11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

○ Galaxy Nexus V19 ○, The Nexus Lineage | with Jelly Bean 4.2

springfall
post Oct 25 2012, 12:18 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Oct 25 2012, 02:05 PM)
Then how come i can ota n keep my root, i install cwm thru toolkit, but rooted using cwm superuser zip file..not rmmbr the file name
then why u complain if u survive OTA with root?

OTA with root will survive if you are using super user with survive mode on
(where OTA will not unroot, because before OTA, superuser will temp unroot itself)
or u used some app to help make the root survive.

and i doubt u did an OTA with CWM as Your recovery sector
IT WILL FAIL, unless u can prove with a youtube video, showing u booting fastboot >CWM >reboot >OTA >success
then I will let u meet me and i take u kopitiam
or else dun bring any confusion to the new users, tats unless u want to help them answer questions

and by the way, booting and flashing superuser after OTA does not count as survive root or OTA with CWM in.

Hate to say this but we need to hammer some principles here
OTA will not be successful and will show a red error if you had done the following:

-your phone is with a custom recovery (CWM or TWRP)
-you moded your system files or any other mod
-you flashed a custom kernal
-you flashed a custom rom
-pressed 1-Click for All in the galaxy nexus toolkit (any version)

if you did any of this then don't complain cannot OTA

Added on October 25, 2012, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(LiMi @ Oct 25 2012, 02:11 PM)
need to include this in 1st page

question keeps repeating alrdy

*4.2 coming soon.... whistling.gif
will not be around when that happens laugh.gif
will take 4 months leave for holidays and then 1 yr leave when my placement starts..
its all up to newer dai kor to take over thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by springfall: Oct 25 2012, 12:22 PM
springfall
post Oct 25 2012, 05:04 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Oct 25 2012, 05:29 PM)
lolz....seems a lot of ppl used toolkit and select one for all option jsut to root  doh.gif
I see we trained (particularly my fault for writing the main core guide doh.gif ) a bunch of people wrongly...

Not knowing what they are doing, they continue and just flash root etc..

in the end they wan do something and duno what they did previously doh.gif

then when we diagnose, they said they didn't..

then they would be categorise as their hardware problem and deemed special case.. doh.gif

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Oct 25 2012, 06:47 PM)
Appears to be the most straight forward method. The more gangster one will fastboot oem unlock -> fastboot flash recovery clockwork-touch-6.0.1.0-maguro.img -> fastboot boot clockwork-touch-6.0.1.0-maguro.img -> flash CM10. That's what I did with my N7. hehehe
that was fun brows.gif
springfall
post Oct 25 2012, 05:09 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Oct 25 2012, 07:07 PM)
and easier too  tongue.gif
which makes me wonder, why the heck do we need to write a guide????? doh.gif

the days of getting golden card and so for android is gone cry.gif
springfall
post Oct 25 2012, 06:14 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(FuNks @ Oct 25 2012, 07:40 PM)
thanks man haha.but which versionofare you using?
I'm using experimental ones thou.
none of the above.. using LEAN..

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Oct 25 2012, 07:48 PM)

i remb unlocking a HTC device, not flagship some more..
like search till wan die.. stoped at cm7 no support for 9/10
totally agree with unlocking, makes no sense (for uslah, but google still needs to protect end users from data theft)

actually the guide is mostly used for
-getting from yakjuxx to yakju (valid excuse)
-unlocking (valid excuse)
-just rooting (not valid sometimes, just hear root and mistaken better... doh.gif root but no configure how better doh.gif )
-just flashing CWM (valid excuse)

there is a confusion for root and roms which is very very badly mistaken
they think itz a 1 shot custom rom +root = heaven and no problem guarantee..

and those after went custom rom, or rooted not knowing CWM is on board,
still wants OTA doh.gif

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Oct 25 2012, 07:53 PM)
the thing is the they totally no idea wat they did to their phone...

yeah, the dilemma here..

