Lego Warfare
post Jan 12 2014, 06:44 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 12 2014, 03:17 PM)
Looks nice..

But price over rm2k?? ohmy.gif
Definitely.. Price should be around RM2,600 to RM3,000.
un_id
post Jan 12 2014, 06:51 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 12 2014, 06:44 PM)
Definitely.. Price should be around RM2,600 to RM3,000.
wow.. must wait for review.. if this SQ at par with other high-end portable amp, why not.. DAP+AMP in one place. furthermore it looks slim and sexy, while other current high-end DAP often looks bulky and ugly
Lego Warfare
post Jan 12 2014, 07:02 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 12 2014, 06:51 PM)
wow.. must wait for review.. if this SQ at par with other high-end portable amp, why not.. DAP+AMP in one place. furthermore it looks slim and sexy, while other current high-end DAP often looks bulky and ugly
Lol, i still prefer AK100/120 aesthetics though since it has an analogue feeling to it... the Z1 has excellent build and is nice looking, but looks just like most of the smartphones out there to me.
There are quite a lot of reviews on the Z1 already, some preferring it to AK120.
Considering SQ capability with their UI and features, i'd say Z1 is a really good buy. You can also consider the F886 which some said is almost similar with the Z1.
un_id
post Jan 13 2014, 12:02 AM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 12 2014, 07:02 PM)
Lol, i still prefer AK100/120 aesthetics though since it has an analogue feeling to it... the Z1 has excellent build and is nice looking, but looks just like most of the smartphones out there to me.
There are quite a lot of reviews on the Z1 already, some preferring it to AK120.
Considering SQ capability with their UI and features, i'd say Z1 is a really good buy. You can also consider the F886 which some said is almost similar with the Z1.
pftt… after much reading.. i think i'm poisoned.. by the beauty of NWZ-ZX1… blush.gif i hope they gonna release 64gb model at a much cheaper price tag.

well.. i wonder, wouldn't Sony will embark into "audiophile smartphone"?.. i mean, many smartphones company try to emphasis on camera, try to reach up higher and higher.. but, why not emphasis on audio.. if the XZ1 made into a smartphone, i will surely buy it. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by un_id: Jan 13 2014, 12:05 AM
un_id
post Jan 16 2014, 12:20 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

got a pair of comply foam eartip for my XBA3.. put it on and try.. it tame down the treble a bit, and the bass impact still tight and abundant.. now the treble is not create much sibilance to my ear.. in fact, the treble sounds wow, never heard this kind of treble extension and sparkles on other earphones before.. i really enjoy listening to drums on this earphones..
widget
post Jan 16 2014, 04:19 PM

1,156 posts

Sony NWZ-ZX1 will be available in Singapore this February with RRP S$899
Hopefully I'll receive my Roxanne in February also

NWZ-ZX1

This post has been edited by widget: Jan 16 2014, 04:24 PM
TSwkkm007
post Jan 16 2014, 11:42 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Jan 16 2014, 02:19 PM)
Sony NWZ-ZX1 will be available in Singapore this February with RRP S$899 
Hopefully I'll receive my Roxanne in February also

NWZ-ZX1
899 Singapore Dollar equals
2328.18 Malaysian Ringgit brows.gif
Lego Warfare
post Jan 17 2014, 07:22 PM

4,676 posts

Finally tried the H1, H2, H3 and F886.

Source: AK100MK2.

H1 bass is quite bloated and a little loose. Not much control and tightness. Mids are a bit laid back and treble is not apparent at all. I wouldn't pay 499 for this..

H2 does much better. The bass is deeper, tighter and more controlled. Mids is not forward nor too behind. Warm and smooth presentation with little treble response. Definitely better than H1.

H3 has a more apparent treble presence. Bass is as deep, tight and controlled as the H2, though at times It feels that the H2 is slightly better at handling the bass. Mids has a more upper range presence and not as warm as H2. This gives better clarity and details compared to H2. Treble is more apparent and blends well making the H3 more versatile compared to H2.

Overall the H2 and H3 is quite enjoyable. Details and separation is definitely not on par with higher BA types like SE535 or W4R, but for those seeking for a good amount of bass without giving up some of the clarity and details from the higher frequency range, the H3 is not a bad choice.
However I do find them to be lacking in PRaT when it comes to fast paced songs.

F886 has a really sweet UI. Quite tempted to get 1 just for that reason lol.
Sound wise I didn't find anything standing out compared to the AK100, but considering I only had their sample songs to test out my impression doesn't really count.
merajey
post Feb 10 2014, 10:15 AM

454 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 17 2014, 07:22 PM)
Finally tried the H1,  H2, H3 and F886.

Source: AK100MK2.

H1 bass is quite bloated and a little loose. Not much control and tightness. Mids are a bit laid back and treble is not apparent at all. I wouldn't pay 499 for this..

