University Multimedia University Thread V5, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate

TSHuman Nature
post Jan 26 2013, 10:31 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 25 2013, 08:44 PM)
is thre anywhre I can ask more details post grad course? i cant seem to find whre is ips office to ask around.
planning to get more info during this sem breaks on research tittle
IPS office for melaka is situated at Block B (ERU building), 1st floor, left wing. Can ask during info day also mah.

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Jan 26 2013, 02:22 AM)
lol... registering subjects, then got error "There is no section for DPS5018 that can be matched with Diploma Group DP51"
ask my lecturer, she said need to manual register, whut?????
supposed i take industrial training next semester,
but due to some circumstances, i postpone to my ending semester..
QUOTE(nzx10 @ Jan 26 2013, 08:48 AM)
I was wondering, is there any way, I can register my internship next sem but financially barred? Ask lecturer permission?

I paid the 1st 40% for final exam, but thought that I could pay the other 40% when I am internship.
I got no idea why you guys wanna ask lecturer about stuffs related to admin matters. Go and ask your faculty or department manager.
thpace
post Jan 26 2013, 11:25 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2013, 10:31 AM)
IPS office for melaka is situated at Block B (ERU building), 1st floor, left wing. Can ask during info day also mah.
I got no idea why you guys wanna ask lecturer about stuffs related to admin matters. Go and ask your faculty or department manager.
when was mmu info day?

lol i been terrible outdated doh.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 26 2013, 11:39 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 26 2013, 11:25 AM)
when was mmu info day?

lol i been terrible outdated doh.gif
Melaka Campus Info Day
Date:
2 February 2013 (Saturday)
2 March 2013 (Saturday)
Time: 9am - 4pm
Venue: Chancellery Building (New Admin Building), MMU Melaka

thpace
post Jan 26 2013, 11:43 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2013, 11:39 AM)
Melaka Campus Info Day
Date:
2 February 2013 (Saturday)
2 March 2013 (Saturday)
Time: 9am - 4pm
Venue: Chancellery Building (New Admin Building), MMU Melaka
cool, after exam i go on saturday thumbup.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 26 2013, 11:45 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 26 2013, 11:43 AM)
cool, after exam i go on saturday thumbup.gif
what you wanna ask, ask me here la
thpace
post Jan 26 2013, 07:52 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2013, 11:45 AM)
what you wanna ask, ask me here la
1) scholarship info, i under JPA so how to settle this if i go postgrad.
2) the overall cost
3) procedure on how to get the research title and lecturer
4) can i become a part time tutor or research assistant etc. i heard RA can get some kind of salary same as part time tutor. wat the diff?
If yes, what are the benefit and how does it affect my current scholarship
5) What other scholarship option if i dont intend to follow jpa anymore and what are the requirements and contract bonding period if have
6) Duration of the entire course

others question will think on my way. hahaha sweat.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: Jan 26 2013, 08:34 PM
fcuk90
post Jan 26 2013, 10:11 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(nzx10 @ Jan 26 2013, 08:48 AM)
I was wondering, is there any way, I can register my internship next sem but financially barred? Ask lecturer permission?

I paid the 1st 40% for final exam, but thought that I could pay the other 40% when I am internship.
internship usually fac/lecturer/ help you register one, only all the required documents for internships are submitted and approved.

fcuk90
post Jan 26 2013, 10:12 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 26 2013, 07:52 PM)
2) the overall cost
4) can i become a part time tutor or research assistant etc. i heard RA can get some kind of salary same as part time tutor. wat the diff?
5) What other scholarship option if i dont intend to follow jpa anymore and what are the requirements and contract bonding period if have
banyak siok ahhh drool.gif

how about ask JPA to sponsor?

thpace
post Jan 26 2013, 10:21 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jan 26 2013, 10:12 PM)
banyak siok ahhh  drool.gif
how about ask JPA to sponsor?
well not say I dont want. but with my degree under them. I already have to bond 7 years. if master most likely plus another 3 years. Total of 10 years. Fuyoh....
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 26 2013, 10:50 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 26 2013, 07:52 PM)
2) the overall cost
Lol, let's see what i can answer:

1) Google up Mybrain15, under MoHE. I think you can request postponement. if your negotation skill is powerful, tell them to consider working as RO or RA as part of the bond.

