Maybank CDM cash jammed, Advise needed

TSraptar_eric
post Oct 27 2012, 05:07 PM, updated 14y ago

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

Hello sifus, I just went to Maybank CDM to bank-in cash to my account. And it came out with a receipt, saying cash jammed, contact bank..

The person that's taking out the cash, those securiforce are there, but they said they can't open it to remove the cash, need call bank. Just called, they told me minimum need 3 working days. However, on the receipt no transaction ID no nothing, so what do you guys think? Anyone experienced before?
Mac Man @ LYF
post Oct 27 2012, 05:47 PM

433 posts

I experience before. Bank in around 1k++, machine jam, receiver check, no transaction in.

After I call Maybank, gave them the machine number (the 4 letters on the machine), wait for 1 week plus, the money was credited into the receiver account.

Lesson learn -
1. If the money is for life and death issue (medical operations), please go to the bank counter rather than cdm.

2. Know the amount you are banking in to the cdm even its to your own account, in case the machine jam and you do not know the amount when the bank ask you, the bank might get suspicious and not credit back the $ to you.

This post has been edited by Mac Man @ LYF: Oct 27 2012, 05:48 PM
adolph
post Oct 27 2012, 06:30 PM

Hail the hitler
832 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 27 2012, 05:07 PM)
Hello sifus, I just went to Maybank CDM to bank-in cash to my account. And it came out with a receipt, saying cash jammed, contact bank..

The person that's taking out the cash, those securiforce are there, but they said they can't open it to remove the cash, need call bank. Just called, they told me minimum need 3 working days. However, on the receipt no transaction ID no nothing, so what do you guys think? Anyone experienced before?
I experience cash jammed previously. But different banks, just share my thought.

The machine CDM jammed and shown "cash retract, please contact bank".
As i took the ATM transaction resit as a proof, together with the evidence of a retract code as print in the ATM resit.
On the next day, I went to the same bank and find the banker, they gave me a form to fill up, banker handed me one of the copy form as a resit that I already filled up before I moved up.

On the next day, my money has been successfully entered into my account and settled.

Hope can give you a hint.

This post has been edited by adolph: Oct 27 2012, 06:46 PM
aliex87
post Oct 27 2012, 06:30 PM

376 posts

i had the same issue last time. depositing money for my car monthly installment at maybank cdm, the cdm got stuck after my money went in. maybank transfered the money to my car loan account 2 weeks later and i got charged for late payment....after lengthy argument, no luck, i still have to pay for the late payment charge...
john123x
post Oct 27 2012, 07:15 PM

3,022 posts

Wow, this kind of incident does happens
sokdotcom
post Oct 27 2012, 07:31 PM

sokdotcom
1,122 posts

dont worry la.. banks swindle and mint money like nobody business.. these things u sure get your money back.
TSraptar_eric
post Oct 28 2012, 02:02 AM

1,367 posts

i know ill get back.. just that its a very much hassle process... saturday bank not open, sunday also..

thing i dont understand is, those securicor company could have opened it, and gimme back the cash.. i went back an hour later, they already fix it, machine is running fine, ppl using it... why wanna make my life difficult =.=

i deposited quite an amount to clear my credit card bills.. and now, need to be hold back for dont know how many days someore
cute_boboi
post Oct 29 2012, 05:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 28 2012, 02:02 AM)
i know ill get back.. just that its a very much hassle process... saturday bank not open, sunday also..

thing i dont understand is, those securicor company could have opened it, and gimme back the cash.. i went back an hour later, they already fix it, machine is running fine, ppl using it... why wanna make my life difficult =.=

i deposited quite an amount to clear my credit card bills.. and now, need to be hold back for dont know how many days someore
Cash Deposit Machine (CDM) has a secure box (ok, not that secure) inside, if you ever see them switch boxes before. However, due to CDM design, sometimes the cash got stuck outside the peep-hole of the box (inside the machine), when the security-co open it, the cash fall out.

Last time, when this happens, there are fraud cases happen, where the personnels gang-up and pocket the money. Yes, it happened before. When consumers claim from banks, some with valid receipts (as above) and some not, it is difficult for the bank to investigate, as the "lost" physical money is not found anywhere and it can't just disappear into the machine/sky.