H2 does much better. The bass is deeper, tighter and more controlled. Mids is not forward nor too behind. Warm and smooth presentation with little treble response. Definitely better than H1.

H3 has a more apparent treble presence. Bass is as deep, tight and controlled as the H2, though at times It feels that the H2 is slightly better at handling the bass. Mids has a more upper range presence and not as warm as H2. This gives better clarity and details compared to H2. Treble is more apparent and blends well making the H3 more versatile compared to H2.

Overall the H2 and H3 is quite enjoyable. Details and separation is definitely not on par with higher BA types like SE535 or W4R, but for those seeking for a good amount of bass without giving up some of the clarity and details from the higher frequency range, the H3 is not a bad choice.
However I do find them to be lacking in PRaT when it comes to fast paced songs.

After reading your review I have in doubt to buy the H1. Should I or should not expand my budget to H2?
Lego Warfare
post Feb 10 2014, 06:43 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Feb 10 2014, 10:15 AM)
After reading your review I have in doubt to buy the H1. Should I or should not expand my budget to H2?
That depends on the genre of songs you like and sound signature you prefer? What I hear might be different from what you hear.
but for me, given the price of H1 and H2 I'd take a look at other options before deciding.
merajey
post Feb 10 2014, 10:50 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 10 2014, 06:43 PM)
That depends on the genre of songs you like and sound signature you prefer? What I hear might be different from what you hear.
but for me, given the price of H1 and H2 I'd take a look at other options before deciding.
The problem is, the nearest sony style store did not provide any demo test unit for Sony XBA H series. Currently planning to buy either Sony XBA H1 or JVC FTX90
lincm
post Feb 10 2014, 11:23 PM

61 posts

Recommend to hear them before buying, the sound might not be for everyone although I do find the H1 good for the pricing (I assume that you will still pay MRSP for earphones) and it will worth slightly less excluding the accessories if you are used to pay for street price for most gears you use.

I like to add one thing with my listening experience on the last weekend, I notice that the H3 are no longer as Bassy as I mentioned the last time, and the H1 are no longer as clear as the other time too. It could be the burn-in of the earphones tone up/down the frequency range but I have not spent enoug time to listen to them. I do find myself liking the Sony EX800ST than both the H1 and H3, I did not try the H2 this time though.

The other thing to note that the flexible cable technology found on the older EX600/800/1000 on the H3 are good quality compare to the H3, the H3 flexible cable is thinner and also less flexible (would not stay in desire shape) and feels more rubbery.

jonoave
post Feb 12 2014, 06:56 AM

659 posts

Hi all, this is my first post here in the audiophiles forum. I'm a fan of Sony, started quite a bit of years ago when I got my first portable mp3 player. Can't remember the model. But it looks like a giant USB and metal silver, and the LED display was on directly on that metallic surface. I was blown away by the design and sound quality of it. Especially when I compared with someone else's MP3 player. That's when I started to appreciate sound quality. When the earphones went kaput, I got another similar pair for RM60 + (which is quite a big amount for me as a student and the most I've spent).

My subsequent Sony products:
1. The portable wireless over-ear mp3 player (1st generation) for sports. Again, unique and interesting design. But sound quality is just so-so.
2. sony xperia s.
3. MH1c. I actually got this cos I thought I lost the earphones that came with my xperia. But then I found it again later. It was after buying it that I saw many reviews praising it. I still can't tell if it's really amazing, but SQ it's quite good lah. The only thing I dislike is the cable and mic dragging it down.

Anyway, my main question is that I"m planning to get a nw-f886 player, mostly for listening at work (using an macbook pro) or while travelling/walking. The reason is I want an Internet capable player to stream from Music Unlimited at work. Does anyone know if the player also supports Ogg? I'm also planning to add my music library which is mostly in Ogg. If not I will convert them to 320 kbs mp3.

Questions:
1. Do you think the SQ of the f886 will be a big upgrade from my current mbp?
2. I heard the stock IEM that comes with it isn't so good. Any suggestions to pair with it? Is the MH1c good enough?
3. When does Sony Malaysia usually have sales on their audio products? Or is it totally unpredictable?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by jonoave: Feb 12 2014, 07:00 AM
lincm
post Feb 15 2014, 05:08 PM

61 posts

@jonoave

Sometimes the Sony will have promotion on the audio gears, last year during Hari Raya there is 30% off the XBA 10 and 40, not the 30 though.

I now have the Sony Legendary SA5000 and the Discontinued and Uniquely designed Sony PFR-V1 for sale.

Pm me for details.

Bump it if you like to hear impression or review on these smile.gif

This post has been edited by lincm: Feb 15 2014, 05:09 PM
jonoave
post Feb 15 2014, 06:13 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(lincm @ Feb 15 2014, 12:08 PM)
@jonoave

Sometimes the Sony will have promotion on the audio gears, last year during Hari Raya there is 30% off the XBA 10 and 40, not the 30 though.

