iBook G3 500MHz 384MB RAM can run Tiger?, Feel very lag with OSX 10.2

TSsiemens6688
post Mar 7 2006, 09:26 PM

202 posts

i just suspect my cdrom only , coz when i boot , i t will not boot la , i hold the "C" button , i will blank a minute then appear 1 small Apple logo on folder and "?" on folder like mouse curso , i think it booting , but later , it start up with OSX 10.2 too~!

wei
post Mar 8 2006, 10:25 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

oh i just saw ur previous post. you should change the "Startup Disk" in the preference to your hard disk. You should not boot to the CD in this way. Another thing you should check is that the CD is working or not. Try to run it on another Mac. The CD should run as soon as you double click "Install Mac OS X" icon. Then it will ask u to Restart.
TSsiemens6688
post Mar 8 2006, 01:22 PM

202 posts

I think the cd_rom does't have problems , coz everything i install is ok , like Virtual PC , but i not boot when i restart ... i try whole day oredi~sad.gif
wei
post Mar 8 2006, 02:46 PM

6,496 posts

is that an original installer or its a CDR?
its a box retail or its bundle with machine?
have u set the startup disk back to your hard drive?
TSsiemens6688
post Mar 8 2006, 04:43 PM

202 posts

I have set the start up disk there, the diisk i buy at low yat , thats is CD-R i think, gold site , and printed surface ...... if this CD Cant use , i really bad luck , becos i gonna use 140KM to lowyat ... so far
wei
post Mar 9 2006, 07:24 PM

6,496 posts

YOU SHOULD HAVE ADMIT it in your very first post that your cd is el-cheapo prates from lowyat. For PC software, u can go lowyat. For Mac, pls rely on frens or from the net, or get the proper one from Apple reseller.

And I think you can close this topic now.
TSsiemens6688
post Mar 9 2006, 07:51 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 9 2006, 07:24 PM)
YOU SHOULD HAVE ADMIT it in your very first post that your cd is el-cheapo prates from lowyat. For PC software, u can go lowyat. For Mac, pls rely on frens or from the net, or get the proper one from Apple reseller.

And I think you can close this topic now.
No la ... first i open this topic , me are at "downloading" from BT . But it stop at 59% due no seed . So i went to Low Yat cos my bro wanna buy a CPU casing then i also buy a 4CD MAC OS X lo .... how i know cant use when i bring back? blush.gif

I am a newbie to using Mac , so hope ppl can help lo ....
wei
post Mar 9 2006, 07:54 PM

6,496 posts

hahaha... say lar earlier "i bought this 4CD Mac OS X from Lowyat... bla bla bla..."
hahaha... then no need to waste so much time already.

well, sounds like u r not from KL. If not you can join me n my buddy when we head out from yum char. then u can get urself some help wink.gif
sonic_cd
post Mar 10 2006, 02:13 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 9 2006, 07:54 PM)
hahaha... say lar earlier "i bought this 4CD Mac OS X from Lowyat... bla bla bla..."

well, sounds like u r not from KL. If not you can join me n my buddy when we head out from yum char. then u can get urself some help wink.gif
well it does prove one thing though, there are apple software in lowyat ...tongue.gif
TSsiemens6688
post Mar 10 2006, 02:20 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 9 2006, 07:54 PM)

Ohh , Sound Great ~ I will inform you when i hungry~ thumbup.gif BTW if i copy this all 4 CD and burn it with a New CD-R with PC do you think it will run it? This iDea is my fren teach 1 , due the CD buy from low yat is GOLD 1 .... yawn.gif
prasys
post Mar 10 2006, 03:07 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Just curious , could you post a screenshot on whats inside the CD...from your iBook...Sometimes it could be a .dmg file
kfc
post Mar 11 2006, 09:31 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 10 2006, 03:07 PM)
Just curious , could you post a screenshot on whats inside the CD...from your iBook...Sometimes it could be a .dmg file
I've just bought an ibook g3 500 dual usb version.
http://secretmayarecipe.blogspot.com/2006/...ple-desire.html

well... it took me a week to find the required dvds to install panther and tiger in it. at 1st i'm quite satisfy with panther. But i've heard that tiger can actually runs smoother than panther. thus i took the chance and installed tiger in it.
honestly, it's isn't really that snappy. and yes widgets don't run that smooth compare to current hardware.
but i find that it's quite useful for my "leisure" (messanger, surfing, itunes, microsoft word, blogging) machine when i use it while watching tv or playing video games.
I still got my Ferrari 4000 beside when when i want to do some serious work.
Spot light is quite useful as well because i feel that the search function respond very quickly. I think it even smoke my ferrari 4000 running search in xp.
Anyway, to my surprise. the ibook actually has got a pair of very nice speakers. It's even perform much better than any pc laptops that I've ever used.
I've tried osx86 in my ferrari 4000. and end up with everything working except sound for now. Since i'm very comfortable with mac now. I guess i'm ready for a switch now.
I'll get my mac book pro by next month.

