The SONY NEX Discussion Thread ver. 3N

LeoWillis
post Mar 18 2013, 12:12 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Mar 18 2013, 10:06 AM)
i think is limited stock...
1st i tot this is like a tablet bag, for sony xperia tablet....
however i can fit my camera into it, if i do, it just wont close properly
is it for the cybershot series?
>.<
i think they make it that way is to suit all the camera sizes which included the big full frame camera with big lens
LeoWillis
post Mar 18 2013, 12:14 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Mar 18 2013, 10:12 AM)
For catwalk, i've used cont. shutter priority, 1/400

Autofocus center

So far im quite happy with my shots
I guess so~ but if u are using 1/400, how is ur ISO... should be very high right? (max ISO for shutter priority is 3200?)

or u are using a fast lens?

QUOTE(kry183 @ Mar 18 2013, 11:22 AM)
can post some image example so can hav more details??  hmm.gif
i'll shared some pictures after i get back home tonight

here you go:

This post has been edited by LeoWillis: Mar 18 2013, 09:43 PM
LeoWillis
post Mar 19 2013, 11:49 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Mar 19 2013, 11:40 PM)
Don't mind me sharing my thoughts, based on the same situation we were all in. Putting the technical part aside, the shots have to start way before any model comes walking down the runway.

That means.. U got to have some visual idea in your mind that you would like to make real!  To me I love the flare effect on the hair, so i picked the spot which will directly face the spotlights.

At least  15 minutes before time, u have to assess the hall and see where the lights are, where's the end of the runway, where will the models start coming in, and stand where you think is the best spot. This itself helps alot in getting the shot you want. 

For the kit lens, I think it's best to get directly on the right side of the stage on day 1, and left side of the stage on day 2.  When you are this close to the runway, YOU DON"T NEED the CLEAR IMAGE ZOOM and can use F3.5 and a faster shutter which should help in your pics for that session.

And if it there's still some focus hunting.. bite the bullet and pick DMF or MF and trust the focus peaking of our NEX, turn off the review, use Cont.mode /speed priority.    So far no other competitor has anything better than Sony's Focus peaking as what i know of.  Good Luck!.
Thanks for the advise! I guess it's all about the strategy to overcome the limitation of the kit lens after all... like u said, should have go closer & rely on the focus peaking...

i'll improve over time!!! Thanks again~
LeoWillis
post Mar 20 2013, 03:04 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(kry183 @ Mar 20 2013, 01:24 PM)
maybe you can try on these NEX feature:
- if you using cont shooting and auto focus on moving object, the AF mode can turn to Continuous AF (you can find it at Setting-> Camera -> Autofocus Mode)
- use Object Tracking and track on model face (Setting-> Camera -> Object Tracking)
- when use nex Digital Zoom, no matter how many X, then the autofocus will becum cacat abit.....is time to manual focus since NEX with peaking mode

to made sure you focusing is more accurate

and of coz....
if you have a F1.8 or wider lens will be more better  tongue.gif
i don't use the digital zoom, instead i use the clear zoom which won't affect alot on the screen...

i only have the 16-50mm kit lens & a CCTV 35mm f/1.8 lens... so have to use the kit lens for longer length sweat.gif

Thanks for the advise anyway~ biggrin.gif
LeoWillis
post Mar 24 2013, 12:20 AM

410 posts

im interested in getting a Konica Hexanon 50mm f1.4... but i have no confident to buy 2nd hand legacy lens thru online >_<
LeoWillis
post Mar 25 2013, 09:10 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Mar 25 2013, 08:19 PM)
bro, i have 2 Konica Hexanon 50mm f1.4., 2 50mm f1.7, 1 57mm f1.4, 1 28mm f3.5, 2 135mm f3.5, 1 80-200mm f4.5.
All from ebay, conditions are some excellent and some fairly good. but i didn't go for the cheapest one, only choose those which mentioned no haze, no fungus, great condition etc.
So far i'm satisfied with all of them!! no regret getting them.
Those prime is really amazing!! the 50mm are really sharp comparable to modern Zeiss, and the color rendition is quite unique!!
Go get one!!
Btw, getting from ebay is a bit like gambling, must bid only from those seller with very high reputation!! and pls spare budget for better shipping option which is traceable and insured. don't go for First Class international which most of the case will be missing in Malaysia route!!
wow~nice!!! but why u need so many duplicated lens???
LeoWillis
post Mar 26 2013, 11:34 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Mar 25 2013, 11:01 PM)
Not that I am affiliated with Pos Malaysia,  I am aware they have change their internal control lately - here in Kuantan.  So you will have to watch out for your side of town how they handle delivery.  What they do here is, all small packets has to be collected in person at the post office and sign-for.  The postman is not allowed to deliver to you.  They will give you a notice.  Only Registered parcles are delivered because it has to be sign-for. 
My be annoying to some but I find all my shipment do arrive irrespective of shape or size.
so far, i never have problem with the USPS First Class Mail (i bought few items below RM100 in ebay, & all reach my house)

but i'm not sure for the item higher then RM200
LeoWillis
post Mar 29 2013, 07:28 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(XiaoTau @ Mar 29 2013, 07:04 PM)
Hi all, think to get fuji xe-1 , any comments? Is it worth buying?
This is a NEX thread, of coz NEX better~ tongue.gif

but actually, u cant go wrong with both way~
LeoWillis
post Mar 30 2013, 12:26 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(zuiichi @ Mar 29 2013, 11:39 PM)
i always love how this guy compare this two.

