Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

iDk
post Jan 9 2009, 04:23 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Jan 9 2009, 12:45 AM)
Been working for more than 10 yrs before I went freelance.
What is your specialty? HSE officer?
iDk
post Jan 15 2009, 01:53 AM

1,124 posts

There are not much different and most likely same as any other industry, big and small company have their pros and cons. In big company, you are nobody (dispensable), small company less benefit but you have the chance to meet the boss or director and discuss things. Again, for fresh, i would advice join mnc company, because small company are trying their way to fight and survive against those mnc company, so the employee in small company need to be elite, smart, correct working attitude and experience in order to contribute to the company, unless the small company not aggressive and everyday happy go luck.

This post has been edited by iDk: Jan 15 2009, 02:33 PM
iDk
post Feb 11 2009, 02:00 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(louishayashi @ Feb 11 2009, 12:32 AM)
Which college are u from?
Hehe...I think u never have that experience of stressing out for assignment and exam to get A in your life...
I'm not comparing Public Uni, for my Uni, if u don do well in your asg, u will definitely get C and below...

Although u do well in asg and u think u know answering all the qn in final, it does not mean u can get A.
It depends on how many minor mistakes you made in your calculations for your final.

Hav u had that experience of doing asg from early morning of 6 till midnight 1 or even 3 (worse case: never sleep) for  consecutive weeks (non-stop)? I bet you never hav tat experience even during your form 6. ( if you hav tat, i think you can understand how hard v survive here.) smile.gif

that is the culture of studying in USM chemE...sigh...
If you don complete asg perfectly, u will for sure get B and below...

FYI, we are always called study freak in our campus by other schools...wat to do? the policy of USM chemE...

Added on February 11, 2009, 12:44 am

Mott MacDonald has a variety of services including OnG consultancy firm...
they hav done a few mega porjects in Malaysia.
For instances, the KL monorail is designed by them..,
The Johor, Asia petroleum hub (that will b the largest petroleum hub in Asia [if not mistaken]) is under construction in Johor asia [ iskandar development project]
SMART project for the traffic.

http://www.mottmac.com/projects/?id=7575

They are more like FEED, EPC designing company..the fields they involved are rather wide.

I think the 2 employees you saw should b engineers working on some projects for offshore or related projects.
blush.gif
I had seen students who just attended classes and listen to lecturer, without much revision, he can get As for most of the subjects. I had seen students who played all year round and get As for most of the subjects. I had seen students who graduated with cgpa of 4. I had seen students who studied their brains out and yet failed most of the subjects. So what does it justify? Nothing much but smarter students and slow learner students, it is not about the amount of time you put into it.
As i know USM got a fake Phd professor entered and guide some master students to do their thesis. In the end, he got exposed and the master students HAVE to redo again their thesis. After all, how can this happen to a Public Uni?

This post has been edited by iDk: Feb 11 2009, 02:07 AM
iDk
post Mar 5 2009, 01:18 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(crapster @ Mar 4 2009, 12:59 PM)
Guys what do you think about this?
1) Subsea Engineer with one of the biggest Operators around. Based in Miri. Salary about 2x more than Option 2 below. Less travelling, more office based.
2) Completion Engineer with one of the Big 4 service companies. Based in KL. More travelling around the region due to hands-on nature of the work.

Which one would you choose? Cheers.
I'm not sure is completion same as commissioning. But i believe option 2 has a bright future in term of career opportunity and pay wise.
iDk
post Mar 12 2009, 11:32 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 12 2009, 08:10 PM)
6 to 9k? Don't you think its rather small?
What do you think the pay should be for a Project Engineer? Or maybe i should ask what is your current receiving basic pay as Project Engineer per month?

Added on March 12, 2009, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(mancy @ Mar 12 2009, 07:24 PM)
it's not a wise decision to jump a boat now during this recession. better stay with present company at least until mid 2010.
btw, i won't work 4 shell ever even if they can pay me a lot.
QUOTE(zeusu @ Mar 12 2009, 10:44 PM)
hmm, what make you say that for shell?
Yes, i would like to know that question too?

