Coffee lover please come in

lowkl
post Dec 10 2015, 03:08 PM

88 posts

Hi peoploids,

Decided to stop lurking and speak out.... biggrin.gif

Just got a Philips Saeco Poemia as an introduction to home espresso....been on Aeropress before, with some explorations with pourovers (V60), french press (Bodum), moka pot (Ikea) and turkish (old beat-up steel pot). So far only pulled a half-dozen or so shots.... still experimenting on technique.

I expect quite a number in this forum have had much more experience in using the Poemia or other pressurized portafilter espresso machines; was wondering if you could share your "recipes"....

So far my favourite is:
- 12gm Mister Coffee Classic, ground to fine salt texture on an FeiYing/YangChia/xxx 600N
- flattened (with minimal pressure, definitely not tamped) with the supplied plastic scoop
- 70ml output, in about 30sec

Tried, but less favourable:
- holding the portafilter in its "cocked" position for the first few seconds, to build up the pressure
- increasing the dose to 14gm
- not flattening out with the scoop, but just levelling off (similar technique to moka pot)

I'm a cafe latte person for the most part, but my wife is more a long black/americano.

lowkl
post Dec 23 2015, 02:56 PM

88 posts

Anyone interested/tried home roasting? Getting green beans is tough though.....
lowkl
post Dec 25 2015, 11:03 PM

88 posts

You can try Mister Coffeel. They are Johor based but courier for free throughout the peninsula for orders above RM60.Their espresso blends go from RM 30 to RM 49 for 500gm. I'm happy with the freshness although they don't stamp the roasting date; I'm getting lots of bloom when doing pour overs and good crema with my new Poemia.

QUOTE(PlayThis125 @ Dec 25 2015, 04:07 PM)
Im a beginner and i like coffee , i'm getting aeropress and hand grinder as my equipments. But there are alot beans out there i dont know which bean is good. Any recommendations but not too pricey and are able to get in johor
lowkl
post Dec 30 2015, 09:50 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Dec 29 2015, 03:01 PM)
I just ordered some coffee from Mister Coffee.
Damn u all poisoned me. biggrin.gif
You should be getting the beans very soon... these guys are crazy fast in fulfilling orders.

Would be interested to know your impressions once you try it out. My current favourites are their Royal & Classic blends.

You brew with a moka right? What's your technique? That was my go-to method using an Ikea pot, but can't seem to 100% remove that slight "burnt" taste.

What I used to do:

- grind to slightly above fine table salt level
- fill the filter to a slight dome... no tamp
- start with room temperature water
- gas stove at medium
- stop the brew just as it blonds by immersing the bottom of the pot in cool water

I usually ended up getting about 210-240ml of strong coffee.
lowkl
post Dec 30 2015, 10:09 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Dec 30 2015, 09:57 AM)
Yes, i use a moka pot and for the first few brews i get a slight metallic taste and im not sure its because of the coffee or my moka pot/spoon and now there's none. I've read that the oils will stick to the tube after awhile which might lessen the metallic taste so that may be it.

My grind is fine & I prefer medium bodied/intensity coffee so i dont fill it until its full but rather will leave 2-3mm lower and will tamp a little so that its flat.
Burner i'll set to lowest so that it doesnt heat too fast and once i hear the bubbling i'll switch off immediately.
Thanks for sharing... will crack out the moka & try out your technique.... I still appreciate the moka because it has a high yield (yes I'm cheapskate) & brews six shots in one go.

If you like a medium bodied coffee you might like using an Aeropress. That is my go-to for long blacks.

Still experimenting with the Poemia for lattes... haven't nailed down the recipe yet.