TSsiemens6688
post Mar 12 2006, 09:48 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(kfc @ Mar 11 2006, 09:31 PM)
I've just bought an ibook g3 500 dual usb version.
http://secretmayarecipe.blogspot.com/2006/...ple-desire.html

well... it took me a week to find the required dvds to install panther and tiger in it. at 1st i'm quite satisfy with panther. But i've heard that tiger can actually runs smoother than panther. thus i took the chance and installed tiger in it.
honestly, it's isn't really that snappy. and yes widgets don't run that smooth compare to current hardware.
but i find that it's quite useful for my "leisure" (messanger, surfing, itunes, microsoft word, blogging) machine when i use it while watching tv or playing video games.
I still got my Ferrari 4000 beside when when i want to do some serious work.
Spot light is quite useful as well because i feel that the search function respond very quickly. I think it even smoke my ferrari 4000 running search in xp.
Anyway, to my surprise. the ibook actually has got a pair of very nice speakers. It's even perform much better than any pc laptops that I've ever used.
I've tried osx86 in my ferrari 4000. and end up with everything working except sound for now. Since i'm very comfortable with mac now. I guess i'm ready for a switch now.
I'll get my mac book pro by next month.
Mmmmm ... look like iBook G3 500 not very slow ya? I feel it also ... it just slow when loading or opening some application, other then that is very smooth and stable . I use it 2 week ago , i never use the "Reset" botton sweat.gif , except that day i using the Low Yat CD for OS X .

I have copy another 1 disc by using the Alcohol 120% , now i just know why thats day i will hang . Some sector at disc might not read properly, and now it will not hang anymore! thumbup.gif But i still cant boot it la ... i busy 2 week already shakehead.gif
TSsiemens6688
post Mar 12 2006, 09:50 PM

202 posts

BTW how your install Tiger on iBook G3 ? u upgrade to DVD rom already?
TSsiemens6688
post Mar 12 2006, 09:51 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 10 2006, 03:07 PM)
How to "print screen"? i mean like PC , can snap shot the desktop screen sweat.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 12 2006, 09:54 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(siemens6688 @ Mar 12 2006, 09:51 PM)
How to "print screen"? i mean like PC , can snap shot the desktop screen sweat.gif
shift + command (apple) + 3 (not from numeric keypad)

saved screenshot should show on your desktop as an icon.....
TSsiemens6688
post Mar 12 2006, 10:10 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Mar 12 2006, 09:54 PM)
shift + command (apple) + 3 (not from numeric keypad)

saved screenshot should show on your desktop as an icon.....
Thanks , i will post the screen shot later . BTW , any site for download MAC software? I find at google but cant get rolleyes.gif
Eithanius
post Mar 12 2006, 10:27 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(siemens6688 @ Mar 12 2006, 10:10 PM)
Thanks , i will post the screen shot later . BTW , any site for download MAC software? I find at google but cant get rolleyes.gif
VersionTracker (linked)

MacUpdate (linked)

don't expect too much of freewares though.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
kfc
post Mar 17 2006, 09:53 AM

276 posts

well...
shift + command + 4 and drag a selection on desktop can make screenshots in portion. instead of the whole screen.
i find this to be very useful for print production or designer.
no wonder alot of designer likes it so much.
I've a friend working in padini. they only got pc for their design dept. so everytime when they want to copy source material from website, they always have problem with print screen. but in mac, they can have option to print whole screen or portion with short cut key. and the file output is instance, no need to launch a 3rd party software at all.

I'm going to buy a new macbook pro to accompany my exisitng pc laptop for most of the work.
plus, there's a possibility to install window xp to dual boot with osx in macbook pro and imac with intel processors now.
check it here.
http://download.onmac.net/

Well... of course, booting osx in pc is also possible. but the hardware is a little choosy. so some of the devices is not working.
for my case, my ferrari 4000 got everything working including air port but the sound isn't working.
I love this os so much and i've decided to buy macbook pro because of this. so don't blame me for trying out osx86. truth is, it does encourage me to do the purchase.
and of course, the cheap ibook 500 is also a good opportunity for me to understand that a 3 years old mac product can still be in such good shape. Kudos to apple computers.

Cheers.
(hope the info helps.)

TSsiemens6688
post Mar 30 2006, 05:09 PM

202 posts

thanks all for reply, sorry for long time no online.. biggrin.gif
here my desktop picture.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top