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 12 2009, 11:36 PM
iDk
post Mar 14 2009, 12:36 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 13 2009, 08:46 AM)
Well, Im not a project engineer so I cant say how much. But if you are an engineer in O&G sector and you've been offered that kind of salary as an expart which is basically almost similar to a fresh graduate geologist with master in australia, than I think its rather small.
It stated in Malaysia Ringgit and not AUS, what gives you the idea that is an expart job? Anyhow, lets say if an expart job, i still say the pay is handsome, because normally they cover the accommodation, taxes, transport, air fare etc. The pay basically is a clean cut money straight into pocket, so it is still small? Another thing is that it is a Project Engineer position, do you know what is their job nature and work environment like, if directly compare to field engineer, service engineer etc?
iDk
post Mar 14 2009, 12:50 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 14 2009, 12:44 AM)
Well honestly, we would be better off if the offer giver provides us with more information.

But MYR 9k = AUS 3.7k. Not too much for project engineer with some experience. This basic salary is from my own personal experience in the upstream OnG industry.
again, you comparing to upstream of O&G. I think you need to understand what is the project engineer's work scope. It is like comparing roustabout with tool pusher's pay, as simple as that.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 14 2009, 12:51 AM
iDk
post Mar 15 2009, 06:49 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Mar 15 2009, 01:41 AM)
So far I've never seen or met 'experienced' Project Engineer in my company getting anything less than RM12-15k /month. That's r local permanent staff, local but outsourced contractually on project basis wud of coz gets more. Expat?? ...  no need to mention. They r responsible anything from BFD, conceptualization, FEED, etc until... to the commissioning and handing over, regardless upstream or downstream.  Yeah, wud tend to agree 6-9k is a bit on the low side, at least compared to my company. smile.gif
Your company is main con, sub-con or owner side? and the most important question, is your company located in Malaysia? and same as the project engineer position in malaysia? And how long was it ago?

Added on March 15, 2009, 7:03 am
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 15 2009, 02:48 AM)
Well perhaps you can share with me the scope of downstream project engineers.  icon_question.gif  I am too always willing to learn more about the industry. My experience with downstream is my friend's dad who is a mobil supply chain guy.  blush.gif

@TS: Would be better if you could give more details of the offer.
Long story short, all depends on which side you are at, project engineer act as bridge in between people (solve the problem from design stage all the way to site, or one leg kick). By right, most of the things can be done from office, and need not to go site, they have no business at site. So project engineer actually consider is a safe, steady, city live job.

At least that is for me who look at it from sub-con side. Not sure about main con, fabricator, or owner side. Again by right everything is possible to be done from office, and no need to relocate to some hell hole site.

How about you? Mind share some of your upstream job scope and experience? icon_question.gif I am too always willing to learn more about the industry.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 15 2009, 07:10 AM
iDk
post Mar 15 2009, 08:05 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Mar 15 2009, 11:10 AM)
(iDk @ Mar 15 2009, 06:49 AM)
Your company is main con, sub-con or owner side? and the most important question, is your company located in Malaysia? and same as the project engineer position in malaysia? And how long was it ago?

Operator, or going by ur definition, owner. Miri. Current going rate.

Added on March 15, 2009, 7:03 am

Long story short, all depends on which side you are at, project engineer act as bridge in between people (solve the problem from design stage all the way to site, or one leg kick). By right, most of the things can be done from office, and need not to go site, they have no business at site. So project engineer actually consider is a safe, steady, city live job.

At least that is for me who look at it from sub-con side. Not sure about main con, fabricator, or owner side. Again by right everything is possible to be done from office, and no need to relocate to some hell hole site.
How about you? Mind share some of your upstream job scope and experience? icon_question.gif I am too always willing to learn more about the industry.

It should be almost similar regardless of the project scale, office job, scoping and spec'ing the equipments etc. Only go to site during, installation, commissioning and SAT.