Nowadays, the procedure is to setup a video cam on tripod, and the 3-4 personnel will block off the area. The video will record the CDM being opened, box swapped, and any spare cash to go into the bag also, security cable tie to seal it, without anyone blocking the view.

The bags are open up at the security-co HQ (or main branches), and the bank normally sub-con a 3rd party to break the seal, count the cash and submit report, all under the watchful eye of CCTV.

The fraud cases drop a lot to almost nil.

Back to your questions, you need to do it proper way, to inform bank officially at the counter.

The security personnel collecting the cash will not entertain any Q&A or support-calls. They do not do investigation. They can't pocket or give money to anyone. Any extra cash fall-out, must be inserted into the canvas bag. There cannot be any shortcut here. Otherwise, any Tom, d*** and Harry can bring a receipt over and claim the cash to be given back.

Some may say it makes life difficult, but it is a proper SOP for banks to prevent fraud.

TSraptar_eric
post Oct 29 2012, 07:12 PM

1,367 posts

I have already called the support line and lodged a report. I asked if there is a need to lodge a report physically at the branch, they told me no.

Back to the security guy, he could have opened the box, as in the compartment which we put our cash into and give it back to me. Cos I'm pretty sure the cash got stuck during the machine is counting the notes.

Before my turn, they actually already cleared off the boxes of cash, so its basically empty. Im just afraid they open up the box and take my cash and pocket it themselves. Cos they did open it to fix it after that. They told me they cant pass me the cash as I have to lodge a report.
clement8115
post Oct 29 2012, 07:12 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 28 2012, 02:02 AM)

TS,

Dont worry. You will get the money back. Its just matter of time.

I guess I am damn bad luck with CDM machine. Encounter many times till I am immune to it.
And mine was on a long holiday like festive season (3-4 days)

As the other forumers said,

1) call the helpline immediately to alert
2) remember the amount bank in
3) inform about the machine code/receipt code
**if you deposit the money at the petrol kiosk/malls, you can ask the helpline personnel to trace the machine belongs to
which bank. They can trace it for you cos every machine has their identity.
4) if you bank into the branch, go back to the the branch on the next day to alert them.
5) With the steps taken about, you will definitely get back your money unless they wanna "songlap" your
money. (impossible)

Dont worry ok! You will get back your money. smile.gif

This post has been edited by clement8115: Oct 29 2012, 07:13 PM
feralee
post Oct 29 2012, 09:38 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 29 2012, 07:12 PM)
I have already called the support line and lodged a report. I asked if there is a need to lodge a report physically at the branch, they told me no.

Back to the security guy, he could have opened the box, as in the compartment which we put our cash into and give it back to me. Cos I'm pretty sure the cash got stuck during the machine is counting the notes.

Before my turn, they actually already cleared off the boxes of cash, so its basically empty. Im just afraid they open up the box and take my cash and pocket it themselves. Cos they did open it to fix it after that. They told me they cant pass me the cash as I have to lodge a report.
Tat is the process.
They cannot open & pass the money to u.
U must lodge a complain to the bank.

Don't worry, every transaction will be recorded in the EJ.

Why i know?

Coz i worked with machine vendor before & now currently working with bank tongue.gif

If the machine cash jam, and the machine handle by branch officer then u can ask them to open the machine (during office hour).

TSraptar_eric
post Oct 30 2012, 12:10 AM

1,367 posts

Only worry is, half way counting, machine jam. How will the machine get to record how many pieces of note I actually put in? sad.gif
zeese
post Oct 30 2012, 11:11 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 30 2012, 12:10 AM)
Only worry is, half way counting, machine jam. How will the machine get to record how many pieces of note I actually put in? sad.gif
before you deposits any money, they have a record of how much money is already in the machine. So, when the machine stuck,
they just deduct the total money found in the machine (including any money that doesn't went through the cash box) minus the original amount of money before you start the depositing.

feralee
post Oct 30 2012, 02:17 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 30 2012, 12:10 AM)
The money will go to retract - different from the money deposited unless the money is halfway torn.

Every transaction will recorded, when the shutter open, u press ok/cancel etc.... unless power trip laugh.gif

simonlai61
post Oct 30 2012, 04:07 PM

759 posts

call the bank, nothing can do...just wait~~~

0.0197sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:46 PM