finally u get your area feng shui brows.gif

TSchuahcs79
post Nov 20 2012, 09:44 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Nov 20 2012, 09:22 PM)
Sifu , possible to check RSSI with TL-MR3420's stock firmware ?
nope, it is impossible, since not support by the router,.

it only show color signal bar & % in V1 and V1.3 ,

in V2, no color signal bar only %

Added on November 20, 2012, 9:45 pm
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 20 2012, 08:55 PM)
Now peak period rite

But, twin Router + 8dBi does the JOB well

now i reverse my setup

Panel antenna -> CRC9 -> Maxis set E372 ( handicap added heatsink open cover ) -> V2 -> lan out -> V1 -> lan out to laptop

result is everything really stable thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 20 2012, 09:45 PM
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 20 2012, 09:50 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Nov 20 2012, 09:49 PM)
the signal bar =/= RSSI right ?
the signal strength seems not so accurate as I could get better speed at 40% compare to 60% rclxub.gif
stock firmware is very buggy itself notworthy.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 20 2012, 10:57 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 20 2012, 10:22 PM)
modem update = done
router update = done
modem = Huawei E372
router = TL MR3420 V1.3

router detect modem, then identifying again.. detect again, identifying again..
haish
have u add in modem bin file in modem setting in your V1.3 ?

u are using stock firmware from tplink right ?
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 20 2012, 11:24 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 20 2012, 11:00 PM)
yup.. gonna flash openwrt now.. i'll show u kernel log..
huawei e372 confirm = /device/ttyUSB0 In modem device at openwrt
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 12:13 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 20 2012, 11:27 PM)
problem is.. ttyUSB0 didn't come up..  still experimenting.. modem now on my other lappy.. serving internet.. lol
u have to select custom and manual set in : /device/ttyUSB0

reboot twice after that,.. notworthy.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 01:51 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Nov 21 2012, 12:33 AM)
something weird happened to my 680 >>> I could get better speed with low signal strength 38% vs 63% in 3420 stock firmware . Now I directly plug in 680 to pc and use mdma , again the RSSI with -61dBm my speed is 6Mpbs , but when I re-positioned 680 with RSSI -83dBm , I could easily hit > 11Mbps , both tested with purple lit on , so confusing  rclxub.gif
it is very obvious that lower RSSI signal = different base station/towers,

that's why u get different speed notworthy.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 02:15 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 21 2012, 02:03 AM)
thanks sifu chuachs.. saved my modem.. lol.. my e372 is acting strange.. haha
does it worked ?

i guess it works right ? can recognize it now fast and connected fast ? nod.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 03:10 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 21 2012, 02:20 AM)
yup.. connect fast.. onli speed is slow.. my celturtlecom.. haha

thanks sifu...

gonna try openwrt on mr 3020
yea, glad it dial fast, speed wise depends on base station in your area which there is nothing we can do sweat.gif

good luck on flashing MR3020 icon_rolleyes.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 04:44 PM

6,931 posts

For user who using v2, don't upgrade to latest newest firmware on tplink websites. That latest firmware is super duper buggy. So bug until the web gui haywire and not able to dial connection to e372 modem. I finally flash it back to original version firmware and now it worked fast good like it should
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 05:30 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 21 2012, 04:49 PM)
What i have in mind now

MF680 >HW550> LAN~ WR1043ND > LAN~Gigabit Switch > LAN Linksys DDWRT > WiFi 

Why I  WR1043ND > LAN~Gigabit Switch > LAN Linksys DDWRT, because all these 3 devices support Gigabit data transfer  biggrin.gif

Added on November 21, 2012, 5:02 pmSometimes somehow our connection is very good BUT our devices are not translating those good speed onto our pc.

We have to use the best means to maximise it.

How to do it depends on you and your devices, and having said so, i am getting stuff like Car6E Cable, USB3.0 extension cable, Panel Antenna, Gigabit Switch, DDWRT flashed  Routers to test out the ultimate combination.

your idea won't work. I can confirm that. More router = more node. More node = more packet lost . notworthy.gif even i try 1 and 2 router combo. 1 router combo i get the best speed. 2 router combo i get the most stable speed but not the best speed.
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 09:18 PM

6,931 posts

My result without panel = doh.gif speed is up down not stable at all. biggrin.gif

Added on November 21, 2012, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(stevenlee @ Nov 21 2012, 08:45 PM)
any1 here using MF680 with TL3420 router...can post out what the speed you guy get?
as per your request:

zte mf680 + Panel antenna + V1 + V2

Added on November 21, 2012, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Nov 21 2012, 08:25 PM)
bro , I dunno , I just position my panel in order to get the best RSSI , or should I try all angles irregardless of what RSSI I get ?
u need to use MDMA to helping you finding which tower exact CELL ID, so u know which is high speed in distances by SNR & RSSI notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 21 2012, 09:35 PM
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 10:29 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Nov 21 2012, 10:16 PM)
Bro chuahcs..
If just mf680 and tl3420.. what the speed... dun include  1more router and extra antenna
as per your request ( ZTE MF680 + TL-MR3420 V1/V2 only ) notworthy.gif

ztw mf680 + v1 ( openwrt firmware )

zte mf680 + v2 ( TP LINK Stock firmware )

Added on November 21, 2012, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 21 2012, 10:25 PM)
Today...suddenly my laptop and iphone cannot connect to the wifi. I didn't do anything. just out of a sudden.

i tried to set BGN mode to B mode only...still the same.
i tried to disable the wifi security password...still the same.

