Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V2, RM2299 ETA 19/10. 1 more week!

mydragoon
post Oct 11 2012, 01:44 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Oct 11 2012, 01:15 PM)
i had my s2 sent for warranty check last time, due to OTA software update always 50% failure (yeah i knew odin can settle it, but just sent it together with my friend's faulty lcd).

and after 15 mins check up, the SME staff said my phone had water damage and i need to pay rm1130 for motherboard and lcd replacement..

i complaint and that guy even manage to show his kindness by whispering at me ok pay rm760 for board and the lcd he can kawtim, no need to pay, but claim for warranty replacement.

i took back the phone, upgrade my phone using odin, and the ota after that runs without issue.

that is SME, and from that on, i never see them as better than AP. for me FMG last time provide way better service than SME.
i had shared on the Note 1 thread about my failed attempt to do a warranty claim on my charger that gave out hissing sound...

a few days after that, some on from Samsung actually called me and asked about my experience with Customer Service and the warranty claim... heh heh...

i asked back... should i be happy that nothing got fixed? i think the caller was a bit puzzled coz it was silent. then i explained the case and told her how Samsung Federal highway had earlier rejected my claims... But when I went to the SC at LowYat, they accepted but told me too late... charger only 6 months warranty.

the caller kept quiet and said will feedback, etc... then said if got problems, can send my phone to SC anytime.

so i told her... my phone still got problem wor... since they were not fixed. asked can send back again meh?!? she kept quiet then said if i got other problems...

i din wanna tembak her some more... i could have just said that if Samsung phone gonna give me so much problem, that'll be really bad QC liao... hahaha...

but ya, overall, having owned a few Samsung devices/ appliances... they are ok la... i've yet to meet any CS that is actually good anyway... biggrin.gif
mydragoon
post Oct 11 2012, 02:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 11 2012, 02:19 PM)
True..ask mr.mydragoon here. His Note1 still virgin until he sold it laugh.gif
*wiping coffee off my monitor*

dun la table me like that... hahaha... the note is still with me. still virgin. giving it to my dad... dun think he'll go and root it.. heh heh...
mydragoon
post Oct 11 2012, 02:42 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 11 2012, 02:33 PM)
Oo..still got.? Sorry bro..i thought you sold it edi tongue.gif
But some ppl are very brave one like my little sister. Once rooted then she go into flashing mode. Although she has nearly zero experience in flashing. Anything that can be flashed..she will flash it until her phone got softbricked laugh.gif
*ahem*
you implying i'm not brave?!? doh.gif

heh heh... dun worry... saje kacau...

nolar, din root coz i dun see the need to root la... heh heh...

with note2, i actually might... see how la... after i get the phone.

looks like Samsung wanna go head-on with Apple... at least in Malaysia. launch same day... wow...
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 08:33 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Oct 11 2012, 09:53 PM)
Midvalley Center Court on 17~21st Oct is Samsung Galaxy Studio by PDA Pro.

[attachmentid=3096027]

This is PDA Pro from Midvalley. Don't think it's the GNote 2 Sales Event.
[attachmentid=3096028]
could just be the normal Note 10 roadshow, actually... seen a few of these road shows...

QUOTE(upmost systems @ Oct 11 2012, 11:37 PM)
already removed all the hubs biggrin.gif
reader and learning not working due to root
video hub not working due to country restriction
the rest of the hub is working...but to me is useless..so consider bloatware to me
imho, the hubs are ridiculously useless... the kobo that came with hub on Note 1... so stripped down of functions... din even have night mode. ended up with me having to install kobo from market (yes, 2 copies on 1 phone -- so silly).
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 08:38 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Bill2012 @ Oct 12 2012, 08:32 AM)
wait..i have to pay 2k?

Samsung GALAXY Note II (Gray) RM 1399.00
DG Smart Plan 88(Advance Payment for Plan) RM 88.00
Device Advance Payment RM 600.00
Delivery Fees (Delivery Terms and Conditions) RM 0.00
Total Price RM 2087.00

was hoping to pay only 1399

please advice thanks!
short answer... yes, pay rm2087 as you mentioned (or whatever is calculated by Digi website).

Advance payment... it will be used to deduct your next few bills, until you finish up the advance payment.
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 08:56 AM

7,044 posts

regarding buy from telco or not...

this is a smartphone. if you dun have a data plan, the phone becomes a bit crippled (i know, you can argue about free wifi being almost everywhere, etc)...

so, if you do decide to get the plan... then yes, getting from telco is a good idea because... you need to pay for the plan anyway. so might as well get something out of it -- which is a cheaper handset.

downside? you need to stick to the telco for 1-2 years... ok la... i can say that 1-2 years is quite fast. just ask yourself... how long have you been with the current telco? or the one before?

which telco... depends on where you are usually based -- your house, office, where you hang out, etc... different telco gives diff coverage. think coverage first. how cheap is the handset should never be the reason for choosing a telco... coz, you end up with smartphone but no network... that's not so smart, right?

digi... usually offering cheapest bundle... but do note that they state it very clearly their download speed is capped -- something like 768kbps... you can sometimes get burst of up to 1mbps... but dun expect to get like 5-6mbps which you can get from other telcos...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 12 2012, 08:59 AM
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 09:07 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 12 2012, 09:01 AM)
In that case Digi is bad choice as their download speeds average 700-800 kbps only , at times you might hit 1000+ kbps
In contract Maxis and Celcom will easily give you 2 times to 8 times ( 2000kbps to 8000kbps) 
You buy cheap service you get cheap poor  service
agreed...