maybe u have the idea?

and theres one comparison from digitalrev (nex 7, fuji n olympus om-d)
i dont have any idea...

but my comment is, go to the retail & try it urself... touch & feel the cameras

choose the one ur heart/feeling love the most~ lol biggrin.gif

LeoWillis
post Mar 30 2013, 07:38 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(zuiichi @ Mar 30 2013, 01:49 AM)
maybe he got slight idea, as he's the one buying.  tongue.gif
lol rclxms.gif
LeoWillis
post Apr 1 2013, 09:06 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(edwardc @ Apr 1 2013, 12:54 AM)
Hey guys,

Just got myself Nex5R today, not one but 2 units actually.  blush.gif
Got it at good price. Would like to let go the 2nd unit with extended 5 years warranty, comes with 16-50mm, silver.
Will let go at the same price I got it, can show you the receipt.

Also am looking for a 16mm pancake(SEL16F28), anyone got recommendation for a good deal?

Thank you
how do you get the extended FIVE years warranty? I'm interested to know~ hmm.gif
LeoWillis
post Apr 1 2013, 11:41 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(edwardc @ Apr 1 2013, 11:36 AM)
Yeap. If from Sony Malaysia is max 3 years for Nex. With Senheng you can extend it till 5 years. Great benefit ah.
PM me the price... My friend's looking for 5R~ lol
LeoWillis
post Apr 1 2013, 01:45 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Apr 1 2013, 11:58 AM)
Sony got 3 years..? Pay extra or by default..? If i not mistaken Nex warranty from sony is 12 + 3... hmm.gif
u paid to get the extended 2 years warranty... so added up 3years
LeoWillis
post Apr 21 2013, 01:46 AM

410 posts

got a sharp copy of Konica Hexanon 50mm f/1.4 in ebay from Alaska~ tongue.gif

This post has been edited by LeoWillis: Apr 21 2013, 01:47 AM
LeoWillis
post Apr 21 2013, 03:10 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(WanShah @ Apr 21 2013, 02:08 AM)
how much price bro?
about RM350+ including adaptor and filter
LeoWillis
post Apr 21 2013, 05:32 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Apr 21 2013, 03:45 PM)
Welcome to the world of manual control.  Down to earth price you got for the lens.  It will have its initial frustrating moments but once you get into your workflow, you will enjoy its results.
thumbup.gif

Already tested with the lens... real sharp lens & excellent IQ!!! as good as what other user's comment, Leica standard lens~~ biggrin.gif

LeoWillis
post Apr 21 2013, 07:35 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Apr 21 2013, 07:31 PM)
Recommend to get the emount 35mm  for portrait shoots???
I already got 24 and 50mm....hmm
i think u can skip 35mm since u already have 24mm & 50mm...lol
LeoWillis
post Apr 27 2013, 12:38 PM

410 posts

I got eye on the Joby Ultrafit Sling Strap
http://vimeo.com/50512901

Does any Sifus here using it? How's the performance??

Planning to get one next monday~
LeoWillis
post Apr 28 2013, 10:31 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(daisuke @ Apr 28 2013, 02:06 AM)
guys, i m going to HK next month and m looking to buy either nex5 2 lens or the nex6 1 lens or 2 lens, which u guys think i should go for?also is there any warranty issues if i buy my camera from HK?im really torn between the 1 lens n 2 lens coz i m not sure if i need the second lens, im a newbie but looking forward to learn more about photograhpy hope nex6 is not too much for me. thanks in advance for all the advice given ya
If you are new to photography, i believe the kit lens(the lens that comes with the camera) is good enough for you. After you are familiar with your camera, you can try other lens in the retails or friends & then only decide to get 2nd lens.

QUOTE(besaid @ Apr 28 2013, 02:19 AM)
Hi, where are you planning to get the strap from? I searched around LYN but seems like no one selling it.
I found it in the camera shop outside digital mall, Foto Miami.
LeoWillis
post Apr 28 2013, 05:24 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(daisuke @ Apr 28 2013, 04:29 PM)
Thanks guys, hmm anybody bought from overseas b4?any idea about the warranty?I'm just worried about the warranty touch wood if anything goes wrong.... doh.gif  doh.gif
What you need to do is just check with the local retail store if they provide international warranty or not.

For Sony Centre Malaysia, they provide International warranty to the foreigners.

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Apr 28 2013, 04:53 PM)
u won't regret to get the Konica Hexanon 50mm prime especially the F1.4 and F1.7!
I have this also and others! The sharpness is marvelous if you knew how to use it right!!
really no joke, that is one sharp prime just slight below the Leica and Zeiss!!
yea, the IQ is incredible!!! thumbup.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0454sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:42 AM