RC Flying Models V4, radio controlled aircrafts

zeroglyph
post May 17 2017, 04:48 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ May 17 2017, 12:56 PM)
i brought under 100, with my flying skill...........
u want see the drone hit the rood or hit the ground  tongue.gif
buy and try with this price no problem la
yeah, that's the way to go.

not like how this guy say:

that's a great way to waste money. i don't care how skillful he is. it's like saying, "you wanna learn to drive? get american muscle. anything cheaper is not worth it" doh.gif

banggood + cheap china stuff FTW! at least for starters.
zeroglyph
post May 18 2017, 09:41 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ May 17 2017, 05:33 PM)
lol, if only u want compare under rm100 drone to rm4k drone, i am speechless la
compare bicycle with super car
it's more of cheap hobby great stuff vs premium hobby great stuff. not including toy quads.

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ May 17 2017, 07:32 PM)
I use many cheap stuff from china for my project, had many 100% success.  The steel guy forgot that most of the stuff he use to race his quads are made from China factory contractor.  Even Taranis that he recommends also made from China orignally cloned from open source Turnigy 9x motherboard. My advice is buy something affordable.  Don't get influence buying something from famous racer..did you see that he promote his own Lipo battery. doh.gif
I never spent anything more than RM250 for a FPV quadcopter, i usually bought it from someone who crash it or secondhand. lol
he's always been a smug to me laugh.gif .

zeroglyph
post May 22 2017, 09:59 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ May 22 2017, 08:53 AM)
Bf and Cf usually same.

But my horizon only can fast forward if me full stick.
It doest flip
angle mode can't flip, there is an angle limiter. it won't go past certain angle.

horizon mode won't flip/roll, but it will loop/barrel roll with a pretty large radius. so make sure you have altitude before attempting.

an actual flip and roll can be done with acro mode. but you need the get the rc rates setup else you might over/under shoot. best if you have air mode on for those tight flips/rolls. things can get messy without airmode if you try to flip/roll at zero throttle.
zeroglyph
post May 22 2017, 11:50 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ May 22 2017, 10:42 AM)
Any guide to do that?

I have a switch for air mode.
I will try snap a pic with PiD setting later tonighr
it's a trial and error thing. depending on the size and weight of your quad. rc rates are in PID page. i usually starts at 0.5 and tune from there.

i shared this video a while back. explains it quite well.

zeroglyph
post May 25 2017, 02:26 AM

1,255 posts

maiden outdoor & fpv flight of my JJPro P175.

even at minimum camera tilt, this thing is not easy when you're close to the ground laugh.gif .

finally learned the trick to fly FPV when you're alone. stay in the middle of the field and keep yourself in camera view every view seconds. nod.gif

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 25 2017, 11:23 PM
zeroglyph
post May 25 2017, 01:51 PM

1,255 posts

the previous racer 250, after some rate tune up.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: May 25 2017, 01:53 PM
zeroglyph
post Jun 9 2017, 11:40 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Jun 9 2017, 09:58 AM)
Hello sifus

Am interested in quad rotors. And want to know what's a good price range for begginers. Not for taking pics but fly here there.. Maybe acrobatic moves or racing ke
buy one of those cheap toy quad to train on. once you can proficiently hover and do some forward flights, you're ready to spend more money thumbup.gif laugh.gif .
zeroglyph
post Jun 12 2017, 07:25 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Jun 12 2017, 01:57 PM)
ESC using multistar 30A BLheli esc, and extra 4 cheapo 30a esc.
lipo now using multistar 3s 5200 10c...yep 10C...
didnt we discussed some time ago that 10c is a no go? discharge is way too low for 400+ size.

even in theory it wont work. just using the avaiable numbers:

30A esc x 4 = 120A ESC max draw
5.2Ah * 10c = 52A batt max discharge

batt will bloat in no time.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Jun 12 2017, 07:25 PM
zeroglyph
post Jun 14 2017, 11:00 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Jun 14 2017, 07:12 PM)
No offense, that not suitable for me, because I cant do everything myself.
because I cant even done the solder in good condition.
out of curiosity, which spf3 is that?

aren't spf3s supposed to have the usb on the side?
zeroglyph
post Jun 28 2017, 12:41 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(harvin6 @ Jun 27 2017, 11:04 PM)
Hi guys,

Totally noob here. Need some recommendations on drone aka quad copter.... looking to buy for my dad something 100 to 500 meter range with around 20 mins flight time. Which will be the simplest to start with ?
20mins of flight time is a little tricky. 20mins requires a fairly large battery. large battery = large quad. off the top of my head, i could only think of phantoms or something similar.
zeroglyph
post Jul 3 2017, 05:08 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(harvin6 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:52 AM)
ok Thanks, well phantoms are like 4-10k i think.
2-3k if you can get a used units. mega_shok.gif

your requirement is pretty steep and some requirement only have expensive solutions.

a small quad or heli can usually only go for 5-10mins. 10mins being extremely not likely. for 15-20mins, you need 4500-5500 mAh battery. those things are heavy.

try winged flyers, ie planes & gliders. those don't draw too much power & can fly longer.

zeroglyph
post Jul 3 2017, 08:30 PM

1,255 posts

weekend playground runs.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Jul 4 2017, 12:31 AM
zeroglyph
post Jul 8 2017, 02:13 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jul 7 2017, 08:44 PM)
zeroglyph, Love your JJPRO bg music the Sabre rider and Star Sheriff. Bring childhood nostalgia. 80's smile.gif