2) Fee: http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/79
by research, main concern is actuallly the funding.

3) Title: http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/452
or you can approach your potential supervisor and see if there is any title, or you may propose your title

4) Tutor post is no longer available, only RO/RA. The wage depends whether you or your supervisor have fund allocation for it or not.

5) Refer to (1) or http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/433

6) If by research, http://fet.mmu.edu.my/v4/postgraduate/rese...rch_geninfo.htm

Damn i am good! I am able to answer everything cool2.gif

yinseng000
post Jan 26 2013, 11:41 PM

59 posts

Anybody going to register co-curriculum subject next semester ? The coco subject offer in my subject registration list is too less ,and all full now ,some subjects in my list still show me unable to register cause next semester not going to offer ..

Any link that can show me what co-curriculum subject offer next semester?So i may register others.

This post has been edited by yinseng000: Jan 26 2013, 11:42 PM
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 26 2013, 11:43 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(yinseng000 @ Jan 26 2013, 11:41 PM)
Anybody going to register co-curriculum subject next semester ? The coco subject offer in my subject registration list is too less ,and all full now ,some subjects in my list still show me unable to register cause next semester not going to offer ..

Any link that can show me what co-curriculum subject offer next semester?So i may register others.
always refer to the subjects offered by your faculty, search at buletin board
thpace
post Jan 26 2013, 11:50 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2013, 10:50 PM)
Lol, let's see what i can answer:

1) Google up Mybrain15, under MoHE. I think you can request postponement. if your negotation skill is powerful, tell them to consider working as RO or RA as part of the bond.

2) Fee: http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/79
by research, main concern is actuallly the funding.

3) Title: http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/452
or you can approach your potential supervisor and see if there is any title, or you may propose your title

4) Tutor post is no longer available, only RO/RA. The wage depends whether you or your supervisor have fund allocation for it or not.

5) Refer to (1) or http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/433

6) If by research, http://fet.mmu.edu.my/v4/postgraduate/rese...rch_geninfo.htm

Damn i am good! I am able to answer everything  cool2.gif
1) wow RA for 7 years? can become Phd ad sweat.gif

2) funding concern huh... must ask future supervisor about this

3) i see, looking through the list

4) No more tutor? so no more seeing young tutor teaching us tutorial? laugh.gif Does all research title become RA/RO? or depend on the lecturer only? and part of mmu staff? kinda confuse

btw any benefits of it? and the course wat the diff between full time or part time. Apart from the duration

TSHuman Nature
post Jan 26 2013, 11:59 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 26 2013, 11:50 PM)
1) wow RA for 7 years? can become Phd ad  sweat.gif

2) funding concern huh... must ask future supervisor about this

3) i see, looking through the list

4) No more tutor? so no more seeing young tutor teaching us tutorial? laugh.gif  Does all research title become RA/RO? or depend on the lecturer only? and part of mmu staff? kinda confuse

btw any benefits of it? and the course wat the diff between full time or part time. Apart from the duration
1) part of the 7 years la..meaning if you did your master in 2 years..then bond for just another 5 years

2) funding is very important

4) stil got young tutor teach you meh? RA/RO depends on whether got funding or not...difference between these 2 i forget dy..if not mistaken, one is paid by MMU, one is paid by the fund..this one u need to ask ips or the faculty. if no RA/RO, then consider self sponsor and go the mybrain15 route.

5) if you become RO/RA, it is likely become full time dy..part time means you are working outside, then got longer time to juggle between these two.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 27 2013, 12:00 AM
thpace
post Jan 27 2013, 12:12 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 26 2013, 11:59 PM)
1) part of the 7 years la..meaning if you did your master in 2 years..then bond for just another 5 years

2) funding is very important

4) stil got young tutor teach you meh? RA/RO depends on whether got funding or not...difference between these 2 i forget dy..if not mistaken, one is paid by MMU, one is paid by the fund..this one u need to ask ips or the faculty. if no RA/RO, then consider self sponsor and go the mybrain15 route.

