Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

MUM
post Jun 18 2019, 12:31 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(turtleundersea @ Jun 18 2019, 12:28 PM)
the term "dividend distribution adjusted", how does it apply to calculation of NAV/performance?

the chart on previous post is mandatory 3 years performance from ifast.
and i have compile the NAV on each date (last working day of every month) and the calculation of each date shown in the current image.

but i cannot get the exact numbers as in the chart.
for example:
2016-06-30 >> 102.29(chart) >> 102.39 (my calculation)
2016-07-29 >> 104.17(chart) >> 104.22 (my calculation)

i was thinking i didnt include the income distribution, but if so, how does the calculation gonna be if include income distribution?
post by yklooi at 2857 did show how to include the distribution....

btw,...I think no one (in here) calculates the NAVs movement only....
they calculates the Navs WITH the number of units available at hand

This post has been edited by MUM: Jun 18 2019, 12:34 PM
MUM
post Jun 22 2019, 05:31 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(Thanosmama @ Jun 22 2019, 04:40 PM)
Hi
Has anyone invested in managed portfolio yet still losing money eventually? Can share how this can happen?

My finance advisor keeps asking me to buy managed portfolio like no way i can lose money.

True?
I assume your are referring to managed portfolio as in managed Unit trust portfolio...

if my assumption is correct, thus on this...."yet still losing money eventually? Can share how this can happen?"
if you would hav bought into it at high periods and at the funds that had previously been top funds for a number of years....
example...most of the funds had had a good run for some years prior to the good year of 2017.....
if one were to bought into them.......
well, most of them performed very badly from end Jan 2018 till end Dec 2018....
Overall Fund Returns in 2018
As of 31 December 2018, there are 204 equity funds on our platform with full year return in 2018.
202 (99.0%) of the equity funds posted losses while merely 2 (1.0%) of the funds clocked positive returns.
On average, these equity funds have posted -14.4% loss across the period.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...erciless-Market

on this..... "My finance advisor keeps asking me to buy managed portfolio like no way i can lose money. True?"
Well.......depends lor....
when you bought them, what funds is in the managed portfolio, how long did you hold them? etc etc.
btw,...if the managed portfolio is heavy in bond funds.....chances of losses will be lesser, but so will be the positives returns....
btw,...if one were to held HEAVY into bond funds from this fundhouse since the beginning of last year....
then....can see how in A day the fund can wipe out the returns gained in the whole of last year or 2 years
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/art...hin-Half-A-Year

MUM
post Sep 27 2019, 01:42 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Sep 27 2019, 01:39 PM)
Yes possible to loss everything especially if highly leveraged and taking greedy steps / huge lot sizes.
I think he was referring to UNIT trust....unit trust can leverage?
unit trust can lose "everything"?
MUM
post Oct 9 2019, 07:51 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 8 2019, 10:09 PM)
*Rate my portfolio

Anybody care to comment the two portfolios? These two portfolios built with US fund / US Treasury / Gold and backtested 14 years. The backtest period is short because the fund does not have a long history.

Which portfolio is better and why?

Portfolio 1
CAGR: 52.27%
IRR: 11.16%

Portfolio 2
CAGR: 51.51%
IRR: 10.25%

if returns is the main priority, then Portfolio 1 was better bcos the returns was better if you had invested in it 14 yrs ago.....

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 9 2019, 08:18 AM
MUM
post Oct 13 2019, 04:41 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Oct 13 2019, 03:43 PM)
Notice no one talk much about Msia KLCI ETF..

Is it because the high management fee / expense ratio?

https://www.ambankgroup.com/sites/fbmklciet...es/default.aspx

Management Fee:
0.50% p.a. of the NAV of the Fund

Trustee Fee:
0.06% p.a. of the NAV of the Fund
this also mentions about the
HIGH SPREAD and
LOW TRADING VOLUME

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/ETFs/225609.jsp
MUM
post Dec 27 2019, 05:10 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Dec 27 2019, 01:40 PM)
anyone hear about OPUS Income Plus Fund? I get to know it from the boost pay promotion, seems like a fix income fund, with convenient app for fund transaction.

can't find adequate information on their official website about their fund charges fee and management fee, wonder anyone do invest on them?
OPUS INCOME PLUS FUND

5. FEES, CHARGES AND EXPENSES
The following describes the fees and charges that may be DIRECTLY incurred by Unit Holders of the Fund when purchasing or redeeming Units of the Fund.

page 12 of this prospectus....
https://www.eunittrust.com.my/pdf/Prospectu...260112018_p.pdf

MUM
post Jan 9 2020, 08:27 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Dec 27 2019, 01:40 PM)
anyone hear about OPUS Income Plus Fund? I get to know it from the boost pay promotion, seems like a fix income fund, with convenient app for fund transaction.

can't find adequate information on their official website about their fund charges fee and management fee, wonder anyone do invest on them?
QUOTE(ehwee @ Dec 28 2019, 01:44 PM)
Thanks MUM, seems like it sales charge is up to 2%.