1click for all= root for those user WHO NEVER READ

hope they don't drive..
veli simple press right for gas, left for break, steering to turn..
enter car, hit gas, handbreak rosak... doh.gif

QUOTE(FiziYeoh @ Oct 25 2012, 08:00 PM)
Hi guy, I bought my gnex a month ago but only yesterday I tried NFC with my friend note 2 at first there is no problem sending picture from my phone to his..but when he tried to send something to me play store keep pooping out and written item was not found.. my gnex is job 4.1.2
not sure but is there a option to make the note send stuff in the native android NFC sender..

most probably it is sending through samsung propirity NFC sender which the app is avaliable in samsung store only
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 01:20 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Oct 26 2012, 03:16 AM)
i know right, it wont sell if 8GB, space is too limited, 16GB is just barely enough for most of us....

i guess for 8GB, usable storage probably only around 5GB+ doh.gif
LG purposely force google to 8gb so that their other phones can sell, maybe...

imagine, the gnexus 16gb spec very close to LG flagship, only price cut half (if u know what i mean brows.gif )
who want to buy flagship then rolleyes.gif

same, 5gb usable is die for me..
on average use 10 gb, cannot stream music cuz no unlimited cap plan. sad.gif

Added on October 26, 2012, 1:21 amany1 realised lowyat was down for several hours? brows.gif

This post has been edited by springfall: Oct 26 2012, 01:21 AM
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 02:41 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Oct 26 2012, 04:19 AM)
finally LYN back online!

when think of nexus is verygood..
when think of LG....not really impressed with the hardware quality...
their prada phones are really tight
i tried cracking it open using brute force and it took me long..
not sure about chipset but if casing can take more damage than ip4s, itz a win for me brows.gif
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 09:53 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Oct 26 2012, 11:45 AM)
blame samsung for it S-Beam  doh.gif
another reason to jump cm10 laugh.gif
use the native android NFC brows.gif
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 10:12 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Oct 26 2012, 12:08 PM)
yeah,just updated last night..the goo.im that come with this rom really useful to notified the update.. thumbup.gif
do anyone know how to change sms style maybe whatsap look-a-like layout?.. hmm.gif
theme mods is the way to go i guess.
so far i only managed to changed my sms once to dark type cool2.gif
other than that, i just stay stock.
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 10:35 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Oct 26 2012, 12:29 PM)
yeah..i saw that too..at first thought i will be the same with PER-APP-COLOR PA..
search of pre build dark theme or colored theme roms and gapps
or else find specific mods for the apps, they make alot of colored calendar, phone, contacts, sms. just have to dig.

but if u keep flashing like some of us, it wouldn't make any sense as the mod will not support the newer builds
attached image shows the menu theme mod, nice but will not be supported by aokp b2 onwards.

didnt get to save my sms black mod so..

happy hunting laugh.gif
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 11:02 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 26 2012, 12:55 PM)
reversing phones backward in time
phones gets fatter the newer they are whistling.gif
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 01:55 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Oct 26 2012, 03:51 PM)
Wonder why Titanium Backup data becoming larger and larger even though I deleted the previous backup to re-backup.
u nid to wipe untill backups are 0 for all the last 4 option.
got the same prob last month.
it will not delete as it is a cache spare backup
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 05:26 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(gentman @ Oct 26 2012, 07:19 PM)
i post this earlier...i know where to go for phone setting....when i set it to "WCDMA only" how do i saved this setting and make it stay? dont see a save mode. problem is when i come out of phone setting...it goes back to WCDMA preference....

please teach.
*#*#4636#*#*
phone info
scroll down, select wcdma only
scroll down, from 1st page look for ur alpha numurical SMSC number for ur telco (digi/maxis)
input it in the smsc box
hit update.
hit refresh
hit turn off radio and w8.
then turn back on and test.