@H3LLKEEPER if you can wait... wait for u mobile to unveil their plan. they can sometimes give really good value plans... but downside with u mobile -- limited coverage area and contract is 24months only.
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 09:35 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kopiopot @ Oct 12 2012, 09:22 AM)
Hi all;
I am new in android phone.
May I know before we purchase what are the things that we need to check besides warranty and Sirim sticker?

besides, I am in doubt whether I should sign up a data plan or purchase the device without plan.
If I sign up a data plan I really afraid that  telco may simply bill @ the end of month.

What u guys think of it?
just posted this about 30mins ago... doh.gif

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 12 2012, 08:56 AM)
regarding buy from telco or not...

this is a smartphone. if you dun have a data plan, the phone becomes a bit crippled (i know, you can argue about free wifi being almost everywhere, etc)...

so, if you do decide to get the plan... then yes, getting from telco is a good idea because... you need to pay for the plan anyway. so might as well get something out of it -- which is a cheaper handset.

downside? you need to stick to the telco for 1-2 years... ok la... i can say that 1-2 years is quite fast. just ask yourself... how long have you been with the current telco? or the one before?

which telco... depends on where you are usually based -- your house, office, where you hang out, etc... different telco gives diff coverage. think coverage first. how cheap is the handset should never be the reason for choosing a telco... coz, you end up with smartphone but no network... that's not so smart, right?

digi... usually offering cheapest bundle... but do note that they state it very clearly their download speed is capped -- something like 768kbps... you can sometimes get burst of up to 1mbps... but dun expect to get like 5-6mbps which you can get from other telcos...
but if you're not sure of the data coverage... yes, dun take the jump. its suicidal to commit a monthly fee for 2 years just to find out that there is no data coverage at your work place and home...
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 09:43 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Oct 12 2012, 09:35 AM)
i dont think it is good idea to purchase from telcos if you are not existing postpaid users. The 24mths contract and total cost is far expensive than the device. Those telcos are not idiot to sell you at cheaper price.

However, if you are already a current dataplan users, by all means go for it. For those who tend to sign up for new, better think twice. Eventually you end up paying more.
i can't say i agree...

my advice is that smartphone should ideally have a data plan. if not... that your phone is crippled. you can only use with at places where you have free wifi... that's not really data on the go...

assuming the person decides he or she will want data...

over 24 months (or say 12 months)... calculate total cost of ownership... device + data + average usage... more often than not, you save when you buy from telco... coz fact is... the hardware do get subsidised. only issue with telco bundle is whether a person can stay that long with a telco (provided the telco is given good coverage in the first place).

mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 09:47 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Oct 12 2012, 09:30 AM)
Sure bro? That means they are giving very little discount on the phone price, but still requiring the user to sign up for the most expensive plan??

Is it from a reliable source?
you can hope and wait for this site... they have previously done a good comparison on TCO costs for S3 and Note 10... not surprised if they decide to do a comparison for Note2 (i guess after all telco have announced their plans)

see:
http://savemoney.my/
http://savemoney.my/best-samsung-galaxy-s3-plans-compared/
http://savemoney.my/best-samsung-galaxy-no...aysia-compared/

mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 09:53 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Oct 12 2012, 09:50 AM)
of course a smart phone like Note II deserve a data plan to be enjoyed fully but it all depends on how much data is offer and the call plan.  I think light to moderate users need only 1.5GB.  On top of that, some Telcos like Maxis will force you to take a minimum call plan of RM30/month.

For moderate user like me, getting the phone without contract and sign up for RM50 1.5GB data plan will be more worth.  My wife only using about 1GB of the 3GB quota of the Maxis S3 contract every month coz she is using wifi at home and in office.  So the extra money forked out for the contract for RM68 3GB data plan is actually wasted.
true... so need to compare the plan itself... vs coverage... etc...

in my wife's s3 case... we got the plan from u mobile. phone was sold at rm1399. data plan of rm58 for 2 years. it comes with free calls and 2GB data. but i'm actually using the u58 plan now... wife dun need that much data and on her sim card, now using u28... biggrin.gif

the savemoney link i posted earlier do have comprehensive comparisons... from outright purchase (in a way) vs 12 months, 18 months and even 24 months...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 12 2012, 09:55 AM
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 10:18 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Oct 12 2012, 10:16 AM)
but 2 years is just too long.  And strangely enough, from my previous calculations, you actually do not save much for the additional 1 more year contract.  biggrin.gif
yes, based on my own calculations... usually the 'best' hardware deal is with 12months contract...
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 10:58 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Oct 12 2012, 10:18 AM)
i think we should not harp on telco bundle plan issue anymore...lets focus back on the note 2 itself....so gathering, anyone?
how is a gathering considered a discussion on Note 2 itself?!? rclxub.gif doh.gif whistling.gif
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 12:52 PM

7,044 posts

wow... just noticed that the digi banner in this forum is now Note II... heh heh...

also, kinda surprised digi is the telco that's actively promoting Note2. already can see full page ad on today's star newspaper...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 12 2012, 12:56 PM
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 03:00 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Oct 12 2012, 02:41 PM)
hi, any user here using note2 dropbox which comes with 50gb (2 yrs) ? i wondering if i register in this note2, will my frop box grow to 100gb ? previosuly when use one x +s3, i get total of 75gb within this 2 years... but so far my usage was less then 2 gb only... haha
dun think u get 100GB. though by right, you should...

benny888 said he din get such offer on his set...
mydragoon
post Oct 12 2012, 04:21 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Oct 12 2012, 04:19 PM)
U can screenshot without installing any app.
There are 2 ways to do screenshot:
1. Karate chop
2. Use S-Pen, Click the button & hold it on screen for a second
#3. home + power button...

karate chop = sweep your hand across the screen -- u need to make sure this function is enabled.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 12 2012, 04:21 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0462sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:13 PM