Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V5, RM2299 It's here!! Woohoo!!!!!

joytest
post Oct 25 2012, 01:14 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 25 2012, 01:09 AM)
i tried 8GB class 4 phone was lagging badly. Thats why i opt to go buy the class 10

Added on October 25, 2012, 1:10 am

32GB class 10 sandisk microSDHC ultra is smooth on my note 2 no noticable lag at all.
Okay, nice to hear. Was the lag on the 8gb caused by the int2ext swap thing? Or was it just regular use as extSD?
joytest
post Oct 25 2012, 01:59 AM

13,188 posts

Hi all, see this comparison of GS3, Huawei Quad XL, LG 4X and some Tegra3 phone.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Calves-and-...Tegra-3_id35768

Despite an overall win from the LG 4x due to S4Pro, the margin is not by much. And also note that S4/S4PRo is a homebrew A15-like architecture and not pure A15.
So if Note3 is out with true A15 Quadcore....ah......
Honorable mention to Huawei for good performance on its 1st try at homebrewing as well.

Additionally, Anandtech reviewed the Note2:
http://www.anandtech.com/print/6386

Lots of interesting tech info including LTE radios etc.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 25 2012, 02:09 AM
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 02:18 PM

13,188 posts

My personal keyboard recommendation:

Hacker's Keyboard. Full QWERTY emulation with Fn keys and all symbols, configurable popup time for symbol switch.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ckeyboard&hl=en

It's perfect on the Note/Note2 screen, all keys reachable.

No more swapping back and forth Sym.

BTW :

FREE FREE FREE

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 26 2012, 02:20 PM
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 02:34 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 26 2012, 02:28 PM)
how's the haptic feedback? the actual and ONLY reason im on samsung keyboard is because of the crisp haptic feeedback that no others have.

if this has it, im going for it
You can configure almost anything you want, including haptic feedback.... see screenshots
Personally I don't like haptic feedback on a touchscreen kbd, so I don't use it.

Added on October 26, 2012, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(vostro78 @ Oct 26 2012, 02:33 PM)
Going to test out full day 3g with open aec detector along the highway. See how well the program capture speed trap machine for me.
On your return journey can you test out Waze, whether it has AES spots marked out too?

Waze coz it's crowdsourced, so it improves with more people using instead of depending on a single developer to update.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 26 2012, 02:35 PM
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 02:40 PM

13,188 posts

US Law approves of Jailbreaking for Smartphones but not tablets...duh....

http://www.slashgear.com/dmca-exemption-ma...%28SlashGear%29

............Concerning the legality of jailbreaking: while unlocking smartphones is legal, performing the same actions with a tablet is not. The reason? The definition of “tablet” is too broad at the moment. According to the ruling, “…an e-book reading device might be considered a ‘tablet,’ as might a handheld video game device or a laptop computer.” It was ruled that there is insufficient basis for developing a definition for tablets, which is necessary in order to apply the jailbreaking exemption currently given to smartphones.........

what about "phablets" ? rclxub.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 26 2012, 02:41 PM
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 05:29 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 26 2012, 05:23 PM)
I am using waze. Need data but got added advantage especially if u travel around klang Valley.
Actually after you've downloaded the map data via wifi, you can actually run around WITHOUT DATA. This just makes Waze equivalent to your regular GPS, with waypoints etc etc.

What you get when you enable data is the LIVE TRAFFIC info, update and view hazards/police and you can ping and chat other Wazers to ask them about traffic conditions, strike up senseless chatter, get a date etc.....
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 05:41 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(cheonwai @ Oct 26 2012, 05:35 PM)
Bro, this keyboard no Chinese language?
No, ZH is not a built in language. If you want to you can actually set the Hacker's keyboard icon to appear on tap and then change to Samsung built in or any other enabled input method to write Chinese.
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 05:49 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 26 2012, 05:43 PM)
As joytest stated,  waze allow user to input info about the traffic such as roadblock,  accident, roadworks, camera trap, jam, etc. Also its map is not that bad just lacking poi. That said,  waze is not really a safe app to use. It may have its good intentions but can cause accidents if the driver concentrate on giving info instead of driving.  tongue.gif
Well, Waze has a disclaimer against the driver inputting info, and provides an option to say you are PASSENGER, so you can't sue waze if you got into an accident while inputting info.

Waze does have quick update buttons, so you're only 3 touches away from updating with Hazard, Police, Camera, Jam.

Anyway, people shouldn't be idiots for texting while driving. Darwinism works in this case whistling.gif ......

joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 07:18 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fghvbn @ Oct 26 2012, 06:44 PM)
Anyway to stream video from my Laptop to my Note 2 ? >_> lazy to keep upload and transfer from my Hard Disk
Use tonido. Run your own cloud.
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 09:49 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Oct 26 2012, 09:34 PM)
Note II arrived

Congrats. Have a nice time playing with it.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 26 2012, 09:50 PM
joytest
post Oct 26 2012, 11:48 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 26 2012, 11:24 PM)
Try not to sell your N8. The N8 camera still beats N2 camera by like 10 times.

N2 everything else is good except da camera.

Sifu this taken by N8

Here a photo i took with GN2 and Nokia N8
Right,keeping my N8 as a spare emergency browser,and as you advise,a handy backup camera.
joytest
post Oct 27 2012, 12:14 AM

13,188 posts

All, an idea for custom case.

I see some of us spend a fortune on cases, and the bummer is the need to change it with every new model. I was quite sad when I had to let go my melkco along with my Note1. Now looking at all the Zenus and whatnot out there. I'm wondering whether any of you know people or shops who can make custom cases.

My idea is for a generic (and nice) case design with a large blank back flap with VELCRO. Then when Note3/4/5 comes out (we would expect approx same size), we get some Nilkin or Rock whatever slim TPU/slim hardcase and velcro it to this generic case.

That's my idea. Any takers?
joytest
post Oct 27 2012, 12:23 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Oct 27 2012, 12:19 AM)
Adds at least half a cm, no thanks smile.gif
Well, this idea's not for those that want svelte slims. My idea admittedly adds bulk, but that's not something I mind for a device this size.

I saw there was some Seidio waterproof case for GS3. If there was one for the Note2, I'd get that in a heartbeat.
joytest
post Oct 27 2012, 01:16 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 27 2012, 01:01 AM)
so means it supports all. Who was the one that said LTE not supported in malaysia.
If I'm not mistaken, I will read that screenshot as such: with an LTE phone, because it has ALL RADIOS, it will auto-switch bands as shown in Xabrius' screenshot.
So you "can" use an LTE phone here but it will only use the 3G/HSDPA frequencies.

I read also that the N7105 supports ALL BANDS of LTE....800/1800/2600 plus something else I can't recall, so perhaps there is a chance that 7105 will work with our celcos, UNLESS they choose some magical non-industry available frequency in the spirit of Malaysia Boleh.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 27 2012, 01:17 AM
joytest
post Oct 27 2012, 01:20 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Red Tsubasa @ Oct 27 2012, 01:15 AM)
Mine - rear GKFI03
Same version here. Interesting options that command opens. Titanium SME set.

Wonder if there's one to check the custom firmware counter like this ?

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 27 2012, 01:21 AM
joytest
post Oct 27 2012, 01:52 AM

13,188 posts

Anyone tried Wanamlite 1.4? Based on HK LJ7. I'm thinking of trying coz Omega 4.0 seems to regularly consume 1.2Gb RAM.

I use Quick System Info Pro 2.1.3 to display stats. It's also only showing 2 CPUs...anyone get the same ?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0636sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:40 PM