4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V4, RM2299 It's here!! Woohoo!!!!!

joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 08:27 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(<KS> @ Oct 20 2012, 03:43 AM)
Ya. Ifong is much more easier to understand and jailbreak. Is it legal to discuss  :ROOT" and "JB" here?
Even US Congress has stated that Jailbreaking and Rooting are NOT illegal....hahahaha obviously fruit company is trying its best to bend the law over to shaft you and lock you down to their platform forever.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 02:13 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(<KS> @ Oct 20 2012, 02:07 PM)
Anyone had tested the quality of the liquid armor spray? Does it work like a charm? xD
As posted yesterday, got it from teddie and sprayed...now it's 24 hrs later screen feels smooth but obviously u can't see any film or residue. Perhaps I can try to scratch w my keys....
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 03:35 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Oct 20 2012, 03:29 PM)
Other than ppstream, u still can stream latest tvb in azdrama.net
What is the plugin for azdrama? See some lego brick in the middle. Using stock browser.
Unless only supported on desktop.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 03:40 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 20 2012, 03:31 PM)
Knew about that too but I think the quality is not that good compared to PPStream. smile.gif
Ok now I have to buy the latte. I did see pptv before but never had any real interest due to streaming quality. Now I see u mention ppstream. A bit of checking seems to indicate that it is a different service. Apa macam arrrr.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 04:21 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fik92 @ Oct 20 2012, 04:19 PM)
anyone know the best app to watch and download movie for android . google edi but all app I dwnload not working
What apps are those care to inform? I mean, you can just provide the app name.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 05:17 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(harvin6 @ Oct 20 2012, 05:15 PM)
anyone manage to install any sort of gps for note 2 yet?.....papago ?...mind share detail.
Macha, use Waze. Turn on your data, semua boleh tengok.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 05:23 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2012, 05:18 PM)
Take alot data le

Added on October 20, 2012, 5:19 pm
Only thing I dislike is digi internet very unstable
Don't think Waze sucks all that much data. Again, if paranoid can uncheck background data in Android settings. I think Onavo can control app downloading also.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 05:30 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2012, 05:25 PM)
i dunno for me ill go for maxis anytime just for its internet speed stability and speed
Well, in my limited telco experience, I agree Maxis provides the fastest experience so they can always get bragging rights. I have a maxis and a celcom data line. Maxis is always higher speed.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 06:11 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(harvin6 @ Oct 20 2012, 05:34 PM)
first of all i aint no macha bro...and yeah waze must use data what if im outsdie coverage zone...thats why i need offline gps to eb install ....so just asking whether someone can share their xp here anot . i search on google play dont have also.
Sorry bro.

Anyway, without data, waze behaves like your standard GPS. Happened to me while driving along Gua Musang road.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 06:14 PM

13,188 posts

Anyway, for some geek goodness, I installed and launched Ubuntu 12.04 LXDE on my note, and fired up the browser from within it.....woohoooooooo
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 07:01 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(darium @ Oct 20 2012, 06:47 PM)
Does it work?

Does it lag? shocking.gif
Yes it works. It's like running off a netbook, tradeoff is expected. However, if they use Linaro optimizations, I believe the speed will fly when they incorporate in the next img. I have some ideas on what to run drool.gif

I'm now looking at how to add repos to the install so can pull in stuff.
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 07:37 PM

13,188 posts

more geek goodness.

sudo apt-get install synaptic works....shows up in the system too

heheheheheh........

this is typed in chrome within lxde on my note2 using the stock keyboard

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 20 2012, 07:39 PM
joytest
post Oct 20 2012, 09:08 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 20 2012, 09:05 PM)
Root wont trigger any counter right?
The new bootloader checks. No escape there but as many have said, Samsung msia dont care when yr set is ori
joytest
post Oct 21 2012, 04:52 PM

13,188 posts

All,

Look at all the 11 sensors we got on GNote 2. I used Quick System Info Pro and there's a section to view sensors.

Screenshot1

Screenshot2

It has Gravity and Gyroscope sensors, has a barometer as well, the latest sensor from Bosch.

Imagine the possibilites.

I believe the fixed function devices you need to buy to get all these sensors are going to cost you about 1.5k at least.

