stretches himself too much at times which taken away his balances & agility.

Maybe Suarez should learn to keep his composure more, then he'll be able to finish off some of the chances.
led_zep_freak
post Dec 20 2012, 01:10 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 20 2012, 12:50 PM)
Hah yeah, it's for the backroom staff. The article did mention that the players could choose to use his service and amongst others, I think Stewart Downing would probably benefit the most.

Then again, he has done pretty well in the last few games, so he probably has already. biggrin.gif

Edit: Wait, we used to call Downing a mid-table player. No wonder he looks good these days. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Dec 20 2012, 01:12 PM
Everdying
post Dec 20 2012, 01:15 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Dec 20 2012, 01:08 PM)
Makes you wonder how do they do this.

Dr: Close your eyes, Everdying. Now focus. You are walking in to a room now that is dark. What do you see?
Everdying: My avatar in low yat?
Dr: Focus!
Everdying: What makes you think I am not!
Dr: I am serious!
Everdying: SO AM I!

Bang!!!! Boom!!! Bang!!!!

Doesnt really help the players isn it? biggrin.gif
of cos it does.
black is a color that absorbs energy and light from the universe.
allowing the players to draw strength from it biggrin.gif

why u think priests also wear black? tongue.gif
led_zep_freak
post Dec 20 2012, 01:17 PM

5,231 posts

No wonder our players look like nuns this season.
Everdying
post Dec 20 2012, 01:20 PM

30,735 posts

actually that one looks like a deep sea diver...
diving down to the 2nd division.

121 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:34 PM