University Multimedia University Thread V5, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate

TSHuman Nature
post Jan 7 2013, 11:39 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 7 2013, 11:33 PM)
I looking more into research type. Anyway what your topic and where can I see the list of topics offered
haha i dont have any titles

refer here for the list (intranet):
http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/452
thpace
post Jan 7 2013, 11:40 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 7 2013, 11:39 PM)
haha i dont have any titles

refer here for the list (intranet):
http://research.mmu.edu.my/ips/node/452
josephncg
post Jan 8 2013, 12:02 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 7 2013, 11:09 PM)
apps are over-rated..i got bored with my device already  tongue.gif luckily there are many versions of angry birds
since this is edu section, just for the sake of discussion, what is your idea for second app?
Okay, just for sake of education cum discussion.

I used to be an MMU student: 1 year MLK, 3 years Cyber. Management student majoring in BFE.

When I was a student, I find these few things difficult for me:

1) A good transport. I wish there's a system that allow us to pool cars among students. Dangerous to go back home alone after studying at campus till late night. Bigger problem for girls.

2) Finding a good place to rent. Especially in my years of studying, there is not a single and reliable source to look for good place to rent, so I have to ask around. I was considered lucky to find good places to stay (eg. hostel, Cyberia, Emerald Park in Malacca). But some of my friends who were not so lucky ended up staying at not so nice areas like Dengkil areas, Puchong which is far, and so on.

3) Share and trade stuff. Things like second hand textbooks were so difficult to find back then. If you only know senior students well, then it is alright. But what about new students or introvert students? Nowadays I don't know, but back in my days, sharing and trading things is close to impossible.

Of course, like what thpace said, everything can be found in intranet portals, websites and so on. I couldn't agree more. But wouldn't it be cooler if there is an app version for each campus? An app that solves all the above problems?

Solutions:

1) A section where good students can offer transport aka. car pooling among each other? If practiced correctly, isn't it much safer and better for everyone? Don't care if it's charged or not, there is an option there.

2) A section for students to look for reviews of places to rent? Fellow students can post and rate these things in app. If it can work in websites, 100% can work in apps too.

3) A section where all students, senior and junior alike can trade and share stuff, ANY stuff. You name it: text books, laptops, computers, furnitures, and so much more.

I never said doing all this in an app is a necessity. But if a person is given an option to have such an app, wouldn't it be so much more convenient? Whatever I want in relation to campus lifestyle, I can straight away look in the app and find what I want.

Sorry for too long though....
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 8 2013, 12:10 AM

26,524 posts

While it appears beneficial, unless that function is made available traditionally ie computers, it will be pretty idealistic to assume that the apps will solve all the said problems. Big thing to say. Computers ARE still revelant.

But if that apps is available and integrated with traditional websites, and offered foc, then why not.
josephncg
post Jan 8 2013, 12:32 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 8 2013, 12:10 AM)
While it appears beneficial, unless that function is made available traditionally ie computers, it will be pretty idealistic to assume that the apps will solve all the said problems. Big thing to say. Computers ARE still revelant.

But if that apps is available and integrated with traditional websites, and offered foc, then why not.
If now saying that computers are not relevant, I would be appearing big mouthed and superficial.

Yes you are right, now most apps are preferable to coexist with websites to make it more cohesive (after all, most students would have their own laptop or pc in the first place!)

And as thpace mentioned, most websites or intranet portals do have such thing. I cannot confirm this since I am not in MMU for many years but if it does exist, then it is easier to facilitate the creation of the app, otherwise it has to be created from ground up.

Having an app is not something to be under estimated. It is a convenience for smartphone users to have such an app. Let me give you an example: If you were at campus and you wanted a car pool service yet you forgot to bring your laptop. Maybe you can use lab's pc or whatsoever, but isn't it handy if you happen to have your smartphone and the proposed app?

The app must be FOC, otherwise there is no incentive for a student to use it. Usually, these kinds of infrastructure are either developed by knowledgeable app developers (some students can be good at this), or developed from outsiders paid by university.

TSHuman Nature
post Jan 8 2013, 12:35 AM

26,524 posts

Let me put it this way. If it is beneficial and does not create a disadvantage situation to students without smartphones (eg no access at all), then by all means develop the apps smile.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jan 8 2013, 12:36 AM
josephncg
post Jan 8 2013, 12:40 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 8 2013, 12:35 AM)
Let me put it this way. If it is beneficial and does not create a disadvantage to students without smartphones, then by all means develop the apps  smile.gif
Yup sure it does. And I put it this way: I'm contributing ideas only. I only know basic functions of how app works but in the end, it's up to the app developer to materialize the idea.

Why not you too join and create some beneficial ideas for the students of MMU? I seen that you started this thread and being active. I really salute you and your effort is commendable. The MMU students should really appreciate you for such dedication.

Sorry but I have to say this: If my idea is cool and workable, hope you could vote for the idea I conjured. I made up 17 apps ideas but just vote what you like.

Thank you!
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 8 2013, 12:45 AM

26,524 posts

Maybe I am not fully exposed yet to this android apps thingy smile.gif anyway, good rebuttals and all the best.
josephncg
post Jan 8 2013, 01:06 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 8 2013, 12:45 AM)
Maybe I am not fully exposed yet to this android apps thingy  smile.gif anyway, good rebuttals and all the best.
Apps can be on any platform, Android is just one of them.

