7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Watch Thread v5, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

yonggoh
post Nov 4 2012, 04:36 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 4 2012, 12:11 AM)
I think that askmen article of "the cheapest high end watch" is in order tongue.gif

http://www.askmen.com/fashion/trends_600/6...-end-watch.html
European Union.
the watch snob from the next cubicle in the same office space will balk at such a write up!
yonggoh
post Nov 5 2012, 12:14 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Nov 5 2012, 10:52 AM)
Which one will it be?
i like the cleaner dial of black face more
whistling.gif

even tho the "wavey" pattern is a signature dial for the sea master is more obvious in the blue

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 5 2012, 12:14 PM
yonggoh
post Nov 5 2012, 08:10 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Nov 5 2012, 04:40 PM)
How do you guys (if ever) clean your own watches?
with these cool2.gif

Added on November 5, 2012, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(chimaera @ Nov 5 2012, 05:46 PM)
Why is the Tag not much loved? Over priced?
cause less knowledgeable trendy boys tend to wear it...
yes its a cruel generalization... but im sure there are some good people still opt for TAG...

But yea if ones doesn't care what others think go right ahead...
if one does, then i expect a counter argument to my statement from such fellas.

*runs and hides*
whistling.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 5 2012, 08:13 PM
yonggoh
post Nov 7 2012, 05:06 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(cropika @ Nov 7 2012, 12:05 AM)
can any1 share to me that omega 007 seamaster..how much is the price? is that >10k?
Vesper: Rolex?
Bond: Casio.
Vesper: Beautiful.

whistling.gif

yonggoh
post Nov 7 2012, 09:24 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Nov 7 2012, 05:32 PM)
Omega got date leh...
yonggoh
post Nov 8 2012, 05:08 PM

1,314 posts

Picking a Seiko over a Rolex...
Gotta have rocks in their heads...
rclxub.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 8 2012, 05:44 PM

1,314 posts

oh ok i thought the key word was SWITCH, which would normally suggest choosing something to replace a previous option...

"ppl who have worn rolexes and omegas SWITCH and make orients (and seikos) to be their everyday watch"
yonggoh
post Nov 9 2012, 03:11 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Nov 9 2012, 09:27 AM)
I think typically/relatively, watches are not expensive to make. Just that the higher-end Swiss brands command a ridiculous amount of profit margin.
Ill attempt to break down some popular category of watches...

One can simply take a valjoux 7750 movement and stick it inside 50,000 mass produced cases...the end result would be a time piece with a reliable work horse beating inside....
Good quality? Sure.
Affordable? In most cases.
Reliable? You bet.
Maintenance? Never a problem.
Desirable? That varies from person to person.
Exclusive? Certainly not.

For luxury brands who sometimes roll out 500-1500 (or sometimes 25-50 even) of a certain piece, the logistics will simply be much higher...(typically AP(29,000 watches 2010), Patek(45,000 watches 2010), Vacheron(18,000 pieces 2010), Piaget (20,000 pieces 2010), A.L & Sohne (5,500 watches in 2010)... When you buy these puppies you can almost be certain that the next guy across of you on the train wont be spotting one of these....It would be very interested to see a price breakdown of their Grande Complication, Perpetual Calender, Minute Repeater or whatever...
Good quality? Impeccable.
Affordable? Ridiculously out of range for the average Joe.
Reliable? In most cases, probably less so than that Valjoux...
Maintenance? Stupid.
Desirable? The pinnacle among the watch aficionados.
Exclusive? Waiting lists for almost any of the signature models. Your watch will higher pangkat than James Bond and the dudes in the Expendables even.

Then you get the guys like Rolex (800,000 pieces in 2010),Omega (700,000 pieces in 2010), Tag (600,000 pieces in 2010). Not high-end, not haute horolgy, but a marketing machine so well oiled to create a genre of "necessary luxury". The large numbers means that the time pieces are machine made...everyone wants one... don't believe me, just check out the number of pax in their boutiques vs that of say brands mentioned previously...Love or hate a Rolex for example one fact remains. People CARE about Rolex(slightly less so Omega and Tag admittedly) and its demand for new and pre-owned are testiment to that. It will not be uncommon to see a guy who earns RM50,000 a month or a guy who earns RM3,000 a month wearing an original time piece from any of these three brands.
Good quality? Sure.
Affordable? Expensive.
Reliable? In most cases yes.
Maintenance? Expensive.
Desirable? The most of all. We were all brainwashed from young and from the posters to believe getting one of these is the sure symbol to show that "we made it"
Exclusive? Certainly not.