What's wrong?
if you are using V1 or V1.3, then that's normal, it happen to me once before,

you are using TPLINK stock firmware right ? nod.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 21 2012, 10:31 PM
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 21 2012, 11:05 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Nov 21 2012, 10:53 PM)
ok , thx for the insight notworthy.gif

right now I attached the panel to a 8ft-long pipe rod , and use idm with single connection to download a 2hr+ hd clip (metallica concert) from youtube , while downloading i rotate the pipe 360 degree , monitor the rssi and download speed .
from what i found out thus far , good rssi =/= good speed , -69dBm I get speed hovering at 600 to 750KB/s range while the other side with -83dBm could get me 1000 to 1200KB/s . I think I will just leave the pipe rod there , when downloading ,  rotate it and secure the position with the highest download speed biggrin.gif
it is very obvious 2 different tower,

-69dBm tower is nearer but low speed

-83dBm tower much far away but high speed

check the CELL ID in MDMA, i believe is 2 different tower,

good signal dosnt guarantee good speed as i had mention before

it is all depends on the base station/ tower u are connected to whether is congested or not notworthy.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 22 2012, 01:41 AM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 22 2012, 12:34 AM)
will it automatically revert back to normal again by itself?
sometimes it will, but most of the time it wont even i reboot,.

that's why i flash to Openwrt firmware, and set wireless G, all previous wifi issue with tplink stock firmware it gone now,.. sweat.gif

Added on November 22, 2012, 1:44 am
QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Nov 22 2012, 12:34 AM)
you are right , bare 680 always connect me to the fastest one while panel prefer to get me strong signal but low speed doh.gif  , anyway to force panel to connect to fast cid ?

by the way , opensignalmaps shows me there are some more cid surrounding , I wonder why I couldn't locate them with modem/panel hmm.gif
it is tower cell identity
well

our modem tend to connect to the strongest SNR and lowest frequency ( if support UMTS900 & UMTS2100 both ) in band config AUTO mode,..

with antenna we can change that facts, just need a clear correct aim in direction and connection will be super stable.

bear in mind, antenna is not for increase speed purpose,.. only for consistency purpose notworthy.gif

also not all cell tower broadcast high speed too,. some might be old tower with HSPA only notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 22 2012, 01:44 AM
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 22 2012, 01:48 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Nov 22 2012, 10:06 AM)
v2 flashed back from latest firmware to first firmware
now the signal always 0%, and the dns server still using maxis' even though i already changed to google's.

but it still works fine. can achieve >2Mbps and ping to KL maxis (with speedtest) less than 150ms

the max signal i can get previously is 22%.
yeah it happen to me too, V2 firmware Bug,.. biggrin.gif

as long as it work, the 0% & DNS is fine nod.gif

Added on November 22, 2012, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 22 2012, 11:57 AM)
Beware of OpenWRT, as it will force your modem to auto band

Modem is configured to connect to the strongest signal during auto band

900Mhz is always stronger in term of signal but lower performance since it is only HSPA+ (NO DC)

Therfore, if you plan to use antenna, suggest stay with stock FW or go for V2 which is more stable router
yeah i suffer kaw kaw from this doh.gif

then i get a V2 to dial my E372 -> lan out -> V1 openwrt = amazing now thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 22 2012, 01:49 PM
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 22 2012, 03:41 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Nov 22 2012, 03:29 PM)
i see.. thought i messed up my router  tongue.gif

gonna try tx 33 tonight on my e372 biggrin.gif
oh my all usb modem is tweaked ready to 33TX,.. biggrin.gif

it is firmware bug,

if u upgrade to latest firmware then downgrade it, it will happen 0% and wrong DNS notworthy.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 22 2012, 04:16 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 22 2012, 04:15 PM)
i switch it off/on again...still the same.
reboot a few times (when removing wifi password and also when changing wifi BGN mode to G, then back to BGN)... still the same.  cry.gif
...or maybe i should wait for a few days?  sad.gif
if u really want to settle it, flash to openwrt, and set wireless G only with channel 11,

i did that and solve my issue,. i am sure is tplink firmware issue notworthy.gif

or u can directly claim warranty of your V1/V1.3,

or get a V2, V2 wireless all is fine even wireless N alone notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 22 2012, 04:18 PM
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 22 2012, 04:40 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 22 2012, 04:23 PM)
If I'm not wrong, my channel is at default Auto, which gives me a value 8.
I'll try to change that when I'm back home.
yeah play around with wireless G and channel,.. dont include wireless N as mr3420 V1/V1.3 have wireless N peformances bug issue

if still cannot, try openwrt,..

if openwrt failed then get a V2,. V2 is perfect in wireless N 300Mbps alone thumbup.gif
TSchuahcs79
post Nov 22 2012, 05:58 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Nov 22 2012, 05:33 PM)
indeed

since no signal at where my pc is, have to go wireless
cant use lan cable, cos too far and messy.
MR3420v2 place near the window, WN881ND at my pc
300Mbps full blast (i think tongue.gif ) no disconnection so far

Added on November 22, 2012, 5:35 pmtried E372 > MR3420v2 > LAN > old wireless router (150Mbps n) > wireless > PC before

result: not much difference with E372 > MR3420v2 > wireless > PC, so decided to use the more simple way.
yea V2 at wireless N 300Mbps , the ping is as low as the Lan cable too thumbup.gif

Added on November 22, 2012, 6:00 pm
QUOTE(stevenlee @ Nov 22 2012, 05:49 PM)
after read above comment...
if my MF680 led colour is purple..meaning my connection is DC HSPA right...
thus, the modem are not connect to 900mhz right..
i still cant figure out what happen to my modem as i only can get 2.5mbps when using router

is any1 having this issue
your case is very easy to trouble shoot,

just bring your Combination Setup to other area,

if u are still getting 2.5Mbps same speed, something is wrong with your device or your sim QoS notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 22 2012, 06:00 PM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:57 AM