I now have the Sony Legendary SA5000 and the Discontinued and Uniquely designed Sony PFR-V1 for sale.

Pm me for details.

Bump it if you like to hear impression or review on these smile.gif
Thanks for your reply. Thing is, I'm studying in Germany now. And the f886 cost 300 euros here. Plus apparently in EU there is a regulation on max volume from audio devices which some ppl claim can lead to sound distortion.

Sony Germany doesn't seem be as active as Sony Malaysia and don't really have lots of promotions. sweat.gif
I might be coming back end of the year, so I'm hoping there will be sale then. If they have promotion at other times, it might be a bit difficult for me.

As for headphones, I found out that I hate headphones (my ears feel really warm and uncomfortable after 20 minutes), and I don't like the grip of the headphone. So I only use earphones. The Sony PFR-V1 looks interesting, but some reviews mentioned issues with fit and comfort, and I'm very wary of that. Maybe I might reconsider later.

And yes, I'd like to hear your impressions of PFR-V1. Some say that the XBA-H3 is great to pair with the f886 (hi-res audio).
1. How would you compare between them?
2. How's the fit and comfort of it, especially for long periods? I'm wary of something that clamps onto the side of your head.. (I think i have a big head..hahaha).

Edit, never mind. I just realised the PFR-V1 has a distance between your ears and the phones. I plan to use this in the office, and it would be distracting to other ppl around me and myself since i will hear ppl talking and other noises around me.

This post has been edited by jonoave: Feb 15 2014, 08:17 PM
dannygeni
post Feb 15 2014, 06:37 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Feb 15 2014, 06:13 PM)
Thanks for your reply. Thing is, I'm studying in Germany now. And the f886 cost 300 euros here. Plus apparently in EU there is a regulation on max volume from audio devices which some ppl claim can lead to sound distortion.

Sony Germany doesn't seem be as active as Sony Malaysia and don't really have lots of promotions.  sweat.gif
I might be coming back end of the year, so I'm hoping there will be sale then. If they have promotion at other times, it might be a bit difficult for me.

As for headphones, I found out that I hate headphones (my ears feel really warm and uncomfortable after 20 minutes), and I don't like the grip of the headphone. So I only use earphones. The Sony PFR-V1 looks interesting, but some reviews mentioned issues with fit and comfort, and I'm very wary of that. Maybe I might reconsider later.
Saw sony website f886@rm999
jonoave
post Feb 15 2014, 07:57 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Feb 15 2014, 01:37 PM)
Saw sony website f886@rm999
I know! Regret I didn't think of buying portable media player when I went back last time. Only last week started to think I want to get a player. cry.gif
dannygeni
post Feb 15 2014, 08:27 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Feb 15 2014, 07:57 PM)
I know! Regret I didn't think of buying portable media player when I went back last time. Only last week started to think I want to get a player.  cry.gif
Just launch not long I think. Just saw it last week available in sony website
jonoave
post Feb 15 2014, 08:48 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Feb 15 2014, 03:27 PM)
Just launch not long I think. Just saw it last week available in sony website
Yeah, I think so. Actually last week I was googling around and found the f805, that looked decent enough. But then when I went to sony website it's not available anymore, and it seems to be discontinued and replaced with 886.

If I had thought of getting a player last time I would have gotten the 805, I wanted a player with internet capabilities.

The next time I'm going back to Malaysia is probably in December.. cry.gif
lincm
post Feb 18 2014, 08:21 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Feb 15 2014, 06:13 PM)

Sony Germany doesn't seem be as active as Sony Malaysia and don't really have lots of promotions.  sweat.gif

And yes, I'd like to hear your impressions of PFR-V1. Some say that the XBA-H3 is great to pair with the f886 (hi-res audio).
1. How would you compare between them?
2. How's the fit and comfort of it, especially for long periods? I'm wary of something that clamps onto the side of your head.. (I think i have a big head..hahaha).

Edit, never mind. I just realised the PFR-V1 has a distance between your ears and the phones. I plan to use this in the office, and it would be distracting to other ppl around me and myself since i will hear ppl talking and other noises around me.
Just to answer you anyway.

You cannot use the PFR V1 with your colleague behind you. They can hear everything you hear with a reasonable volume.

The comfort depends on how you wear it, although generally I would not wear it continuously for an hour. I'll take them of every 20 minutes for a short rest. The Bass tubes sitting on your ear is the cause.

No clamping force was felt, zero clamp.

The sound impression will come later. But it sound more like speaker than headphones due to the sound can bounces off your surrounding.

Sony products are generally cheaper in Malaysia than Europe by a shear amount in my experience in the UK.

70 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:54 AM