Project engineer for the operator side, then i rest my case. It is good to work for the operator side, everything seems bigger; scope, pay, responsibilities etc. But in Malaysia how many operators there are and how many main-con, and sub-cons around. But again, it is not always the case.

Anyway thanks for the input.

Added on March 15, 2009, 8:11 pm
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 15 2009, 07:35 PM)
And what makes you think the 6-9k is clean cut money as you mentioned? I always see offers that give you the gross package, unless it stated otherwise or you yourself demand it to be net during negotiation.
And i dont think its right to say that office job pay is way less than offshore job. Alot off this desk job pays well too. Its the amount of responsibility and  task that define the pay package, not just the work environment alone.

So Do I. And for a company who looks for project engineer from other country, Im pretty sure they are looking for someone with decent experience, not a fresh-grade that they need to teach.
Again, I wouldnt really know as Im not a project engineer. It just I happen that I knew some of them during some projects that i involved with.
How sure are you sure about this? Well pay YES, same pay with those go to sea, sit copper, day in and day out see only male, metal, and sea water, NO. If like you said, then who in this world would like to work at site? Everyone also want to stay at home country's office and yet get the same pay. UNLESS, you go into management role, that might can be the chance, and it is very unlikely.

Maybe you can demand it and tell it to your boss, see what is his response to you.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 15 2009, 08:20 PM
iDk
post Mar 15 2009, 09:08 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 15 2009, 08:53 PM)
Lets just say that i have a decent 'personal experience'. whistling.gif
Anyway, offshore, onshore, site, office, doesnt matter. All are trying to earn decent living.
You are saying "personal experience" is not as high as those "office experience"? rclxs0.gif
Maybe it depends on what is your function and what you do, maybe.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 15 2009, 09:09 PM
iDk
post Mar 15 2009, 09:15 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Mar 15 2009, 09:11 PM)
There's a very small difference paywise working on or offshore, the offshore allowance. The amount is different from 1 company to another, and that depends on what's the rotation, 2 and 2, 3 and 1, 4 and 2, etc.. Hell, there's so much permutation in that. At the end of the day, its up to personal preferences, some wud overlook the allowance to stay at base day in day out, some wud take the money and go offshore... Those who r shore-based but yet required to go to site as and when required, well the difference is negligible as compared to those who stay put permanently at base.

1 thing tho, the community/circle (whateva u wanna call it) of OnG in Malaysia is very small, regardless whether u r owner, main con, sub con, everybody tends to know everybody.. so, if u play ur game well, the possibilities r endless.

Unless we dont do it in Malaysia, Malaysia here kind of s*ck because of the internal politic and stuffs.
iDk
post Mar 15 2009, 11:17 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Mar 15 2009, 09:57 PM)
@IDK: I dunno what to say. You have worked for Petronas before as field engineer. I assume its on offshore rotation duty. You would know what upstream means...

Upstream: Exploration, drilling and completions, production/process (basically getting the oil out from ground to land)

Downstream: Service stations, motor oil, industry petrochem etc. (letting products reach the masses)

Project engineers are office based but do not confuse it being 'downstream'. And they can be richer than the company man in cases.

The benefits of being offshore is the hazard pay + you don't spend shit offshore. If your basic can be more than his basic + hazard, there you go (as ICDeadPeople is trying to say) office guys can earn more. As with depster666's comment on his company, office guys paycheck quite high.

My personal experience? The office guy (project engineer) my team teleconference with every morning earns more than the company man here. Yes, wonders of satellite comm.

Last I heard you left P3t already. Are you still in OnG or other industry?
There are some confusion here dry.gif

I never work for any operator before, but specialist and consultant firm. What is P3t? And yes, i'm still in OnG, but focusing more on oversea business, local business involve too many politic, sh!t, skin color and problems.

Another confusion here again, the pay you guys talking is the basic or the monthly income? It seems that i'm talking monthly income, but some of you talking about basic pay. Some of you talking from the point of operator, but i'm talking from service company, main con or sub con point of view.