if fail, after hit update turn off phone.
then reboot and see the diffrence
springfall
post Oct 26 2012, 06:04 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 26 2012, 07:49 PM)
unsure.gif This won't let the WCDMA Only Setting stick there. It will restore each time you restart the phone.
not for me~~
i did mine with off radio and on radio then can
springfall
post Oct 27 2012, 08:19 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Oct 27 2012, 10:09 AM)

my view, is that finally the isheep mini got a competitor suitable to be on last week launch day..
imagine cook say 'this is the isheep mini, this is the N10'

springfall
post Oct 28 2012, 06:21 AM

4,072 posts

Itz so horrible when u flash a new ROM and play some music while outside and it streams all ur songs..
Cap limit exploded in 1hr..
springfall
post Oct 28 2012, 03:51 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Oct 28 2012, 05:30 PM)
In tempted to flash to yakju. But yakjuxw I heard is localised for Malaysia. What is localised? Gps?
language/restrictions/default area/apn/telco/updates/content/regional settings.
nothing much
springfall
post Oct 28 2012, 06:00 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Oct 28 2012, 07:33 PM)
So if I flash yakju have to set again internet setting bla bla bla,

Gps lock times longer than yakjuxw?
umm, what i mean is that with different variants, it is pre-set to be approved by the local laws and functions
say for example

Japan Docomo network
-needs japanese language
-needs certain frequency for their network
-needs the special japanese app for some local stuff (my set came with an app for something i never knew or underst)

France Télécom
-phones or telecommunication devices sold must abide the government rules of frequency
(they still have certain frequency that is reserved for military)
-language set for them
-emergency dialing may differ

Take DVD/CD's
-dvds sold are locked to region too (0-8 and ALL) read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVD_region_code
-abide local government laws for the viewing maturity and content. PG may be M/R or pg13 in other countries

and so u get the point.
on yakju, itz on international basis and should take all anything but can't guarantee that u don't breach laws.

i don't think u will need to set yakju to have internet blah blah
cuz by your phone will try it's best to find the telco settings

but sometimes it get stuck and hence u need smsc settings and so.

GPS should not be hindered as it is being load using google choice of mapping coordinates
which we all see in google maps and the gps will just track based on that.

not sure if locking will be faster but it depends more on weather and data speeds for me.

in aust, i get clear clouds and fast network (live in city) and numbers of satellites in orbit may be more
but in malaysia, there are more clouds, and depending on telco, network may suck

clouds interfere with signals as there are more resistance and maybe reflected etc
data speed as we know aids the tracking faster and slow= slow tracking
satellites, i will have no comments as im not studying any out of atmospheric related stuff.

springfall
post Oct 28 2012, 06:23 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Oct 28 2012, 08:09 PM)
Don't forget about WIFI region code. US 11 channels, Japan 14 and the rest of the world mostly 13.

It has been a long time so I can't remember Yakju / Yakjuxw wifi region code whether there is difference between the two firmwares.
wifi frecency mention above ma~ laugh.gif
but yeah, u got the point nod.gif
even wifi routers used in AU/US/MY/CN all needs different firmwares each may or may not let u reach diff frequency.
i used my nexus to scan my local wifi area and most used 1-13, thats y i went on 14 using different country firmware

springfall
post Oct 28 2012, 08:34 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Oct 28 2012, 10:31 PM)
No cover, no talk. I won't let my Nexus go naked.  icon_idea.gif
if it wouldn't fit, get a spare case and sand it down a bit with a sand paper.
then extended battery can fit

No guarantees ~ icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 28, 2012, 8:35 pm
QUOTE(ck_iphone @ Oct 28 2012, 10:34 PM)

whats this for??

This post has been edited by springfall: Oct 28 2012, 08:35 PM
springfall
post Oct 28 2012, 08:41 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Oct 28 2012, 10:37 PM)

I'm using SGP Hybrid Neo bro. How to sand it down. Cover like this.  unsure.gif

not sure, mine can, but i dun want to cuz no extended battery..
my case got little hill and if i can sand nicely, it should fit the ext batt too

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Oct 28 2012, 10:36 PM)
wat is this and please use spoiler for long quote  doh.gif
i think he wan show off he is 1 of the 335 users of the gnexus~ laugh.gif

This post has been edited by springfall: Oct 28 2012, 08:41 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:41 AM