Anyone tried an Arduino-based hack (for PID mostly) in this forum?
lowkl
post Dec 30 2015, 03:53 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(sainod @ Dec 30 2015, 01:27 PM)
anyone knows where i could find kilimanjaro beans>>?
Try Mister Coffee at http://mistercoffee.com.my/buynow/index.ph...&product_id=113

hmmm.... this is my second post pointing to this vendor. Need to see if they give any introducer incentive.... heh heh....
lowkl
post Dec 31 2015, 09:41 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Dec 30 2015, 06:43 PM)
Anyone know where to get  Indian coffee filter in kl? Urgent
Mmm... can you elaborate?

Are you looking for the filter mechanism? High probability you can find it at those shops in Brickfields selling quality steel cookware.

Are you looking for the coffee beans?

Are you looking for restaurants that serve decent indian-style coffee? I like what Saravana Bhavan serves (Bangsar branch, not sure about the rest).
lowkl
post Dec 31 2015, 05:54 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Dec 31 2015, 05:09 PM)
I brewed a cup of Robusta coffee just now. It was bold with strong finish but a little rough tastewise compared to Arabica Costa Rican. I will blend these two soon to see what i get. lol
Robusta is what we use as kopitiam coffee here, right? Serious caffeine high if so.

I notice the beans from Ikea are a blend of arabica & robusta. When a batch comes in fresh they are nice. Too bad it looks like they only restock every 6 months or more. Dirt cheap beans; good to try cold drip/brew.
lowkl
post Jan 2 2016, 12:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Jan 2 2016, 11:59 AM)
anyone here still using akira/feiying/feima grinder? feeling to get one after saw the price at taobao LOL
Me! Me! Got mine at GM Wholesale City Klang for less than RM 300,from what I can remember.
lowkl
post Jan 2 2016, 03:56 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Jan 2 2016, 03:00 PM)
Wow good. Now still can get that price? LOL
Dunno woh.... I read some blog review on the grinder some time back and it was mentioned that it could be found at GM Wholesale City. I attended a course at Shah Alam and decided to try my luck to see if I could get one. It's sold by a shop on the 4th floor.... Luxury Composite.... dealing with restaurant equipment.

The number to call to check :+60178718138 or +60333251713.
lowkl
post Jan 5 2016, 11:29 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Jan 5 2016, 11:20 AM)
the price of the xiao feiying really OMG. only cost RMB168 = RM 111 according to today's exchange rate.
http://world.taobao.com/item/7940997833.ht...0.CpQ4Y7#detail

meanwhile akira M-520A with italy burr costs RMB425 = RM 282 according to today's exchange rate.
http://world.taobao.com/item/12724610966.h...0.iCWXHl#detail

does the output really got huge differ? I'm planning to buy it for pour over hmm.gif
Based purely on the photo of the burrs, they look identical to the flat burrs in the FeiYing/Feima/whatever 600N.

Anyone here have an Akira? Wanna try a grind-out?
lowkl
post Jan 5 2016, 02:17 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Jan 5 2016, 01:50 PM)
yea too many clone clone clone hahahhah. but seems like the quality of akira should be better
Gut-feel I would agree with you. That being said, I've been using the 600N for everything from French Press to Aeropress/pressurised portafilter to even Turkish with results good enough for me. My biggest complaint is the retention. I would expect the Akira to have the same problem.

Just got a Skerton as an off-site alternative. Really time-consuming grind! Two minutes for just 12gm..... need to look into that electric drill mod....
lowkl
post Jan 6 2016, 02:38 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 6 2016, 01:58 PM)
For coffee...

go get one of those lelit pl53, breville smart or not so smart grinders, with small razor sharp conical burrs. These are better at cutting the beans.

FYI my coffee grinder sans DIY hopper and base. It's better for coffee than my two big flats. biggrin.gif
What.... is that?!