Anyhow, it is good for you guys who sit at office and still have deep pocket.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 15 2009, 11:25 PM
iDk
post Mar 16 2009, 01:16 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 16 2009, 08:53 AM)
That exactly what im trying to say. Simply put, why managers get high pay? Because they have to make decision. And who do you think making all these decisions about where to drill, what kind of completion to use, how many wells to optimize production, what kind of production forecast the company should aware after certain period of time? The deskjob people, G&Gs, REs, PTech, petrophysicist.
I have work with service industry, operator and consultation. So I can safely say that these people behind desk do earn alot.
I never say offshore job earn shit. All I want to do is explaining/correcting IDK perception that working behind desk in O&G earn nothing compared to people who work in offshore. Somehow he kind of offended when i said people doing desk job can earn comparable with people in offshore. Im pretty sure IDK is experience enough to talk about offshore part, but I dont think he knows the whole thing about upstream.
And IDK, if you really believe that these desk-sitters earn shit, well, I cant say anything. Hope you are matured enough to listen to other people experience and not limiting your view only to the offshore side of the industry.
As for me, I'll settle with my 'shitty money' desk job as you describe.....
I never say office based people earn sh!tty pay, rm10k~50k is nowhere a sh!tty pay, then who else want to do the job?
But i strongly disagreed people who go site earn less than office people, and please dont bring in your manager level kind of people to compare it with the field engineer or engineer level people, if you want to compare manager, why dont you compare your office based operation manager's pay with the rig manager, or OIM's pay? All these i'm taking the upstream as example, it applies to downstream also.

I have never say your pay is "sh!tty money" or disrespect your office based job, and i also never say office based earn nothing compare with site based.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 16 2009, 01:34 PM
iDk
post Mar 16 2009, 04:56 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Mar 16 2009, 03:03 PM)
You mean this comment is not meant to say my deskjob got shitty pay?
It is up to you how you would like to put it, MATE, since you like to pull words out of the thin air and stuck it into my mouth, right?
On the other way around, now you prove your point is correct; desk job earn more than those site worker like me, and then i am having the sh!tty pay, is that what you trying to say right?

It seems that the whole point of "discussion" here is about who is having the sh!tty pay; desk job or site job. And congrats that the discussion had blossomed to this stage.

Added on March 16, 2009, 5:09 pmI dont seems to understand why the project engineer pay, can somehow related the RE, GG or whatever scientists into the picture. Since the beginning, I already said the pay is good and reasonable.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 16 2009, 05:09 PM
iDk
post Apr 20 2009, 09:42 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(capix @ Apr 17 2009, 07:21 PM)
prj eng?? i think ur job scope is chase dwg from design dept
I though check dwgs all day long, day in and day out.
iDk
post Jun 6 2009, 01:35 AM

1,124 posts

Not true.
iDk
post Nov 18 2009, 11:03 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(LeechFever @ Nov 15 2009, 08:28 PM)
u can try. If u can, do tell me the hotspot, lol. Though I think he meant for u to call taxi or someone to pick u up once u come back from offshore. Also due to salt sea breeze and potential drop of thousand ringgit iphone down into the deep blue, it would be advisable to keep it onshore or in the offshore LQ.

Camera restriction is mainly due to flashes which may cause explosion (thus flash disabled is a must) if there's gas leak. But most time it's to prevent the shutdown due to sensors. U definitely do not want to cost Shell millions just cause u wanna simply take photo for memory sake. If they catch you, they will definitely report you, and u do not want that.
Apply for Hotwork Permit, then problem solved. For anyone who want to call from Malaysia offshore platform, just bring an i-talk card will do. Or you can use the Operator's phone (official use only) to make call.

I believe when shutdown or at new platform, no one bother that much about the phone or camera thingy down there, as long as we dont do anything stupid.
iDk
post Jul 8 2010, 07:00 AM

1,124 posts

Dont come to middle east now, it is superb hot down here, like a big sauna room =.=! Btw, i'm talking Qatar offshore, MOQ. Going back Malaysia tomorrow ^^

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0643sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:37 AM