Super phone indeed !!!!

Added on October 21, 2012, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 21 2012, 04:49 PM)
Er, sorry like how? blush.gif
I think my Odin detected the wrong USB port.
Googled and I have even uninstalled Kies...
Upgrading through Kies is a risk, it took so long and only completed 11%.
Odin is the easiest method but can't seem to work on my computer...
Ah, you pakai Mac? Supposedly Heimdall is used on Mac (get the mythology?)

Hehe.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 21 2012, 04:53 PM
joytest
post Oct 21 2012, 05:00 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Oct 21 2012, 04:53 PM)

Added on October 21, 2012, 4:54 pm

dude.. i saw u always up with something technical.. are you up to something? brows.gif
I like DIY where I am able to and have been in IT for a sufficiently long time, so I'm pretty familiar with general stuff of what you can and cannot do with technology.

I love to find out what max capabilities my device can do, and I love the philosophy of being able to do what you can with the device you PAID for instead of sitting and smelling the flowers in a walled garden.

Well, if you can install a fully working Linux desktop on your HANDPHONE, imagine what you can actually do.....

VNC into any configured server....run and control your home automation.....

Any other sifus with imagination can add to this.

And this is all possible for the not too princely price of RRP 2299.

You look at some stuff, auto GPS tracking via handphone....costs you an arm and a leg (almost).....well, you can configure your own and do it wayyyyy cheaper.
joytest
post Oct 21 2012, 09:48 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(silic0sis @ Oct 21 2012, 09:35 PM)
Checked in setting already, don't have that option. I think my s3 doesn't have the that option either.
Change to Omega v4 ROM. It allows Camera sound to be turned off.
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 12:36 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 22 2012, 12:33 AM)
I'm using this Nillkin back cover temporarily while waiting for my real cases to arrive from China. smile.gif
This is the case I'm using now:

Added on October 22, 2012, 12:34 am
Yes, I was from LJ1 and multi-windows was available. I only updated to LJ3 today. smile.gif
You need Odin which doesn't work on mine.
So I opted for Kies, super slow ya.
I'm having it naked at the moment. How are you "waiting" for them to arrive from China? Taobao? Or wait for the flood of bulk cases?
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 12:38 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Oct 22 2012, 12:36 AM)
erm... is it okay to ask anything regarding root here? @.@"
Sure, even the US Librarian of Congress agrees that jailbreaking and rooting are LEGAL.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 22 2012, 12:41 AM
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 12:52 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 22 2012, 12:41 AM)
I just ordered mine yesterday, my own postage.
Usually from ordering to Malaysia only about a week. smile.gif
Pray tell, what site? I do see some sites like Sunsky or Aliexpress, but since tai ka che has ordered from someplace, should give that a shot.

Added on October 22, 2012, 12:55 am
QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Oct 22 2012, 12:44 AM)
Thanks~~ i'm first time user of Android, i wanted to make by default all apps was installed into SdCard, then i google and found this. ExtSd2InternalSD, but i don't understand what he mean by
flash custom kernel and after that flash mod. Flash all the file in CWM(Kernel, then Mod) - Perseus Alpha

or

Latest Omega and WanamLite rom is now supporting init.d on stock kernel so u can stay with stock kernel. If u want to stay with stock kernel.

what do that means?

i only understand following xda-developers to root my N2, after that? @@ rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
A custom rom is basically the OS that has been modified, sometimes with special tweaks or additional apps. Since Android is based on Linux (ie Unix), there are 2 major pieces, Kernel and Userland.

You can change either or both. That is the beauty of a proper OS. Some features need stuff enabled in kernel, some features need other userland pieces and/or stuff enabled in kernel.

CWM is a method of loading both the kernel and userland, which comes after you've changed to a kernel that has CWM support.

This post has been edited by joytest: Oct 22 2012, 12:55 AM
joytest
post Oct 22 2012, 01:23 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Oct 22 2012, 01:10 AM)
erm~~ which means i need to 2. Root with Advanced CWM first, then only can continue with the custom kernel?
Use the GNote 2 Allinone toolkit on xda. VERY EASY. The longest time you spend is actually reading the instructions.

Just follow it all with onscreen prompts.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0427sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:41 AM