Just would like to start new topic just like deadlift topic..
Please feel free to share any doubts and questions on bench press exercise.. Sharing own progress is also encourage..
Start with me first, ehem..
Today, went to the gym, just to try out one rep max for bench press after 4-5 months..
Currently at 77.5kg, first attempt got 108kg successful lift.. second attempt got 110kg successful lift..but the spotters hand were at the bar..so probably need to repeat the lift later on maybe early next month..
After doing dumbbell bench presses(24kg each) for 3 weeks, even 50kg 2x5reps on the normal bench felt like fuuuu
Don't know why my dumbbell press didn't have much carryover effect. (I was already doing 45kg 5x5 effortlessly before I switched to dumbbell BP for 3 weeks)
Doing a 5x5 scheme for now. Testing it out since I never did it before.
First session 85kg, adding on for next workout.
Tbh I never did a 1 rep max before since I don't have a training partner lol.
Added on October 25, 2012, 9:13 am
QUOTE(deadmau5 @ Oct 25 2012, 01:46 AM)
After doing dumbbell bench presses(24kg each) for 3 weeks, even 50kg 2x5reps on the normal bench felt like fuuuu
Don't know why my dumbbell press didn't have much carryover effect. (I was already doing 45kg 5x5 effortlessly before I switched to dumbbell BP for 3 weeks)
Fastest way to increase poundages imo is using barbell. Db to barbell won't have much carryover since you're training stabilizing muscles which isn't used as much for barbell presses.
Switch back to barbell, cut weight back by a few lbs and start over.
This post has been edited by mikehuan: Oct 25 2012, 09:13 AM
Being a victim to Tendonitis (still am), switching over to DBs really don't do much. I can vouch also that microloading for barbell bench press is a lot better. Gives a mental boost too.
And like mike said, you may want to cut back abit. Or you're either doing some program for a while now and due for a change. When the body gets used to a certain type/method of stress, it'll just easily adapt to it.
Here is some of the tips found on the stronglifts 5x5 regarding bench pressing tips:
5 Tips to Improve Bench Press Technique: 1. Keep proper arch to your back, an arched back creates a decline pressing position and everybody knows you can decline press more weight then incline or flat. It does this by giving your body more leverage and cuts the total distance the bar has to travel by nearly half.
2. Keep the proper grip width, If you grip too narrow you won’t be able to lift as much as you will be recruiting more triceps and lest chest, too wide and you will not be able to do as much weight, and you will get less travel. You want your forearms perpendicular to the floor when the bar is touching your chest.
3. Lock in your back, I picture my lats squeezing together so hard that they actually pinch the bench. If you can keep your back tight and strong it will provide the optimal platform for when you are pushing all of that weight off of your chest. Also be sure to get your rear shoulders as flat to the bench as possible, again this just adds to the strength of the platform that you are pressing from.
4. Keep your feet in a wide stance, this will give you more stability and a stronger platform to push from. There are two placement positions that can give you great results, one is to keep your feet flat to the ground and the weight of your legs positioned on your heels. The other placement is to put your feet as far behind you as possible even as far so that your feet are nearly directly below your glutes and put all of your leg weight on your toes. The increased leverage can help to increase your bench pressing power and help you to add weight quicker to your bench press.
5. Get the proper grip on the bar, by doing so you will gain more power and control of the weight. Put the bar in the palm of your hand and squeeze the bar tightly, I have heard that if you imagine that you are bending the bar like you can a raw spaghetti noodle you will increase your power in the bench.
Added on October 25, 2012, 10:25 am
QUOTE(pedro @ Oct 25 2012, 08:46 AM)
I wanna reach his level.
Mind to share your current progress maybe? You're darlight79's training partner right?
This post has been edited by Seasick85: Oct 25 2012, 10:25 AM
Max i can go is 40kg. Just started since last week. I also dont have a training partner but on the last set, i just ask anyone who are free at that time to be my spotter.. Muka tebal but lantakla
My weight is also around 40kg when I first started..don't be shy to ask for spotter since you never know when will the bar be trapping you down there..in fact this is how we do it in the gym.. no harm done plus you'll make good networking inside the gym as well..
Mind to ask you, are you a girl or guy? From your avatar is a girl? For a girl to be benching 40kg is considered as very good
Added on October 25, 2012, 11:17 am
QUOTE(pedro @ Oct 25 2012, 12:06 PM)
Correct but am not really progressing,stuck at about 100kgsX6 cause rotator cuff is acting up.
Pretty good..how long have you been benching? I'm currently somewhere at 5-6 reps for 100kg as well..depends on the condition during that time..rotator issue have been bugging bench pressers for quite some time..maybe it's bcoz you going to low as touching the chest? Have you tried some rotator exercises?
You doing Smith or free weights?
This post has been edited by Seasick85: Oct 25 2012, 11:17 AM
as i don't have any partner as a spotter at the gym... my progress is quite slow compared to last year when i do have partner.. i never do 1RM. and i used power rack as my bench presses safety measure.. if i failed.. at least the bar will catch it for me..hehe.. btw.. my highest achievement is at 95KG 3 reps.. the 4 rep i dah failed.. nasib baik ada bar.. few inches from my chest. lege..
Just want to ask..normally for chest.. i do flat bench press (barbell or dumbell), incline (barbell or dumbell),fly (machine/ dumbell), pullover etc... do we necessarily need to do decline benchpress.. i replaced it with only dips.. cause my gym don't have decline bench.
Pretty good..how long have you been benching? I'm currently somewhere at 5-6 reps for 100kg as well..depends on the condition during that time..rotator issue have been bugging bench pressers for quite some time..maybe it's bcoz you going to low as touching the chest? Have you tried some rotator exercises?
You doing Smith or free weights?
Long time! Screwed my rotator cuff climbing actually. Both also can but smith I can go heavier!
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 25 2012, 11:36 AM)
Liar. Even with cuff problems you bench heavier than that. And it's bench day today. I don't think wanna for supersets. No mood.
as i don't have any partner as a spotter at the gym... my progress is quite slow compared to last year when i do have partner.. i never do 1RM. and i used power rack as my bench presses safety measure.. if i failed.. at least the bar will catch it for me..hehe.. btw.. my highest achievement is at 95KG 3 reps.. the 4 rep i dah failed.. nasib baik ada bar.. few inches from my chest. lege..
Just want to ask..normally for chest.. i do flat bench press (barbell or dumbell), incline (barbell or dumbell),fly (machine/ dumbell), pullover etc... do we necessarily need to do decline benchpress.. i replaced it with only dips.. cause my gym don't have decline bench.
That's quite an achievement too.. Actually I dun think that a spotter is a necessity in order to progress for the bench press..in fact for any exercise.. A spotter only helps you when you're about to fail or testing out one rep max.. Progress actually depends a lot on your training regime and off course diet and rest..
You know, I only used flat bench press as main exercise to improve my bench press.. sometimes I do incline but the only difference is that you are actually utilizing front shoulder muscles during incline more compare to flat, so the incline I substituted with front shoulder and lateral shoulder exercise..i don't do machines as well not to mention pull over.. That too me just adds more volume to the chest..unless you've not really push your bench to the limit..
I used to do declines before this, but since I learned the arching way of bench press. now I don't do declines anymore..its the same thing as trying to further exhaust your chest while I can do it during flat bench...
Dips are good, you mean that you did decline dips? Its the same as decline bench so yeah..
Other parts that supports my bench press numbers are triceps, back, traps and good form which I do separately on different days.. eg shoulder presses, close grip bench, bent rows, deadlifts, hammers etc..