Just realized fsm do sell this fund too, then it will be better get it from fsm for lower fee
do check out this OPUS touch thread...
0% sales charges, earn Boost points
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4886774

QUOTE(kim0112 @ Jan 8 2020, 04:11 PM)
Anyone know about Areca capital fund?
QUOTE(kim0112 @ Jan 8 2020, 10:07 PM)
Anything related to this fund, worth to invest? Where can buy this fund?
I maybe mistaken, but it seems that specified Areca Capital Fund is NOT in the list
if you are looking for Areca Capital's funds....then can try this...
http://www.arecacapital.com/Our+Funds_14_1.htm
and .....
How does an individual invest in Areca Capital?
The prospective investor may contact our Investor Care at 03-7956 3111 or visit the nearest Areca Capital offices.
http://www.arecacapital.com/Frequently+Ask...stions_26_1.htm

you asked..."worth to invest?"....
if you liked this,.... then....
"Our maiden fund won the Best Fund (Equity Malaysia) awards, consecutively for year ended 31 December 2016, 2017 and 2018 in the Lipper Fund Awards for the 3 years, 5 years and for year ended 31 December 2017 and 2018 for 10 years’ category. "
http://www.arecacapital.com/About+Us_3_1.htm

This post has been edited by MUM: Jan 9 2020, 08:35 AM

MUM
post May 29 2020, 06:55 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(Cyclopes @ May 29 2020, 06:35 PM)
Probably an alert to others not to invest in those two companies.
hmm.gif OR to promote the use of the other one confused.gif
MUM
post Oct 4 2020, 10:25 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(Neontetra @ Oct 4 2020, 08:23 AM)
Hi guys, my parents has some retirement money to keep stashed away for any length of time as they have enough money to get by. This is a about $200k. Any suggestion of funds that will be suitable for them? Low risk ideally in case stock market crashes again.

Or are they better of sticking to FD? Citibank's banker told us about Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund. I am also looking at 2.45% FD from RHB Bank.

You mentioned... they hv enough money to get by n this 200k can be stashed away for any lenght of time.... Try Kwsp? 60k each x 2 a/c this year n repeat that both a/c for the balance 3 monrhs later (next calendar year)

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 4 2020, 10:30 AM
MUM
post Oct 21 2020, 04:53 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(WHITE APPLE @ Oct 21 2020, 04:42 PM)
Unit Trust via FSM
A fund that managed by the fund manager to invest in multiples companies shares. The benefits is that able to diversified the risk instead of holding only one company share.
The main game plan of UT is capital appreciation. Search for potential fund that will grow in the future, buy low sell high.

Fee involved
Sales Charges (0%-1.75%)
Annual Management Fee (1.8% +-)

fyi, this this Annual Management fees + other fees are fees you don't get to feel for you don't need to pay from the your pockets
only Sales charges (and for some fund redemption fees) are fees that you will feel it "physically"

Returns from unit trusts
You invest in a fund by buying units in the fund. There is a capital gain when the price of the units rises above the price you paid for the fund.
Some funds pay dividends....in the form of cash or reinvestment of extra units converted by the given "cash"....as you get these extra units in your holdings, then any movement of the NAV will moves your amount in your holdings

on you question "so my questions are
1) did I miss out any fee involved in both vehicles?
2) did I set the game plan correctly?"

i think the more important plan is to know your comfort level in investing between this 2 vehicle.
do you know you can be better in investing then the "Professional"? if yes, go to invest your self. if not, go for UT

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 21 2020, 04:58 PM
MUM
post Oct 24 2020, 08:22 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Oct 24 2020, 07:07 AM)
Say i have about 10k to be put aside for my 1 year old daughter's education fund, where is the best place for me to invest this? UT, insurance, stashaway? This fund is for long term, when my daughter turn 18 only will withdraw.
if your tax bracket is high...try start by putting in RM8k into SSPN-i to get the tax relief of this RM8k
(if you are in the 24% tax bracket...you will save 1920, if 21% then 1680), but remember to invest the money saved not spend it

example,
you hv 10k now, split it into
8k into SSPN-i by Dec 2020
2k into Stashaway (example)

in Jan 2021, you withdraw from SSPN-i, put into Stashaway (example)
thus total in is 10k

in Apr 2021 you pay less tax of 1920 for your income tax 2020...you put in 1920 "saved" into Stashaway (example)
total in it will be 11920 by Apr 2021

