Hardware Samsung ATIV Smart PC & PC Pro, 3G & Wifi Version with Windows 8

post Nov 14 2012, 08:00 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 14 2012, 07:24 PM)
means this samsung not good ?
I did not said samsung not good but after listening to the chat here i think i will wait for the review first.
kmoh4346
post Nov 14 2012, 09:09 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Nov 14 2012, 06:37 PM)
A point to ponder, observations made with the tablet and keyboard attached, with the connection between keyboard and tablet, and compounded by the top-heavyness of the tablet:
And another:-
Source: http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?p=34229717 from the Anandtech forum.

I reckon the Pro version uses the same connector as the normal Smart PC mode. Heads-up for potential buyers.

My recently sold Asus Transformer Infinity is weight-ratio-ed 1:1 as well between the tablet and keyboard, and beyond 90 degrees, the laptop configuration (tablet+keyboard) will have the tendency to topple backwards. On the Android OS it's running on, you mostly tap instead os swipe gestures on Windows 8. I'd foresee the swipe-up/down gestures on an over-tilted Smart PC Pro having similar tendencies to topple backwards as well.

I've tested the Pro model at LowYat Plaza's Windows 8 roadshow and it does show tendencies to topple backwards. Which is why at the roadshow, the unit was left on a slanted platform so as to NOT show this tendency much.

I was as excited as the next person when they announced it, I stayed up and followed the event announcement live. My interest was deflated when I saw the plastic build quality(made more evident at the roadshow on the silver color model), and the thickness of the tablet part disproportionate compared to the keyboard. I'd be more forgiving if the keyboard part has batteries on it, that will help extend the battery life and keep the whole laptop config (tablet+keyboard) center-weighted to avoid the toppling back.

The rest is history. If anyone follows the thread I made in this part of the forum, they'll know which hybrid I went for.
Oh yes, saw your thread. You chosed sony right? I got the chance to view & play it. I only wish the keyboard was detachable. My only issue was it wasnt easy fr me to slide out the keyboard & i have to position the tablet couple of times to get the right view (eg. Lanscape to potrait & vice versa)

Looking back, still upset with samsung over couple of issue that pop up after i placed my order. But again, will post my review once i get to play with it.

rhoyo
post Nov 14 2012, 09:38 PM

-
2,800 posts

man i think i wanna buy the smart pc pro . but the harddisc is a bit little . i wonder in future can upgrade or else ..
TSSteadyPana
post Nov 14 2012, 09:42 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 14 2012, 09:38 PM)
man i think i wanna buy the smart pc pro . but the harddisc is a bit little . i wonder in future can upgrade or else ..
It come with one USB 3.0 port, get either a 1TB or 2TB USB HDD will address this "matter" besides microSD slot wink.gif

This post has been edited by SteadyPana: Nov 14 2012, 09:43 PM
rhoyo
post Nov 14 2012, 09:55 PM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Nov 14 2012, 09:42 PM)
It come with one USB 3.0 port, get either a 1TB or 2TB USB HDD will address this "matter" besides microSD slot wink.gif
u mean need to use external hdd ya
TSSteadyPana
post Nov 14 2012, 10:08 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 14 2012, 09:55 PM)
u mean need to use external hdd ya
Yup rolleyes.gif

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/index.php?option=...d=7618&Itemid=1
rhoyo
post Nov 14 2012, 10:15 PM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Nov 14 2012, 10:08 PM)
have u tested it ? smile.gif .. man i can't wait to buy this device
kmoh4346
post Nov 14 2012, 11:28 PM

323 posts

Lets wait for the first review first,
post Nov 15 2012, 08:33 AM

1,447 posts

just get yourself few usb thumbdrive with 32gb since they are price so cheap now.
hazremi
post Nov 15 2012, 10:02 AM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

is there any other alternative to ativ smart pc?
TSSteadyPana
post Nov 15 2012, 11:05 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Nov 15 2012, 10:02 AM)
is there any other alternative to ativ smart pc?
Always a YES. Many more choices in the pipeline. rolleyes.gif
rhoyo
post Nov 15 2012, 05:39 PM

-
2,800 posts

tomorrow is the day to buy the device .. will post pictures if i manage to buy one .. hope to get the free samsung laser printer ..
JinYin
post Nov 15 2012, 05:41 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 15 2012, 05:39 PM)
tomorrow is the day to buy the device .. will post pictures if i manage to buy one .. hope to get the free samsung laser printer ..
u go where buy this tablet ..? smile.gif

This post has been edited by JinYin: Nov 15 2012, 05:42 PM
lester
post Nov 15 2012, 05:47 PM

292 posts

Does anyone where to get the pro version in kl?
oszie
post Nov 15 2012, 06:46 PM

184 posts

U can pre order from harvey norman, ikano

QUOTE(lester @ Nov 15 2012, 05:47 PM)
Does anyone where to get the pro version in kl?
rhoyo
post Nov 15 2012, 07:19 PM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(JinYin @ Nov 15 2012, 05:41 PM)
u go where buy this tablet ..? smile.gif
im buying this in sabah . cause i balik kampung .. laugh.gif
marauderz
post Nov 15 2012, 07:39 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

QUOTE(kmoh4346 @ Nov 14 2012, 09:09 PM)
Oh yes, saw your thread. You chosed sony right? I got the chance to view & play it. I only wish the keyboard was detachable. My only issue was it wasnt easy fr me to slide out the keyboard & i have to position the tablet couple of times to get the right view (eg. Lanscape to potrait & vice versa)

Looking back, still upset with samsung over couple of issue that pop up after i placed my order. But again, will post my review once i get to play with it.
I hope to fix to top heaviness by finding someway to weigh down the keyboard, the main reason I decided to go for the Samsung is that I want something with a silo for the digitizer built in. Of course after you mentioned it, the Sony also has a way to store th digitizer with the extended battery. But i prefer wacom to N-Trig whenever possible. tongue.gif The AAAA battery is a real turn off!
kmoh4346
post Nov 15 2012, 07:49 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Nov 15 2012, 05:39 PM)
Looking forward to your review. smile.gif
picfantasia
post Nov 15 2012, 08:22 PM

277 posts

Looks like one of our forummer already got it.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry56104773
rhoyo
post Nov 15 2012, 08:48 PM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(picfantasia @ Nov 15 2012, 08:22 PM)
Looks like one of our forummer already got it.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry56104773
kinda a ripoff if no keyboard ..

32 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:54 PM