Thanks a lot for your support. Keep in touch!
SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Jan 13 2013, 10:05 PM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

Hello, i am a local student that took GCE A-levels in 2010 with results of CDD in 2 sciencs and 1 mathemathics, i took few years off to really consider what i want to do for a degree and decided to join MMU's Bachelor of Business Administration (Hons) Finance with Multimedia.

But under the local students requirement:

Local Students:

Either of the following:
Pass in related Foundation studies, or
Pass in STPM or its equivalent with 3 Principals in Mathematics or Economics or Accounting or business studies, or
Pass in UEC with 5Bs inclusive of Mathematics and English, or
Pass in a related Diploma from a recognised institution or its equivalent.

there's no A-levels stated, only under the international students section.

and for A-levels , it's stated there that "Pass in A Levels or its equivalent with 3 Credits, inclusive of Mathematics or Economics or Accounting, or Business Studies"

so i need 3 Credits in Alevels? meaning 3 Cs?

do i need to even consider going into MMU? is there even a chance for me to enter the programm? should i start considering other University?

edit: MORE QUESTIONS.

about the English requirement, is MUET really compulsary eventhough i have a B in A-levels General Paper subject?

which is consider as a proper english/IELTS substitute in most UK/Australian universities.

This post has been edited by Ned_Fromthenorth: Jan 13 2013, 10:14 PM
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 13 2013, 10:28 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(Ned_Fromthenorth @ Jan 13 2013, 10:05 PM)
Hello, i am a local student that took GCE A-levels in 2010 with results of CDD in 2 sciencs and 1 mathemathics, i took few years off to really consider what i want to do for a degree and decided to join MMU's Bachelor of Business Administration (Hons) Finance with Multimedia.
Hi, it is best to contact admission to get an accurate answer. Let me know if they fail to respond.

CYBERJAYA CAMPUS
Admission, Bursary & Local Promotions,
Multimedia University (Cyberjaya Campus), Jalan Multimedia, 63100 Cyberjaya, Selangor
Tel: 603 - 8312 5092 / 603 - 8312 5085 / 603 - 8312 5090 Fax: 603 - 8312 5088
E-mail: wwwadmis@mmu.edu.my URL: http://www.mmu.edu.my/

MELAKA CAMPUS
Multimedia University (Melaka Campus), Jalan Ayer Keroh Lama, 75450 Bukit Beruang, Melaka
Tel: 606 -252 3442 / 606 -252 3443 Fax: 606 - 231 8255

SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Jan 13 2013, 11:16 PM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 13 2013, 08:28 AM)
Hi, it is best to contact admission to get an accurate answer. Let me know if they fail to respond.

CYBERJAYA CAMPUS
Multimedia University (Cyberjaya Campus), Jalan Multimedia, 63100 Cyberjaya, Selangor
Tel: 603 - 8312 5092 / 603 - 8312 5085 / 603 - 8312 5090 Fax: 603 - 8312 5088
MELAKA CAMPUS
Multimedia University (Melaka Campus), Jalan Ayer Keroh Lama, 75450 Bukit Beruang, Melaka
Tel: 606 -252 3442 / 606 -252 3443 Fax: 606 - 231 8255
Alright, i sent an email through the 'contact us' section on the site. is that sufficient? or do i need to sent a proper email through my email client?
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 13 2013, 11:26 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(Ned_Fromthenorth @ Jan 13 2013, 11:16 PM)
Alright, i sent an email through the 'contact us' section on the site. is that sufficient? or do i need to sent a proper email through my email client?
That is a new feature. Let's wait for a couple of days to see if it is efficient or not.
UsopSontorian
post Jan 14 2013, 02:35 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 13 2013, 11:26 PM)
That is a new feature. Let's wait for a couple of days to see if it is efficient or not.
human nature, you lecturer or student ?
MrJigoku666
post Jan 14 2013, 04:39 AM

OldSkool = LiFe ☆〜(ゝ。∂)
917 posts

QUOTE(UsopSontorian @ Jan 14 2013, 02:35 AM)
i laugh out loud at this question laugh.gif
honsiong
post Jan 14 2013, 08:19 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Jan 14 2013, 04:39 AM)
i laugh out loud at this question  laugh.gif
And his profile picture is soo inline with this question! rclxms.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 14 2013, 09:44 AM

26,524 posts

i am a human laugh.gif

any reason for that question? hmm.gif
MrJigoku666
post Jan 14 2013, 11:53 AM

OldSkool = LiFe ☆〜(ゝ。∂)
917 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 14 2013, 08:19 AM)
And his profile picture is soo inline with this question!  rclxms.gif
yeah... really suit for that question laugh.gif nod.gif
MrJigoku666
post Jan 14 2013, 11:54 AM

OldSkool = LiFe ☆〜(ゝ。∂)
917 posts

no worries,, we all will try to find who is he laugh.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Jan 14 2013, 12:20 PM

26,524 posts

A student or lecturer will have so much free time at lowyat meh? whistling.gif

2 weeks to exam, then 4 weeks holiday rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

124 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top