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 9 2012, 03:15 PM
yonggoh
post Nov 9 2012, 03:25 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 9 2012, 03:21 PM)
You left out the religion of Panerai.  whistling.gif
I don't dare talk about Panerai!!!

that's a different category altogether!
whistling.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 13 2012, 09:44 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Catnip @ Nov 13 2012, 06:45 PM)
I kinda agree with him.  biggrin.gif
Yeap im with the evil Snob on this one too...

Ball = shakehead.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 14 2012, 08:48 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 14 2012, 05:23 PM)
are the only rolexes with blue dial and no cyclops the air king and daytona?
Yacht Master
Date Just
Day Date
Submariner

Added on November 14, 2012, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(romeolee @ Nov 14 2012, 05:10 PM)
i dont own a gshock.. but im planning to get one.. the reason for getting one is to wear it whenever you are outdoor.. like if ure going to a trip and bringing along your previous omega/rolex/tag would be too dangerous.. strap on a gshock and off you go.. go swimming, running and everyday rough situations...

i guess gshock does have its own purposes..
GShock and Luminox are my choices for such duties...

hence the nickname "daily beater"
cool2.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 14 2012, 08:49 PM
yonggoh
post Nov 15 2012, 10:08 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 14 2012, 10:57 PM)
hmm i did mention...blue dial and no cyclops...
those all got cyclops right...

anyway, went thru the current models on rolex site and from what i can see there are only 2.
air king and the 36mm oyster perpetual.
oh my bad...failed to pinpoint your other criteria my apologies
brows.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 15 2012, 09:15 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 15 2012, 05:03 PM)
hmm...didnt know lego got star wars watches tongue.gif
jap quartz, mineral crystal...below rm100.
should look great with a Tux!
rclxms.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 18 2012, 10:34 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 18 2012, 05:14 PM)
Just watched Goldfinger again.
The best bond movie with the best rollie
icon_idea.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 29 2012, 01:55 PM

1,314 posts

It has arrived!!!!!
Finally!!!!

first pic... not even date and time set yet...
cool2.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 29 2012, 01:55 PM
yonggoh
post Nov 29 2012, 03:30 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Catnip @ Nov 29 2012, 03:15 PM)
Congrats!
I thought you received the watch a long time ago and you no longer post here since you prefer to hang around in forums with other AP, Lange, PP and other haute horlogerie aficionados.  tongue.gif
Did they hand delivered the watch by swimming across the South China Sea? biggrin.gif
hi catnip,

yes I was totally convinced that my watch arrived more than a month ago... but unfortunately I got f***ed in the ass by a seller who deceived me by showing me a photo of a watch that was not mine!

and after voicing discontent he agreed to return my deposit. it was then that I knew I had to move on and find another way... hence I refused to mention anything more in this regard in these forums with a risk of stabbing myself again..

way too much drama for my expected shopping experience but I'm just glad it worked out better for me... even if it did cost me a little bit more in the end...
yonggoh
post Nov 29 2012, 06:47 PM

1,314 posts

Thanks all for the kind tahniahs smile.gif

and like all sick addicts...my phone lock screen is now a wallpaper...of the next dream! yawn.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 29 2012, 08:32 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Nov 29 2012, 08:24 PM)
Everybody AP crazy .
Me also .

Mine says hi .

fuyoooh!

two tone 15300?
drool.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 29 2012, 11:07 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Nov 29 2012, 10:15 PM)
Soon to be owner of PAM!

Tough decision to choose either PAM312 or PAM320.

Gonna drop by my local AD since they got both in their shop.

Any paneristi here? Suggestion? Cheers!
fellow PAM312 owner reporting in as well!!

One of my fave weekend watches!
cool2.gif
yonggoh
post Nov 30 2012, 11:55 AM

1,314 posts

The new target identified...

I give myself 2 years to save up for a pre owned!
shocking.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Nov 30 2012, 11:55 AM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0483sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:48 PM