---------------------------------
yeah, the 80's have some really cool cartoon musics.

that Petruccifever guy really does justice to it. you can download the mp3 from the video link.
zeroglyph
post Jul 18 2017, 11:21 AM

1,255 posts

some easy mods to get the most out of your VR D2:
http://chicopter.blogspot.my/2016/10/eachi...-dvr-audio.html

did the audio DVR mod and it works rclxm9.gif . took about 10 mins. easy if you already have a cable with the jst-xh head. now the DVR can get sound icon_idea.gif .
zeroglyph
post Jul 19 2017, 09:30 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jul 18 2017, 02:53 PM)
Hey guys i'm back with some great news,  this month completed two new FPV multirotor project using new INAV flight firmware (A branched from CLEANFLIGHT/BETAFLIGHT codes) for GPS autopilot driven flight using cheap FPV drone racing hardware F3/F4 based chip: INAV FPV250 and huge INAV FPV700. Turning cheap SP RACING F3 flight controller into autonomous drone just like my previous APM project that cost only RM$100.  Save thousands $$$ than buying DJI stuff. smile.gif  Yes you can use cheap NAZE32 board too.
INAV - FPV250:
Small and portable autonomous aerial photography flight that can do waypoint via EZGUI.  High precision GPS locked flight.

INAV - Huge FPV700:
Same function as above but bigger size for heavy duty aerial photography, longer flighttime and long range.

Really happy to accomplished both project in a short timeline.  Next getting back to new fixed wing projects.
how does iNav compare to CF/BF in acro flight? i assume the same?

just had a read at the git page and immediately saw an interesting point:
Starting at 22-06-2016 INAV uses the same scaling for PIDs as Cleanflight/Betaflight LuxFloat and MWRewrite PID controllers. That means the following:

PIDs from CF/BF can be used in INAV, no need to retune for INAV
INAV uses the same PID defaults that Cleanflight and Betaflight

seems like a cool thing to put in the list of "what to do next?" thumbsup.gif
zeroglyph
post Jul 24 2017, 09:25 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jul 20 2017, 01:33 PM)
In Acro CF and BF almost the same tuned PID feeling but the only differences is when its in "leveled" ANGLE and HORIZON mode which have too much high "P" setup stock on iNAV.  I used iNAV for mini aerial photgraphy so slightly twitchy and lots of prop wash on noisy 250 size frame, i increased gyro lpf to 288hz.  If you go for racing better stick to Betaflight, iNAV is build for GPS driven flight for frame above 250mm, lower than that is a bit hard to tuned in.
thanks. never had the guts to go with BF yet. the extra parameters looks a bit overwhelming. CF seems to work fine so far. maybe i need to level up sweat.gif .
zeroglyph
post Aug 24 2017, 01:57 PM

1,255 posts

the loose usage of the term "drone" has been bugging me lately. either in speech or text. i've seen/heard people referring the syma x5c as drone. by definition:
CODE
noun
2. an unmanned aircraft or ship that can navigate autonomously, without human control or beyond line of sight:
   the GPS of a U.S. spy drone.
   (loosely) any unmanned aircraft or ship that is guided remotely:
   a radio-controlled drone.

so not all quadcopters/multirotors are drones. for it to be a drone, it needs to be :
- flyable beyond LoS
- have some kind of autonomous flight mode, GPS assisted hold/flight/rth.

the weird thing is, you don't see/hear people referring to rc helis/planes as drones loosely. it seems to be a specific issue with quadcopters/multirotors for some reason.

one of my fpv racer does have GPS and i still feel weird when people call it a drone. no, a racer styled quad is not a drone by default.

let's discuss, if you're bored at the office like me laugh.gif .

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Aug 24 2017, 02:05 PM
zeroglyph
post Aug 24 2017, 04:31 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Aug 24 2017, 02:16 PM)
There's "OR" there in the statement. So drone not need to be able to fly beyond line of sight or autonomous. As long as it is unmanned then it is drone.

If many people use rc helis or planes to capture videos & in the process causing issues like multi-rotor rc have, probably we would call them drones too.
i get your 2nd point. most likely the PR is what causes the commotions in the 1st place. no one uses "drones" on RC flyers before "the issues" with AP drones arises. even on helis attached with a camera . shakehead.gif

QUOTE(ltwvince @ Aug 24 2017, 03:28 PM)
People who doesn't really fly quad will call simply coined these quad as drones. When you say drones, these peoples will know what is that but when you say quadcopter or quad for short, they will keep asking what the heck is that.

Nowadays, even RC forum such as RCGroups.com changed all the quadcopter forum naming by adding drones to it in order to capture wider audience.
wider audience is good point. yeah, "RC quads" does sound a bit more daunting as oppose to "drones". however, i think a "drone" would imply some kind of fancy tech and toy quad like the syma x5c(and the likes) don't really qualify.

zeroglyph
post Aug 24 2017, 04:32 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(rzam @ Aug 24 2017, 03:57 PM)
hi guys,
anyone know/selling broken dji phantom?
i need the body parts for some project
please let me know
what part are you looking for? i have phantom 2V+ gimbal to sell.
zeroglyph
post Aug 24 2017, 05:01 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(rzam @ Aug 24 2017, 04:59 PM)
just the outer shell
broken/used parts
pm me if any u guys selling
picture would be cool
those parts i still need. sweat.gif

15 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top