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 24 2020, 08:51 AM
MUM
post Oct 26 2020, 10:35 AM

14,931 posts

if you were "lucky" enough to enter into some of these Eastspring funds at end of last year and NOT the other some of Eastspring funds too......

will your last year selected funds will still be performing the same NEXT year? hmm.gif hmm.gif

MUM
post Nov 15 2020, 09:54 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Nov 15 2020, 09:33 PM)
so many funds to invest in but dunno which one to pick... any recommended funds/unit trusts to look at for global equity exposure? (with minimal sales charge *cough**cough*)...
while waiting for responses....
if you like you can try this...
for recommendation....try this
Recommended Funds
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/recommended-funds

or try as per image to get more info about them DIY research
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds

This post has been edited by MUM: Nov 15 2020, 09:55 PM

MUM
post Nov 28 2020, 09:32 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Nov 28 2020, 09:08 PM)
Can we use EPF akaun 1 to purchase UT from FSM?
try this
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...=11254&isRcms=N

also i think ONLY approved UTs funds

MUM
post Dec 2 2020, 06:48 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Dec 2 2020, 05:03 PM)
Hi investors, i have several public mutual funds that I bought using epf around 10 years ago. Right now the return of those funds is between 15-85%. Now I heard alot of people said that public mutual is not really good investment fund. Question is, should I withdraw from those funds? Or should I keep it, and withdraw the worst performance or the best one?
Thanks for advise.
usually they would said...throw away those BAD one and keep the GOOD one
those that are still about below 35% ROI after 10 years should be the one that needed more scrutiny....
not sure what are those funds...if those are Fixed income funds...then they are definitely different than EQ funds
MUM
post Dec 2 2020, 10:23 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Dec 2 2020, 05:03 PM)
Hi investors, i have several public mutual funds that I bought using epf around 10 years ago. Right now the return of those funds is between 15-85%. N...............
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Dec 2 2020, 08:53 PM)
More scrutiny means i need to do more research on it? The fund that i have are
public ittikal,
public islamic dividend,
public islamic saving, and more.

Im not that bright on this investment stuff previously, so i just let the agent do all.
the 3 funds that mentioned that you bought 10 yrs ago had these performance since 10 yrs ago....

sourced from
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Our-Products/Fund-Overview

MUM
post Dec 6 2020, 12:06 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(carauto2u @ Dec 6 2020, 11:55 AM)
hi finance expert, how you guys grow your RM10k from EPF withdrawal?

your ideas are much appreciate.
What is your expected returns of investment per year for this 10k?
How much money will you willing to see looses before you get out of it?
MUM
post Dec 6 2020, 12:46 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(carauto2u @ Dec 6 2020, 12:43 PM)
double in a year?
then, How much money will you willing to see looses before you get out of it?

MUM
post Dec 6 2020, 12:54 PM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(carauto2u @ Dec 6 2020, 11:55 AM)
hi finance expert, how you guys grow your RM10k from EPF withdrawal?

your ideas are much appreciate.
that can have a ROI as below ......

QUOTE(carauto2u @ Dec 6 2020, 12:43 PM)
double in a year?
and can willing to see losses as below

QUOTE(carauto2u @ Dec 6 2020, 12:48 PM)
30%
thanks for telling.....now that would enable more focused replies from forummers

MUM
post Dec 7 2020, 09:31 AM

14,931 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Dec 7 2020, 09:12 AM)
I have been wondering, though I don't need the epf withdrawal, can I withdraw, put it in fd for say 8 9 months, then pump back into epf account consider it as self contribution to reduce tax.

I need to have support doc to withdraw right?
if you falls under Cat 1...no document needed...
“Those under this category don’t have to provide supporting documents as the approval is automatic based on EPF’s internal data."

if falls under Cat 2.....can only be verified through supporting documents.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...drawals/1928270

on this ...."then pump back into epf account consider it as self contribution to reduce tax."
only if you have not fulfilled your EPF tax relief claim quota from your existing income....

and if also qualified for PRS & SSPN.....then more tax reduced thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Dec 7 2020, 10:10 AM

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0581sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:01 PM