Absolutely intriguing......
lowkl
post Jan 6 2016, 05:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 6 2016, 04:54 PM)
guys,

those of you who grind and brew your own coffee, roughly how much it cost per cup?
Coffee beans (MisterCoffee, Antipodean mainly) = RM20 to RM32 per 250gm ... let's say on average RM27 per 250gm

normal double shot (75ml yield) I use 13gm, so that works out to be RM1.40, not inclusive:

- water
- milk
- electricity
lowkl
post Jan 6 2016, 06:05 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Jan 6 2016, 05:36 PM)
Isn't that alittle low? I find at least a 16g for a double shot taste better
Some cafes dose up till 20g too
I have problems packing in more than 15gm into the Poemia (53mm) pressurised portafilter. At 15gm it's a full dome already... people say that you are not supposed to hard tamp a pressurised, so how to fit so much grounds?

Furthermore, even at 15gm I seem to get some overextraction/bitterness. When I increase the grind size, I seem to reduce the body. For me, 13gm at the grind setting I use gives a nice balance.

I was hoping to get some advice from people who have been using the Poemia for a while on how to max out the taste. Lately I've been holding the portafilter in the "locked" position until the coffee begins to dribble out, which seems to increase the infusion time by a couple of seconds; however along with the increase in body, a bit of bitterness creeps in (which in a latte/macchiato is well controlled).

Now I'm seriously considering hacking the machine (and thus voiding the warranty) and piece together a PID controller to keep the temperature more consistent throughout the brew cycle. This involves a HUGE learning curve for me, as I have never done that serious an electronics project before.

Poemia & other single boiler pressurized gurus, please advise.
lowkl
post Jan 6 2016, 10:35 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(amirasri89 @ Jan 6 2016, 10:01 PM)
hey guys, i would like to ask some tips to start making my own coffee and i have no idea which equipment should i buy for starter.

i read the 1st page about some equipment for stater and few pages after that but it was back on 2012. Are there any recent equipment/ brewer machine that is affordable for a stater like me?
Hi amirasri89,

As you have noticed, there's lots of methods to brew a very good cup of coffee :

(cheapest equipment)
- pourovers
- moka pot
- Aeropress
- syphon
- espresso machine
(most expensive)

Also, you need to seriously consider a grinder, either a manual (cheaper) to a electric (from slightly more expensive to way crazy).

These days you can try most of these brew methods at the better artisan cafes before you fork out big(ger) bucks. And please don't think cheaper means poorer quality; the best method to savour single origin is unquestionably pourover, which you can technically do using an RM5 filter holder and a pack of paper filters (also costing RM5) both from Daiso.

However, some more experienced coffee "snobs" here may have a different opinion.... heh....
lowkl
post Jan 7 2016, 09:17 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 7 2016, 08:22 AM)
I actually just take powered bean, put in a filter bag (not sure what's the name) and just simmer it with hot water. Lol

I know not as good as those rm 1 or 2 and you must grind your own beans
Ah.... effectively you are doing a Turkish coffee. You don't even have to put the grounds in a bag, if you don't mind letting them sink to the bottom then you don't drink the last part.

lowkl
post Jan 7 2016, 10:14 AM

88 posts

I am in the midst of convincing my office to get a superautomatic espresso machine (yay!!). It's a very small office (in terms of staff & physical area) and as expected the budget will be miniscule.

Any suggestions? Of course please suggest something that can easily be purchased in Malaysia (not some legendary brand that has zero representation here).

Much thanks in advance!!
lowkl
post Jan 7 2016, 11:58 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jan 7 2016, 11:33 AM)
What is the precise definition of single origin?
Let's say you have different beans from different farms but its from a single region, is this single origin? Or 2 different beans from single region, is this considered single origin too?
Or the definition is defined ownself?
or... or... how about if the beans come from different trees but from the same farm? Would the size of the farm matter? If the farm was on a hillside, couldn't the differing light conditions affect the taste profile?

How anal retentive can us coffee geeks get?

heh heh.....
lowkl
post Jan 7 2016, 07:44 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 7 2016, 06:30 PM)
RM 45.5 / half kg

[attachmentid=5725776]

shocking.gif  shocking.gif
1) How do they taste? And if positive,
2) Where did you get them?