5) if you become RO/RA, it is likely become full time dy..part time means you are working outside, then got longer time to juggle between these two.
mybrain15 oni sponsor the tution fees? how about funding?
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 27 2013, 12:15 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 27 2013, 12:12 AM)
mybrain15 oni sponsor the tution fees? how about funding?
funding have to apply from MOHE, MOSTI, private company, etc
thpace
post Jan 27 2013, 01:00 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 27 2013, 12:15 AM)
funding have to apply from MOHE, MOSTI, private company, etc
then i better go find more info on this sweat.gif

Mr.Botz
post Jan 27 2013, 02:31 PM

176 posts

Finally my RA contract ended. Not going to renew.. erm both RA and RO can be funded from external funds. But doing part-time based on MMU policy you can only get paid for a maximum 12 days in a month with the rate depending on your RA/RO appointment contract (mine was quite petty). Labor claim must be done through GAMS.

THere's anotehr thing called as MMU-FGRS - Graduate Research Assistant for higher pay, not sure about it seems like post graduate students are to get this GRA position instead.

dragontongue88
post Jan 27 2013, 09:50 PM

360 posts

From what little I know, RA and RO differs in the requirements to qualify for it. RA does not require a degree, so a student, especially those carrying out their FYP, can be hired as RA. Once, you have a degree, then you can be hired as a RO. Another notable difference is RA does not have EPF and SOCSO, and allowance claims are made based on maximum 12 days a month as Mr. Botz mentioned. For RO, you have a regular monthly allowance, EPF and SOCSO. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. smile.gif

On top of that, I think there is also a Research Scholar these days, whereby as the name implies, it involves obtaining a scholarship from external companies.

Also, even if you are hired as an RA/RO, you can still apply for mybrain15. If you are lucky you will get it as well. brows.gif Mybrain15 covers only the tuition fees, does not include library fees, IT fees etc. As far as I know, MOHE deals directly with MMU, MOHE will be informed on how much to pay, and then they will pay directly to MMU.

About the funding for research projects, I'm not sure, but I believe usually these stuff are handled by your supervisor/lecturers? I believe lecturers usually try to get funding from various organisations for research projects of their interests, and once they obtain the funding, they can usually hire a RA/RO/GRA to carry out the project. I think so la... sweat.gif Bare in mind though, usually funding comes with requirements such as publication of papers/journals at the end of your research. sweat.gif
thpace
post Jan 27 2013, 10:43 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Botz @ Jan 27 2013, 02:31 PM)
Finally my RA contract ended. Not going to renew.. erm both RA and RO can be funded from external funds. But doing part-time based on MMU policy you can only get paid for a maximum 12 days in a month with the rate depending on your RA/RO appointment contract (mine was quite petty). Labor claim must be done through GAMS.

THere's anotehr thing called as MMU-FGRS - Graduate Research Assistant for higher pay, not sure about it seems like post graduate students are to get this GRA position instead.
I thought only post grad students get RA/RO position? not?
I plan to start my post grad studies while still doing my fyp. btw I also planning full time, any diff?

QUOTE(dragontongue88 @ Jan 27 2013, 09:50 PM)
From what little I know, RA and RO differs in the requirements to qualify for it. RA does not require a degree, so a student, especially those carrying out their FYP, can be hired as RA. Once, you have a degree, then you can be hired as a RO. Another notable difference is RA does not have EPF and SOCSO, and allowance claims are made based on maximum 12 days a month as Mr. Botz mentioned. For RO, you have a regular monthly allowance, EPF and SOCSO. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.  smile.gif

On top of that, I think there is also a Research Scholar these days, whereby as the name implies, it involves obtaining a scholarship from external companies.

Also, even if you are hired as an RA/RO, you can still apply for mybrain15. If you are lucky you will get it as well.  brows.gif  Mybrain15 covers only the tuition fees, does not include library fees, IT fees etc. As far as I know, MOHE deals directly with MMU, MOHE will be informed on how much to pay, and then they will pay directly to MMU.

About the funding for research projects, I'm not sure, but I believe usually these stuff are handled by your supervisor/lecturers? I believe lecturers usually try to get funding from various organisations for research projects of their interests, and once they obtain the funding, they can usually hire a RA/RO/GRA to carry out the project. I think so la...  sweat.gif  Bare in mind though, usually funding comes with requirements such as publication of papers/journals at the end of your research.  sweat.gif
I do have a backup funding but it not much. if can get funding and scholarships would be better.

do ro/ra become part of mmu staff? and we can use the equipments as needed? or do we have pay like to use equipments in other uni?

124 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:39 PM