Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V5, RM2299 It's here!! Woohoo!!!!!

joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 01:03 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(incognit0 @ Oct 22 2012, 12:34 PM)
New owner reported in..tit gray
Last night I off my devices and charged whole night
This morning I only got like 69 percents of battery after unplugged and switch it on
Anyone eexperienced the same problem as well?
Being pedantic here, but for heaven's sake, the proper contraction for Titanium is Ti and not the first 3 letters...... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 02:39 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Oct 22 2012, 02:32 PM)
Let me see..

On about 3 hours now. Streaming Mix FM and Tune Radio until now. 85% battery left. Of course some web browsing from time to time as well.

Added on October 22, 2012, 2:34 pmGuys, I am just curious (again).

For those flashers, do you noticed that ARHD suddenly received a spike in users? First of all, Omega is leading prior before launching. Now, ARHD is catching up real close and not bad...

Only haven't try is HyperNote.
On omega forlast 2 days. So far so good,using just like stock(or bloaty according to uncle). Whole day ligt use still got abt 40% at midnight.
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 04:16 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 22 2012, 04:11 PM)
i think it was mentioned in the last version of this thread... someone also said nail polish remover... or sth like that...

but yes, there is a risk the screen can get damaged...

so how? go back to licking the screen... heh heh...
Hi all, yes I was the one who made the remark to use alcohol and nail polish remover. Since these 2 substances seem unhealthy for the screen, anyone tried CRC contact cleaner? It's used for cleaning electronics and leaves no residue.

I use it to spray on chips to rub off heatsink compound. Very clean.

Licking is bad for the overall health of your device due to water content in saliva. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 22 2012, 04:17 PM
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 09:41 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(gouken @ Oct 22 2012, 09:29 PM)
Thermoplastic polyurethane...those soft soft bendable plastic...mine dont have, at first no scratch but after a month I took out to clean...aiyoma, sell oso hard at garage sale sigh
Bro, do you mean that the TPU sucks dirt and keeps it stuck to the phone body? Anything bad happening Note2 with TPU?
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 09:51 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(bluebeary @ Oct 22 2012, 09:31 PM)
My minimalism set up. Don't like icons to cluster my wall smile.gif

That's real minimalist. My phone screen is chock full of widgets and icons for 1 page view of as much info as possible.
Used to having a HUD from playing flight sims. cool2.gif
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 09:57 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Oct 22 2012, 09:53 PM)
Nice meh? I don't like such games >.< Even Order and Chaos also I feel sien jor  tongue.gif
Coin and Cleavage !!!! How can you be sien with that !
brows.gif
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 10:06 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 22 2012, 10:00 PM)

Added on October 22, 2012, 10:01 pm

this even more graphics.
Ah....FPS make me dizzy. Top isometric RPGs are fine.
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 11:58 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 22 2012, 11:47 PM)
I downloaded the flash loader (or something) thingy and now it invites quite a lot spam ads. How to disable the ads? sleep.gif
QUOTE(kembar4 @ Oct 22 2012, 11:47 PM)
There is no need to install any antivirus. Just be careful when downloading apps. If you get it from google play store, it should be relatively safe. If you are getting it from questionable sources, then google the file and see what others are saying.

Antivirus is a waste of your device's battery and processing power. Never used one and didn't get infected.
Actually, BEFORE you install anything, look at the App's Permissions. This is ALWAYS shown to you before installing.

Be wary of apps that need to make SMS or Phone calls or Full Network access, if they do not actually have those functions.
For example, some wallpaper apks need Phone Status and Full Network access, which is quite fishy.

Best kind of apps are those that "Needs no special permissions to run".

For launcher apps, they need to make SMS and Phone calls because, well, it launches your SMS and Phone app.

Some games also make all kinds of permissions, partly coz they are adware....
For the paranoid, you can install LBE Privacy Guard, or wait till someone ports Pdroid for GN2.

Basic ad-killing will work with root and AdFree, a free app.

Added on October 22, 2012, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 22 2012, 11:57 PM)
Download AddsOn Detector app from market. Install and let the app scan all your apps. Once finished..you can know which app responsible bringing the push ads. Freeze or un-install that app.
Hmm, new to me, I'll give that a spin.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 22 2012, 11:59 PM
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 12:10 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2012, 12:06 AM)
But that's the app recommended by somebody here to use flash on JellyBean?
Seemingly, you should get from the xda forum since it's posted by devs:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1850772

and I think this is the MAIN thread for Android Flash:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1774336

joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 12:15 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2012, 12:06 AM)
But that's the app recommended by somebody here to use flash on JellyBean?
I just downloaded it and installing, the only permission it asks for is Network Communications (View network connections).

If yours has more, then, ah, recommend to junk it.
If it's the same, I suggest you root and install AdFree. Works most of the time.
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 12:18 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Oct 23 2012, 12:14 AM)
The main Flash for Android forum is this one, I think all the other device forums point or take the attachment from here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1774336
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 12:27 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 23 2012, 12:22 AM)
It's OK, my previous loader still works. Though the Addons Detector shows it is one of the culprits. Freeze it already, no more headache. For now. laugh.gif

Oh, I just used Addons Detector and it shows that Flash only has Developer Tools permissions, no AdMob or anything. Heheh, where did you get your Flash apk.....

Added on October 23, 2012, 12:28 am
QUOTE(nud_karo @ Oct 23 2012, 12:23 AM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M5RpWHDFAEs

sifu2..can i follow this video to root my note 2?
JFDI....and tell us the results.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 23 2012, 12:28 AM
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 12:39 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 23 2012, 12:33 AM)
That's odd. You mean Flash player really bring in ads..?
APKs are basically a form of zip file. If you rename it to zip you can actually extract the contents. It also contains instructions like the windows inf files, so if you did not get your apk from a pristine source, anything could be in the instructions....

So, read your app permissions before allowing an install.
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 12:45 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Oct 23 2012, 12:40 AM)
dl flash player is as simple as this? unsure.gif

yep...note the permissions...only 1
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 12:50 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 23 2012, 12:49 AM)
Meaning fruitie got corrupt apk..? Bwahaha.. laugh.gif
Next time install apk from official website only. Even xda member sometimes upload corrupted apk/zip files.
Caveat emptor...
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 01:17 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 23 2012, 01:16 AM)
Welcome to the free world. No restriction thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
+1000 to that. No restrictions. Free as in speech.
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 01:19 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Oct 23 2012, 01:17 AM)
i hav sgs since 2 years ago and never used any custom rom sad.gif
Ah, then that is a waste of the general purpose computing device which you paid 2k for.....hopefully you will now realise (AND USE) the power in the palm of your hand (or the pocket of your pants)...
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 03:59 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 23 2012, 03:46 PM)
how u know ori? so to prevent misunderstand avoid going to such topic lor
It's covered under the legal category called "Fair Use". I know US, UK and France have such laws....here.......depends on how the entertainment industry lobbied the government.
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 04:19 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 23 2012, 04:15 PM)
directtv thingie? See got how many interested got i ask seller and see. If got 10 then easier to nego
I'm just curious if the other phone threads (eg S2, S3, ip4/4s/5 etc) have as much bulk requests.

However, this allshare thingy seems worth having maggi for.....but I'm budgeting for my holiday next month...sigh....well, let's see what's the nego'd price.
joytest
post Oct 23 2012, 05:53 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fik92 @ Oct 23 2012, 05:50 PM)
apex launcher + sphere theme + zooper widget pro
Yay to Apex !!